User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • yama: contemplating a mavic 2 zoom?? i have always been anti dji normally...
    October 15, 2018, 09:16:27
  • hoverfly: Typical.... lazy sods. spin them up. ::)
    October 13, 2018, 19:52:31
  • atomiclama: I've some 5 inch 3D props doing nowt.
    October 12, 2018, 19:53:07
  • Gav: a 6" 3D Prop Shop
    October 12, 2018, 19:22:08
  • Wyntrblue: Anyone know where to get 6” 3D props?
    October 12, 2018, 19:08:49
  • atomiclama: How are they going to prove otherwise?
    October 12, 2018, 13:25:23
  • atomiclama: Think I'll put a 25mW sticker on mine. also a stick that says quad is limited to 399ft. I'll also put something on my tx stating 25mW. Sorted everyone happy  ::)
    October 12, 2018, 13:24:21
  • Bad Raven: I think a lot of us will have seen the published (leaked) training instructions to police officers on FPV, which was both incomplete and incorrect. Only the Little Hitler types will be comfortable treading any of that path!
    October 12, 2018, 07:08:58
  • Bajadre: I dont it reman unless he had a good bit fo drone knowledge ive shown my drone to a officer whi was interested before and all he said i like the green props haha
    October 12, 2018, 01:54:03
  • Andy7: They'll call in the flying squad on you
    October 11, 2018, 20:54:44
  • hoverfly: Don't think they would have done until they read your post... :laugh:
    October 10, 2018, 19:58:44
  • Reman: Thought for the day - If a knowledgeable police officer stopped you and saw that you had a "600mW" VTX on your quad he'll get funny about it, But would even a VERY knowledgeable officer know what they were looking at if the same VTX had a professional looking label under the heat shrink that proclaimed that the VTX was in fact a 25mW unit?  :hmm:
    October 10, 2018, 18:16:41
  • atomiclama: FrSky R9M Module and R9MM Receiver just been shipped. Yeay.... nothing flying at the mo to put it in though  ::)
    October 08, 2018, 09:43:41
  • Bajadre: i still pop on too see what you crazy guys are up too haha :)
    October 06, 2018, 06:43:09
  • atomiclama: Still here, Only just.......
    October 05, 2018, 13:41:07
  • Wyntrblue: I’m still here. Spent today whooping round the house too. It being decidedly too cold to go outside to fly now
    September 30, 2018, 19:15:16
  • ched999uk: Did the Big Fly-Up #6 happen? No one has posted anything today!!!!
    September 29, 2018, 21:25:47
  • atomiclama: Nothing to see here, move along now
    September 28, 2018, 16:09:24
  • hoverfly: Only the Moribund Flyers.. ::)...
    September 27, 2018, 19:05:46
  • Gav: anyone still alive out there
    September 27, 2018, 17:19:11

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Quanum V2 Goggles...  (Read 22787 times)

Offline budvar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Liked: 9
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #30 on: July 23, 2015, 22:44:38 »
Brilliant thanks!

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Liked: 634
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #31 on: July 24, 2015, 17:15:50 »
Mine arrived today, Ordered from HK EU 5:30 Monday arrived 3:30 Friday. Put together using double sided tape for the foam and black electrical tape to hold the 2 halves together.
Couldn';t really see much difference between the frenzel lenses! Glasses fit fine inside but the frenzel could do with being a little closer. No soldering required which was a surprise.

I did add a little cable strain relief to the monitor cable by passing a cable tie through the mount holes in the back and then tightening it on the cable. Hopefully that will help.

Cheers Budvar.

Couldn';t get the video switch to work which is disappointing as I do want to put a camera on the goggles to help landing and take off.
Cables all connected using only 1 camera as other not arrived yet. but which ever way teh switch is I get no signal on screen!
Anyone else managed to get it to work?

Offline davethepitch

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1766
  • Liked: 414
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #32 on: July 24, 2015, 18:44:14 »

Couldn';t get the video switch to work which is disappointing as I do want to put a camera on the goggles to help landing and take off.

Are you having two cameras or am I confused.

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Liked: 634
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #33 on: July 24, 2015, 19:04:57 »
Are you having two cameras or am I confused.
Second camera on it';s way. :smiley: Basically the switcher unit has 2 inputs and an output. The switch is either in or out (push button) so I wired it up as if I had 2 cameras but just didn';t connect the second  ::) But which ever position the switch was in I had no feed from receiver to screen!
I will have a play, hopefully later today or tomorrow. I will get multimeter out and see what';s wrong.

Offline davethepitch

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1766
  • Liked: 414
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #34 on: July 24, 2015, 19:10:11 »
So one camera I assume is going on a stand or goggles and the other on your quad.

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Liked: 634
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #35 on: July 24, 2015, 19:16:10 »
One camera on quad other on front of goggles. So when I take off I can use ';goggle cam'; and when airborne use the ';quad cam';  ::)
Goggle cam also for landing and checking area for people/dogs etc before takeoff, every few mins and battery changes.
Means I don';t have to keep taking goggles off to do battery changes etc. I am worried my rimless glasses are a bit delicate so the less putting on/off of the goggles the better.  :smiley:

Offline davethepitch

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1766
  • Liked: 414
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #36 on: July 24, 2015, 19:21:58 »
Goggle cam and quad cam "priceless" I like the idea.  ~~

Offline bazzerh

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1358
  • Liked: 585
  • Country: gb
  • fpv miniquad addict
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #37 on: July 24, 2015, 19:58:52 »
theyve got a forward facing cam on the skyzones but its such a daft focal length. it makes your arms look 10 feet long and if you try to walk around you get vertigo
Round By Round Qualifying and Finals For All.

it just makes sense

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Liked: 634
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #38 on: July 24, 2015, 20:04:09 »
theyve got a forward facing cam on the skyzones but its such a daft focal length. it makes your arms look 10 feet long and if you try to walk around you get vertigo
I hadn';t thought of that. Any ideas what would be a reasonable focal length?

Offline davethepitch

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1766
  • Liked: 414
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #39 on: July 24, 2015, 20:26:25 »
It is like looking through binoculars the wrong way and everything appears long and I once asked a friend to look at me with binoculars the wrong way and i said what can you see and he said my nose looked about 2ft long.

He then said even looking the wrong way through the binoculars did not make any difference because my nose is 2ft long anyway.  :o

Offline bazzerh

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1358
  • Liked: 585
  • Country: gb
  • fpv miniquad addict
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #40 on: July 25, 2015, 08:36:35 »
3.6mm lens might be a more natural view. 2.8 would be too fisheyed for goggle cam i think.

or just thinking out loud here, how cool would a zoom lens be? or an infra red, or an xray? combine all 3 for superhero vision  :frantic:
Round By Round Qualifying and Finals For All.

it just makes sense

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6823
  • Liked: 2639
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #41 on: July 25, 2015, 09:28:46 »
I vote for LIDAR :-)  Very Star Trek.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Liked: 634
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #42 on: July 25, 2015, 19:17:28 »
Just had a play with the video switcher on the V2 goggles. Found out why it wouldn';t work first time round. The problem is the connectors. When not using the switcher the monitor 3.5mm plug connects to the 3.5mm socket which has 2 phono sockets ( yellow and white) on it. The phono sockets( yellow and white) connect to my RC805 vrx via a 2.5mm to 2 phono plugs (yellow and red).

The critical bit:
Without the switcher Yellow phono socket to yellow phono plug (White phono socket to red phono plug)
WITH switcher Yellow phono socket to RED phono plug (White phono socket to YELLOW phono plug)

So now switcher works, well it will when my second camera arrives  ::) But at least I know how to get it working now.
Hope that helps someone.

Offline budvar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Liked: 9
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #43 on: July 26, 2015, 20:57:14 »
You flown with them yet, Ched?

Had a quick fly tonight with them (in the horrible wind) and nearly keeled over. Very immersive! Think I need to get a little seat to take with me as I ended up kneeling down because I was swaying about like a drunkard.

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Liked: 634
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #44 on: July 26, 2015, 21:09:49 »
You flown with them yet, Ched?

Had a quick fly tonight with them (in the horrible wind) and nearly keeled over. Very immersive! Think I need to get a little seat to take with me as I ended up kneeling down because I was swaying about like a drunkard.
Not flown yet, been working or it';s raining!!!! I have read elsewhere that you do need to sit down or lean on something at first and eventually you will get more stable. Hope to go out next week depending on weather. I am intending to sit down or take a folding chair  :smiley:

Offline iam4208

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Liked: 12
  • Country: scotland
  • Too many hobbies, too little time!
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #45 on: July 27, 2015, 17:32:44 »
I';ve seen stuff on the net (e.g., RCModelReviews) saying the fresnel lens is too close to the screen at maximum adjustment to provide good focus and that people are moving the screen back.
Anybody else having this issue, or is it only oldies like me who need reading glasses that are affected??
I haven';t put mine together, but I couldn';t get a sharp view of a business card when placed at the point where the screen will be and adjusting the fresnel lens.
Therefore, I think I have the issue and will need to move the screen back.
Hubsan X4, DJI Flamewheel F450 with Naza M V2/GPS, but too scared to attach my GoPro Hero 4 to it:-)

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Liked: 634
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #46 on: July 27, 2015, 17:45:40 »
I have only put mine together but which ever frenzel lens I tried I couldn';t quite get perfect focus. I don';t wear ';readers'; but I can';t read through my distance glasses.
I tried both with and without my glasses but seems like the frenzel needs to come towards my face a little more to get perfect focus. So it may well be that moving the monitor a little further away might enable sharper focus can be achieved.

Don';t get me wrong the not perfect focus is just that not perfect. Looks fine for flying. Waiting for osd to arrive so can';t test that for readability yet.

Hopefully it will arrive soon, just had a little 808 camera arrive from aliexpress in 5 days from order to delivery!!!!!!

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6823
  • Liked: 2639
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #47 on: July 27, 2015, 17:46:51 »
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Liked: 634
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #48 on: July 27, 2015, 18:16:00 »
Others have mounted the screen outside the V2 housing
I wonder how much further away it needs to be? i.e does a spacer need to be made or just need to stick the monitor on back of housing?

Offline iam4208

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Liked: 12
  • Country: scotland
  • Too many hobbies, too little time!
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #49 on: July 27, 2015, 19:59:09 »
Guess I will have to experiment a bit until I find the right combination that works for me.
Hubsan X4, DJI Flamewheel F450 with Naza M V2/GPS, but too scared to attach my GoPro Hero 4 to it:-)

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Liked: 634
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #50 on: July 27, 2015, 20:10:19 »
Just realised that the instructions don';t actually say the 3 lenses are different!!!! It also doesn';t say to try all 3! Mind you I don';t know why they would supply 3 if you only need 1.

Mine are only held together with electrical tape so I might try moving the monitor back a little.

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6823
  • Liked: 2639
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #51 on: July 27, 2015, 20:36:55 »
One of the lads had a set of V1, so he cut off about 1in from the end, to carry the monitor, and fixed it to the end of the V2, that moved the screen back just about 1in and so the final adjustment was possible with the Fresnel slider, to about half way along the slide.

--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline nivapilot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Liked: 8
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #52 on: July 27, 2015, 20:42:48 »
Just realised that the instructions don';t actually say the 3 lenses are different!!!! It also doesn';t say to try all 3! Mind you I don';t know why they would supply 3 if you only need 1.

says in the instructions that the Fresnel is to placed with the smooth side to eyes, and rough side to screen......but when I tried it, the Fresnel bent a weird way, I had to put in with the smooth side to screen.
re-born aviator. after many years in the dark, coming forward into the light.....and finding it difficult to keep up.

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Liked: 634
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #53 on: July 27, 2015, 20:48:31 »
One of the lads had a set of V1, so he cut off about 1in from the end, to carry the monitor, and fixed it to the end of the V2, that moved the screen back just about 1in and so the final adjustment was possible with the Fresnel slider, to about half way along the slide.
That would suggest the monitor only needs to be moved a few mm backwards.
Cheers.

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Liked: 634
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #54 on: July 27, 2015, 20:51:17 »
says in the instructions that the Fresnel is to placed with the smooth side to eyes, and rough side to screen......but when I tried it, the Fresnel bent a weird way, I had to put in with the smooth side to screen.
I had the rough side to my eyes and the egg timer sides were very evident. I spun it round so the smooth side was facing my eyes and the egg timer shaped sides were much better.
The lens mount is meant to curve the frenzel lens to try and reduce the egg timer sides.
You should be able to spin the lens without removing it. Give it a try.

Offline SlipperySquid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 249
  • Liked: 62
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #55 on: July 27, 2015, 21:19:25 »
Don';t try two fresnels together! Tis a waste of time  :cool: Not that I really have a problem with focusing on the image anyway?

Offline NorcoT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 696
  • Liked: 206
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #56 on: July 30, 2015, 18:28:54 »
« Last Edit: July 31, 2015, 08:23:47 by NorcoT »

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Liked: 634
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #57 on: August 02, 2015, 22:48:29 »
Just been reading that the 2 phono cables from monitor are actually 2 video inputs not a video input and an audio input.

So if you connect the second video input to your vrx thinking it';s an audio in you may give yourself problems with ';interference';!!!!!!

Make sure you are only connecting the video signal to the monitor in the goggles.

Offline Ynot6

  • 4 motors are not enough!
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
  • Liked: 61
  • Country: england
  • well it seems to fly.
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #58 on: August 03, 2015, 19:34:50 »
if you read up on the monitor, you';ll find that the inputs are "master" and "slave". you don';t need the switcher, just a switch to turn goggle cam on and off. the monitor will switch it';s self over.
440 Y6 with vector, F330 quad with naza, hammer 240 with flip32, and watch this space.

Offline NorcoT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 696
  • Liked: 206
  • Country: gb
Re: Quanum V2 Goggles...
« Reply #59 on: August 04, 2015, 06:32:27 »