User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Multi Rotor UK Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Gandhi: Drop me a PM if you want....
    Today at 10:17:23
  • Gandhi: @DB if you are after an rcexplorer tri, I'm selling my mini
    Today at 10:17:14
  • DarkButterfly: i've bookmarked it, but may go after an RCExplorer tri
    July 23, 2016, 23:38:53
  • nub: i know on pre order :( think you'd be able to fit 1806's with 2 screws probably ::)
    July 23, 2016, 23:27:52
  • DarkButterfly: Can't push the button on it, out of stock
    July 23, 2016, 23:26:33
  • DarkButterfly: will the natal fpv3 work with 1806 motors?
    July 23, 2016, 23:24:39
  • DarkButterfly: ::)
    July 23, 2016, 23:23:34
  • nub: looks good still prefer the notalp fpv3 ::)
    July 23, 2016, 23:14:20
  • DarkButterfly: [link]
    July 23, 2016, 22:44:22
  • DarkButterfly: David has a little baby tricopter on his site for pre-order.
    July 23, 2016, 21:24:29
  • nub: either or will be a good choice, like the idea of the Armattan lifetime warranty
    July 23, 2016, 13:39:34
  • DarkButterfly: Sounds like a plan, I'll go with the mini tri and KK2 mounting kit
    July 23, 2016, 11:04:49
  • Hozza: DB I love Armattan frames, Chris the owner is very approachable and the warrenty is no BS either, ask Fletch  :laugh:
    July 23, 2016, 10:54:34
  • DarkButterfly: both the full sized and the mini tri
    July 23, 2016, 10:44:29
  • nub: the mini Tri?
    July 23, 2016, 01:16:43
  • DarkButterfly: so is an RCExlorer tri
    July 23, 2016, 00:00:31
  • nub: bit pricey
    July 22, 2016, 23:51:54
  • DarkButterfly: might push the button on this [link]
    July 22, 2016, 23:01:20
  • DarkButterfly: ::)
    July 22, 2016, 22:09:45
  • DarkButterfly: they are ball links, but they are useless when being flown hard, the flip wasn't even that stressful, it would have been if I did a hyper roll
    July 22, 2016, 22:09:34
  • DarrellW: @DG I have one thing to say...... ball links!!!
    July 22, 2016, 21:56:29
  • DarkButterfly: I'll be able to build a tricopter in my sleep lol
    July 22, 2016, 20:09:17
  • DarkButterfly: ::)
    July 22, 2016, 20:08:52
  • hoverfly: Groundhog day  D.B. ::)
    July 22, 2016, 19:47:31
  • DarkButterfly: Just had the most epic tricopter crash not caught on camera, both linkages on the yaw mech came off after doing a simple flip, it went into a massive spin and ploughed into long grass hard, front left arm snapped and the right arm motor mount is bent upwards
    July 22, 2016, 19:21:19
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    July 22, 2016, 18:23:53
  • DarkButterfly: I need to rebuild the tricopter, snapped another front arm
    July 22, 2016, 18:23:36
  • Andy7: Yowch! PROPER prop-break this evening. Bits pinged up in the air and everything. Didn't bring any spares like a PLUM! Lesson learned.
    July 20, 2016, 21:43:41
  • Bad Raven: I have just put 0615-14 motors on a Nano QX and all I can say is............. BLIMEY!!
    July 20, 2016, 18:58:30
  • DarkButterfly: all done, ready to fly ~~
    July 20, 2016, 18:40:22
  • kilby: @DB again !!!
    July 20, 2016, 15:36:36
  • DarkButterfly: Tricopter rebuilding tomorrow ~~
    July 19, 2016, 21:54:33
  • nub: aye hot sweaty day, thunder storms tomorrow! :laugh:
    July 19, 2016, 21:32:29
  • Andy7: oo-er! Car said 35deg here in Oxford. Phew :sweating:
    July 19, 2016, 21:01:58
  • hoverfly: 32 in the shade and all my pumpkins have wilted.  (thats not a euphamism) the spuds are fine.. ::)
    July 19, 2016, 18:08:37
  • DarkButterfly: Got some stick time this afternoon ~~
    July 19, 2016, 16:52:46
  • Bad Raven: AND, I'm going to complain to Heathrow ATC, as all the early morning flights went easterly approach so no jets to hide my early morning quad session so was grounded.....BAH
    July 19, 2016, 15:29:16
  • Bad Raven: It certainly is, I flew from 10 to 12:00 and then have crawled into a dark corner!
    July 19, 2016, 15:27:48
  • nub: damn it's way to hot out there!
    July 19, 2016, 13:34:44
  • kilby: I'm told that it's a good yaw mechanism, though perhaps Phil could tell you more about it
    July 18, 2016, 11:24:02
  • DarkButterfly: Cheers Kilby ~~
    July 18, 2016, 11:09:25
  • kilby: @DB, [link]
    July 18, 2016, 10:54:27
  • kilby: I see David also got a modified version of Baseflight together to make their use on tricopters a bit better (believe it is the why who does the improved KK software)
    July 18, 2016, 10:52:27
  • kilby: DB, you could look at the armattan Tricopter frames too
    July 18, 2016, 10:51:12
  • DarrellW: @DB I've always thought David was the worlds best authority on Tricopters, however something interesting to know is that Simplecopter had a lot of input from him in his designs - probably explains why they are also really good. Not seen the new KK firmware yet, must have a look ::)
    July 18, 2016, 10:22:36
  • DarkButterfly: The KK2 v4 firmware is simply awesome, flies way better than the previous version
    July 18, 2016, 08:59:06
  • DarkButterfly: ::)
    July 18, 2016, 08:58:05
  • DarkButterfly: What David doesn't know about tricopters isn't worth knowing
    July 18, 2016, 08:57:51
  • DarrellW: @DB Davids Tricopters are ace, just a tad more expensive - one's on my hit list at some time in the future ::)
    July 18, 2016, 07:51:31
  • DarkButterfly: David's tricopters look ace and I will get one at some point
    July 17, 2016, 22:04:50

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:


Author Topic: flysky th9x failsafe  (Read 6785 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 138
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
flysky th9x failsafe
« on: January 04, 2014, 11:13:29 »
Ive been trying to setup the failsafe on my tx so when i switch off signal is cut but atm when i turn off my tx all signals stay as they were at last position.

am i right in thinking that the only way i can get the failsafe to work is by swapping out the rx for a frsky one?


thanks



Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 258
  • -Receive: 608
  • Posts: 6665
  • Liked: 2795
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2014, 12:03:40 »
What specific RX are you using?  Also with what FC? 
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 138
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2014, 12:05:34 »
rx is fs-r9b and fc is crius aiop v2.

Offline dirtyharry

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 15
  • -Receive: 67
  • Posts: 590
  • Liked: 187
  • Country: gb

Offline Jumpy07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 266
  • Posts: 4460
  • Liked: 1023
  • Country: scotland
  • What goes up.. must come down..
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2014, 12:13:41 »
Flysky th9x Does not have failsafe...

You need the change the TX and RX modules..     would recommend the FrSky modules as will give better range as well.
BNUC-S Pilot with PFAW.
UAQ Instructor / Flight Assessor

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing"

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 138
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2014, 12:16:21 »
thats what i thought.

thanks

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 258
  • -Receive: 608
  • Posts: 6665
  • Liked: 2795
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2014, 12:47:05 »
The reason I asked is that I have failsafe working on my APM 2.5 with 9x transmitter and 9x8Cv2 (no built-in failsafe).  How this works is that the APM 2.5 PPM Encoder with the latest firmware senses loss of PPM when the TX is out of range or switched off, and it is the PPM Encoder itself that drops the throttle value to 900ppm that is below the FS threshold and thus invokes whatever FS activity you've set.

I don't think that the Crius AIOP has any such capability though.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline barneyg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 925
  • Liked: 284
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2014, 13:27:30 »
The failsafe from the FC is a function of the firmware so the Crius AIOP can do failsafe with MPNG or MultiWii(sort of) but it is far more advanced in MPNG in that it will chabge to RTH or loiter etc ... In MultiWii as of 2.3 stable it just does a controlled crash - change throttle to specified value for x seconds and then disarm.  There is currently work being done in MultiWii on waypoints etc and there is talk of integrating failsafe into the work.

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 138
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2014, 15:13:10 »
The failsafe from the FC is a function of the firmware so the Crius AIOP can do failsafe with MPNG or MultiWii(sort of) but it is far more advanced in MPNG in that it will chabge to RTH or loiter etc ... In MultiWii as of 2.3 stable it just does a controlled crash - change throttle to specified value for x seconds and then disarm.  There is currently work being done in MultiWii on waypoints etc and there is talk of integrating failsafe into the work.

But for this failsafe to work i will still need a frsky rx?

Offline barneyg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 925
  • Liked: 284
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2014, 19:46:39 »
No ... it works by detecting when there are no pulses (or the pulses are below a certain length) on the Throttle channel ... you can test this on the bench buy enabling it and then turning off the TX to see what happens :)

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 138
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2014, 20:25:16 »
For this to work do i need to set ppm to enabled in megapirate? and do you know where the failsafe option is?

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 258
  • -Receive: 608
  • Posts: 6665
  • Liked: 2795
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2014, 20:35:02 »
For this to work do i need to set ppm to enabled in megapirate? and do you know where the failsafe option is?

No setting of PPM needed as that is what you're using by default with each of the channels associated with a specific function (Aileron, Elevator, Throttle, Roll). 

The full details on Failsafe setting for Arducopter are in the wiki here: http://copter.ardupilot.com/wiki/throttle-failsafe/  Work through the steps using Mission Planner and you'll see where the Failsafe settings are made.    As @barneyg says, you can demonstrate this working on the bench, just by powering the FC - you don't need to run the main LiPo and motors to see the FC going into RTL or not.

HTH
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 138
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2014, 20:44:03 »
I already tried following this guide but the problem was when i turn off my receiver the output on the throttle channel just stays at whatever it was at when turned off. Thats the reason i thought i needed the frsky RX.

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 258
  • -Receive: 608
  • Posts: 6665
  • Liked: 2795
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2014, 20:49:36 »
I already tried following this guide but the problem was when i turn off my receiver the output on the throttle channel just stays at whatever it was at when turned off. Thats the reason i thought i needed the frsky RX.

Hmm, that sounds to me like the AIOP doesn't behave the same as the APM 2.5's PPM encoder when the pulses stop.  I'm not familiar with AIOP's workings at that level. @barneyg or one of the others may know it much better in that respect.

Sorry.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 138
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #14 on: January 04, 2014, 21:41:21 »
Ive actually got it working now through the aiop. Im not sure what i did but it now drops down to 900 after about 3 seconds of no signal.