User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • yama: contemplating a mavic 2 zoom?? i have always been anti dji normally...
    October 15, 2018, 09:16:27
  • hoverfly: Typical.... lazy sods. spin them up. ::)
    October 13, 2018, 19:52:31
  • atomiclama: I've some 5 inch 3D props doing nowt.
    October 12, 2018, 19:53:07
  • Gav: a 6" 3D Prop Shop
    October 12, 2018, 19:22:08
  • Wyntrblue: Anyone know where to get 6” 3D props?
    October 12, 2018, 19:08:49
  • atomiclama: How are they going to prove otherwise?
    October 12, 2018, 13:25:23
  • atomiclama: Think I'll put a 25mW sticker on mine. also a stick that says quad is limited to 399ft. I'll also put something on my tx stating 25mW. Sorted everyone happy  ::)
    October 12, 2018, 13:24:21
  • Bad Raven: I think a lot of us will have seen the published (leaked) training instructions to police officers on FPV, which was both incomplete and incorrect. Only the Little Hitler types will be comfortable treading any of that path!
    October 12, 2018, 07:08:58
  • Bajadre: I dont it reman unless he had a good bit fo drone knowledge ive shown my drone to a officer whi was interested before and all he said i like the green props haha
    October 12, 2018, 01:54:03
  • Andy7: They'll call in the flying squad on you
    October 11, 2018, 20:54:44
  • hoverfly: Don't think they would have done until they read your post... :laugh:
    October 10, 2018, 19:58:44
  • Reman: Thought for the day - If a knowledgeable police officer stopped you and saw that you had a "600mW" VTX on your quad he'll get funny about it, But would even a VERY knowledgeable officer know what they were looking at if the same VTX had a professional looking label under the heat shrink that proclaimed that the VTX was in fact a 25mW unit?  :hmm:
    October 10, 2018, 18:16:41
  • atomiclama: FrSky R9M Module and R9MM Receiver just been shipped. Yeay.... nothing flying at the mo to put it in though  ::)
    October 08, 2018, 09:43:41
  • Bajadre: i still pop on too see what you crazy guys are up too haha :)
    October 06, 2018, 06:43:09
  • atomiclama: Still here, Only just.......
    October 05, 2018, 13:41:07
  • Wyntrblue: I’m still here. Spent today whooping round the house too. It being decidedly too cold to go outside to fly now
    September 30, 2018, 19:15:16
  • ched999uk: Did the Big Fly-Up #6 happen? No one has posted anything today!!!!
    September 29, 2018, 21:25:47
  • atomiclama: Nothing to see here, move along now
    September 28, 2018, 16:09:24
  • hoverfly: Only the Moribund Flyers.. ::)...
    September 27, 2018, 19:05:46
  • Gav: anyone still alive out there
    September 27, 2018, 17:19:11

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Matek F722  (Read 214 times)

Offline mo_miah

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
  • Liked: 69
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Matek F722
« on: August 01, 2018, 09:43:20 »
As BF 3.4 is out now and has "acro trainer" mode, i thought i'd give it a try
but first i wanted to upgrade my quad
removed my generic pdb, SPF3 and one125 escs
threw in a Matek F722 with the matek PDB connected with the ribbon cable, makes for a very neat build and some 30a spedix blheli32 esc

im trying to run 32/32 but cpu load reads 60% is this ok?
when i drop it down to 16/16 its only at 8% load

otherwise its a great board to build with, the layout is great
loving BF osd, never had that on the spf3
smart audio is great, some much easier to change vtx channels when your out with a group instead on pressing the button on the vtx and counting the led flashes and hoping for the best

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4932
  • Liked: 1344
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Matek F722
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2018, 10:09:38 »
Hi mate.
The problem is no one knows how much cpu load carries in the air.
There are people (as far as I can tell who know nothing about CPUs, think multithreading is something to do with sewing and “Malloc” is the name of someone in a back woods religious cult) on regroups say “ooo 40% is high” which is utter claptrap (my actual job is an IT infrastructure technical architect)

I have regularly (for several years) run 32khz on dev builds and 50-60% cpu load is standard, it hasn’t caused any issues,

In principle I would happily run up to 80%, the change in string values is not going to dramatically alter the cpu load. The caveat to that is some stuff can, eg iowait, it depends on how the close is written and timing/speeds of inputs, but that could dramatically alter the cpu load. The good news is that the chances it would dramatically alter it enough to drive 80% load up to 100% but not 40% is very small.

I would go fly it, I doubt you will have any problems, no one is gonna know for sure.

Ps there are things you can do to reduce population load, notably:
Turn on overclocking,
Turn off unused sensors and features
Turn off unused aux channels

Offline mo_miah

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
  • Liked: 69
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Matek F722
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2018, 11:32:48 »
thanks for the help
thats exactly what i was worried about, the reading on betaflight was with motors armed (props off) sat on a table
so wasn't sure how much extra load would be on a cpu in flight
how do you overclock the cpu?
overclocking a pc i can do, with the FC is it just an on/off switch?

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4932
  • Liked: 1344
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Matek F722
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2018, 13:39:42 »
Hi mate,
Tbh mostly running butterflight atm, find it is just smoother than betaflight, overclocking used to be cli:
Set cpu_overclock = nnn
Where nnn is the higher clock speed, you can only use limited values so if you type:
Set cpu_overclock
It should tell you the values you can use

To be clear, particularly if armed on tue bench with props off and once you have gone over 20% throttle (to enable air mode) then the processor is doing the same processing it does in the air. The only real difference is that it has different values in the math which shouldn’t dramatically change the load.  There is the possibility in certain situation the processes change (eg the code to prevent “yaw spin to the moon” but generally it realy shouldn’t change much

Offline atomiclama

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2497
  • Liked: 799
  • Country: gb
  • Uhh! What's that then, Oh! new project.
Re: Matek F722
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2018, 14:09:23 »
Run tasks from the cli.

Make sure all tasks are running at the correct rate, mainly gyro pid and rx. If the loading gets too high then they can start to jitter and that's when you may notice something.

Don't worry just fly  ::)

Wasdale X, Ow that hurt

Offline UrbanFPV

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • Liked: 92
  • Country: 00
Re: Matek F722
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2018, 14:18:54 »
You can always blackbox log CPU utilisation if you're worried:

https://github.com/betaflight/betaflight/issues/1344

Although not utilization time, it will give you cycle time which should be less than your update rate.
Talon SVX
Tyrant S 215
Aurora 90
GEPRC Sparrow (Mo Sparah)
Chameleon Ti
Mavic Pro
QX7s
Aomway Commanders
Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCo9rqz1V6XIaU3xikNDzjKg