User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • hoverfly: beararsedcheek... :laugh:
    September 18, 2018, 18:42:15
  • Bad Raven: or bearreft, or bear left?
    September 17, 2018, 14:21:16
  • Bad Raven: or isnotherebear
    September 17, 2018, 14:20:30
  • Bad Raven: more like doesnotcarebear
    September 17, 2018, 14:20:07
  • Gav: carebear?
    September 17, 2018, 11:37:44
  • atomiclama: you there bear??
    September 15, 2018, 11:42:45
  • Reman: Got stuck in traffic yesterday. After an hour I started using my phone (And an OTG cable) to look through the media files on a keyring of my old USB sticks. Found one that had the entire run of "Firefly" on it. I got through 3 episodes before the traffic started moving again....... God, That really was an amazing show.
    September 14, 2018, 19:52:46
  • Gav: ok dude
    September 08, 2018, 16:40:59
  • mo_miah: Gav- if its a camera ship then TBS crossfire is definitely what you need, the FrSky has limited channels and telemetry options, TBS crossfire has much better features and more channels to control camera gimbals etc
    September 07, 2018, 11:53:01
  • Gav: mo miah - wanna swap from immertionRC UHF and try something else on my camera Ship.
    September 07, 2018, 11:25:40
  • DarkButterfly: My laminate arrived, the rebuild is coming along ~~
    September 06, 2018, 20:00:44
  • hoverfly: I coated a couple of Slipstreams  a few years ago  It stiffened up the wing nicely .On the down side although it prevented dings when i had an high speed"arrival" it left the resin cracked. and the glass lifted slightly.  Well stuck laminate stiffens the wing and is flexible..
    September 06, 2018, 18:26:13
  • DarkButterfly: I'm doing laminate, just put my order in for some, also got some balsa wood for the side parts, had to use a kitchen knife to seperate the foam from the busted wood
    September 05, 2018, 13:21:11
  • atomiclama: Thanks, can't decide on fibre glass or laminate. Like the idea of fibre for some reason, don't know why.
    September 05, 2018, 10:45:48
  • Bad Raven: Usng PolyC, yes
    September 05, 2018, 10:13:54
  • atomiclama: Anyone fibre glass coat their wings??
    September 05, 2018, 09:30:22
  • atomiclama: @DB well you obviously need a bigger motor and ESC, as flying slower is just not possible.  ::)
    September 05, 2018, 09:29:59
  • DarkButterfly: ~~
    September 05, 2018, 09:10:18
  • hoverfly: If you put a couple of coats of Eze Kote on the wing before the laminate it sticks really well ..no lifting.. :smiley:
    September 05, 2018, 08:47:37
  • DarkButterfly: If it makes you feel better, I’m going to completely refurbish my falcon Evo with new balsa sides and new laminate ~~
    September 04, 2018, 21:42:53

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Battery size  (Read 407 times)

Offline mo_miah

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 399
  • Liked: 69
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Battery size
« on: March 09, 2018, 10:05:08 »
i was wondering...
my 5" quad uses a 4s 1500mah lipo
but i dont race, much prefer freestyle even though i'm not that great at it atm
i dont need to top speed that 4s offers
could i use a 3s 1800/2200mah to increase flight time as 3s higher capacity battery will weigh the same as a 4s lower capacity battery
would that work?
any benefit of sticking to 4s for freestyle?

Offline atomiclama

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • Liked: 794
  • Country: gb
  • Uhh! What's that then, Oh! new project.
Re: Battery size
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2018, 11:25:58 »
As you are used to 4S dropping to 3S would be a big hit in performance it would fly like a pig and by which I mean, punch outs, changes in direction and just general fly ability. All of which you need for freestyle.

I'd stick with 4S and just get more lipos.

Now if you just want to just cruise around then that's a different matter, whack a larger lipo on it and see how you go.
Wasdale X, Ow that hurt

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1562
  • Liked: 623
  • Country: gb
Re: Battery size
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2018, 11:29:31 »
Talking fixed wing for a moment, choice of number of cells is a variable linked with prop diameter and pitch juts as much as it is about the motor.  If you have the correct props to suit the number of cells, then the higher cell count will give a higher current potential (if the motor can take it).

In principle this follows into MRs. My GP freestyle MRs can run 4S but all use 3S and suitably propped perform nearly as well but for longer.

Drop from 4S to 3S and the punch out from moves might be reduced even with correct pitch props, but whether that is enough to be an issue is down to your flying style.  It isn't on mine.

Offline mo_miah

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 399
  • Liked: 69
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Battery size
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2018, 11:51:24 »
punch outs, that a good point, with 4s i guess i can freefall closer to the ground and have enough power to recover

Offline Bajadre

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 731
  • Liked: 209
  • Country: gb
Re: Battery size
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2018, 17:06:25 »
before using 1550mah 3s on my nighthawk I used to use 3s 2200mahs used to get a good 10mins upto 5mins on the 1550s obv ike said dropping from 4s to 3s you will notice the power difference,but I always liked cruising around more than WOT  ~~
Emax nighthawk 280,Emax x4,Blade 350qx3,dx6 (gen2),fatshark doms v2.

Offline mo_miah

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 399
  • Liked: 69
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Battery size
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2018, 17:33:45 »
that's the idea, my acro needs work so i would prefer flight time over speed until i get hang of the controls

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2774
  • Liked: 630
  • Country: gb
Re: Battery size
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2018, 20:52:26 »
There is 1 other problem with 3S. That is because you have less thrust, and not just max thrust but you also have less torque. So if you mess up and the quad is coming down too fast 4S gives you more thrust to pull up. So you might be better off cutting your rates in BetaFlight so your sticks are less sensitive till you can better master the controls.
While 3S will give you longer flight times it might actually be more difficult to freestyle.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4892
  • Liked: 1325
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Battery size
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2018, 22:10:36 »
I would really stick to 4s, it isn’t, as others have said, just about Top end speed.
Can I ask what motors and props you are using? It is possible you can get longer flight times from changing props

Offline mo_miah

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 399
  • Liked: 69
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Battery size
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2018, 22:25:15 »
Emax rs2205 2300kv. Dal 5040

Offline Bajadre

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 731
  • Liked: 209
  • Country: gb
Re: Battery size
« Reply #9 on: March 09, 2018, 23:24:43 »
true what the guys are saying about having that extra zip for last minute saves etc 3s is more for relaxed flying, a few speed dives but nothing flatout,give it try matey and see how you get on I found 4s a bit too nippy for me tbh am a lazy flyer haha  :laugh:
Emax nighthawk 280,Emax x4,Blade 350qx3,dx6 (gen2),fatshark doms v2.

Offline Elmattbo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 948
  • Liked: 332
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • Youtube
Re: Battery size
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2018, 00:39:37 »
If you have a Taranis you can always create a different curve so the throttle range between idle and full stick is only say 75% of the actual throttle range of the motors. This gives you more throttle resolution, limits the top end, but still lets the flight controller use the full throttle range for manoeuvrability. Maybe that would help?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk