User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • VaNDAL_UK: ANyone FPV onver Sutton Park Birmingham?
    December 07, 2018, 12:54:30
  • steveo9007: Cheers Atom was just a thought for now as I plan on keeping it well in range until I get comfortable with controls and flying
    December 05, 2018, 21:01:25
  • atomiclama: steveo You can just plug a GPS puck into the FC and get the OSB to display the coords, record the VTX and when things go tits up you have the last known posistion. Whislt not accurate it is a good starting point. Or get the coords sent back by telemetry to you TX which will be more accurate as long as power is maintained to the quad and it is range with the TX. Just some thoughts.
    December 04, 2018, 12:27:26
  • steveo9007: Is there a post on here about the 433mhz telem tx ??
    December 04, 2018, 07:56:49
  • steveo9007: ok thanks shaw
    December 03, 2018, 20:31:44
  • shawdreamer: meanwhile the 433mhz telem option I mentioned gives you live fixes in realtime and not "delayed texts"..... plus it doesnt cost you credit everytime you request a gps fix (btw the tags sim card also needs to have credit on it :laugh:)
    December 02, 2018, 20:47:10
  • shawdreamer: and yes that does actually work..... I tried it for a laugh a couple of years ago ::)
    December 02, 2018, 20:45:09
  • shawdreamer: the tags do as you say use satellites to get positional fixes but they dont immediately report those fixes to an App, each tag requires a Sim card (same as your phone) which is used to "text" you the tags position..... in other words you could get the exact same effect by strapping a old smartphone to your frame with the google "where is my device" app installed
    December 02, 2018, 20:44:13
  • steveo9007: doesnt the tag communicate with the satellites and not via a data system, isn't it the user who owns the tag go via data to the app that can locate the tag ???
    December 02, 2018, 18:18:11
  • shawdreamer: plus, alot of the lower end trackers struggle with GPRS and often rely heavily on GSM data instead which is just not worth a sh1te when it comes to pinpointing a downed frame
    December 02, 2018, 16:23:30
  • shawdreamer: most readily available gps trackers are not really suitable for anything smaller than a 400 sized frame as the units themselves are often too bulky for anything smaller and larger frames often already have their own gps setups that can simply be outfitted with a 433mhz telem tx that would report live and accurate info direct to a ground station so there'd be no point in a sms type tracker
    December 02, 2018, 16:22:07
  • steveo9007: anybody fitted a GPS tracker tag to their drones if it gets lost and is need to find it
    December 02, 2018, 14:56:36
  • Gav: yeah too much of a hike for me too.  was tempted with the bike show the other week but TBH its not worth it - no bargains anymore and rip off parking
    November 29, 2018, 20:11:21
  • Bad Raven: Too far for me.
    November 29, 2018, 08:27:36
  • hoverfly: Sunday drone show , N.E.C.  anybody   going.??
    November 28, 2018, 18:36:04
  • Bajadre: Congrats DB brother  !!!
    November 25, 2018, 03:09:56
  • hoverfly: I wish i haden't eaten a whole ham and egg pie........ pass the Rennies.. :cry
    November 21, 2018, 17:23:37
  • ched999uk: Don't yo just hate those days where you wish you never got up!!!!!!
    November 21, 2018, 15:46:06
  • Reman: Isn't it a spooky coincidense how seconds before banggood have a sale nearly all the prices of the on sale items go up, But the discount drops the price back to the pre sale prices?
    November 21, 2018, 05:46:29
  • DarkButterfly: Certainly hard work but well worth it ::)
    November 19, 2018, 22:19:02

Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 58
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: D16 to D8 Whoop.  (Read 375 times)

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
  • Liked: 84
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
D16 to D8 Whoop.
« on: October 07, 2018, 10:27:06 »
I've asked a similar question last week.......I always build my own quads so this issue hasn't risen before but I'm looking to buy a tiny whoop for the winter to fly indoors which is probably going to be the Eachine UK65........But all my rx's and my Frsky Taranis x9d se are EU software whereas the UK65 is international Software so it seems I have two choices to either reflash all my rx's and tx to international software OR and this is the bit hopefully someone can explain I change my tx for the UK65 to D8 ? This is what it says on most tiny whoops I've looked at and I quote "Notice: FrSky LBT EU Firmware D16 Transmitter can not compatible with FrSky version drone. 
You can change your transmitter to LBT EU Firmware D8 version or International version."
So what exactly does this mean I know in the Taranis settings you can change from D16 to D8 which I assume is all I need to do although I'm not sure what it means by Firmware D8 version ? But what do I loose going from D16 to D8 I know it's channels but how would that effect the UK65 ?
Thanks upfront to anyone who can explain what I need to do if I just change to the D8 version  :notworthy:

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4974
  • Liked: 1379
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: D16 to D8 Whoop.
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2018, 13:47:10 »
I would say mate your easiest answer is buy an external xjt module and then you can use the internal (normal) module for your usual stuff and the external for whatever else:

https://www.hobbyrc.co.uk/frsky-xjt-eu-lbt-24ghz-jr-module-with-telemetry
(Pretty sure if you phone Mike he will flash the external module with whatever you want as per his flashing service)

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2966
  • Liked: 652
  • Country: gb
Re: D16 to D8 Whoop.
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2018, 16:20:03 »

https://www.hobbyrc.co.uk/frsky-xjt-eu-lbt-24ghz-jr-module-with-telemetry
(Pretty sure if you phone Mike he will flash the external module with whatever you want as per his flashing service)
Mike has an option on the listing that you select what FW you want installing for £1.99.

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
  • Liked: 84
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: D16 to D8 Whoop.
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2018, 16:27:02 »
Thanks guys that is a third option I hadn't thought of but it's an extra £30 on top of a £60 whoop which I can't justify as I wouldn't use the external module for anything else.........I'm hoping someone on here has bought a international software quad and just used d8 on the tx to get it working on their EU tx?

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
  • Liked: 84
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: D16 to D8 Whoop.
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2018, 21:46:12 »
Change of plan I think it's going to be one of these when Banggood gets them in stock as they do eu versions plus the camera is adjustable so good for slow flying indoors or adjust higher for faster outdoor flying plus it's 2s so it's looking very promising.......
https://m.banggood.com/Happymodel-Mobula7-75mm-Crazybee-F3-Pro-OSD-2S-Whoop-FPV-Racing-Drone-w-700TVL-Camera-BNF-p-1357971.html


Offline daich

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • Liked: 65
  • Country: gb
  • crash. build.
Re: D16 to D8 Whoop.
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2018, 11:43:30 »
yes, the mobula7 looks promising with a Nick burns approval :P

also the EU-LBT version just bypasses the onboard RX and uses an XM+ receiver...which is added weight but added range!
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?3139164

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
  • Liked: 84
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: D16 to D8 Whoop.
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2018, 15:33:33 »
I'm wondering if you could swap out the xm+ for a spate rxsr then maybe get full telemetry ?

Offline daich

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • Liked: 65
  • Country: gb
  • crash. build.
Re: D16 to D8 Whoop.
« Reply #7 on: October 08, 2018, 18:10:01 »
sure why not? although, xm+ pushes rssi through a channel already for OSD and not sure what else telemetry you would need... LUA scripts? OSD can handle all that.

I'm more thinking a crossfire nano or r9m and swap in a 200mw vtx

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
  • Liked: 84
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: D16 to D8 Whoop.
« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2018, 07:48:47 »
Doesn't look like an r-sxr is possible as I've found this on another forum but yes you're right the osd and the xm+ should give you everything you'd want.....I don't think you will have smart audio though using the xm+ but again not a deal breaker for me.

Offline DarkButterfly

  • Wings in the sky
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1865
  • Liked: 1132
  • Country: gb
  • Got the Hexfactor
    • My blog
Re: D16 to D8 Whoop.
« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2018, 23:01:49 »
I use an XM+ in my tiny6.
Great for flying round the house, plenty of range. ~~
Why use 4 motors when you can use 6?

YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/RobR386