User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • atomiclama: Cheers, already have bog standard rucsacs, looking for something with a bit easier access to the internals
    February 15, 2018, 13:12:41
  • CornishMule: Atomiclama, I also had the CS300 but recently got [link] It's big enough to put the Taranis X9D case inside, fatshark case, Lipo bag, a couple of tool bags, launch pad, monitor, laptop and copious props. 2 quads strapped to the front.
    February 15, 2018, 11:29:36
  • atomiclama: Cheers Hozza
    February 14, 2018, 09:00:06
  • yama: hooked on 90mm brushless drones now:)
    February 11, 2018, 15:45:24
  • Hozza: Not found it uncomfortable, but I've probably only walked a mile :laugh:
    February 10, 2018, 17:44:20
  • atomiclama: I'm looking for a new pack as my current one is falling apart.
    February 10, 2018, 11:29:39
  • atomiclama: Don't like the look of the padding on the back.
    February 10, 2018, 11:28:50
  • atomiclama: Hozza, how comfortable is it for a long hike?
    February 10, 2018, 11:28:24
  • Hozza: I have the CS300 [link] bloody good back pack, everything I need inside and 2 quads straped to the front.
    February 10, 2018, 10:13:43
  • Andy7: Sweet! Fixed the USBs on my laptop - been hitting DRL sim with my QX7 all weekend
    February 04, 2018, 21:18:03
  • Bad Raven: Hope the fish are alright........   :laugh:
    February 04, 2018, 18:50:14
  • shawdreamer: hmmm Im feeling a little underwelming here, sorta lacking.... I stubbed my toe earlier on the fishtank stand.... that sorta counts right?
    February 04, 2018, 18:40:09
  • Friskle: Buggered more than Anything atm, struggling walking, getting badly out of breath, hopefully next stent in a few weeks will cure that :)
    February 04, 2018, 15:51:59
  • Andy7: Yikes! Sounds like it'a worked. How you feeling?
    February 03, 2018, 10:49:59
  • Friskle: just had stents fitted in the heart..rather a serious heart attack.. never saw it coming at all :(
    February 03, 2018, 03:58:02
  • VaNDAL_UK: Check the photos and see who is wearing to jacket with the most pockets!
    February 02, 2018, 17:02:23
  • DarkButterfly: Had a quick look at it
    February 02, 2018, 14:09:26
  • Gaza07: So who's enjoying reading the new BMFA mag  :hmm:
    February 02, 2018, 12:10:53
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh: :laugh:
    February 01, 2018, 18:44:11
  • hoverfly: Thanks D.B.  they just put a catheter  in ,I think they are taking the pi$$.... :rofl:
    February 01, 2018, 18:28:41

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: flysky th9x failsafe  (Read 9708 times)

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Liked: 8
  • Country: scotland
flysky th9x failsafe
« on: January 04, 2014, 11:13:29 »
Ive been trying to setup the failsafe on my tx so when i switch off signal is cut but atm when i turn off my tx all signals stay as they were at last position.

am i right in thinking that the only way i can get the failsafe to work is by swapping out the rx for a frsky one?


thanks

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6876
  • Liked: 2665
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2014, 12:03:40 »
What specific RX are you using?  Also with what FC? 
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Liked: 8
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2014, 12:05:34 »
rx is fs-r9b and fc is crius aiop v2.

Offline dirtyharry

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 642
  • Liked: 191
  • Country: gb

Offline Jumpy07

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4497
  • Liked: 968
  • Country: scotland
  • What goes up.. must come down..
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2014, 12:13:41 »
Flysky th9x Does not have failsafe...

You need the change the TX and RX modules..     would recommend the FrSky modules as will give better range as well.
BNUC-S Pilot with PfCo /PFAW.
UAQ / CAA PfCo Instructor / Flight Assessor

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing"

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Liked: 8
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2014, 12:16:21 »
thats what i thought.

thanks

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6876
  • Liked: 2665
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2014, 12:47:05 »
The reason I asked is that I have failsafe working on my APM 2.5 with 9x transmitter and 9x8Cv2 (no built-in failsafe).  How this works is that the APM 2.5 PPM Encoder with the latest firmware senses loss of PPM when the TX is out of range or switched off, and it is the PPM Encoder itself that drops the throttle value to 900ppm that is below the FS threshold and thus invokes whatever FS activity you';ve set.

I don';t think that the Crius AIOP has any such capability though.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline barneyg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 924
  • Liked: 273
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2014, 13:27:30 »
The failsafe from the FC is a function of the firmware so the Crius AIOP can do failsafe with MPNG or MultiWii(sort of) but it is far more advanced in MPNG in that it will chabge to RTH or loiter etc ... In MultiWii as of 2.3 stable it just does a controlled crash - change throttle to specified value for x seconds and then disarm.  There is currently work being done in MultiWii on waypoints etc and there is talk of integrating failsafe into the work.

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Liked: 8
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2014, 15:13:10 »
The failsafe from the FC is a function of the firmware so the Crius AIOP can do failsafe with MPNG or MultiWii(sort of) but it is far more advanced in MPNG in that it will chabge to RTH or loiter etc ... In MultiWii as of 2.3 stable it just does a controlled crash - change throttle to specified value for x seconds and then disarm.  There is currently work being done in MultiWii on waypoints etc and there is talk of integrating failsafe into the work.

But for this failsafe to work i will still need a frsky rx?

Offline barneyg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 924
  • Liked: 273
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2014, 19:46:39 »
No ... it works by detecting when there are no pulses (or the pulses are below a certain length) on the Throttle channel ... you can test this on the bench buy enabling it and then turning off the TX to see what happens :)

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Liked: 8
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2014, 20:25:16 »
For this to work do i need to set ppm to enabled in megapirate? and do you know where the failsafe option is?

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6876
  • Liked: 2665
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2014, 20:35:02 »
For this to work do i need to set ppm to enabled in megapirate? and do you know where the failsafe option is?

No setting of PPM needed as that is what you';re using by default with each of the channels associated with a specific function (Aileron, Elevator, Throttle, Roll). 

The full details on Failsafe setting for Arducopter are in the wiki here: http://copter.ardupilot.com/wiki/throttle-failsafe/  Work through the steps using Mission Planner and you';ll see where the Failsafe settings are made.    As @barneyg says, you can demonstrate this working on the bench, just by powering the FC - you don';t need to run the main LiPo and motors to see the FC going into RTL or not.

HTH
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Liked: 8
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2014, 20:44:03 »
I already tried following this guide but the problem was when i turn off my receiver the output on the throttle channel just stays at whatever it was at when turned off. Thats the reason i thought i needed the frsky RX.

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6876
  • Liked: 2665
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2014, 20:49:36 »
I already tried following this guide but the problem was when i turn off my receiver the output on the throttle channel just stays at whatever it was at when turned off. Thats the reason i thought i needed the frsky RX.

Hmm, that sounds to me like the AIOP doesn';t behave the same as the APM 2.5';s PPM encoder when the pulses stop.  I';m not familiar with AIOP';s workings at that level. @barneyg or one of the others may know it much better in that respect.

Sorry.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Liked: 8
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #14 on: January 04, 2014, 21:41:21 »
Ive actually got it working now through the aiop. Im not sure what i did but it now drops down to 900 after about 3 seconds of no signal.