User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • hoverfly: beararsedcheek... :laugh:
    September 18, 2018, 18:42:15
  • Bad Raven: or bearreft, or bear left?
    September 17, 2018, 14:21:16
  • Bad Raven: or isnotherebear
    September 17, 2018, 14:20:30
  • Bad Raven: more like doesnotcarebear
    September 17, 2018, 14:20:07
  • Gav: carebear?
    September 17, 2018, 11:37:44
  • atomiclama: you there bear??
    September 15, 2018, 11:42:45
  • Reman: Got stuck in traffic yesterday. After an hour I started using my phone (And an OTG cable) to look through the media files on a keyring of my old USB sticks. Found one that had the entire run of "Firefly" on it. I got through 3 episodes before the traffic started moving again....... God, That really was an amazing show.
    September 14, 2018, 19:52:46
  • Gav: ok dude
    September 08, 2018, 16:40:59
  • mo_miah: Gav- if its a camera ship then TBS crossfire is definitely what you need, the FrSky has limited channels and telemetry options, TBS crossfire has much better features and more channels to control camera gimbals etc
    September 07, 2018, 11:53:01
  • Gav: mo miah - wanna swap from immertionRC UHF and try something else on my camera Ship.
    September 07, 2018, 11:25:40
  • DarkButterfly: My laminate arrived, the rebuild is coming along ~~
    September 06, 2018, 20:00:44
  • hoverfly: I coated a couple of Slipstreams  a few years ago  It stiffened up the wing nicely .On the down side although it prevented dings when i had an high speed"arrival" it left the resin cracked. and the glass lifted slightly.  Well stuck laminate stiffens the wing and is flexible..
    September 06, 2018, 18:26:13
  • DarkButterfly: I'm doing laminate, just put my order in for some, also got some balsa wood for the side parts, had to use a kitchen knife to seperate the foam from the busted wood
    September 05, 2018, 13:21:11
  • atomiclama: Thanks, can't decide on fibre glass or laminate. Like the idea of fibre for some reason, don't know why.
    September 05, 2018, 10:45:48
  • Bad Raven: Usng PolyC, yes
    September 05, 2018, 10:13:54
  • atomiclama: Anyone fibre glass coat their wings??
    September 05, 2018, 09:30:22
  • atomiclama: @DB well you obviously need a bigger motor and ESC, as flying slower is just not possible.  ::)
    September 05, 2018, 09:29:59
  • DarkButterfly: ~~
    September 05, 2018, 09:10:18
  • hoverfly: If you put a couple of coats of Eze Kote on the wing before the laminate it sticks really well ..no lifting.. :smiley:
    September 05, 2018, 08:47:37
  • DarkButterfly: If it makes you feel better, I’m going to completely refurbish my falcon Evo with new balsa sides and new laminate ~~
    September 04, 2018, 21:42:53

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Camera Control in BetaFlight?  (Read 985 times)

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2776
  • Liked: 631
  • Country: gb
Camera Control in BetaFlight?
« on: February 09, 2018, 22:03:17 »
So just read Oscar Laings article on Camera Control https://oscarliang.com/fpv-camera-control-fc/.
So now I am keen on getting my FC - via tx to be able to control my RunCam Micro 2, well if I had a FC that had a working osd I would, but that's another issue to sort.
Anyway the article looks interesting. Basically you add a resistor in series with the pin that normally you plug the joystick into and do a bit of resource mapping. Mind you I think that is only necessary if you dont have a spare uart. Then using the BF OSD you can change settings on the camera. Sounds perfect as my Micro 2 has pre set scenes which are great to be able to flick between a bright sunny day and late in the day with just a few flicks of the tx sticks. Means less to carry, OK so the joystick thing isn't exactly large but it one less thing to remember to carry about.

So has anyone tried BetaFlight Camera Control?

Offline daich

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Liked: 59
  • Country: gb
  • crash. build.
Re: Camera Control in BetaFlight?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2018, 22:32:19 »
I've set it up on my caddx sdr1 and is ultra convenient.
a few points though
-you don't need a working osd actually...it's using the OSD built into the camera
-it doesn't tie up a uart but you have to give up your LED_strip pin
-unfortunately it doesn't work with micro swift 2's awesome scene selector as it doesn't do Long presses which you need to get into the scene selection menu. But it will still be able to go into the standard menu to make adjustments

I stole a tiny SMD resistor off of a broken PCB which I looked up on google to be within a useable range. Didn't end up needing a capacitor.
Using this really the below thread on rcgroups you can find what values to set your reference voltage (so you don't have to measure it yourself), key delay and internal resistance

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?2961216-Betaflight-Camera-Control-Compatibility-Reports



Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2776
  • Liked: 631
  • Country: gb
Re: Camera Control in BetaFlight?
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2018, 22:47:26 »
RunCam have now made an interface to go between a uart and the cameras. OK so it's not as light as a resistor (plus capacitor if necessary) but it is supposed to work with the Micro 2  ::)
Its only about £3 from here  RunCam Camera Control

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1562
  • Liked: 623
  • Country: gb
Re: Camera Control in BetaFlight?
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2018, 06:00:55 »
Ordered  (Well, PRE-Ordered!)   ~~

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2776
  • Liked: 631
  • Country: gb
Re: Camera Control in BetaFlight?
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2018, 11:12:50 »
Ordered  (Well, PRE-Ordered!)   ~~
Cool, let us know how you get on.
I must replace my fc as it has a dodgy video chip so no osd. But getting more batts seems more important  ::)
Trying to find 4s 1500/1300 lipo at reasonable price in uk seems difficult due to p&p.