User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • VaNDAL_UK: ANyone FPV onver Sutton Park Birmingham?
    December 07, 2018, 12:54:30
  • steveo9007: Cheers Atom was just a thought for now as I plan on keeping it well in range until I get comfortable with controls and flying
    December 05, 2018, 21:01:25
  • atomiclama: steveo You can just plug a GPS puck into the FC and get the OSB to display the coords, record the VTX and when things go tits up you have the last known posistion. Whislt not accurate it is a good starting point. Or get the coords sent back by telemetry to you TX which will be more accurate as long as power is maintained to the quad and it is range with the TX. Just some thoughts.
    December 04, 2018, 12:27:26
  • steveo9007: Is there a post on here about the 433mhz telem tx ??
    December 04, 2018, 07:56:49
  • steveo9007: ok thanks shaw
    December 03, 2018, 20:31:44
  • shawdreamer: meanwhile the 433mhz telem option I mentioned gives you live fixes in realtime and not "delayed texts"..... plus it doesnt cost you credit everytime you request a gps fix (btw the tags sim card also needs to have credit on it :laugh:)
    December 02, 2018, 20:47:10
  • shawdreamer: and yes that does actually work..... I tried it for a laugh a couple of years ago ::)
    December 02, 2018, 20:45:09
  • shawdreamer: the tags do as you say use satellites to get positional fixes but they dont immediately report those fixes to an App, each tag requires a Sim card (same as your phone) which is used to "text" you the tags position..... in other words you could get the exact same effect by strapping a old smartphone to your frame with the google "where is my device" app installed
    December 02, 2018, 20:44:13
  • steveo9007: doesnt the tag communicate with the satellites and not via a data system, isn't it the user who owns the tag go via data to the app that can locate the tag ???
    December 02, 2018, 18:18:11
  • shawdreamer: plus, alot of the lower end trackers struggle with GPRS and often rely heavily on GSM data instead which is just not worth a sh1te when it comes to pinpointing a downed frame
    December 02, 2018, 16:23:30
  • shawdreamer: most readily available gps trackers are not really suitable for anything smaller than a 400 sized frame as the units themselves are often too bulky for anything smaller and larger frames often already have their own gps setups that can simply be outfitted with a 433mhz telem tx that would report live and accurate info direct to a ground station so there'd be no point in a sms type tracker
    December 02, 2018, 16:22:07
  • steveo9007: anybody fitted a GPS tracker tag to their drones if it gets lost and is need to find it
    December 02, 2018, 14:56:36
  • Gav: yeah too much of a hike for me too.  was tempted with the bike show the other week but TBH its not worth it - no bargains anymore and rip off parking
    November 29, 2018, 20:11:21
  • Bad Raven: Too far for me.
    November 29, 2018, 08:27:36
  • hoverfly: Sunday drone show , N.E.C.  anybody   going.??
    November 28, 2018, 18:36:04
  • Bajadre: Congrats DB brother  !!!
    November 25, 2018, 03:09:56
  • hoverfly: I wish i haden't eaten a whole ham and egg pie........ pass the Rennies.. :cry
    November 21, 2018, 17:23:37
  • ched999uk: Don't yo just hate those days where you wish you never got up!!!!!!
    November 21, 2018, 15:46:06
  • Reman: Isn't it a spooky coincidense how seconds before banggood have a sale nearly all the prices of the on sale items go up, But the discount drops the price back to the pre sale prices?
    November 21, 2018, 05:46:29
  • DarkButterfly: Certainly hard work but well worth it ::)
    November 19, 2018, 22:19:02

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: faulty ESC?  (Read 549 times)

Offline mitchell.atheis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Liked: 36
  • Country: gb
faulty ESC?
« on: October 01, 2018, 20:51:28 »
Armed the quad earlier and only 3 of the 4 span up to idle. Once I went above min throttle the motor started up but in guessing the ESC is done for ? It flew a bit ropey and dipped on punch out.

Few things to mention
-Motor screws are not touching the windings.
-This is on a 4in1 ESC
-brand new Motor was put on not long ago

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4975
  • Liked: 1379
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2018, 21:05:53 »
What motor protocol?

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2970
  • Liked: 653
  • Country: gb
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2018, 21:51:56 »
If you have changed an esc or motor and are not running DShot then calibrate escs.

Offline mitchell.atheis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Liked: 36
  • Country: gb
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2018, 22:11:21 »
Running dshot 600 - I thought you wasn't supposed to calibrate 4 in 1?

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2970
  • Liked: 653
  • Country: gb
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2018, 22:26:02 »
Running dshot 600 - I thought you wasn't supposed to calibrate 4 in 1?
DShot doesn't need calibrating.

To find out if motor or esc. Swap a motor with another. If fault follows motor it's motor. If fault stays on same arm it's esc.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4975
  • Liked: 1379
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2018, 23:00:57 »
Ched is correct, although the first thing I would look at is your soldering in the component replaced, if the esc was damaged I wouldn’t expect it to fly normally

Offline mitchell.atheis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Liked: 36
  • Country: gb
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2018, 23:04:55 »
Will give that a go and report back

Offline Elmattbo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 991
  • Liked: 346
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • Youtube
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2018, 18:20:43 »
Dipping corner does sound like a motor. I just had to do my own testing to fault find motor or esc. Turns out it was the esc - it set a brand new motor on fire!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline mitchell.atheis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Liked: 36
  • Country: gb
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2018, 19:25:38 »
Well, funny you say that, I swapped out the same corners motor as the bearing sounded like it was grinding when this problem arose. Could a bad motor bearing damage the ESC?

I have swapped over the motors and the problem is still in the same corner so in guessing that tells the story.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4975
  • Liked: 1379
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2018, 20:15:05 »
Bad bearing could burn an esc if it was bad enough, but unlikely to do what you are describing, however if it stayed with the esc you have your answer, the only other (very unlikely) possibility is the gyro is damaged, but I would assume the esc and replace it

Offline mitchell.atheis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Liked: 36
  • Country: gb
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2018, 20:23:31 »
The thing sounds like a turbo spooling at mid throttle, making a really weird noise and feels like I'm flying a 3S.

I'll swap out the ESC as I have one spare, done with HGLRC now, I'm on my third.

Will start looking at singles after this swap

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4975
  • Liked: 1379
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2018, 20:29:31 »
Hmm be careful you are throwing out new symptoms, mid throttle oscillations is typically a symptom of a problem (mechanically) with the stack, eg nit tight enough. Or something rubbing or pulling on it

Offline mitchell.atheis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Liked: 36
  • Country: gb
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2018, 22:29:12 »
Oh dear, that doesn't sound promising. The FC is soft mounted and held in place fine, so will swap the ESC and see where that takes me

Offline mitchell.atheis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Liked: 36
  • Country: gb
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2018, 12:05:30 »
Okay so I swapped over to a new ESC and all is good as new. The strange noises must of been the other 3 motors compensating for 1 bad corner.

What are some  good slim ESCs these days ? I have a flosstyle with rather thin arms so always have been 4 In 1

Offline Elmattbo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 991
  • Liked: 346
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • Youtube
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2018, 12:07:23 »
Can’t help you with that, I’ve been running the same esc’s for about 2 years now! The first one died last week!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4975
  • Liked: 1379
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #15 on: October 04, 2018, 12:51:46 »
Depends on what you want, mostly running 4 in 1 but hobbyrc have some mini airbot wraiths that are quite small but decent specs.
Floss is really designed for 4in1

Generally for racing any blheli_s or blheli32 that physically fits and can handle the voltage and amps is fine
For freestyle as above but stick to blheli32

Offline mitchell.atheis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Liked: 36
  • Country: gb
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #16 on: October 05, 2018, 09:24:45 »
Depends on what you want, mostly running 4 in 1 but hobbyrc have some mini airbot wraiths that are quite small but decent specs.
Floss is really designed for 4in1

Generally for racing any blheli_s or blheli32 that physically fits and can handle the voltage and amps is fine
For freestyle as above but stick to blheli32

I wouldn't mind running 4in1 again but maybe something a bit more reliable - i've been using the HGLRC F440 20x20 stack, which is nice and easy for me to setup, but proving unreliable.

Would a 30x30 stack be more endurable as it's not so condensed ?

Offline Lamaule

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1158
  • Liked: 695
  • Country: 00
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • My YouTube Channel
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #17 on: October 05, 2018, 09:38:52 »
I wouldn't mind running 4in1 again but maybe something a bit more reliable - i've been using the HGLRC F440 20x20 stack, which is nice and easy for me to setup, but proving unreliable.

Would a 30x30 stack be more endurable as it's not so condensed ?
Hey Mitchell,

I'm running the spedix gs35. Great performance so far and send very reliable too: https://www.hobbyrc.co.uk/spedix-gs35-4in1-blheli_32-35a-esc

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk


Offline mitchell.atheis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Liked: 36
  • Country: gb
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #18 on: October 05, 2018, 10:11:32 »
Hey Mitchell,

I'm running the spedix gs35. Great performance so far and send very reliable too: https://www.hobbyrc.co.uk/spedix-gs35-4in1-blheli_32-35a-esc

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

That looks like my next contender then, i know you give the quad a hard time so must be durable. How long have you had it in the stack and is it still your first one ? Also what FC are you using alongside the 4in1 ?

I think HobbyRC are going to think i've got a addiction problem soon :laugh:

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4975
  • Liked: 1379
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #19 on: October 05, 2018, 12:35:25 »
As per Lamaule I am running the Spedix in two quads without any problems

Offline Lamaule

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1158
  • Liked: 695
  • Country: 00
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • My YouTube Channel
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #20 on: October 05, 2018, 13:12:08 »
Lol, I don't know what you mean!

I've had mine in there for maybe nine months. I think I have them in three of my quads now. Not had one fail yet.

I'm running dys f4 pro V2 as the FC, they've been good but I'll be trying something new in future. Maybe a Helio spring.
That looks like my next contender then, i know you give the quad a hard time so must be durable. How long have you had it in the stack and is it still your first one ? Also what FC are you using alongside the 4in1 ?

I think HobbyRC are going to think i've got a addiction problem soon

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk


Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4975
  • Liked: 1379
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #21 on: October 05, 2018, 13:58:08 »
I am running helio spring with both of mine. For durability I had Chris crash one of them at bfu5, still flies fine

If you are looking to replace the full stack and run betaflight I just out the new hobbywing g2 into my proton, very nice stack, comes with full documentation, all the mount stuff you could ever need and, provided you get the billion of tuning parameter the devs felt betaflight needs right (one of the main reasons I prefer the helio spring and butterflight)
Then works fine (testing I fixed the image throttle setting problems betaflight stock setting have)
« Last Edit: October 05, 2018, 14:03:21 by Cheredanine »

Offline mitchell.atheis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Liked: 36
  • Country: gb
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #22 on: October 05, 2018, 14:40:31 »
The Xrotor looks rather tempting, unless something new comes out between now and me breaking the next ESC, i'll be going for that. Would make me itch to try 6S though which my wallet doesn't like the sounds of.

Offline Elmattbo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 991
  • Liked: 346
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • Youtube
faulty ESC?
« Reply #23 on: October 05, 2018, 15:16:11 »
What do you want 6s for? I’m not convinced by it myself given the cost of replacing almost everything. You can get pretty good flight times with the right set up, there’s less voltage sag and because you use lower kv motors you get good low end torque. But it’s not dramatically different unless you just want to go nuts on an all out explosively fast high kv amp hungry rig.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4975
  • Liked: 1379
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #24 on: October 05, 2018, 16:08:45 »
The point of 6s is less voltage sag, that quad there is running 4s I have no problem with voltage sag, no intention of going 6s

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2970
  • Liked: 653
  • Country: gb
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #25 on: October 05, 2018, 16:51:49 »
I am running helio spring with both of mine. For durability I had Chris crash one of them at bfu5, still flies fine

If you are looking to replace the full stack and run betaflight I just out the new hobbywing g2 into my proton, very nice stack, comes with full documentation, all the mount stuff you could ever need and, provided you get the billion of tuning parameter the devs felt betaflight needs right (one of the main reasons I prefer the helio spring and butterflight)
Then works fine (testing I fixed the image throttle setting problems betaflight stock setting have)

Nice to see a flight on a football field.

Offline Lamaule

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1158
  • Liked: 695
  • Country: 00
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • My YouTube Channel
Re: faulty ESC?
« Reply #26 on: October 05, 2018, 17:00:09 »
Agreed in every way!
What do you want 6s for? I’m not convinced by it myself given the cost of replacing almost everything. You can get pretty good flight times with the right set up, there’s less voltage sag and because you use lower kv motors you get good low end torque. But it’s not dramatically different unless you just want to go nuts on an all out explosively fast high kv amp hungry rig.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk