User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • yama: contemplating a mavic 2 zoom?? i have always been anti dji normally...
    October 15, 2018, 09:16:27
  • hoverfly: Typical.... lazy sods. spin them up. ::)
    October 13, 2018, 19:52:31
  • atomiclama: I've some 5 inch 3D props doing nowt.
    October 12, 2018, 19:53:07
  • Gav: a 6" 3D Prop Shop
    October 12, 2018, 19:22:08
  • Wyntrblue: Anyone know where to get 6” 3D props?
    October 12, 2018, 19:08:49
  • atomiclama: How are they going to prove otherwise?
    October 12, 2018, 13:25:23
  • atomiclama: Think I'll put a 25mW sticker on mine. also a stick that says quad is limited to 399ft. I'll also put something on my tx stating 25mW. Sorted everyone happy  ::)
    October 12, 2018, 13:24:21
  • Bad Raven: I think a lot of us will have seen the published (leaked) training instructions to police officers on FPV, which was both incomplete and incorrect. Only the Little Hitler types will be comfortable treading any of that path!
    October 12, 2018, 07:08:58
  • Bajadre: I dont it reman unless he had a good bit fo drone knowledge ive shown my drone to a officer whi was interested before and all he said i like the green props haha
    October 12, 2018, 01:54:03
  • Andy7: They'll call in the flying squad on you
    October 11, 2018, 20:54:44
  • hoverfly: Don't think they would have done until they read your post... :laugh:
    October 10, 2018, 19:58:44
  • Reman: Thought for the day - If a knowledgeable police officer stopped you and saw that you had a "600mW" VTX on your quad he'll get funny about it, But would even a VERY knowledgeable officer know what they were looking at if the same VTX had a professional looking label under the heat shrink that proclaimed that the VTX was in fact a 25mW unit?  :hmm:
    October 10, 2018, 18:16:41
  • atomiclama: FrSky R9M Module and R9MM Receiver just been shipped. Yeay.... nothing flying at the mo to put it in though  ::)
    October 08, 2018, 09:43:41
  • Bajadre: i still pop on too see what you crazy guys are up too haha :)
    October 06, 2018, 06:43:09
  • atomiclama: Still here, Only just.......
    October 05, 2018, 13:41:07
  • Wyntrblue: I’m still here. Spent today whooping round the house too. It being decidedly too cold to go outside to fly now
    September 30, 2018, 19:15:16
  • ched999uk: Did the Big Fly-Up #6 happen? No one has posted anything today!!!!
    September 29, 2018, 21:25:47
  • atomiclama: Nothing to see here, move along now
    September 28, 2018, 16:09:24
  • hoverfly: Only the Moribund Flyers.. ::)...
    September 27, 2018, 19:05:46
  • Gav: anyone still alive out there
    September 27, 2018, 17:19:11

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Flip32 Pro & Futaba S-Bus  (Read 367 times)

Offline a_px

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: scotland
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Flip32 Pro & Futaba S-Bus
« on: December 29, 2017, 16:55:12 »
Hi, I have a Futaba R3006SB receiver & I'm trying to get that to talk to a Flip32 Pro FC board over S-Bus. I have the receiver set to S-Bus mode & the FC board set to PPM & S-Bus via the Baseflight GUI. None of the channels respond to stick movement.

Some folk on the web seem to suggest for Futaba & Flip32/Naze32 you need a signal inverter between the receiver & the FC board (converts the 5v high pulse to low & vice-versa). It's easy enough to build that with a transistor & a couple of resistors, so I gave that a go & I can see the serial data pulses coming from the receiver on an oscilloscope. They are indeed the opposite way up on the way out into the FC board, so that bit seems to work, but still no response on any of the channels. I managed to get a scope probe onto the PPM line into UART2 on the FC board & I can see the data pulses from the receiver, so I know the data is reaching the board, seems it's not being decoded.

Anyone come across this before?

Offline a_px

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: scotland
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flip32 Pro & Futaba S-Bus
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2017, 13:35:53 »
Turns out to be a faulty FC board. I can get the setup working on an old Naze32 board, no response on the new one with the same config. Nothing to do with Futaba Sbus & Naze compatibility, though I do need to use the inverter cable with the old board to get it to work.

So I need another FC board & I'm wondering if I should go for something different. I'm most interested in photography so I want stability, accurate GPS & height etc. I guess most boards do that but maybe there is something better than the cheap Naze32/Flip32 boards. Suggestions?

Offline Paul01

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1392
  • Liked: 313
  • Country: gb
Re: Flip32 Pro & Futaba S-Bus
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2017, 14:13:44 »
You want a board that's supported by iNav as that's the best branch of cleanflight for GPS. There are others but the Matek f405 is one of the recommended boards by the iNav development team.
FrSky Taranis X9D Plus with TBS Crossfire Micro
FatShark Dominator V3 with RealAcc Pro Diversity
Armattan Chameleon
DJI Mavic Pro
https://www.youtube.com/c/paul01

Offline a_px

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: scotland
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flip32 Pro & Futaba S-Bus
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2017, 16:06:42 »
Thanks Paul, will take a look at that. Also been looking at the OpenPilot CC3D Revolution F4 with UHF telemetry. Anyone used these?