User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Multi Rotor UK Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • DarkButterfly: @LuMan, Ian has virtually no hair, bloody good eyesight though  ~~
    Today at 22:36:07
  • Gav: bike shop up the road - goanna take a look
    Today at 22:17:33
  • Gav: hi mate - yeah thanks. long day at the office, just chillin now for 20 in hotel before more play
    Today at 22:16:57
  • Yellow: Hi Gav, all good out there?
    Today at 22:15:08
  • Gav: hi from Chicago
    Today at 22:11:23
  • LuMan: @DB. OUCH! But you got it back, which is good. BTW - Ian has THE BEST HAIR EVER!! :notworthy:
    Today at 20:20:56
  • Gandhi: Quote
    Or a house brick, it won';t go too far attached to one of those
      :rofl:
    Today at 16:20:49
  • Saleem: Loc8tor I find is pretty vulnerable and can be split easy enough,I have one and have to register it again to handset as it seems to have mind of its own after a while,then it's velcrod inside the quad with wires around it.wouldnt trust it out in the open stuck to side of the cam,I ain't got the cam yet,I bought it early hours of morning on eBay.
    Today at 16:16:24
  • teslahed: If you attach a flourescent ribbon to your gopro and wrap it around the thing, it will add hardly any weight and unfurl in the event of a crash making the gopro easier to spot.
    Today at 16:14:10
  • kilby: Or a house brick, it won';t go too far attached to one of those
    Today at 16:11:27
  • Gandhi: glue a loc8tor onto it
    Today at 16:09:23
  • Saleem: I just bought a turnigy 2k,makes me wonder what I should do for daytime as I don't fly at night,that said I suppose if it came off during daylight you can always return at night looking,will have to buy some tape and s torch me thinks
    Today at 14:12:11
  • DarkButterfly: we managed to find the GoPro by spotting the flashing red light, we didn't expect it to be so far from the crash site
    Today at 11:51:16
  • kilby: Though I did get some glow in the dark tape as well
    Today at 11:45:31
  • kilby: Should be useful for things like GoPros, Mobius and similar cameras though
    Today at 11:44:50
  • kilby: Well if the beam of a torch hits it it will certainly be noticeable (same stuff as used on roadsigns) and lets face it we need all the advantages we can get
    Today at 11:43:58
  • DarkButterfly: That will work for finding downed quads
    Today at 11:31:23
  • kilby: Also going to run a some along the edge of the rear arms of my machines
    Today at 11:27:30
  • kilby: @DB, I bought some of this stuff so it will reflect light from a torch (the white tape in my case) [link]
    Today at 11:26:49
  • Andy7: Owch!!!!
    Today at 11:06:46
  • Saleem: Yikes!but you got a right field there for flying.
    Today at 10:53:24
  • DarkButterfly: @LuMan [link]
    Today at 10:21:18
  • Andy7: New motors arrive today (I think) I LITERALLY can't wait!
    Today at 09:22:58
  • LuMan: @DB - post it!!!  ~~
    Today at 07:38:33
  • DarkButterfly: Just going through the video, as it was still running when I found it ~~
    August 24, 2016, 20:57:43
  • DarkButterfly: Massive crash with the mini hex, it launched the GoPro about 30ft away from where the hex crashed
    August 24, 2016, 20:57:03
  • Hozza: Only done by a admin I believe
    August 24, 2016, 16:53:38
  • Langywangy: ANyone know how to change profile name?
    August 24, 2016, 12:01:28
  • Langywangy: Hey hey all...I should be working
    August 24, 2016, 12:01:13
  • aesteban: Hello, Any one have sky hero spy 750 with NAZA M v2, 380kv, 14" props and 6s lipo setup? Can you share your gain settings... thanks guys
    August 24, 2016, 07:47:19
  • aesteban: anyone have skyhero spy y6 750???
    August 24, 2016, 07:45:23
  • Slayer23: aceeeeeed
    August 24, 2016, 07:21:25
  • Gav: Big fish, Little fish,.....CARDBOARD BOX
    August 24, 2016, 01:19:23
  • Slayer23: I used to have money, a wife children a home and pets then i met you Quadcopter then i met you
    August 23, 2016, 18:11:54
  • Slayer23: fly it
    August 23, 2016, 15:35:19
  • insx: My little orange CX-10 is on my desk teasing me.
    August 23, 2016, 15:25:19
  • Andy7: hmmmm.... do I get the HubSan out...
    August 23, 2016, 15:24:06
  • insx: Sitting here at work wishing I was learning to fly properly.
    August 23, 2016, 15:23:27
  • Andy7: Just LOOK at that SKY!!! Trouble is, my new motors don't arrive until Thurs or Fri and everything is in bits. Goot bit is that all the electronics are done for the ZMR200 and *JUST ABOUT* fit inside. Had to strip my RX down and resolder most things.
    August 23, 2016, 15:15:25
  • Gav: good job too as you have quadcopters to fly
    August 23, 2016, 14:31:37
  • Slayer23: hi all i am still alive lol
    August 23, 2016, 13:26:43
  • aesteban: Hello, Any one have sky hero spy 750 with NAZA M v2, 380kv, 14" props and 6s lipo setup? Can you share your gain settings... thanks guys
    August 23, 2016, 07:04:36
  • Andy7: th: yep. borrowed the motors from my 450 with 7" props just to get things moving on the build.
    August 22, 2016, 20:24:27
  • teslahed: maybe use eCalc or something to get the theoretical numbers but 5 or 6 cell might be about right
    August 22, 2016, 20:21:29
  • teslahed: those 1100kv motors will be designed for 8 to 10" props, probably. If you up the cell count and go down to 5 or 6" props and get it right they would have been fine
    August 22, 2016, 20:21:08
  • Andy7: lol. Might run a little hot though...
    August 22, 2016, 20:02:59
  • DarrellW: @Andy may have been ok on 6S
    August 22, 2016, 18:50:57
  • Andy7: Bah. Was hoping I'd get a little bit of lift from my 1100kv motors on my new 200 build. Just managed a hop. emax2204s ordered, pillow and duvet moved to doghouse in advance...
    August 22, 2016, 14:13:44
  • DarrellW: [link]
    August 22, 2016, 09:26:52

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:


Author Topic: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ  (Read 13198 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jumpy07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 266
  • Posts: 4460
  • Liked: 1023
  • Country: scotland
  • What goes up.. must come down..
Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« on: December 23, 2013, 12:47:16 »
The new X8R, (X6R, X4R), receiver that most people use with the Taranis has a new "Smartbus" port for a  new range of telemetry devices.. these are the sensors available so far.. 


PLEASE NOTE: To enable telemetry the X8R needs to be bound in D16 mode (mode 5)


Vario Sensor
There are two versions of this, high and low sensitivity. The High Sensitivity Vario can also be used as a gateway device to the old telemetry sensor hub and telemetry sensors. (The Data in and out ports connect to old telemetry Hub)





Lipo Voltage Sensor
1-6s, plugs into balance cable, at the moment you can only use one sensor,  but new firmware is in the wings to allow two sensors to be used at the same time.
Specification:
Dimension: 35×23×6mm
Weight: 6g
Measurement range: 2S to 6S (6 to 25V)
Power consumption: 25mA@5V
Voltage display resolution: 0.01V
Voltage detection precision: 0.05V
Operating temperature: 10-70 degrees C
Pixel: 128 x 64 OLED Screen
Compatibility: FrSky Smart Port enabled receivers, such as X8R, X6R, X4R, etc.

*NB. Two x FLVSS connected via S.PORT can detect 12S voltages.




FrSky Smart Port to UART Converter w/2 ADC ports Remote
There are two versions of this.. one for the X8R and one for the XJT, the type B is for the X8R. This module also can be configured as an Analogue to Digital Converter.. so you can use the old style Voltage Sensors, these are just voltage dividers. This is the best way to get voltage monitoring working . . for APM users this could also be used to allow Mavlink telemetry to be shown on the Taranis, or to show GPS information etc..

Product Functions:
1. Serial port Data-Transmission at S.Port BUS.
2. Analog Signal AD input via S.Port.
Specifications:
Mode: SP2UART
Operational Voltage: DC 4 -10 V
Weight: 3g
Size: 44mmX15mmX7mm
Current Draw: 20mA @5V
Operating Temperature Range: -40 to 85C
UART Definition & Data-Transmission:
Baud Rate: 300 bps (default), 8N1, no parity.
The Baud Rate is possible to reconfiguration within 300bps, 600bps, 1200bps, 2400bps, 4800bps, 9600bps.
Capacity: Normal capacity (Mode 1) and High capacity (Mode 2)
To Enable Data-transmission at S.PORT BUS, the Host (Type A) and Remote (Type B) devices are requiring use as pair and set in same Capacity Mode.
Here we take the example by XJT module and X8R receiver to introduce how to Data-transmission at S.Port BUS:
- We definition the Host (Type A) is connect with XJT by S.Port, Remote (Type B) is connect with S.Port of X8R receiver.
(The Mode A and Mode B position is exchangeable)
- When input data from Type B UART port will output the same data at Type A UART port. Vice versa.
Obtain AD analog input via X8R & SP2UART adapter:
Because the X8R receiver does not have a built-in the AD port you cannot connect the simple voltage monitoring sensors directly to the X8R .. but now, you can, through this adapter.

Manual: [ Guests cannot view attachments ]

[ Guests cannot view attachments ]
[ Guests cannot view attachments ]
[ Guests cannot view attachments ]





Smart Port Support Current Sensor40A FCS-40A - Current Sensor
Specifications
Dimension: 61.2×16.7×13.2mm
Weight: 17g
Maximum battery voltage: 6S
Measurement range: 0~40A
Maximum safe current: 40A
Current consumption: 25mA@5V
Compatibility: FrSky Smart Port enabled receivers, such as X8R, X6R, X4R, etc.




GPS Sensor V2
Specifications:
Mode: GPS sensor (V2)
Interface: S.PORT
Operational Voltage: DC 4 -10 V
Weight: 11.3g
Current Draw: 80mA @5V
Sensitivity: -160dBm
Operating Temperature Range: -40 to 85C
Date Rate: 1Hz
Antenna: Built-in patch
Time to fix: 30s cold
Speed Accuracy: Approx 0.1m/s
Position Accuracy: Approx 2.5m CEP
Dimensions: 40 x 20 x 9mm (L x W x H)
Operation Limits: Dynamics 4g /Altitude 50,000m /Velocity 500m/s
Compatibility: FrSky Smart Port enabled receivers, such as X8R, X6R, X4R, etc.

The GPS should be mounted with Velcro in your model so that the "UP" side is facing toward the sky.

FrSky GPS Sensor (V2) - feeds variable directional information such as: Altitude, position, speed, and UTC time etc., which is displayed in real time on FrSky Transmitter or telemetry dashboard (DHT-U/FLD-02/FSD etc.)



NOTE: Each smart port telemetry device has an ID, when FrSky started releasing these devices there were changes to the default numbers assigned.
This is the list I have from current 2014 devices.
LIPO Sensors: 2
GPS: 4
Current Sensors: 3
Vario: 1

If you are using more than one lipo sensor you will have to change the ID of one of them, also if its running firmware prior to V1.2 you will have to update the firmware..



Will update this list as more become available..

These are available from T9HobbySport, Goodluckbuy and Hobbyking..

« Last Edit: August 25, 2014, 11:57:06 by Jumpy07 »


BNUC-S Pilot with PFAW.
UAQ Instructor / Flight Assessor

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing"

Offline Jake Bullit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 25
  • Posts: 642
  • Liked: 294
  • Country: gb
  • Fly,crash,glue,repeat!
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2013, 16:31:28 »
Just ordered Lipo Voltage Sensor x4 from Robotbirds. ;)
T9 wasn`t showing any stock.
"Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads."

Offline Jumpy07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 266
  • Posts: 4460
  • Liked: 1023
  • Country: scotland
  • What goes up.. must come down..
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2014, 18:16:55 »
New current sensor released..  150amp

[ Guests cannot view attachments ]
BNUC-S Pilot with PFAW.
UAQ Instructor / Flight Assessor

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing"

Offline Jake Bullit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 25
  • Posts: 642
  • Liked: 294
  • Country: gb
  • Fly,crash,glue,repeat!
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2014, 12:18:24 »
Do you know how to set alarms using the FLVSS sensor with X8R?
Values for 4 and 3S?

Cheers :frantic:
"Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads."

Offline Marty McFly

  • Chat Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 61
  • Posts: 941
  • Liked: 272
  • Country: scotland
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2014, 13:46:43 »
the latest upgrade for the Vario meter is available here http://www.frsky-rc.com/download/view.php?sort=&down=141&file=Firmware-Variometer%20Sensor    enjoy,Marty, :scotland:
JR XG8 and JR Ninja

Offline shumifan50

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 1
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2014, 10:16:42 »
The problem with the docs on all these smartport sensors is that none of them state whether they are capable of connecting multiple sensors to a single receiver; ie can I connect a GPS V2 and a voltage sensor to a single X8R receiver?

Is it possible to share a GPS module between the X8R and a MultiWii flight controller. It seems wasteful to have 2 x GPS modules to enable RTH on the flight controller and another to enable telemetry. The telemetry might be useful in case a a fly-away.

Offline barneyg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 925
  • Liked: 284
  • Country: scotland
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2014, 10:29:09 »
if you check the MW boards you will see people are working on a MW to smart port protocol ... it already works for the older frsky telemetry protocol.

Offline Jimbodiddly

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 550
  • Liked: 154
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2014, 21:32:23 »
Liking the new 150a current sensor that will help a lot with bigger multi-rotors.. will have to investing one soon.

Jim

Offline al-xg

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 11
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2014, 23:11:46 »
http://diydrones.com/forum/topics/amp-to-frsky-x8r-sport-converter?id=705844%3ATopic%3A1539556&page=4#comments

I don't really follow MW but it looks like the SmartPort is fairly well understood and that you could create a hub for a number of sensors or data from the flight controller and then send it  to the X8R.

Offline Jumpy07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 266
  • Posts: 4460
  • Liked: 1023
  • Country: scotland
  • What goes up.. must come down..
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #9 on: May 16, 2014, 15:11:50 »
I managed to get two lipo sensors working together to monitor 2 x 6S packs on my Hex..

Had to update firmware on both to latest version.. using FrSky SPORT upgrade tool....then change the channels on one of the lipo sensors using the FrSky S.Port tool. Also upgraded the GPS firmware, the Vario and the X8R while I was at it.

Cel reading now alternates between the two Lipos on the telemetry screen and have set alarms (one alarm fro both packs)

You need an FDD_lite or similar and a diode to upgrade them.. but pretty straight forward..

Diagram for DIY adapter.

[ Guests cannot view attachments ]

Smart Port Sensors on my HEX.. 2 x FPVSS, 1 x GPS, 1 x Vario

[ Guests cannot view attachments ]

BNUC-S Pilot with PFAW.
UAQ Instructor / Flight Assessor

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing"

Offline Jimbodiddly

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 550
  • Liked: 154
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2014, 22:28:27 »
MmMmm nice Craig, Liking that !

Offline bunnygirl80

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 17
  • -Receive: 119
  • Posts: 920
  • Liked: 623
  • Country: gb
    • AerialWorx Aerial Services
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #11 on: August 19, 2014, 22:31:17 »
Hi guys,

I thought I'd post a link to the adaptor required in the above instructions...

http://www.brchobbies.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1506

Thanks.
Always smile because you never know who could be falling in love with it. :)

Offline Buzzy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 12
  • Liked: 1
  • Country: gb
  • Don't get angry about things you cannot change
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #12 on: July 16, 2016, 20:18:09 »
This is probably not as stupid a question as I think. I've just finished building my first quad from scratch and now that I've actually managed to fly it for about half an hour I've started adding telemetry 'gizmos' for no other reason than I want to convince myself that I can do it and understand how it works.

I'm using a Taranis X9D Plus, an X8R  (S. Bus) and a Naze32 Rev6 FC. The ESCs are basis 12A SimonK with BEC and the motors EMax MT2204 2300Kv. I'm using a selection of 3S batteries (novelty for me - I used to fly just DJI Phantoms and battery choice was 'to clone or not to clone').

I used a PDB with built in BECs and disconnected the ESC red wires; the X8R is powered from the Naze which takes its 5V direct from the BEC on the PDB.

I'm using Cleanflight, Open-TX and MVOSD. I have a camera and transmitter for FPV and might use my GoPro as well, but have not fitted either yet.

I'm running  FrSKY GPS and LiPo sensors off the X8R's S.Port and they are both showing on the Taranis. ::)

I have put LEDs and use the Naze to make them look flash (pun intended). I've also fitted sonar. My quandary is:  the motor pins 5&6 on the Naze are now connected to the PDB for power in (5) and to the LEDs (6) to power them.

I could solder the power cable for the sonar to the PDB's 5V BEC output, but it's getting a bit cluttered round thers as the PDB is tiny, or could I not just use one of the many free connections on my X8R (I'm using S.Bus, remember)? I've checked the voltage and its 5V, of course.

I do have some spare 5V BECs doing nothing and I'm not too weight-conscious as this is just a learning exercise.

Any advice and the reasons for doing it a certain way would be greatly appreciated. :notworthy:




Offline Buzzy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 12
  • Liked: 1
  • Country: gb
  • Don't get angry about things you cannot change
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #13 on: August 21, 2016, 19:36:21 »
In the absence of any advice, I decided that my best option was to fit another PDB with built in BECs giving me 5 & 12V outputs. I connected a Sony FPV camera and transmitter using a 450mAh 3S battery and also connected the power cables for the LEDs and Sonar to it.

It'll also power the MinimOSD. I'll fit a cheap buzzer/low voltage alarm to the small battery. I already have a buzzer fitted to the Naze for lost model and low battery warning purposes.

I'm now trying to work out how to use the S.Port GPS as part of the Return To Home function. I'm sure the answer is out there, I'm just having difficulty finding the right keywords. :hmm:  :help:

Apart from fitting a current sensor, I don't think there is anything else I could add. ::)




Offline Powernumpty

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 31
  • Posts: 438
  • Liked: 145
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #14 on: August 21, 2016, 20:35:00 »
It sounds like you are trying to gather together the functions that are standard for some flight controllers and retro fit them to the naze.

I don't think the GPS data or any other telemetry data from the FrSky smart port is useable by the Naze so it will not be able to RTL.

If you had a GPS that is compatible with the Naze, and firmware that is good with the GPS (which I don't think is all of them) then you'd have a better shot.

I wonder if an inexpensive 450 sized quad with APM/Pixhawk type FC would be a better base to test things on.
The FrSky telemetry items won't be any less than the bits that work together well with APM.
You could fit a small format APM to the small quad but that is more like fitting a woodburner in a standard car.
RTL relies on having enough battery left to get home, how long is your current flight time, and how often would you think of an issue with enough time to use RTL?
I know it is partly for learning but learn on something that allows you to fully use what you have learnt and more.


Offline kilby

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 101
  • -Receive: 160
  • Posts: 2990
  • Liked: 791
  • Country: gb
  • More Espresso!
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #15 on: August 21, 2016, 22:41:21 »
You can simply connect a regular GPS puck to the Naze and from memory the coordinates will be passed through to the Taranis via s-port.

However GPS is currently pointless on cleanflight and Baseflight, I believe there is a forked version but 3 months or so ago it was prone to being inconsistent.

If you want a smaller controller format that can do for (and provide all the telemetry you could ever want) the PixRacer comes to mind (use the adaptor lead listed earlier)

Though other options do exist

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

Not much kit, but what I have I like
Armattan Tilt 2, Morphite 180, Quark 150, Decapitated NanoQX
Taranis+

Offline Buzzy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 12
  • Liked: 1
  • Country: gb
  • Don't get angry about things you cannot change
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #16 on: August 23, 2016, 13:21:56 »
It sounds like you are trying to gather together the functions that are standard for some flight controllers and retro fit them to the naze.

I wonder if an inexpensive 450 sized quad with APM/Pixhawk type FC would be a better base to test things on.
The FrSky telemetry items won't be any less than the bits that work together well with APM.
You could fit a small format APM to the small quad but that is more like fitting a woodburner in a standard car.

I have bought an APM and was deciding what I could do with it.  :hmm:

What is the point of a FrSky GPS if it can't be part of a RTH/RTL or position hold programme? I'm sure it's not just to be able to make pretty patterns with Google Earth after a flight or give the last known position of a failed task. I watched Lee Schofield's (Painless 360) YouTube video on the FrSky GPS but he doesn't say how to incorporate it in a RTH system. I can see that it could be useful providing warnings of excess height or distance.

I have twice landed my 250 some distance away because I had no idea which direction it was pointed and didn't want to lose it in trees. My Phantom has RTH and I've used that 'in anger' more than once. As I rarely run my batteries really low, I'd imagine that in almost every instance I'll have enough power to employ RTL. If I didn't, then I'd be in trouble anyway as it wouldn't be able to get back even under full control.

I'm currently spending far more time learning and altering all my machines than I am flying, but I'm still thoroughly enjoying every little 'victory'.  :smiley:

Offline Buzzy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 12
  • Liked: 1
  • Country: gb
  • Don't get angry about things you cannot change
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #17 on: August 23, 2016, 13:57:18 »
You can simply connect a regular GPS puck to the Naze and from memory the coordinates will be passed through to the Taranis via s-port.

However GPS is currently pointless on cleanflight and Baseflight, I believe there is a forked version but 3 months or so ago it was prone to being inconsistent.

I do have a 'spare puck' that came off a DJI Phantom2 but I have no idea how I'd go about connecting it to either my Naze32, CC3D or APM2.8.

I guess I'll have to search all the forums and Open TX to see if anyone has managed it before. :shrug:

Offline Powernumpty

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 31
  • Posts: 438
  • Liked: 145
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #18 on: August 23, 2016, 14:06:32 »
If FrSky build a flight controller then the GPS smartbus could be used for RTH, maybe they will one day.
As for other systems I'm not sure there is any advantage as that would be taking data they can understand encoding it to one wire serial then decoding back to useable data introducing small time issues. I'm not saying it a non starter but native GPS is probably such a universal requirement right now there would have to be a greater incentive to add SmartPort (with any IP and updating firmware issues).

I'd hold onto your thoughts and maybe lay out a spec for a plug and play modular system but while that is in the works use the APM. BTW I thought FrSky's Google earth squigles were nice until I tried the APM ones, much nicer..

Fair enough on the RTH uses, just "point the nose at me" would probably be enough for small quads no?

Offline kilby

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 101
  • -Receive: 160
  • Posts: 2990
  • Liked: 791
  • Country: gb
  • More Espresso!
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #19 on: August 23, 2016, 16:03:59 »
I do have a 'spare puck' that came off a DJI Phantom2 but I have no idea how I'd go about connecting it to either my Naze32, CC3D or APM2.8.

I guess I'll have to search all the forums and Open TX to see if anyone has managed it before. :shrug:

HandsOn has done some fighting with a Naze and GPS, a search or giving him a shout may yield some pointers.

As for GPS on smaller quads:

I like the thought of being able to "park" a small machine in the air and get some stable(ish) video (though that's not such a requirement since I stopped club flying)

After 2 fly away machines anything that may mitigate the issue (or help me find the damn thing) is always appealing.

Though turn your tail towards me would be considerably more useful to beginners than turning the nose ;)
Not much kit, but what I have I like
Armattan Tilt 2, Morphite 180, Quark 150, Decapitated NanoQX
Taranis+