User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Multi Rotor UK Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • JeremyE: Thats a great location!
    Today at 11:27:46
  • Hands0n: @JeremyE - yes, new offices at Thomas More Square, just down road from The Brown Bear :)
    Today at 09:05:26
  • DarkButterfly: lol
    Today at 08:16:15
  • JT: *lol
    Today at 08:15:42
  • JT: I'm going to have to venture into the loft to find the cd cabinet lol. It's wrapped in bin bags up there somewhere lo
    Today at 08:15:27
  • DarkButterfly: ah, that sucks
    Today at 08:14:51
  • JT: worst bit is there is no wire to plug an mp3 player into the stereo
    Today at 08:13:25
  • DarkButterfly: lol
    Today at 08:13:07
  • JT: It's like an aeroplane throttle lol
    Today at 08:12:52
  • DarkButterfly: not bad cars those, my dad had one, the only thing i didn't like about it was the weird handbrake
    Today at 08:12:31
  • JT: So had to find a new car yesterday(great convalescence for me lol).So i'm now £3k lighter and have a 09 vauxhall zafira!   Plenty of boot space for planes  ::)
    Today at 08:11:09
  • DarkButterfly: I wouldn't advise driving that either
    Today at 08:10:58
  • JT: I can't get one though lol. We're off on holiday to the peak district Friday(booked before I knew I'd be having a heart op lol). My mate came round to service and check out the car and said, "no way you can drive that to Derbyshire" it had a leaking brake caliper, cracked rear tyre, and the power steering box was leaking badly.......
    Today at 08:09:14
  • DarkButterfly: lol, its very good at what it does
    Today at 08:05:54
  • JT: you're videosa are looking too good lol
    Today at 08:05:21
  • JT: Hey DB, stop making me want a phantom
    Today at 08:03:24
  • DarkButterfly: morning JT
    Today at 08:02:58
  • JT: Good morning!  Windy and wet here!
    Today at 07:59:52
  • DarkButterfly: Yeah! I beat the weather, another flight done ~~
    May 24, 2016, 17:43:40
  • JeremyE: you in a new office HO?
    May 24, 2016, 17:04:46
  • Hands0n: Ain't no flying here ::) [link]
    May 24, 2016, 15:47:36
  • DarkButterfly: hopefully not
    May 23, 2016, 23:10:35
  • nub: but it's going to rain tomorrow? hehe
    May 23, 2016, 23:01:35
  • DarkButterfly: Just checking  over my phantom for tomorrow after work
    May 23, 2016, 22:48:55
  • nub: how do DB
    May 23, 2016, 22:43:53
  • DarkButterfly: Hiya nub
    May 23, 2016, 22:42:14
  • nub: wit's happenin folks?
    May 23, 2016, 22:35:45
  • Gav: hi m8
    May 23, 2016, 19:07:01
  • nub: yo Gav!
    May 23, 2016, 16:34:19
  • Gav: hi matey
    May 23, 2016, 15:44:46
  • DarkButterfly: Hi Gav ~~
    May 23, 2016, 15:41:43
  • Gav: hi chaps
    May 23, 2016, 15:41:10
  • nub: yup... as long as the weathers ok :laugh:
    May 23, 2016, 15:35:45
  • DarkButterfly: never mind there's always tomorrow ::)
    May 23, 2016, 15:13:53
  • DarkButterfly: Week that's my day of flying washed out
    May 23, 2016, 15:13:16
  • nub: well that went surprisingly well, took ma homemad gate up with me ::)
    May 23, 2016, 14:53:34
  • nub: gawd woman can be bad enough never mind a one being upset at ya :laugh:
    May 23, 2016, 14:07:10
  • Hands0n: Yer right there nub, she's got her mother's temper :laugh:
    May 23, 2016, 13:25:28
  • nub: ah right best be sorting out that garden party next weekend then hehe :smiley:
    May 23, 2016, 13:24:57
  • Hands0n: @DB - I've got a BG-supplied 3D gimbal for a build. It works great in the hand (ooh err) so can't wait to see it on my new hex build. To be compared with the P4 ::)
    May 23, 2016, 13:24:38
  • Hands0n: I typically only fly weekends. Next wkend is daughter's birthday garden party (the oldies do all the work!) :laugh:
    May 23, 2016, 13:23:34
  • DarkButterfly: the gimbals on the P3 and P4 are awesome ~~
    May 23, 2016, 13:22:08
  • nub: :( why not, work?
    May 23, 2016, 13:21:39
  • DarkButterfly: Bummer, that sucks
    May 23, 2016, 13:21:34
  • Hands0n: Unlikely any flight now for the next 10 calendar days. Booo Hisssss
    May 23, 2016, 13:21:08
  • Hands0n: Thanks guys, the P4 certainly flies well and the Gimbal simply adds to the stability of image.  I'm impressed with it for the purpose.  Sport mode is a bit lively ::)
    May 23, 2016, 13:20:38
  • nub: aye braw out there, came back in after a couple of battieries not really feeling like it
    May 23, 2016, 13:20:05
  • Gandhi: and I'm at work lol
    May 23, 2016, 09:03:16
  • Gandhi: was the same here, now it's all gone a bit 9c
    May 23, 2016, 09:03:09
  • Andy7: Woke up the purest deep blue, blue sky this morning - it was like #4ab5f2  with not even a SINGLE cloud. Ahhh, it's gonna be a lovely day. Plus, my FatSharks cleared customs this morning!
    May 23, 2016, 08:31:15

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:


Author Topic: flysky th9x failsafe  (Read 6463 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 135
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
flysky th9x failsafe
« on: January 04, 2014, 11:13:29 »
Ive been trying to setup the failsafe on my tx so when i switch off signal is cut but atm when i turn off my tx all signals stay as they were at last position.

am i right in thinking that the only way i can get the failsafe to work is by swapping out the rx for a frsky one?


thanks



Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 257
  • -Receive: 603
  • Posts: 6589
  • Liked: 2721
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2014, 12:03:40 »
What specific RX are you using?  Also with what FC? 
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 135
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2014, 12:05:34 »
rx is fs-r9b and fc is crius aiop v2.

Offline dirtyharry

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 65
  • Posts: 564
  • Liked: 177
  • Country: gb

Offline Jumpy07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 265
  • Posts: 4459
  • Liked: 1022
  • Country: scotland
  • What goes up.. must come down..
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2014, 12:13:41 »
Flysky th9x Does not have failsafe...

You need the change the TX and RX modules..     would recommend the FrSky modules as will give better range as well.
BNUC-S Pilot with PFAW.
UAQ Instructor / Flight Assessor

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing"

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 135
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2014, 12:16:21 »
thats what i thought.

thanks

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 257
  • -Receive: 603
  • Posts: 6589
  • Liked: 2721
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2014, 12:47:05 »
The reason I asked is that I have failsafe working on my APM 2.5 with 9x transmitter and 9x8Cv2 (no built-in failsafe).  How this works is that the APM 2.5 PPM Encoder with the latest firmware senses loss of PPM when the TX is out of range or switched off, and it is the PPM Encoder itself that drops the throttle value to 900ppm that is below the FS threshold and thus invokes whatever FS activity you've set.

I don't think that the Crius AIOP has any such capability though.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline barneyg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 925
  • Liked: 284
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2014, 13:27:30 »
The failsafe from the FC is a function of the firmware so the Crius AIOP can do failsafe with MPNG or MultiWii(sort of) but it is far more advanced in MPNG in that it will chabge to RTH or loiter etc ... In MultiWii as of 2.3 stable it just does a controlled crash - change throttle to specified value for x seconds and then disarm.  There is currently work being done in MultiWii on waypoints etc and there is talk of integrating failsafe into the work.

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 135
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2014, 15:13:10 »
The failsafe from the FC is a function of the firmware so the Crius AIOP can do failsafe with MPNG or MultiWii(sort of) but it is far more advanced in MPNG in that it will chabge to RTH or loiter etc ... In MultiWii as of 2.3 stable it just does a controlled crash - change throttle to specified value for x seconds and then disarm.  There is currently work being done in MultiWii on waypoints etc and there is talk of integrating failsafe into the work.

But for this failsafe to work i will still need a frsky rx?

Offline barneyg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 925
  • Liked: 284
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2014, 19:46:39 »
No ... it works by detecting when there are no pulses (or the pulses are below a certain length) on the Throttle channel ... you can test this on the bench buy enabling it and then turning off the TX to see what happens :)

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 135
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2014, 20:25:16 »
For this to work do i need to set ppm to enabled in megapirate? and do you know where the failsafe option is?

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 257
  • -Receive: 603
  • Posts: 6589
  • Liked: 2721
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2014, 20:35:02 »
For this to work do i need to set ppm to enabled in megapirate? and do you know where the failsafe option is?

No setting of PPM needed as that is what you're using by default with each of the channels associated with a specific function (Aileron, Elevator, Throttle, Roll). 

The full details on Failsafe setting for Arducopter are in the wiki here: http://copter.ardupilot.com/wiki/throttle-failsafe/  Work through the steps using Mission Planner and you'll see where the Failsafe settings are made.    As @barneyg says, you can demonstrate this working on the bench, just by powering the FC - you don't need to run the main LiPo and motors to see the FC going into RTL or not.

HTH
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 135
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2014, 20:44:03 »
I already tried following this guide but the problem was when i turn off my receiver the output on the throttle channel just stays at whatever it was at when turned off. Thats the reason i thought i needed the frsky RX.

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 257
  • -Receive: 603
  • Posts: 6589
  • Liked: 2721
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2014, 20:49:36 »
I already tried following this guide but the problem was when i turn off my receiver the output on the throttle channel just stays at whatever it was at when turned off. Thats the reason i thought i needed the frsky RX.

Hmm, that sounds to me like the AIOP doesn't behave the same as the APM 2.5's PPM encoder when the pulses stop.  I'm not familiar with AIOP's workings at that level. @barneyg or one of the others may know it much better in that respect.

Sorry.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 135
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #14 on: January 04, 2014, 21:41:21 »
Ive actually got it working now through the aiop. Im not sure what i did but it now drops down to 900 after about 3 seconds of no signal.