User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • VaNDAL_UK: ANyone FPV onver Sutton Park Birmingham?
    December 07, 2018, 12:54:30
  • steveo9007: Cheers Atom was just a thought for now as I plan on keeping it well in range until I get comfortable with controls and flying
    December 05, 2018, 21:01:25
  • atomiclama: steveo You can just plug a GPS puck into the FC and get the OSB to display the coords, record the VTX and when things go tits up you have the last known posistion. Whislt not accurate it is a good starting point. Or get the coords sent back by telemetry to you TX which will be more accurate as long as power is maintained to the quad and it is range with the TX. Just some thoughts.
    December 04, 2018, 12:27:26
  • steveo9007: Is there a post on here about the 433mhz telem tx ??
    December 04, 2018, 07:56:49
  • steveo9007: ok thanks shaw
    December 03, 2018, 20:31:44
  • shawdreamer: meanwhile the 433mhz telem option I mentioned gives you live fixes in realtime and not "delayed texts"..... plus it doesnt cost you credit everytime you request a gps fix (btw the tags sim card also needs to have credit on it :laugh:)
    December 02, 2018, 20:47:10
  • shawdreamer: and yes that does actually work..... I tried it for a laugh a couple of years ago ::)
    December 02, 2018, 20:45:09
  • shawdreamer: the tags do as you say use satellites to get positional fixes but they dont immediately report those fixes to an App, each tag requires a Sim card (same as your phone) which is used to "text" you the tags position..... in other words you could get the exact same effect by strapping a old smartphone to your frame with the google "where is my device" app installed
    December 02, 2018, 20:44:13
  • steveo9007: doesnt the tag communicate with the satellites and not via a data system, isn't it the user who owns the tag go via data to the app that can locate the tag ???
    December 02, 2018, 18:18:11
  • shawdreamer: plus, alot of the lower end trackers struggle with GPRS and often rely heavily on GSM data instead which is just not worth a sh1te when it comes to pinpointing a downed frame
    December 02, 2018, 16:23:30
  • shawdreamer: most readily available gps trackers are not really suitable for anything smaller than a 400 sized frame as the units themselves are often too bulky for anything smaller and larger frames often already have their own gps setups that can simply be outfitted with a 433mhz telem tx that would report live and accurate info direct to a ground station so there'd be no point in a sms type tracker
    December 02, 2018, 16:22:07
  • steveo9007: anybody fitted a GPS tracker tag to their drones if it gets lost and is need to find it
    December 02, 2018, 14:56:36
  • Gav: yeah too much of a hike for me too.  was tempted with the bike show the other week but TBH its not worth it - no bargains anymore and rip off parking
    November 29, 2018, 20:11:21
  • Bad Raven: Too far for me.
    November 29, 2018, 08:27:36
  • hoverfly: Sunday drone show , N.E.C.  anybody   going.??
    November 28, 2018, 18:36:04
  • Bajadre: Congrats DB brother  !!!
    November 25, 2018, 03:09:56
  • hoverfly: I wish i haden't eaten a whole ham and egg pie........ pass the Rennies.. :cry
    November 21, 2018, 17:23:37
  • ched999uk: Don't yo just hate those days where you wish you never got up!!!!!!
    November 21, 2018, 15:46:06
  • Reman: Isn't it a spooky coincidense how seconds before banggood have a sale nearly all the prices of the on sale items go up, But the discount drops the price back to the pre sale prices?
    November 21, 2018, 05:46:29
  • DarkButterfly: Certainly hard work but well worth it ::)
    November 19, 2018, 22:19:02

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: X-Racer Multi-Shot issue  (Read 1247 times)

Offline Paul01

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1392
  • Liked: 313
  • Country: gb
X-Racer Multi-Shot issue
« on: December 14, 2016, 09:58:43 »
Hi Guys,

Got a strange issue with the following setup

X-Racer 303 3.1 flight controller running Betaflight 3.0.1
FVT LittleBee 20a running Multi-shot 14.85
Gyro set to 8k
Looptime set to 2k

When I power the board everything starts up as expected, however if I plug the flight controller into the computer and connect to it with betaflight (lipo still plugged in), all of the motors randomly twitch or spin a little, usually individually.

All this goes away if I set the looptime to 4k.

Anyone know the reason for this?

Cheers,

Paul.
FrSky Taranis X9D Plus with TBS Crossfire Micro
FatShark Dominator V3 with RealAcc Pro Diversity
Armattan Chameleon
DJI Mavic Pro
https://www.youtube.com/c/paul01

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4975
  • Liked: 1379
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: X-Racer Multi-Shot issue
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2016, 10:03:23 »
Most likely:
Are you sure it is a 3.1 and not a 2.1? 2.1 and earlier use i2c gyro, that can';t go at 8khz, the 3.1 has SPI like most other boards and can do 8khz gyro

Also check processor load

Offline Paul01

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1392
  • Liked: 313
  • Country: gb
Re: X-Racer Multi-Shot issue
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2016, 10:22:31 »
Most likely:
Are you sure it is a 3.1 and not a 2.1? 2.1 and earlier use i2c gyro, that can';t go at 8khz, the 3.1 has SPI like most other boards and can do 8khz gyro

Also check processor load

Hi Cheredanine

Yeah its defiantly the 3.1, and I am running the SPI version of the firmware. CPU is around 8% when I last checked I think with with 8k 4k enabled and no issues apparent, only happens when I set looptime to 2k.

FrSky Taranis X9D Plus with TBS Crossfire Micro
FatShark Dominator V3 with RealAcc Pro Diversity
Armattan Chameleon
DJI Mavic Pro
https://www.youtube.com/c/paul01

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4975
  • Liked: 1379
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: X-Racer Multi-Shot issue
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2016, 10:35:38 »
Ok mate, just rereading.

What is happening is potentially a slight difference in timing.
Have you calibrated your escs (this may or may not help)

Multishot uses 5 to 25 millionths of a second to indicate 1000 to 2000 throttle.

The difference between min command (which is what the FC sends when the thing should be still) and the point where the motors twitch is relatively small, potentially impacted by signal rise and fall
(This is one of the reasons for the new dshot protocol)

You could try cutting 20 points off min command but TBH if it only happens when you have a lipo plugged in and you connect configurator I wouldn';t worry about it, you shouldn';t be doing that often

Offline Paul01

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1392
  • Liked: 313
  • Country: gb
Re: X-Racer Multi-Shot issue
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2016, 11:11:02 »
You could try cutting 20 points off min command but TBH if it only happens when you have a lipo plugged in and you connect configurator I wouldn';t worry about it, you shouldn';t be doing that often

I did try setting min command to 900 to make sure that wasn';t the issue and it made no different, minimum throttle is confirm at 1040 with minimum command set to 1000.

Just been uber cautious, but was think the same myself. I might just test it a little bit more first though  :smiley:
FrSky Taranis X9D Plus with TBS Crossfire Micro
FatShark Dominator V3 with RealAcc Pro Diversity
Armattan Chameleon
DJI Mavic Pro
https://www.youtube.com/c/paul01

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4975
  • Liked: 1379
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: X-Racer Multi-Shot issue
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2016, 11:15:41 »
it shouldn';t be doing it, sounds like you are getting spurious spikes on the signal line, if it was doing anything then a cap may help, as it is check soldering? Have you used ground and signal wires to esc?

Offline Paul01

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1392
  • Liked: 313
  • Country: gb
Re: X-Racer Multi-Shot issue
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2016, 11:38:07 »
it shouldn';t be doing it, sounds like you are getting spurious spikes on the signal line, if it was doing anything then a cap may help, as it is check soldering? Have you used ground and signal wires to esc?

Yeah used ground and signal on all ESC. What I did notice was that the FC';s voltage is 5.1v with the lipo connected, but jumps to 5.3v when the usb cable is also connected. I';ll check soldering tonight, and I think i';ll connect a Bluetooth module to it and see what happens when I connect to it with Betaflight configuration without the USB cable.

Thanks for your help, i';ll let you know how I get on :beer2:
FrSky Taranis X9D Plus with TBS Crossfire Micro
FatShark Dominator V3 with RealAcc Pro Diversity
Armattan Chameleon
DJI Mavic Pro
https://www.youtube.com/c/paul01