User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Multi Rotor UK Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • atomiclama: @Gandhi, for the marital duties or flying  ::)
    Today at 16:21:57
  • Gandhi: might take a couple of days off work if it stay nice!
    Today at 15:38:22
  • Gandhi: I need some stick time :( all this lovely weather and I'm either trapped at work or pre-booked for marital duties. grrrr
    Today at 15:38:06
  • Gav: excting stuff.  just been out for some flights in the New Forest
    Today at 13:50:10
  • Andy7: Going out for a spin when I'm finished with the reporter from the Oxford Mail - might have an excitable post to put on the forum later ;)
    Today at 10:59:51
  • Andy7: TESTING... (huh - why is the shoutbox eating my shouts??)
    Today at 10:59:39
  • Gav: :azn
    Today at 10:57:31
  • Gav: what a life
    Today at 10:56:50
  • DarkButterfly: I've been flying almost everyday for the last month or so ~~
    Today at 10:14:07
  • Gav: Listen up summer is here this week - fly while you can or wait till next year
    Today at 10:07:30
  • Gav: hello
    Today at 10:01:25
  • teslahed: I used PVC plumbing parts - not the lightest but strong
    May 03, 2016, 23:31:53
  • DarkButterfly: I built cheap frames from scrap to crash with
    May 03, 2016, 23:10:10
  • teslahed: but i did spend a lot on props and motors to start witjh
    May 03, 2016, 23:09:38
  • teslahed: by the time i got auto-level working i didn't need it
    May 03, 2016, 23:09:17
  • DarkButterfly: my first tri only had gyros
    May 03, 2016, 23:09:13
  • teslahed: my second quad had a software glitch that turned auto-level mode into 'drunken sailor' mode
    May 03, 2016, 23:09:08
  • teslahed: My first quad only had gyros :-(
    May 03, 2016, 23:08:44
  • nub: i came from CP heli's so flying a quad in acro wasn't to much of a problem :laugh:
    May 03, 2016, 22:18:28
  • Andy7: Yup, bullet well and truly bitten - I can see why you can't go back. Feels SO much more responsive. FinalGlideAUS is my current inspiration!
    May 03, 2016, 13:54:36
  • Gandhi: dunno if that helped at all
    May 03, 2016, 13:48:23
  • Gandhi: I was fine flying rate in FPV
    May 03, 2016, 13:48:01
  • Gandhi: true
    May 03, 2016, 13:47:51
  • DarkButterfly: It's a matter of just going for it
    May 03, 2016, 13:47:33
  • Gandhi: Jazzz was my inspiration hahahaha
    May 03, 2016, 13:47:29
  • Gandhi: I flew LOS with level on for 2 years, then bit the bullet and started flying in rate
    May 03, 2016, 13:47:19
  • Gandhi: It's easier to pick up than you think!
    May 03, 2016, 13:46:54
  • Andy7: Hah! Flew a whole pack in just Rate mode - flying like a BIG BOY now (okay, just hovering in the garden but it's a start).
    May 03, 2016, 13:36:17
  • Gav: i like dark rum and also port. but beer always first lol
    May 03, 2016, 13:30:18
  • Gav: whiskey defo - petrol down yer gullet
    May 03, 2016, 13:29:31
  • nub: :o thunderbutt better no let her read that or you'll be in trouble! :laugh:
    May 03, 2016, 13:18:18
  • Gandhi: yes, I'm fully aware of the mixing issue but whisky so damn tasty and after 3 pints of ale and burger/chips/onion rings I couldn't fit any more gassy booze in, so had to switch to wine :)
    May 03, 2016, 13:10:50
  • atomiclama: @Gandhi, sounds familiar, I wasted the entire weekend thatway
    May 03, 2016, 13:06:46
  • DarrellW: GOLDEN RULE: Shouldn't mix grain and grape
    May 03, 2016, 12:59:20
  • Gandhi: I'm not sure if it was the ale, the wine or the whisky that did for me but my money's on the whisky
    May 03, 2016, 12:55:45
  • DarrellW: Overindulgence - no sympathy  :laugh:
    May 03, 2016, 12:53:40
  • Gandhi: currently sat at my desk watching the emails pile up, wishing I'd been sober enough to charge some batteries last night hahahahah
    May 03, 2016, 12:53:29
  • Gandhi: damn bank holiday drinking will be the end of me, I'm sure
    May 03, 2016, 12:53:01
  • Gandhi: I feel sooooooo rough today
    May 03, 2016, 12:52:45
  • DarrellW: Lol, thunderbutt???
    May 03, 2016, 12:51:47
  • Gandhi: Was that not nub's wife ;)
    May 03, 2016, 12:51:18
  • DarrellW: Anyone hear the sonic booms over Doncaster way? Typhoons took off in a rush to intercept a french passenger plane that lost radio contact!
    May 03, 2016, 12:50:34
  • nub: unlike my wife's hehe
    May 03, 2016, 12:46:11
  • nub: why it smells like strawberries? :laugh:
    May 03, 2016, 12:44:27
  • Gav: glad i was upwind from it though
    May 03, 2016, 12:40:56
  • Gav: lol
    May 03, 2016, 12:40:11
  • nub: lol Gav fs walked right into that one :tongue: :laugh:
    May 03, 2016, 12:39:11
  • Gav: you can get tablets for that craig
    May 03, 2016, 12:10:31
  • Andy7: Cakm?? Calm that is...
    May 03, 2016, 10:47:20
  • Andy7: Cakm as a millpond over Oxford way - might pop out at lunchtime to try weening myself off of Angle mode for a bit :)
    May 03, 2016, 10:47:02

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:


Author Topic: flysky th9x failsafe  (Read 6374 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 135
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
flysky th9x failsafe
« on: January 04, 2014, 11:13:29 »
Ive been trying to setup the failsafe on my tx so when i switch off signal is cut but atm when i turn off my tx all signals stay as they were at last position.

am i right in thinking that the only way i can get the failsafe to work is by swapping out the rx for a frsky one?


thanks



Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 256
  • -Receive: 598
  • Posts: 6558
  • Liked: 2698
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2014, 12:03:40 »
What specific RX are you using?  Also with what FC? 
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 135
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2014, 12:05:34 »
rx is fs-r9b and fc is crius aiop v2.

Online dirtyharry

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 62
  • Posts: 553
  • Liked: 177
  • Country: gb

Offline Jumpy07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 263
  • Posts: 4455
  • Liked: 1020
  • Country: scotland
  • What goes up.. must come down..
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2014, 12:13:41 »
Flysky th9x Does not have failsafe...

You need the change the TX and RX modules..     would recommend the FrSky modules as will give better range as well.
BNUC-S Pilot with PFAW.
UAQ Instructor / Flight Assessor

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing"

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 135
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2014, 12:16:21 »
thats what i thought.

thanks

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 256
  • -Receive: 598
  • Posts: 6558
  • Liked: 2698
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2014, 12:47:05 »
The reason I asked is that I have failsafe working on my APM 2.5 with 9x transmitter and 9x8Cv2 (no built-in failsafe).  How this works is that the APM 2.5 PPM Encoder with the latest firmware senses loss of PPM when the TX is out of range or switched off, and it is the PPM Encoder itself that drops the throttle value to 900ppm that is below the FS threshold and thus invokes whatever FS activity you've set.

I don't think that the Crius AIOP has any such capability though.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline barneyg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 925
  • Liked: 284
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2014, 13:27:30 »
The failsafe from the FC is a function of the firmware so the Crius AIOP can do failsafe with MPNG or MultiWii(sort of) but it is far more advanced in MPNG in that it will chabge to RTH or loiter etc ... In MultiWii as of 2.3 stable it just does a controlled crash - change throttle to specified value for x seconds and then disarm.  There is currently work being done in MultiWii on waypoints etc and there is talk of integrating failsafe into the work.

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 135
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2014, 15:13:10 »
The failsafe from the FC is a function of the firmware so the Crius AIOP can do failsafe with MPNG or MultiWii(sort of) but it is far more advanced in MPNG in that it will chabge to RTH or loiter etc ... In MultiWii as of 2.3 stable it just does a controlled crash - change throttle to specified value for x seconds and then disarm.  There is currently work being done in MultiWii on waypoints etc and there is talk of integrating failsafe into the work.

But for this failsafe to work i will still need a frsky rx?

Offline barneyg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 925
  • Liked: 284
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2014, 19:46:39 »
No ... it works by detecting when there are no pulses (or the pulses are below a certain length) on the Throttle channel ... you can test this on the bench buy enabling it and then turning off the TX to see what happens :)

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 135
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2014, 20:25:16 »
For this to work do i need to set ppm to enabled in megapirate? and do you know where the failsafe option is?

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 256
  • -Receive: 598
  • Posts: 6558
  • Liked: 2698
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2014, 20:35:02 »
For this to work do i need to set ppm to enabled in megapirate? and do you know where the failsafe option is?

No setting of PPM needed as that is what you're using by default with each of the channels associated with a specific function (Aileron, Elevator, Throttle, Roll). 

The full details on Failsafe setting for Arducopter are in the wiki here: http://copter.ardupilot.com/wiki/throttle-failsafe/  Work through the steps using Mission Planner and you'll see where the Failsafe settings are made.    As @barneyg says, you can demonstrate this working on the bench, just by powering the FC - you don't need to run the main LiPo and motors to see the FC going into RTL or not.

HTH
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 135
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2014, 20:44:03 »
I already tried following this guide but the problem was when i turn off my receiver the output on the throttle channel just stays at whatever it was at when turned off. Thats the reason i thought i needed the frsky RX.

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 256
  • -Receive: 598
  • Posts: 6558
  • Liked: 2698
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2014, 20:49:36 »
I already tried following this guide but the problem was when i turn off my receiver the output on the throttle channel just stays at whatever it was at when turned off. Thats the reason i thought i needed the frsky RX.

Hmm, that sounds to me like the AIOP doesn't behave the same as the APM 2.5's PPM encoder when the pulses stop.  I'm not familiar with AIOP's workings at that level. @barneyg or one of the others may know it much better in that respect.

Sorry.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline virginprops

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 39
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 135
  • Liked: 7
  • Country: scotland
Re: flysky th9x failsafe
« Reply #14 on: January 04, 2014, 21:41:21 »
Ive actually got it working now through the aiop. Im not sure what i did but it now drops down to 900 after about 3 seconds of no signal.