User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bad Raven: MB - ??
    August 18, 2018, 16:32:23
  • Mike Bagnall: My taranis must be wrong or broken it's brand new
    August 18, 2018, 14:13:47
  • Reman: Weather's way too ropey to go flying near Bristol today, But it's not too wet to go wading through a muddy field to walk my Labrador though........ Damn it ! LOL !
    August 12, 2018, 11:17:55
  • Bad Raven: They flew quads and planes
    August 10, 2018, 12:59:11
  • Bad Raven: Took some boys flying, they got an hour and a half before the wetness loomed.
    August 10, 2018, 12:58:53
  • mo_miah: lots of rain yesterday with some localised flooding, some more rain today, quads broken anyway so no flying for me, need a new frame :(
    August 10, 2018, 10:06:02
  • hoverfly: Spoke to soon there is some strange wet stuff falling from the sky. and my runner beans are making slurping noises..... ::)
    August 10, 2018, 09:30:31
  • Bad Raven: Bring a sponge.......
    August 10, 2018, 06:07:43
  • hoverfly: Not a drop  here the garden is like a desert..
    August 09, 2018, 21:57:22
  • Bad Raven: BIG thunderstorm with lots of cloud to cloud red and the occasional very close ground strikes.
    August 09, 2018, 21:12:51
  • Clarkie 22: Bad Crash and a poorly rotor arm :/
    August 06, 2018, 18:31:53
  • Bad Raven: The screamer alarm went off, usually early warning, but nit this time, didn't make it back to patch.
    August 06, 2018, 17:35:29
  • Bad Raven: Think I ran this pack a little close, just had to put 2359 into a 2200 pack. OOPS!
    August 06, 2018, 17:33:21
  • Bad Raven: I think nthere's agreat similarity, both talentless and over hyped.
    August 06, 2018, 14:21:58
  • Bajadre: @ Reman yeah matey haha
    August 06, 2018, 14:18:59
  • shawdreamer: keep that up and the only thing you'll "get" is commited.
    August 06, 2018, 13:48:17
  • hoverfly: Weird that i get..marianne faithfull broken english..... :shrug: :shrug:
    August 06, 2018, 13:22:23
  • Gav: :hmm:
    August 06, 2018, 11:33:20
  • DarkButterfly: Nope, that's just you ::)
    August 06, 2018, 10:43:08
  • shawdreamer: nope..... thats erm....... probably just you :huh
    August 06, 2018, 10:37:01

Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 85
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Flashing on w10  (Read 342 times)

Offline Stactix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Liked: 27
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Flashing on w10
« on: June 02, 2018, 20:13:44 »
So have just watched Joshua B's latest video about some intimidating features regarding d setpoint transition etc. within Betaflight and decided to change mine to see if there is a difference.

Although from what the comments were saying, 3.3.3 of Betaflight fixed one of the issues with making these changes.
I'm now failing at flashing my Kakute f4.

The manual says dfu needs to be an option and I'm not getting it.
I use w10 and have uninstalled the drivers /reinstalled but still no luck.
Tried multiple USB cables and bootloader via pin / betaflight CLI

Any ideas? :/



Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2722
  • Liked: 619
  • Country: gb
Re: Flashing on w10
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2018, 21:16:59 »
In cli mode you can get fc to dfu mode by just typing dfu. Then try fashing.

Offline Stactix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Liked: 27
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flashing on w10
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2018, 21:36:42 »
In cli mode you can get fc to dfu mode by just typing dfu. Then try fashing.

DFU no workie :(
BL works but just getting bootloader failed.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4796
  • Liked: 1286
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Flashing on w10
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2018, 23:10:00 »
I’m DFU mode flight controllers usually have a single solid blue LED

The cli command used to be DFU but I believe they changed it, try “msd”

Assuming ti doesn’t change when you hit the flash button try the boot button/pins whilst you power the board.

If that don’t work try the I pulserc driver fix program

Offline pheasant_plucker

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 573
  • Liked: 151
  • Country: england
  • I'm a ******!
    • RCModelFlyers (RCMF)
Re: Flashing on w10
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2018, 08:35:47 »
I have had this issue on the latest 1803 release of Windows 10 where I could not get the flight controller to go in to DFU mode where previously it worked perfectly every time.
You need to download ImpulseRC_Driver_Fixer
Start Betaflight and plug in you controller but don't connect in betaflight. Run the driver fixer and it will install the correct driver and put the FC in to DFU mode.

Gerry
The man serving me in the canteen said "Look, You can see the face of Jesus in the Margarine" The Asian guy next to me replied "I can't believe it's not Budda"
http://www.namfc.co.uk/pictures/fly.gif

Offline Stactix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Liked: 27
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flashing on w10
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2018, 10:41:13 »
I have had this issue on the latest 1803 release of Windows 10 where I could not get the flight controller to go in to DFU mode where previously it worked perfectly every time.
You need to download ImpulseRC_Driver_Fixer
Start Betaflight and plug in you controller but don't connect in betaflight. Run the driver fixer and it will install the correct driver and put the FC in to DFU mode.

Gerry

I recall using this in the past thanks for that.

So an update it looks like it might be a USB issue.
Didn't get the error message pop up last night but now, each time with half a dozen USB's after entering bootloader mode either with "BL" in betaflight or via the impulse. The usb disconnect sound occurs followed shortly after by 'windows cannot recognise this device'


I can get into my FC and change settings, just doesn't like BL mode at all :(

Offline pheasant_plucker

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 573
  • Liked: 151
  • Country: england
  • I'm a ******!
    • RCModelFlyers (RCMF)
Re: Flashing on w10
« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2018, 10:53:03 »
Are you using a direct USB port or a hub. Make sure you use a powered USB hub because  not all pc mobs can supply the specified 500ma

Gerry
The man serving me in the canteen said "Look, You can see the face of Jesus in the Margarine" The Asian guy next to me replied "I can't believe it's not Budda"
http://www.namfc.co.uk/pictures/fly.gif

Offline Stactix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Liked: 27
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flashing on w10
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2018, 11:22:21 »
Are you using a direct USB port or a hub. Make sure you use a powered USB hub because  not all pc mobs can supply the specified 500ma

Gerry

Not sure I have a powered Hub :( had a usb powered one but that isn't going to fix anything:p

Have tried my work laptop exact same issue, tried the USB cable I use for transfering data to an external hdd which should certainly work:/
Will have a hunt and see.
PC's running an MSI Z97 Gaming 5 Intel LGA1150

Offline Stactix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Liked: 27
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flashing on w10
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2018, 13:43:14 »
Going to try having a play this weekend once more but not confident about updating.
Will probably try adjusting the d settings to 1 for weight and 0.5 for Transition apparently only occurs on 0.01

Offline VaNDAL_UK

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Liked: 27
  • Country: gb
  • Does quad mean four?
    • YOUTUBE: Uber Micro Repairs
Re: Flashing on w10
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2018, 15:06:48 »
Try this to fix your drivers.
https://impulserc.com/pages/downloads
Diatone GT200S
Emaxx NightHawk 250 F3
Emaxx NightHawk 250 F3 
Unknown01 5" Quad F4
Unknown02 5" Quad F4
SkyZone Sky01
Taranis 9D+
ANET A8
YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/user/TheMojoharry
Uber Micro Repairs For Console repairs, General RC, Quads, Game Play and 3D printing.

Offline Stactix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Liked: 27
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flashing on w10
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2018, 15:51:08 »
Try this to fix your drivers.
https://impulserc.com/pages/downloads

Ahh tried that unfortunately. Puts it into 'bootloader mode' then does the same thing USB error pops up.
So thinking it's probably what Pheasant said.

Offline pheasant_plucker

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 573
  • Liked: 151
  • Country: england
  • I'm a ******!
    • RCModelFlyers (RCMF)
Re: Flashing on w10
« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2018, 18:32:13 »
Make sure it's a USB2 port and not USB3 (blue insert)

Gerry
The man serving me in the canteen said "Look, You can see the face of Jesus in the Margarine" The Asian guy next to me replied "I can't believe it's not Budda"
http://www.namfc.co.uk/pictures/fly.gif

Offline Stactix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Liked: 27
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flashing on w10
« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2018, 23:05:40 »
No luck this weekend, although noticeable improvement after making the change.
May try changing it from 0.5 to 0.1
But quads even more enjoyable to fly now.

Offline VaNDAL_UK

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Liked: 27
  • Country: gb
  • Does quad mean four?
    • YOUTUBE: Uber Micro Repairs
Re: Flashing on w10
« Reply #13 on: June 13, 2018, 16:54:23 »
This is odd. I've plugged loads of FC into the PC and Laptops at home and work with no powered hub and they all work.

Could it be your cable? Go on Amazon and buy a good quality USB cable one rated for 2 amp charge. You usually get and about 5 cables of different lengths for 8 quid. 

In Device manager un hide disconnected hardware and remove all the ghosted out USB devices and all your ports. Reboot then use the Impulse app to reinstall.

Diatone GT200S
Emaxx NightHawk 250 F3
Emaxx NightHawk 250 F3 
Unknown01 5" Quad F4
Unknown02 5" Quad F4
SkyZone Sky01
Taranis 9D+
ANET A8
YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/user/TheMojoharry
Uber Micro Repairs For Console repairs, General RC, Quads, Game Play and 3D printing.