User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Multi Rotor UK Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • hoverfly: The stones are the devils quoits, a national monument  and a level 5  no fly zone. :embarrassed Phew for a moment when you asked the stones were i thought there was somthing hanging out my shorts. :rofl: OFff to feed the horse flies. ::)
    Today at 14:26:57
  • Slayer23: hoverfly what stones are they in your pictures ???
    Today at 14:02:06
  • Slayer23: hmmmmm once again LuMan lowers the tone
    Today at 13:59:54
  • LuMan: @hoverfly -please only include footage of the flying... Not your 'Bettys'  :rofl:
    Today at 13:21:34
  • hoverfly: So hot, took a plank out for a quick thermal , forgot the insect repelent and ended up doing the horse fly fling. Not wearing shorts this P.M. will have to put up with betty swallocks. :angry:
    Today at 12:52:17
  • PropsToYou: and now I want popcorn!
    Today at 11:32:31
  • Rommie: Well mtd airplane has done the maiden with video too and no crashes yet will post it up later , still a few weeks to go too
    Today at 10:19:33
  • Gaza07: nope dunno whats going on  :popcorn:
    Today at 09:45:57
  • PropsToYou: New member uptake seems to have shot up :)
    Today at 09:41:16
  • PropsToYou: GAZ, you been advertising or something?
    Today at 09:41:02
  • DarkButterfly: @LuMan, Ian has virtually no hair, bloody good eyesight though  ~~
    August 25, 2016, 22:36:07
  • Gav: bike shop up the road - goanna take a look
    August 25, 2016, 22:17:33
  • Gav: hi mate - yeah thanks. long day at the office, just chillin now for 20 in hotel before more play
    August 25, 2016, 22:16:57
  • Yellow: Hi Gav, all good out there?
    August 25, 2016, 22:15:08
  • Gav: hi from Chicago
    August 25, 2016, 22:11:23
  • LuMan: @DB. OUCH! But you got it back, which is good. BTW - Ian has THE BEST HAIR EVER!! :notworthy:
    August 25, 2016, 20:20:56
  • Gandhi: Quote
    Or a house brick, it won';t go too far attached to one of those
      :rofl:
    August 25, 2016, 16:20:49
  • Saleem: Loc8tor I find is pretty vulnerable and can be split easy enough,I have one and have to register it again to handset as it seems to have mind of its own after a while,then it's velcrod inside the quad with wires around it.wouldnt trust it out in the open stuck to side of the cam,I ain't got the cam yet,I bought it early hours of morning on eBay.
    August 25, 2016, 16:16:24
  • teslahed: If you attach a flourescent ribbon to your gopro and wrap it around the thing, it will add hardly any weight and unfurl in the event of a crash making the gopro easier to spot.
    August 25, 2016, 16:14:10
  • kilby: Or a house brick, it won';t go too far attached to one of those
    August 25, 2016, 16:11:27
  • Gandhi: glue a loc8tor onto it
    August 25, 2016, 16:09:23
  • Saleem: I just bought a turnigy 2k,makes me wonder what I should do for daytime as I don't fly at night,that said I suppose if it came off during daylight you can always return at night looking,will have to buy some tape and s torch me thinks
    August 25, 2016, 14:12:11
  • DarkButterfly: we managed to find the GoPro by spotting the flashing red light, we didn't expect it to be so far from the crash site
    August 25, 2016, 11:51:16
  • kilby: Though I did get some glow in the dark tape as well
    August 25, 2016, 11:45:31
  • kilby: Should be useful for things like GoPros, Mobius and similar cameras though
    August 25, 2016, 11:44:50
  • kilby: Well if the beam of a torch hits it it will certainly be noticeable (same stuff as used on roadsigns) and lets face it we need all the advantages we can get
    August 25, 2016, 11:43:58
  • DarkButterfly: That will work for finding downed quads
    August 25, 2016, 11:31:23
  • kilby: Also going to run a some along the edge of the rear arms of my machines
    August 25, 2016, 11:27:30
  • kilby: @DB, I bought some of this stuff so it will reflect light from a torch (the white tape in my case) [link]
    August 25, 2016, 11:26:49
  • Andy7: Owch!!!!
    August 25, 2016, 11:06:46
  • Saleem: Yikes!but you got a right field there for flying.
    August 25, 2016, 10:53:24
  • DarkButterfly: @LuMan [link]
    August 25, 2016, 10:21:18
  • Andy7: New motors arrive today (I think) I LITERALLY can't wait!
    August 25, 2016, 09:22:58
  • LuMan: @DB - post it!!!  ~~
    August 25, 2016, 07:38:33
  • DarkButterfly: Just going through the video, as it was still running when I found it ~~
    August 24, 2016, 20:57:43
  • DarkButterfly: Massive crash with the mini hex, it launched the GoPro about 30ft away from where the hex crashed
    August 24, 2016, 20:57:03
  • Hozza: Only done by a admin I believe
    August 24, 2016, 16:53:38
  • Langywangy: ANyone know how to change profile name?
    August 24, 2016, 12:01:28
  • Langywangy: Hey hey all...I should be working
    August 24, 2016, 12:01:13
  • aesteban: Hello, Any one have sky hero spy 750 with NAZA M v2, 380kv, 14" props and 6s lipo setup? Can you share your gain settings... thanks guys
    August 24, 2016, 07:47:19
  • aesteban: anyone have skyhero spy y6 750???
    August 24, 2016, 07:45:23
  • Slayer23: aceeeeeed
    August 24, 2016, 07:21:25
  • Gav: Big fish, Little fish,.....CARDBOARD BOX
    August 24, 2016, 01:19:23
  • Slayer23: I used to have money, a wife children a home and pets then i met you Quadcopter then i met you
    August 23, 2016, 18:11:54
  • Slayer23: fly it
    August 23, 2016, 15:35:19
  • insx: My little orange CX-10 is on my desk teasing me.
    August 23, 2016, 15:25:19
  • Andy7: hmmmm.... do I get the HubSan out...
    August 23, 2016, 15:24:06
  • insx: Sitting here at work wishing I was learning to fly properly.
    August 23, 2016, 15:23:27
  • Andy7: Just LOOK at that SKY!!! Trouble is, my new motors don't arrive until Thurs or Fri and everything is in bits. Goot bit is that all the electronics are done for the ZMR200 and *JUST ABOUT* fit inside. Had to strip my RX down and resolder most things.
    August 23, 2016, 15:15:25

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:


Author Topic: flysky th9x failsafe  (Read 6915 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 138
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
flysky th9x failsafe
« on: January 04, 2014, 11:13:29 »
Ive been trying to setup the failsafe on my tx so when i switch off signal is cut but atm when i turn off my tx all signals stay as they were at last position.

am i right in thinking that the only way i can get the failsafe to work is by swapping out the rx for a frsky one?


thanks



Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 258
  • -Receive: 609
  • Posts: 6684
  • Liked: 2812
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2014, 12:03:40 »
What specific RX are you using?  Also with what FC? 
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 138
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2014, 12:05:34 »
rx is fs-r9b and fc is crius aiop v2.

Offline dirtyharry

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 15
  • -Receive: 67
  • Posts: 591
  • Liked: 187
  • Country: gb

Offline Jumpy07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 266
  • Posts: 4460
  • Liked: 1023
  • Country: scotland
  • What goes up.. must come down..
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2014, 12:13:41 »
Flysky th9x Does not have failsafe...

You need the change the TX and RX modules..     would recommend the FrSky modules as will give better range as well.
BNUC-S Pilot with PFAW.
UAQ Instructor / Flight Assessor

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing"

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 138
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2014, 12:16:21 »
thats what i thought.

thanks

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 258
  • -Receive: 609
  • Posts: 6684
  • Liked: 2812
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2014, 12:47:05 »
The reason I asked is that I have failsafe working on my APM 2.5 with 9x transmitter and 9x8Cv2 (no built-in failsafe).  How this works is that the APM 2.5 PPM Encoder with the latest firmware senses loss of PPM when the TX is out of range or switched off, and it is the PPM Encoder itself that drops the throttle value to 900ppm that is below the FS threshold and thus invokes whatever FS activity you've set.

I don't think that the Crius AIOP has any such capability though.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline barneyg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 925
  • Liked: 284
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2014, 13:27:30 »
The failsafe from the FC is a function of the firmware so the Crius AIOP can do failsafe with MPNG or MultiWii(sort of) but it is far more advanced in MPNG in that it will chabge to RTH or loiter etc ... In MultiWii as of 2.3 stable it just does a controlled crash - change throttle to specified value for x seconds and then disarm.  There is currently work being done in MultiWii on waypoints etc and there is talk of integrating failsafe into the work.

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 138
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2014, 15:13:10 »
The failsafe from the FC is a function of the firmware so the Crius AIOP can do failsafe with MPNG or MultiWii(sort of) but it is far more advanced in MPNG in that it will chabge to RTH or loiter etc ... In MultiWii as of 2.3 stable it just does a controlled crash - change throttle to specified value for x seconds and then disarm.  There is currently work being done in MultiWii on waypoints etc and there is talk of integrating failsafe into the work.

But for this failsafe to work i will still need a frsky rx?

Offline barneyg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 925
  • Liked: 284
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2014, 19:46:39 »
No ... it works by detecting when there are no pulses (or the pulses are below a certain length) on the Throttle channel ... you can test this on the bench buy enabling it and then turning off the TX to see what happens :)

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 138
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2014, 20:25:16 »
For this to work do i need to set ppm to enabled in megapirate? and do you know where the failsafe option is?

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 258
  • -Receive: 609
  • Posts: 6684
  • Liked: 2812
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2014, 20:35:02 »
For this to work do i need to set ppm to enabled in megapirate? and do you know where the failsafe option is?

No setting of PPM needed as that is what you're using by default with each of the channels associated with a specific function (Aileron, Elevator, Throttle, Roll). 

The full details on Failsafe setting for Arducopter are in the wiki here: http://copter.ardupilot.com/wiki/throttle-failsafe/  Work through the steps using Mission Planner and you'll see where the Failsafe settings are made.    As @barneyg says, you can demonstrate this working on the bench, just by powering the FC - you don't need to run the main LiPo and motors to see the FC going into RTL or not.

HTH
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 138
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2014, 20:44:03 »
I already tried following this guide but the problem was when i turn off my receiver the output on the throttle channel just stays at whatever it was at when turned off. Thats the reason i thought i needed the frsky RX.

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 258
  • -Receive: 609
  • Posts: 6684
  • Liked: 2812
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2014, 20:49:36 »
I already tried following this guide but the problem was when i turn off my receiver the output on the throttle channel just stays at whatever it was at when turned off. Thats the reason i thought i needed the frsky RX.

Hmm, that sounds to me like the AIOP doesn't behave the same as the APM 2.5's PPM encoder when the pulses stop.  I'm not familiar with AIOP's workings at that level. @barneyg or one of the others may know it much better in that respect.

Sorry.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 138
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #14 on: January 04, 2014, 21:41:21 »
Ive actually got it working now through the aiop. Im not sure what i did but it now drops down to 900 after about 3 seconds of no signal.