User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • hoverfly: beararsedcheek... :laugh:
    September 18, 2018, 18:42:15
  • Bad Raven: or bearreft, or bear left?
    September 17, 2018, 14:21:16
  • Bad Raven: or isnotherebear
    September 17, 2018, 14:20:30
  • Bad Raven: more like doesnotcarebear
    September 17, 2018, 14:20:07
  • Gav: carebear?
    September 17, 2018, 11:37:44
  • atomiclama: you there bear??
    September 15, 2018, 11:42:45
  • Reman: Got stuck in traffic yesterday. After an hour I started using my phone (And an OTG cable) to look through the media files on a keyring of my old USB sticks. Found one that had the entire run of "Firefly" on it. I got through 3 episodes before the traffic started moving again....... God, That really was an amazing show.
    September 14, 2018, 19:52:46
  • Gav: ok dude
    September 08, 2018, 16:40:59
  • mo_miah: Gav- if its a camera ship then TBS crossfire is definitely what you need, the FrSky has limited channels and telemetry options, TBS crossfire has much better features and more channels to control camera gimbals etc
    September 07, 2018, 11:53:01
  • Gav: mo miah - wanna swap from immertionRC UHF and try something else on my camera Ship.
    September 07, 2018, 11:25:40
  • DarkButterfly: My laminate arrived, the rebuild is coming along ~~
    September 06, 2018, 20:00:44
  • hoverfly: I coated a couple of Slipstreams  a few years ago  It stiffened up the wing nicely .On the down side although it prevented dings when i had an high speed"arrival" it left the resin cracked. and the glass lifted slightly.  Well stuck laminate stiffens the wing and is flexible..
    September 06, 2018, 18:26:13
  • DarkButterfly: I'm doing laminate, just put my order in for some, also got some balsa wood for the side parts, had to use a kitchen knife to seperate the foam from the busted wood
    September 05, 2018, 13:21:11
  • atomiclama: Thanks, can't decide on fibre glass or laminate. Like the idea of fibre for some reason, don't know why.
    September 05, 2018, 10:45:48
  • Bad Raven: Usng PolyC, yes
    September 05, 2018, 10:13:54
  • atomiclama: Anyone fibre glass coat their wings??
    September 05, 2018, 09:30:22
  • atomiclama: @DB well you obviously need a bigger motor and ESC, as flying slower is just not possible.  ::)
    September 05, 2018, 09:29:59
  • DarkButterfly: ~~
    September 05, 2018, 09:10:18
  • hoverfly: If you put a couple of coats of Eze Kote on the wing before the laminate it sticks really well ..no lifting.. :smiley:
    September 05, 2018, 08:47:37
  • DarkButterfly: If it makes you feel better, I’m going to completely refurbish my falcon Evo with new balsa sides and new laminate ~~
    September 04, 2018, 21:42:53

Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 68
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Taranis plus not binding to x4rsb  (Read 481 times)

Offline Mi96ke

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Liked: 3
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Taranis plus not binding to x4rsb
« on: January 07, 2018, 23:51:18 »
I've gone through loads of threads and YouTube videos but still nothing,
Trying to bind my taranis 9xd+ to x4rsb receiver;
D16, 1-16, bind mode.
F/s held down, power on, should get a red and green light (I know what to do or will be able to figure it out from there) but I'm only getting the solid red light on the Rx.
I know about the different firmware versions etc and have tried new, old, EU, non EU firmware on the taranis, the x4rsb is EU, bought a month ago. Ideally I'd like a flashing green light but even if I can get it to both solid it'd be something,
I've gone through most of the internet regarding this, anyone got any ideas on this one?
Thanks

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1562
  • Liked: 623
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis plus not binding to x4rsb
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2018, 06:39:40 »
There is EU and there is LBT EU. Anything bought recently will be LBT. Any possibility you have used the wrong pairing of EU firmware?   

Need to know what version firmware your Tx is running, also if you have other Rx working.

Offline Mi96ke

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Liked: 3
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Taranis plus not binding to x4rsb
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2018, 18:37:25 »
I've tried open tx 2.1.6 (the stock version) mode 1 and 2 EU and non EU, 2.2.1 EU and non EU on the taranis, the x4rsb I haven't touched, it's the first time using everything

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4892
  • Liked: 1325
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Taranis plus not binding to x4rsb
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2018, 19:00:08 »
Open tx is the software on the radio, it has nothing to do with binding, that is the firmware on the internal module.
Suggest you go the Frsky site, flash the latest firmware on the radio internal module (again not opentx) and flash the latest firmware to the xsr
Painless360has an excellent guide or:

Offline Mi96ke

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Liked: 3
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Taranis plus not binding to x4rsb
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2018, 19:17:32 »
I got the most recent firmware file from fryskys website, the 2.1.6 version I said about, not Open TX, my mistake, and flashed it through the taranis' own bootloader, still no joy with any of those 4 firmwares, do you think upgrading the firmware on the x4r will help? Only bought a month ago with the EU sticker on the packaging, I can't remember if it was the lbt version or not, could it be an lbt mismatch?

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4892
  • Liked: 1325
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Taranis plus not binding to x4rsb
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2018, 19:56:38 »
The firmware on the reciever needs to match the firmware on the internal module in the radio, both in type (lbt and non-eu) and version.
So yeah the easiest thing to do is flash both.
That video shows you how to do both by putting both on an sd card.

Your version numbers still smack of opentx, not Frsky, they have a lot more numbers in their version numbers

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4892
  • Liked: 1325
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Taranis plus not binding to x4rsb
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2018, 19:59:56 »
Yeah just checked, you are using “firmware”on the taranis site, that is opentx.
You need to use the download from firmware-xjt I believe (been a while)
Basically take the sd card out the taranis, stick it in a pc, stick the latest firmware for the internal xjt module and the xsr on it, then stick it back in the taranis and follow instructions for both.
The latest version number is 170317
« Last Edit: January 08, 2018, 20:03:49 by Cheredanine »

Offline Mi96ke

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Liked: 3
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Taranis plus not binding to x4rsb
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2018, 20:02:47 »
Thanks for your help, I'll give that a go, what's the xjt part?

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4892
  • Liked: 1325
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Taranis plus not binding to x4rsb
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2018, 20:06:27 »
Revised above, the xjt is the transmitter.
If you think of the radio as a computer with a special card in the back, opentx (what they call firmware is a custom version of opentx) is like the software. But to get the card to talk to what you want the card has to have the right firmware.
Watch the video, when he choses to flash the external module, there is another option to flash the internal module, that is what you are after, that will flash the radio internal module using the firmware you have copied to the sd card

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4892
  • Liked: 1325
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Taranis plus not binding to x4rsb
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2018, 20:09:51 »
Peter is a usefull guy, this may help understand:

Offline Mi96ke

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Liked: 3
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Taranis plus not binding to x4rsb
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2018, 19:10:48 »
Thank you so much! Finally got it bound, just need to set it all up now. After doing more research, and a lot of looking around for the firmware (as it's the frysky page is just coming up ass 404 page not found) found the xjt firmware flash it to the internal module and Shazam! I think it was the LBT issue