User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Mike Bagnall: My taranis must be wrong or broken it's brand new
    Today at 14:13:47
  • Reman: Weather's way too ropey to go flying near Bristol today, But it's not too wet to go wading through a muddy field to walk my Labrador though........ Damn it ! LOL !
    August 12, 2018, 11:17:55
  • Bad Raven: They flew quads and planes
    August 10, 2018, 12:59:11
  • Bad Raven: Took some boys flying, they got an hour and a half before the wetness loomed.
    August 10, 2018, 12:58:53
  • mo_miah: lots of rain yesterday with some localised flooding, some more rain today, quads broken anyway so no flying for me, need a new frame :(
    August 10, 2018, 10:06:02
  • hoverfly: Spoke to soon there is some strange wet stuff falling from the sky. and my runner beans are making slurping noises..... ::)
    August 10, 2018, 09:30:31
  • Bad Raven: Bring a sponge.......
    August 10, 2018, 06:07:43
  • hoverfly: Not a drop  here the garden is like a desert..
    August 09, 2018, 21:57:22
  • Bad Raven: BIG thunderstorm with lots of cloud to cloud red and the occasional very close ground strikes.
    August 09, 2018, 21:12:51
  • Clarkie 22: Bad Crash and a poorly rotor arm :/
    August 06, 2018, 18:31:53
  • Bad Raven: The screamer alarm went off, usually early warning, but nit this time, didn't make it back to patch.
    August 06, 2018, 17:35:29
  • Bad Raven: Think I ran this pack a little close, just had to put 2359 into a 2200 pack. OOPS!
    August 06, 2018, 17:33:21
  • Bad Raven: I think nthere's agreat similarity, both talentless and over hyped.
    August 06, 2018, 14:21:58
  • Bajadre: @ Reman yeah matey haha
    August 06, 2018, 14:18:59
  • shawdreamer: keep that up and the only thing you'll "get" is commited.
    August 06, 2018, 13:48:17
  • hoverfly: Weird that i get..marianne faithfull broken english..... :shrug: :shrug:
    August 06, 2018, 13:22:23
  • Gav: :hmm:
    August 06, 2018, 11:33:20
  • DarkButterfly: Nope, that's just you ::)
    August 06, 2018, 10:43:08
  • shawdreamer: nope..... thats erm....... probably just you :huh
    August 06, 2018, 10:37:01
  • Reman: Is it just me, Or whilst browsing Tattu packs online, Does anyone else get that song "All the things you said" stuck in their mind ? :)
    August 06, 2018, 09:57:59

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Crossfire  (Read 438 times)

Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Liked: 64
  • Country: gb
Crossfire
« on: June 05, 2018, 20:36:00 »
Hey guys,

I bought myself a crossfire micro and Nano Rx and have had no end of trouble with it.

Long story short I can’t get the tx and rx to bind. After talking with tbs they said it was a faulty nano. My vendor (who’s been amazing) swapped out the nano without incident. So I connected power to the new nano  but not to a uart as I wanted to ensure that I had a proper bind without the F.C. causing a problem. Unfortunately I’m still unable to bind the 2. I only ever get opentx saying “binding” and a green flashing light on the tx module and a green flashing light on the nano.

I can’t have 2 bad nanos in a row? Is there something in opentx2.2.1 that’s causing the bind to fail? I’m utterly stumped and it’s doing my head in.
How long does it actually take to bind crossfire when it’s all working correctly?

Anyone got any ideas?

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2718
  • Liked: 619
  • Country: gb
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2018, 20:50:41 »
I am sure someone with some knowledge will be long soon. But I assume that you have correct FW for the crossfire? Do you have to add any FW to the tx not the internal module?

Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Liked: 64
  • Country: gb
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2018, 21:09:31 »
From what I have read you need opentx 2.2 or higher. And I’m on 2.2.1. The crossfire lua seems to work as in if I tell it I want to bind the green flashing binding light comes on on the module

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Liked: 1286
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2018, 21:48:59 »
Lol I went through this, you are confusing the crossfire module with the micro module.
You do not use the taranis/Luca scripts to bind with the micro (or rather you can but it is a pain I. The bum.

To put the crossfire micro tx into bind mode you use the push button functionality as detailed in the manual I am linking below.

Once it has updated the rx, THEN you run the crossfire Lua, the nano rx will have appeared and you can set the pin out 1 and 2 to crsf tx and crsf rx

https://www.team-blacksheep.com/tbs-crossfire-micro-tx-quickstart.pdf

Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Liked: 64
  • Country: gb
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2018, 07:07:47 »
Iv tried using the button and not using the lua script and it does the same thing:/

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Liked: 1286
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2018, 08:41:06 »
Ok mate I definitely find it easier using the buttons, also need to have antenna aligned (parallel a few feet apart)
And it does sometimes take a minute or two and a few attempts.

Also have you updated the firmware on the tx?

Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Liked: 64
  • Country: gb
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2018, 10:33:38 »
iv updated the firmware to the latest on the micro tx, set the frequency to 868 and thats it. so far im finding that crossfire is more like missfire. tonight i am going to install the latest openTX nightly build and test again. but i doubt thats going to be the cause of the issue as its the module not binding to the rx thats the issue.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Liked: 1286
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2018, 10:37:13 »
Understand mate

Take it slow, a step at a time.
Power on tx,
When it is powered, short press the button.
When the light is flashing power on the rx
Short press the bind

Leave them for a minute or so,
If the tx doesn’t change, shor5 press the button again

It can be fiddly

Ps as abovevmake sure antenna are aligned and nothing in between, I have noticed mine were not whilst waiting to bind and moved them slightly, and suddenly the thing lit up, leaving me holding the quad in mid air not daring to move whilst it updated :)

I agree it is fiddly to set up, I only shifted to crossfire about a month ago, only built 4 quads with it and only 1 of them went smoothly, had to repeat stuff or give spurious button presses etc to get it bound and updated. But once it is there it is golden
« Last Edit: June 06, 2018, 10:42:27 by Cheredanine »

Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Liked: 64
  • Country: gb
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2018, 17:15:32 »
Here’s what it does (the only thing it does)


Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Liked: 64
  • Country: gb
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #9 on: June 06, 2018, 17:19:11 »


Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Liked: 1286
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2018, 18:13:12 »
Ok mate, sorry this may be something you have already done but let’s try.
Power on the tx.
Press the button on the crossfire tx (don’t do anything with the taranis it’s self
Power on the rx
Guessing you have both doing what they have in the vid
Give the button on the tx, one short press.
See what it does next

Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Liked: 64
  • Country: gb
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2018, 18:33:40 »
I will give that a go tomorow as I’m out this evening. I will get a video tho

Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Liked: 64
  • Country: gb
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2018, 19:05:24 »
Ok came home due to my plans being cancelled (would have been nice to have been told) so tried this and got the same result

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Liked: 1286
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #13 on: June 06, 2018, 19:13:52 »
So both were flashing green, you pressed the button on the tx and it made no difference?

Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Liked: 64
  • Country: gb
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2018, 19:16:00 »
If I press the button on the tx when it’s flashing green it stops and shows an orange light the sort of pulses

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Liked: 1286
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #15 on: June 06, 2018, 19:21:11 »
To give you some assurance I have had one of mine do that, I just don’t remember how I sorted it.

Once it is orange do another (short) press, should go back into bind mode, then pick the radio up and move it around near the quad, changing the aspect, don’t ask me why but I think that is what I did


Did you say you changed the freq on the tx?
May be worth changing it back and trying again

Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Liked: 64
  • Country: gb
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #16 on: June 06, 2018, 19:51:14 »
Ok set it back to 915mhz and tried again moving the thing round the quad at various angles and....

Nope still just get green flashing lights on the tx and rx. Followed by a red flashing on the rx after a while

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Liked: 1286
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #17 on: June 06, 2018, 20:00:43 »
Only real options are using the button to put it (the tx) in and out of bind mode repeatedly without powering down.
Then try same from the lua script but the micro is supposed to be done on push button (also just in case, tx should be in bind mode before the Rx is powered up, dunno if that makes any difference)

But otherwise tbs support, your supplier ought to have done that already, but if they haven’t you can raise a ticket directly with tbs on their site

Edit: afterthought, may be worth trying with the tx farther away from the rx
« Last Edit: June 06, 2018, 20:10:49 by Cheredanine »

Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Liked: 64
  • Country: gb
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #18 on: June 06, 2018, 20:43:21 »
i tried binding it with the quad sat at the bottom of the garden and still the same. i am currently working through each of the available firmwares to see if i can get any of them to bind

Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Liked: 64
  • Country: gb
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #19 on: June 06, 2018, 21:05:33 »
Now done all the available firmwares on both 868 and 915mhz and nope it’s not having any of it!

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Liked: 1286
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #20 on: June 06, 2018, 21:18:22 »
No mate I don’t think it is the firmware.
It is like they are not communicating.
You haven’t dropped the transmission power of the tx dramatically have you?

Every time I have fiddled mine into working it has been done by a combination of moving the quad, moving the radio, pressing the buttons and repowering

Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Liked: 64
  • Country: gb
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #21 on: June 06, 2018, 21:23:21 »
Nah not dropped the power and tried a bunch of locations around it and have given up! Gonna go see the person who I bought it from on Saturday morning now.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Liked: 1286
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #22 on: June 06, 2018, 21:25:15 »
Think that or direct support call with TBS showing them your vid would be the way to go

Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Liked: 64
  • Country: gb
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #23 on: June 06, 2018, 21:27:36 »
Im already talking to remo about it. But at least when I head in we can hopefully try an alternative tx module and see if that binds to the rx. Or something.

Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • Liked: 64
  • Country: gb
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #24 on: June 09, 2018, 15:43:34 »
This turned out to be a duff tx module. Now all sorted :)

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Liked: 1286
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Crossfire
« Reply #25 on: June 09, 2018, 17:35:36 »
Congrats mate