User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • yama: contemplating a mavic 2 zoom?? i have always been anti dji normally...
    October 15, 2018, 09:16:27
  • hoverfly: Typical.... lazy sods. spin them up. ::)
    October 13, 2018, 19:52:31
  • atomiclama: I've some 5 inch 3D props doing nowt.
    October 12, 2018, 19:53:07
  • Gav: a 6" 3D Prop Shop
    October 12, 2018, 19:22:08
  • Wyntrblue: Anyone know where to get 6” 3D props?
    October 12, 2018, 19:08:49
  • atomiclama: How are they going to prove otherwise?
    October 12, 2018, 13:25:23
  • atomiclama: Think I'll put a 25mW sticker on mine. also a stick that says quad is limited to 399ft. I'll also put something on my tx stating 25mW. Sorted everyone happy  ::)
    October 12, 2018, 13:24:21
  • Bad Raven: I think a lot of us will have seen the published (leaked) training instructions to police officers on FPV, which was both incomplete and incorrect. Only the Little Hitler types will be comfortable treading any of that path!
    October 12, 2018, 07:08:58
  • Bajadre: I dont it reman unless he had a good bit fo drone knowledge ive shown my drone to a officer whi was interested before and all he said i like the green props haha
    October 12, 2018, 01:54:03
  • Andy7: They'll call in the flying squad on you
    October 11, 2018, 20:54:44
  • hoverfly: Don't think they would have done until they read your post... :laugh:
    October 10, 2018, 19:58:44
  • Reman: Thought for the day - If a knowledgeable police officer stopped you and saw that you had a "600mW" VTX on your quad he'll get funny about it, But would even a VERY knowledgeable officer know what they were looking at if the same VTX had a professional looking label under the heat shrink that proclaimed that the VTX was in fact a 25mW unit?  :hmm:
    October 10, 2018, 18:16:41
  • atomiclama: FrSky R9M Module and R9MM Receiver just been shipped. Yeay.... nothing flying at the mo to put it in though  ::)
    October 08, 2018, 09:43:41
  • Bajadre: i still pop on too see what you crazy guys are up too haha :)
    October 06, 2018, 06:43:09
  • atomiclama: Still here, Only just.......
    October 05, 2018, 13:41:07
  • Wyntrblue: I’m still here. Spent today whooping round the house too. It being decidedly too cold to go outside to fly now
    September 30, 2018, 19:15:16
  • ched999uk: Did the Big Fly-Up #6 happen? No one has posted anything today!!!!
    September 29, 2018, 21:25:47
  • atomiclama: Nothing to see here, move along now
    September 28, 2018, 16:09:24
  • hoverfly: Only the Moribund Flyers.. ::)...
    September 27, 2018, 19:05:46
  • Gav: anyone still alive out there
    September 27, 2018, 17:19:11

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Changing Taranis xd9 se from eu to non EU software ?  (Read 121 times)

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 475
  • Liked: 77
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Changing Taranis xd9 se from eu to non EU software ?
« on: October 04, 2018, 20:24:48 »
My Frsky Taranis x9d se was bought in the UK so had EU software however as the winter approaches I fancy an indoor whoop and this seems to be getting the best reviews at the moment.....
https://m.banggood.com/Eachine-US65-UK65-65mm-Whoop-FPV-Racing-Drone-BNF-Crazybee-F3-Flight-Controller-OSD-6A-Blheli_S-ESC-p-1339561.html?utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc_lang&utm_content=2livia&utm_campaign=DE-Sds-eac-eachine&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIroWpnMDt3QIVFed3Ch29RAeaEAAYASAAEgK89vD_BwE
However the rx is non EU and I'm not sure there's a work around so could I change my tx software through opentx to the international software and is it as simple as this ?

I'm assuming then on my current fleet Of two five inchers and two two inchers I'd just have to reflash the r-xsr rx's to international software to then work back with the Taranis and it's new international software ? Anything I'm missing here if I go down that route ?
« Last Edit: October 04, 2018, 20:28:00 by aburn09 »

Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4929
  • Liked: 1342
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Changing Taranis xd9 se from eu to non EU software ?
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2018, 21:23:07 »
No mate you are not missing anything, the firmware on the rx and the internal module in the tx are where the eu or non eu but is, you can flash back and forth, provided both the rx and tx are the same type and version you are good, don’t forget to recalibrate the tx and re bind after you flash

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 475
  • Liked: 77
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Changing Taranis xd9 se from eu to non EU software ?
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2018, 22:12:16 »
Thanks Cheredanine .......I don't suppose you'd know if I set the tx to international does that mean I will lose all my current settings on the tx ?.....If so and I have to reprogram the tx again that may deter me from doing it and might look for a whoop which I can change the rx over if needed to EU software ?

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Liked: 634
  • Country: gb
Re: Changing Taranis xd9 se from eu to non EU software ?
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2018, 22:15:09 »
The one you linked to actually has a download showing how to use external rx. You might need to view desktop site to see link.

Offline mo_miah

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
  • Liked: 69
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Changing Taranis xd9 se from eu to non EU software ?
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2018, 00:52:02 »
I used the companion app to update mine to allow d8 and d16 modes. Didnt lose any settings for my other quad. 5in quad runs d16 which i think is the eu lbt stuff. And my newbeedrone uses d8

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 475
  • Liked: 77
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Changing Taranis xd9 se from eu to non EU software ?
« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2018, 09:06:52 »
It does mention that if you don't have international software on your tx you can use d8 for the uk65 but not really sure what is meant by that......I know as it is the tx on EU software has an option of d8 or d16 and as all my 4 quads are running r-xsr receivers I'm using d16.......So does this mean if I buy the uk65 I just bind it to d8 ? If so what am I losing going from d16 to d8 ? Or is it not that simple as that and I need to download new software for the tx and rx's ?

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 475
  • Liked: 77
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Changing Taranis xd9 se from eu to non EU software ?
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2018, 21:48:25 »
Change of plan I think it's going to be one of these when Banggood gets them in stock as they do eu versions plus the camera is adjustable so good for slow flying indoors or adjust higher for faster outdoor flying plus it's 2s so it's looking very promising.......
https://m.banggood.com/Happymodel-Mobula7-75mm-Crazybee-F3-Pro-OSD-2S-Whoop-FPV-Racing-Drone-w-700TVL-Camera-BNF-p-1357971.html