User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Calendar

November 2014
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30


Author Topic: flysky th9x failsafe  (Read 2495 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline virginprops

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 31
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 106
  • Liked: 3
  • Country: scotland
flysky th9x failsafe
« on: January 04, 2014, 11:13:29 »
Ive been trying to setup the failsafe on my tx so when i switch off signal is cut but atm when i turn off my tx all signals stay as they were at last position.

am i right in thinking that the only way i can get the failsafe to work is by swapping out the rx for a frsky one?


thanks



Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 168
  • -Receive: 425
  • Posts: 4806
  • Liked: 1760
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2014, 12:03:40 »
What specific RX are you using?  Also with what FC? 
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: APM 2.5, Naze32, CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hammer 250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 31
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 106
  • Liked: 3
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2014, 12:05:34 »
rx is fs-r9b and fc is crius aiop v2.

Offline dirtyharry

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 38
  • Posts: 268
  • Liked: 83
  • Country: gb

Offline Jumpy07

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 194
  • Posts: 4140
  • Liked: 730
  • Country: scotland
  • What goes up.. must come down..
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2014, 12:13:41 »
Flysky th9x Does not have failsafe...

You need the change the TX and RX modules..     would recommend the FrSky modules as will give better range as well.
BNUC-S Pilot with PFAW.

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing"

Offline virginprops

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 31
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 106
  • Liked: 3
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2014, 12:16:21 »
thats what i thought.

thanks

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 168
  • -Receive: 425
  • Posts: 4806
  • Liked: 1760
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2014, 12:47:05 »
The reason I asked is that I have failsafe working on my APM 2.5 with 9x transmitter and 9x8Cv2 (no built-in failsafe).  How this works is that the APM 2.5 PPM Encoder with the latest firmware senses loss of PPM when the TX is out of range or switched off, and it is the PPM Encoder itself that drops the throttle value to 900ppm that is below the FS threshold and thus invokes whatever FS activity you've set.

I don't think that the Crius AIOP has any such capability though.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: APM 2.5, Naze32, CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hammer 250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline barneyg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 63
  • Posts: 774
  • Liked: 242
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2014, 13:27:30 »
The failsafe from the FC is a function of the firmware so the Crius AIOP can do failsafe with MPNG or MultiWii(sort of) but it is far more advanced in MPNG in that it will chabge to RTH or loiter etc ... In MultiWii as of 2.3 stable it just does a controlled crash - change throttle to specified value for x seconds and then disarm.  There is currently work being done in MultiWii on waypoints etc and there is talk of integrating failsafe into the work.

Offline virginprops

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 31
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 106
  • Liked: 3
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2014, 15:13:10 »
The failsafe from the FC is a function of the firmware so the Crius AIOP can do failsafe with MPNG or MultiWii(sort of) but it is far more advanced in MPNG in that it will chabge to RTH or loiter etc ... In MultiWii as of 2.3 stable it just does a controlled crash - change throttle to specified value for x seconds and then disarm.  There is currently work being done in MultiWii on waypoints etc and there is talk of integrating failsafe into the work.

But for this failsafe to work i will still need a frsky rx?

Offline barneyg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 63
  • Posts: 774
  • Liked: 242
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2014, 19:46:39 »
No ... it works by detecting when there are no pulses (or the pulses are below a certain length) on the Throttle channel ... you can test this on the bench buy enabling it and then turning off the TX to see what happens :)

Offline virginprops

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 31
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 106
  • Liked: 3
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2014, 20:25:16 »
For this to work do i need to set ppm to enabled in megapirate? and do you know where the failsafe option is?

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 168
  • -Receive: 425
  • Posts: 4806
  • Liked: 1760
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2014, 20:35:02 »
For this to work do i need to set ppm to enabled in megapirate? and do you know where the failsafe option is?

No setting of PPM needed as that is what you're using by default with each of the channels associated with a specific function (Aileron, Elevator, Throttle, Roll). 

The full details on Failsafe setting for Arducopter are in the wiki here: http://copter.ardupilot.com/wiki/throttle-failsafe/  Work through the steps using Mission Planner and you'll see where the Failsafe settings are made.    As @barneyg says, you can demonstrate this working on the bench, just by powering the FC - you don't need to run the main LiPo and motors to see the FC going into RTL or not.

HTH
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: APM 2.5, Naze32, CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hammer 250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 31
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 106
  • Liked: 3
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2014, 20:44:03 »
I already tried following this guide but the problem was when i turn off my receiver the output on the throttle channel just stays at whatever it was at when turned off. Thats the reason i thought i needed the frsky RX.

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 168
  • -Receive: 425
  • Posts: 4806
  • Liked: 1760
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2014, 20:49:36 »
I already tried following this guide but the problem was when i turn off my receiver the output on the throttle channel just stays at whatever it was at when turned off. Thats the reason i thought i needed the frsky RX.

Hmm, that sounds to me like the AIOP doesn't behave the same as the APM 2.5's PPM encoder when the pulses stop.  I'm not familiar with AIOP's workings at that level. @barneyg or one of the others may know it much better in that respect.

Sorry.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: APM 2.5, Naze32, CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hammer 250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 31
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 106
  • Liked: 3
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #14 on: January 04, 2014, 21:41:21 »
Ive actually got it working now through the aiop. Im not sure what i did but it now drops down to 900 after about 3 seconds of no signal.