User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • VaNDAL_UK: ANyone FPV onver Sutton Park Birmingham?
    December 07, 2018, 12:54:30
  • steveo9007: Cheers Atom was just a thought for now as I plan on keeping it well in range until I get comfortable with controls and flying
    December 05, 2018, 21:01:25
  • atomiclama: steveo You can just plug a GPS puck into the FC and get the OSB to display the coords, record the VTX and when things go tits up you have the last known posistion. Whislt not accurate it is a good starting point. Or get the coords sent back by telemetry to you TX which will be more accurate as long as power is maintained to the quad and it is range with the TX. Just some thoughts.
    December 04, 2018, 12:27:26
  • steveo9007: Is there a post on here about the 433mhz telem tx ??
    December 04, 2018, 07:56:49
  • steveo9007: ok thanks shaw
    December 03, 2018, 20:31:44
  • shawdreamer: meanwhile the 433mhz telem option I mentioned gives you live fixes in realtime and not "delayed texts"..... plus it doesnt cost you credit everytime you request a gps fix (btw the tags sim card also needs to have credit on it :laugh:)
    December 02, 2018, 20:47:10
  • shawdreamer: and yes that does actually work..... I tried it for a laugh a couple of years ago ::)
    December 02, 2018, 20:45:09
  • shawdreamer: the tags do as you say use satellites to get positional fixes but they dont immediately report those fixes to an App, each tag requires a Sim card (same as your phone) which is used to "text" you the tags position..... in other words you could get the exact same effect by strapping a old smartphone to your frame with the google "where is my device" app installed
    December 02, 2018, 20:44:13
  • steveo9007: doesnt the tag communicate with the satellites and not via a data system, isn't it the user who owns the tag go via data to the app that can locate the tag ???
    December 02, 2018, 18:18:11
  • shawdreamer: plus, alot of the lower end trackers struggle with GPRS and often rely heavily on GSM data instead which is just not worth a sh1te when it comes to pinpointing a downed frame
    December 02, 2018, 16:23:30
  • shawdreamer: most readily available gps trackers are not really suitable for anything smaller than a 400 sized frame as the units themselves are often too bulky for anything smaller and larger frames often already have their own gps setups that can simply be outfitted with a 433mhz telem tx that would report live and accurate info direct to a ground station so there'd be no point in a sms type tracker
    December 02, 2018, 16:22:07
  • steveo9007: anybody fitted a GPS tracker tag to their drones if it gets lost and is need to find it
    December 02, 2018, 14:56:36
  • Gav: yeah too much of a hike for me too.  was tempted with the bike show the other week but TBH its not worth it - no bargains anymore and rip off parking
    November 29, 2018, 20:11:21
  • Bad Raven: Too far for me.
    November 29, 2018, 08:27:36
  • hoverfly: Sunday drone show , N.E.C.  anybody   going.??
    November 28, 2018, 18:36:04
  • Bajadre: Congrats DB brother  !!!
    November 25, 2018, 03:09:56
  • hoverfly: I wish i haden't eaten a whole ham and egg pie........ pass the Rennies.. :cry
    November 21, 2018, 17:23:37
  • ched999uk: Don't yo just hate those days where you wish you never got up!!!!!!
    November 21, 2018, 15:46:06
  • Reman: Isn't it a spooky coincidense how seconds before banggood have a sale nearly all the prices of the on sale items go up, But the discount drops the price back to the pre sale prices?
    November 21, 2018, 05:46:29
  • DarkButterfly: Certainly hard work but well worth it ::)
    November 19, 2018, 22:19:02

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Changing Taranis xd9 se from eu to non EU software ?  (Read 271 times)

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
  • Liked: 84
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Changing Taranis xd9 se from eu to non EU software ?
« on: October 04, 2018, 20:24:48 »
My Frsky Taranis x9d se was bought in the UK so had EU software however as the winter approaches I fancy an indoor whoop and this seems to be getting the best reviews at the moment.....
https://m.banggood.com/Eachine-US65-UK65-65mm-Whoop-FPV-Racing-Drone-BNF-Crazybee-F3-Flight-Controller-OSD-6A-Blheli_S-ESC-p-1339561.html?utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc_lang&utm_content=2livia&utm_campaign=DE-Sds-eac-eachine&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIroWpnMDt3QIVFed3Ch29RAeaEAAYASAAEgK89vD_BwE
However the rx is non EU and I'm not sure there's a work around so could I change my tx software through opentx to the international software and is it as simple as this ?

I'm assuming then on my current fleet Of two five inchers and two two inchers I'd just have to reflash the r-xsr rx's to international software to then work back with the Taranis and it's new international software ? Anything I'm missing here if I go down that route ?
« Last Edit: October 04, 2018, 20:28:00 by aburn09 »

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4975
  • Liked: 1379
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Changing Taranis xd9 se from eu to non EU software ?
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2018, 21:23:07 »
No mate you are not missing anything, the firmware on the rx and the internal module in the tx are where the eu or non eu but is, you can flash back and forth, provided both the rx and tx are the same type and version you are good, don’t forget to recalibrate the tx and re bind after you flash

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
  • Liked: 84
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Changing Taranis xd9 se from eu to non EU software ?
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2018, 22:12:16 »
Thanks Cheredanine .......I don't suppose you'd know if I set the tx to international does that mean I will lose all my current settings on the tx ?.....If so and I have to reprogram the tx again that may deter me from doing it and might look for a whoop which I can change the rx over if needed to EU software ?

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2970
  • Liked: 653
  • Country: gb
Re: Changing Taranis xd9 se from eu to non EU software ?
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2018, 22:15:09 »
The one you linked to actually has a download showing how to use external rx. You might need to view desktop site to see link.

Offline mo_miah

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
  • Liked: 70
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Changing Taranis xd9 se from eu to non EU software ?
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2018, 00:52:02 »
I used the companion app to update mine to allow d8 and d16 modes. Didnt lose any settings for my other quad. 5in quad runs d16 which i think is the eu lbt stuff. And my newbeedrone uses d8

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
  • Liked: 84
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Changing Taranis xd9 se from eu to non EU software ?
« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2018, 09:06:52 »
It does mention that if you don't have international software on your tx you can use d8 for the uk65 but not really sure what is meant by that......I know as it is the tx on EU software has an option of d8 or d16 and as all my 4 quads are running r-xsr receivers I'm using d16.......So does this mean if I buy the uk65 I just bind it to d8 ? If so what am I losing going from d16 to d8 ? Or is it not that simple as that and I need to download new software for the tx and rx's ?

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
  • Liked: 84
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Changing Taranis xd9 se from eu to non EU software ?
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2018, 21:48:25 »
Change of plan I think it's going to be one of these when Banggood gets them in stock as they do eu versions plus the camera is adjustable so good for slow flying indoors or adjust higher for faster outdoor flying plus it's 2s so it's looking very promising.......
https://m.banggood.com/Happymodel-Mobula7-75mm-Crazybee-F3-Pro-OSD-2S-Whoop-FPV-Racing-Drone-w-700TVL-Camera-BNF-p-1357971.html