User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • hoverfly: beararsedcheek... :laugh:
    September 18, 2018, 18:42:15
  • Bad Raven: or bearreft, or bear left?
    September 17, 2018, 14:21:16
  • Bad Raven: or isnotherebear
    September 17, 2018, 14:20:30
  • Bad Raven: more like doesnotcarebear
    September 17, 2018, 14:20:07
  • Gav: carebear?
    September 17, 2018, 11:37:44
  • atomiclama: you there bear??
    September 15, 2018, 11:42:45
  • Reman: Got stuck in traffic yesterday. After an hour I started using my phone (And an OTG cable) to look through the media files on a keyring of my old USB sticks. Found one that had the entire run of "Firefly" on it. I got through 3 episodes before the traffic started moving again....... God, That really was an amazing show.
    September 14, 2018, 19:52:46
  • Gav: ok dude
    September 08, 2018, 16:40:59
  • mo_miah: Gav- if its a camera ship then TBS crossfire is definitely what you need, the FrSky has limited channels and telemetry options, TBS crossfire has much better features and more channels to control camera gimbals etc
    September 07, 2018, 11:53:01
  • Gav: mo miah - wanna swap from immertionRC UHF and try something else on my camera Ship.
    September 07, 2018, 11:25:40
  • DarkButterfly: My laminate arrived, the rebuild is coming along ~~
    September 06, 2018, 20:00:44
  • hoverfly: I coated a couple of Slipstreams  a few years ago  It stiffened up the wing nicely .On the down side although it prevented dings when i had an high speed"arrival" it left the resin cracked. and the glass lifted slightly.  Well stuck laminate stiffens the wing and is flexible..
    September 06, 2018, 18:26:13
  • DarkButterfly: I'm doing laminate, just put my order in for some, also got some balsa wood for the side parts, had to use a kitchen knife to seperate the foam from the busted wood
    September 05, 2018, 13:21:11
  • atomiclama: Thanks, can't decide on fibre glass or laminate. Like the idea of fibre for some reason, don't know why.
    September 05, 2018, 10:45:48
  • Bad Raven: Usng PolyC, yes
    September 05, 2018, 10:13:54
  • atomiclama: Anyone fibre glass coat their wings??
    September 05, 2018, 09:30:22
  • atomiclama: @DB well you obviously need a bigger motor and ESC, as flying slower is just not possible.  ::)
    September 05, 2018, 09:29:59
  • DarkButterfly: ~~
    September 05, 2018, 09:10:18
  • hoverfly: If you put a couple of coats of Eze Kote on the wing before the laminate it sticks really well ..no lifting.. :smiley:
    September 05, 2018, 08:47:37
  • DarkButterfly: If it makes you feel better, I’m going to completely refurbish my falcon Evo with new balsa sides and new laminate ~~
    September 04, 2018, 21:42:53

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: I think I fried my little bee esc  (Read 2374 times)

Offline bossy202

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
I think I fried my little bee esc
« on: January 20, 2017, 14:56:53 »
Firstly, hello everyone, I';m new to the forum and the hobby so go easy on me!
I';ve just built myself a quad (naze 32, little bee 30A esc, Emax RS2205S 2300KV) and I think I might have fried one of the escs.

Build finished, connected to cleanflight, all motors were running in reverse (stupid mistake I know) so re-soldered wires to reverse direction.
This worked fine for 3 of the motors, only now when I connect in clean flight and try to run motor 4, it makes a very unhappy beeping noise and doesnt spin at all. to describe the beeping, it';s *high low high low high low*. I';t';s definitely telling me that something is unhappy, but as yet i cant figure out what.
I';ve resoldered the joint on this motor again but still no luck.
When i get time, I';ll try swapping it with another motor, but i have a feeling its the esc. Cant figure out what could have gone so horribly wrong when i swapped two wires tho  :confused:

Thanks in advance for any help


Offline Gav

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1726
  • Liked: 790
  • Country: gb
  • quadtastic
    • 5.8GHz FPV Antenna FORSALE
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2017, 15:20:06 »
ello!  Have you tried throttle range calibration routine on them?

Offline bossy202

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2017, 15:28:14 »
I have not! how would I go about doing that?
Thanks :)

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2774
  • Liked: 630
  • Country: gb
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2017, 17:24:37 »
Welcome. Have a look at http://www.little-bellanca.com/manual_download/flza3000-tech.pdf
Down at the bottom there is a trouble shooting guide. It gives info on beeps and what to try and fix.
Hope that helps?

Offline GdLookinMingeR

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 625
  • Liked: 195
  • Country: gb
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2017, 18:44:44 »
Have you fired up blheli suite through cleanflight to check the config?
Good luck
Jay
! No longer available

Carbon Tricopter with KK2 mini because you have to own a Tri and Falcon Evo FPV (rebuild again) with fatshark 600mw vtx & pz2040 cam. New addition (hidden from the missus!) 250 quad.

Offline bossy202

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2017, 00:06:06 »
OK, so I';ve been pulling my hair out trying to get blheli to work with my escs. for some reason when i have it connected, it doesnt seem to be recognising them as littlebee, instead it says "A-H-15"

I';ve attached a screenshot highlighting where it says  this.



If I try to flash firmware, I dont get any option to use littlebee either.

Any ideas?

thanks!

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4892
  • Liked: 1325
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2017, 00:08:10 »
That is blheli_s firmware, not blheli
I don';t think A-H-15 is the right hex, are all 4 of them showing the same hex?

A - pin layout of processor
H - BB2 chipset
15 - latency value

they come flashed with a hex out the factory, you should continue to use that hex, just later versions, you can, however use a hex with a higher latency, for example if they came with A-H-30 you could flash with A-H-50 but not A-H-15

I have a vague recollection littlebee recomend 30
Also what signal are you using?oneshot?
« Last Edit: January 21, 2017, 00:12:25 by Cheredanine »

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4892
  • Liked: 1325
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2017, 00:14:26 »
Also you are showing the screenshot for motor 1
Please show motor 4
(See the four boxes at the bottom, click on each in turn until only motor 4 has a number in it

Offline bossy202

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2017, 00:26:49 »
yes its showing the same hex for all the escs. I cant figure out why its showing me A-H-15 and not FVT littlebee 30A.
Yeah im using oneshot

Offline bossy202

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2017, 00:38:27 »
Here';s a quick video showing what happens when i try to start the motor




Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4892
  • Liked: 1325
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2017, 02:38:29 »
yes its showing the same hex for all the escs. I cant figure out why its showing me A-H-15 and not FVT littlebee 30A.
Yeah im using oneshot
Because they are blheli_s escs, not blheli.  Blheli_s uses that type of name, not names with the escs on them
As above, please provide screenshot of motor4

Offline bossy202

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2017, 11:38:30 »
ah! so that makes sense about the A-H-15 hex for these escs. I';ve attached screenshots for all the escs and an overview. The throttle settings are after a calibration.













So, the million dollar question, how do I go about making this esc happy again?

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4892
  • Liked: 1325
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2017, 11:45:59 »
Ok mate
So that all looks ok
First issue is 16.3 had a nasty habit of bricking or blowing escs, can';t remember which off the top of my head,

Upgrade blheli_s
Just accept everything (it will offer you the same hex name - A-H-15
That should get you to 16.6
Then try again

If you are still beeping not spinning then check physical connections for that motor and if that is fine, try flashing with a hex with a higher number such as A-H-30
« Last Edit: January 21, 2017, 11:52:47 by Cheredanine »

Offline bossy202

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2017, 15:01:01 »
Ok, thanks for the help. I';m hesitant to flash firmware though, when the other 3 are working fine, and this one was also working fine until I switched the motor wires.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4892
  • Liked: 1325
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2017, 15:09:08 »
Flashing firmware is trivial, i would want off 16.3 anyway, it has known issues
But if there is nothing physical then flashing with a larger quiescence would be the next step

Offline bossy202

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #15 on: January 22, 2017, 12:49:15 »
so I was unable to flash directly to 16.6 from 16.3, so I went down to 16.1 and was able to flash 16.6 to the unhappy esc. (decided against trying it on the working ones yet)

It';s still making unhappy noises at me when i try to run the motor :(
I';m able to write new values of max/throttle etc to the esc, it just wont run!

Any ideas?
dodgy motor?

Offline GdLookinMingeR

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 625
  • Liked: 195
  • Country: gb
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #16 on: January 22, 2017, 13:25:32 »
sounds like a bad solder joint TBH
Might be worth checking the motor mounts as well.

Good Luck
Jay
Carbon Tricopter with KK2 mini because you have to own a Tri and Falcon Evo FPV (rebuild again) with fatshark 600mw vtx & pz2040 cam. New addition (hidden from the missus!) 250 quad.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4892
  • Liked: 1325
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #17 on: January 22, 2017, 13:31:17 »
Tend to agree, something physically not well connected or something connected or touching that shouldn';t be

Offline bossy202

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #18 on: January 22, 2017, 13:53:04 »
sounds like a bad solder joint TBH
Might be worth checking the motor mounts as well.

Good Luck
Jay

Motor mount? do you mean check that i haven';t screwed into the bottom of the windings? I';ve double checked the screws are short enough.

As for solder joints, i';ve resoldered the motor to the esc and im happy with those joints. I think the other esc joints are fine as well, seeing as the motor has previously run, before i changed the direction.

Offline bossy202

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: I think I fried my little bee esc
« Reply #19 on: January 23, 2017, 18:04:34 »
So you guys were right!
Under investigation (with magnifying glass) i found a tiny piece of solder bridging two of the surface mount components. the lightest touch with a soldering iron caused it to flow and clear the gap.
HEY PRESTO
working motor!

Thanks for all the help guys. no doubt ill be back in the future with more stupid questions!