User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bad Raven: I would'nt know but obviously you have had the experience.....  :evil
    June 17, 2018, 13:08:09
  • shawdreamer: his boyfriend couldnt wait..... :whistling:
    June 17, 2018, 11:58:37
  • hoverfly: Keckon, is usually the result of typing with your mouth full. :whistling:
    June 16, 2018, 16:37:24
  • Bad Raven: Keckon???  Where did THAT come from??
    June 16, 2018, 16:13:17
  • Bad Raven: I keckon you have bootleg Domino's................  And HF , I ALWAYS give a tip, it's "don't upset me"....
    June 16, 2018, 16:08:46
  • DarkButterfly: Not sure why they're different colours :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 13:19:02
  • hoverfly: Blue boxes are used to indicate to the delivery bloke they won't get a tip at that house.. :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 09:07:42
  • Bad Raven: And on another more important matter, wny is your domino's box red, ours are blue!!!   :blink :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 05:47:01
  • Bajadre: :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 23:47:19
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 22:41:37
  • shawdreamer: oh it'll fly...... like a piece of 5hit with a big arse motor attached..... but it'll fly :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 22:25:24
  • hoverfly: Superb,  :rofl:
    June 15, 2018, 22:14:50
  • DarkButterfly: :smiley:
    June 15, 2018, 21:02:23
  • DarkButterfly: Need to get some electronics on this and see if it flies [link]
    June 15, 2018, 21:02:14
  • atomiclama: I used the solder ones [link] as I do't have a crimp tool and should be able to reuse the connector if required
    June 15, 2018, 14:50:33
  • VaNDAL_UK: Nice one. I'm gonna go for it. just looking for the SMA connectors with the crips as Ive had a few break at the root.
    June 15, 2018, 14:44:53
  • atomiclama: these are my first attempts, got better since then [link]
    June 15, 2018, 10:57:11
  • atomiclama: Yeah could've got mine cheaper but wanted it in reasonable time. Go for it, It's rewarding to see something you have made yourself.
    June 15, 2018, 10:54:38
  • VaNDAL_UK: atomiclama: I was pricing up the cable 0.08 copper wire and SMA connectors came out to about £15 and I could have made 5 meters worth of antennas!
    June 15, 2018, 10:31:48
  • hoverfly: Betaflight RC1...Interesting  if you go to the O.S.D  settings and then change the font  by lining up the icons in the correct precise order then hit  enter,...... It opens up the  O.C.D.  screen. :smiley:
    June 15, 2018, 09:01:13

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ  (Read 19443 times)

Offline Jumpy07

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4497
  • Liked: 968
  • Country: scotland
  • What goes up.. must come down..
Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« on: December 23, 2013, 12:47:16 »
« Last Edit: August 25, 2014, 11:57:06 by Jumpy07 »
BNUC-S Pilot with PfCo /PFAW.
UAQ / CAA PfCo Instructor / Flight Assessor

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing"

Offline Jake Bullit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 679
  • Liked: 331
  • Country: gb
  • Fly,crash,glue,repeat!
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2013, 16:31:28 »
Just ordered Lipo Voltage Sensor x4 from Robotbirds. ;)
T9 wasn`t showing any stock.
"Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads."

Offline Jumpy07

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4497
  • Liked: 968
  • Country: scotland
  • What goes up.. must come down..
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2014, 18:16:55 »
New current sensor released..  150amp

[attachimg=1]
BNUC-S Pilot with PfCo /PFAW.
UAQ / CAA PfCo Instructor / Flight Assessor

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing"

Offline Jake Bullit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 679
  • Liked: 331
  • Country: gb
  • Fly,crash,glue,repeat!
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2014, 12:18:24 »
Do you know how to set alarms using the FLVSS sensor with X8R?
Values for 4 and 3S?

Cheers :frantic:
"Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads."

Marty McFly

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2014, 13:46:43 »
the latest upgrade for the Vario meter is available here http://www.frsky-rc.com/download/view.php?sort=&down=141&file=Firmware-Variometer%20Sensor    enjoy,Marty, :scotland:

Offline shumifan50

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2014, 10:16:42 »
The problem with the docs on all these smartport sensors is that none of them state whether they are capable of connecting multiple sensors to a single receiver; ie can I connect a GPS V2 and a voltage sensor to a single X8R receiver?

Is it possible to share a GPS module between the X8R and a MultiWii flight controller. It seems wasteful to have 2 x GPS modules to enable RTH on the flight controller and another to enable telemetry. The telemetry might be useful in case a a fly-away.

Offline barneyg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 924
  • Liked: 273
  • Country: scotland
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2014, 10:29:09 »
if you check the MW boards you will see people are working on a MW to smart port protocol ... it already works for the older frsky telemetry protocol.

Offline Jimbodiddly

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 552
  • Liked: 140
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2014, 21:32:23 »
Liking the new 150a current sensor that will help a lot with bigger multi-rotors.. will have to investing one soon.

Jim

Offline al-xg

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2014, 23:11:46 »
http://diydrones.com/forum/topics/amp-to-frsky-x8r-sport-converter?id=705844%3ATopic%3A1539556&page=4#comments

I don';t really follow MW but it looks like the SmartPort is fairly well understood and that you could create a hub for a number of sensors or data from the flight controller and then send it  to the X8R.

Offline Jumpy07

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4497
  • Liked: 968
  • Country: scotland
  • What goes up.. must come down..
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #9 on: May 16, 2014, 15:11:50 »
I managed to get two lipo sensors working together to monitor 2 x 6S packs on my Hex..

Had to update firmware on both to latest version.. using FrSky SPORT upgrade tool....then change the channels on one of the lipo sensors using the FrSky S.Port tool. Also upgraded the GPS firmware, the Vario and the X8R while I was at it.

Cel reading now alternates between the two Lipos on the telemetry screen and have set alarms (one alarm fro both packs)

You need an FDD_lite or similar and a diode to upgrade them.. but pretty straight forward..

Diagram for DIY adapter.

[attachimg=1]

Smart Port Sensors on my HEX.. 2 x FPVSS, 1 x GPS, 1 x Vario

[attachimg=2]

BNUC-S Pilot with PfCo /PFAW.
UAQ / CAA PfCo Instructor / Flight Assessor

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing"

Offline Jimbodiddly

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 552
  • Liked: 140
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2014, 22:28:27 »
MmMmm nice Craig, Liking that !

Offline bunnygirl80

  • Own and work as a drone pilot for Aerialworx
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 914
  • Liked: 582
  • Country: gb
    • Drone Filming North Wales
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #11 on: August 19, 2014, 22:31:17 »
Hi guys,

I thought I';d post a link to the adaptor required in the above instructions...

http://www.brchobbies.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1506

Thanks.
Always smile because you never know who could be falling in love with it. :) Drone Operator in North Wales. www.aerialworx.co.uk

Offline Buzzy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Liked: 1
  • Country: gb
  • Don't get angry about things you cannot change
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #12 on: July 16, 2016, 20:18:09 »
This is probably not as stupid a question as I think. I';ve just finished building my first quad from scratch and now that I';ve actually managed to fly it for about half an hour I';ve started adding telemetry ';gizmos'; for no other reason than I want to convince myself that I can do it and understand how it works.

I';m using a Taranis X9D Plus, an X8R  (S. Bus) and a Naze32 Rev6 FC. The ESCs are basis 12A SimonK with BEC and the motors EMax MT2204 2300Kv. I';m using a selection of 3S batteries (novelty for me - I used to fly just DJI Phantoms and battery choice was ';to clone or not to clone';).

I used a PDB with built in BECs and disconnected the ESC red wires; the X8R is powered from the Naze which takes its 5V direct from the BEC on the PDB.

I';m using Cleanflight, Open-TX and MVOSD. I have a camera and transmitter for FPV and might use my GoPro as well, but have not fitted either yet.

I';m running  FrSKY GPS and LiPo sensors off the X8R';s S.Port and they are both showing on the Taranis. ::)

I have put LEDs and use the Naze to make them look flash (pun intended). I';ve also fitted sonar. My quandary is:  the motor pins 5&6 on the Naze are now connected to the PDB for power in (5) and to the LEDs (6) to power them.

I could solder the power cable for the sonar to the PDB';s 5V BEC output, but it';s getting a bit cluttered round thers as the PDB is tiny, or could I not just use one of the many free connections on my X8R (I';m using S.Bus, remember)? I';ve checked the voltage and its 5V, of course.

I do have some spare 5V BECs doing nothing and I';m not too weight-conscious as this is just a learning exercise.

Any advice and the reasons for doing it a certain way would be greatly appreciated. :notworthy:




Offline Buzzy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Liked: 1
  • Country: gb
  • Don't get angry about things you cannot change
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #13 on: August 21, 2016, 19:36:21 »
In the absence of any advice, I decided that my best option was to fit another PDB with built in BECs giving me 5 & 12V outputs. I connected a Sony FPV camera and transmitter using a 450mAh 3S battery and also connected the power cables for the LEDs and Sonar to it.

It';ll also power the MinimOSD. I';ll fit a cheap buzzer/low voltage alarm to the small battery. I already have a buzzer fitted to the Naze for lost model and low battery warning purposes.

I';m now trying to work out how to use the S.Port GPS as part of the Return To Home function. I';m sure the answer is out there, I';m just having difficulty finding the right keywords. :hmm:  :help:

Apart from fitting a current sensor, I don';t think there is anything else I could add. ::)




Offline Powernumpty

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 781
  • Liked: 235
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #14 on: August 21, 2016, 20:35:00 »
It sounds like you are trying to gather together the functions that are standard for some flight controllers and retro fit them to the naze.

I don';t think the GPS data or any other telemetry data from the FrSky smart port is useable by the Naze so it will not be able to RTL.

If you had a GPS that is compatible with the Naze, and firmware that is good with the GPS (which I don';t think is all of them) then you';d have a better shot.

I wonder if an inexpensive 450 sized quad with APM/Pixhawk type FC would be a better base to test things on.
The FrSky telemetry items won';t be any less than the bits that work together well with APM.
You could fit a small format APM to the small quad but that is more like fitting a woodburner in a standard car.
RTL relies on having enough battery left to get home, how long is your current flight time, and how often would you think of an issue with enough time to use RTL?
I know it is partly for learning but learn on something that allows you to fully use what you have learnt and more.


Offline kilby

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3201
  • Liked: 791
  • Country: gb
  • More Espresso!
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #15 on: August 21, 2016, 22:41:21 »
You can simply connect a regular GPS puck to the Naze and from memory the coordinates will be passed through to the Taranis via s-port.

However GPS is currently pointless on cleanflight and Baseflight, I believe there is a forked version but 3 months or so ago it was prone to being inconsistent.

If you want a smaller controller format that can do for (and provide all the telemetry you could ever want) the PixRacer comes to mind (use the adaptor lead listed earlier)

Though other options do exist

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

Not much kit, but what I have I like
Armattan Tilt 2, Morphite 180, Quark 150, Decapitated NanoQX
Taranis+

Offline Buzzy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Liked: 1
  • Country: gb
  • Don't get angry about things you cannot change
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #16 on: August 23, 2016, 13:21:56 »
It sounds like you are trying to gather together the functions that are standard for some flight controllers and retro fit them to the naze.

I wonder if an inexpensive 450 sized quad with APM/Pixhawk type FC would be a better base to test things on.
The FrSky telemetry items won';t be any less than the bits that work together well with APM.
You could fit a small format APM to the small quad but that is more like fitting a woodburner in a standard car.

I have bought an APM and was deciding what I could do with it.  :hmm:

What is the point of a FrSky GPS if it can';t be part of a RTH/RTL or position hold programme? I';m sure it';s not just to be able to make pretty patterns with Google Earth after a flight or give the last known position of a failed task. I watched Lee Schofield';s (Painless 360) YouTube video on the FrSky GPS but he doesn';t say how to incorporate it in a RTH system. I can see that it could be useful providing warnings of excess height or distance.

I have twice landed my 250 some distance away because I had no idea which direction it was pointed and didn';t want to lose it in trees. My Phantom has RTH and I';ve used that ';in anger'; more than once. As I rarely run my batteries really low, I';d imagine that in almost every instance I';ll have enough power to employ RTL. If I didn';t, then I';d be in trouble anyway as it wouldn';t be able to get back even under full control.

I';m currently spending far more time learning and altering all my machines than I am flying, but I';m still thoroughly enjoying every little ';victory';.  :smiley:

Offline Buzzy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Liked: 1
  • Country: gb
  • Don't get angry about things you cannot change
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #17 on: August 23, 2016, 13:57:18 »
You can simply connect a regular GPS puck to the Naze and from memory the coordinates will be passed through to the Taranis via s-port.

However GPS is currently pointless on cleanflight and Baseflight, I believe there is a forked version but 3 months or so ago it was prone to being inconsistent.

I do have a ';spare puck'; that came off a DJI Phantom2 but I have no idea how I';d go about connecting it to either my Naze32, CC3D or APM2.8.

I guess I';ll have to search all the forums and Open TX to see if anyone has managed it before. :shrug:

Offline Powernumpty

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 781
  • Liked: 235
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #18 on: August 23, 2016, 14:06:32 »
If FrSky build a flight controller then the GPS smartbus could be used for RTH, maybe they will one day.
As for other systems I';m not sure there is any advantage as that would be taking data they can understand encoding it to one wire serial then decoding back to useable data introducing small time issues. I';m not saying it a non starter but native GPS is probably such a universal requirement right now there would have to be a greater incentive to add SmartPort (with any IP and updating firmware issues).

I';d hold onto your thoughts and maybe lay out a spec for a plug and play modular system but while that is in the works use the APM. BTW I thought FrSky';s Google earth squigles were nice until I tried the APM ones, much nicer..

Fair enough on the RTH uses, just "point the nose at me" would probably be enough for small quads no?

Offline kilby

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3201
  • Liked: 791
  • Country: gb
  • More Espresso!
Re: Taranis Telemetry -X8R / Smartbus - FrSky - Modules & FAQ
« Reply #19 on: August 23, 2016, 16:03:59 »
I do have a ';spare puck'; that came off a DJI Phantom2 but I have no idea how I';d go about connecting it to either my Naze32, CC3D or APM2.8.

I guess I';ll have to search all the forums and Open TX to see if anyone has managed it before. :shrug:

HandsOn has done some fighting with a Naze and GPS, a search or giving him a shout may yield some pointers.

As for GPS on smaller quads:

I like the thought of being able to "park" a small machine in the air and get some stable(ish) video (though that';s not such a requirement since I stopped club flying)

After 2 fly away machines anything that may mitigate the issue (or help me find the damn thing) is always appealing.

Though turn your tail towards me would be considerably more useful to beginners than turning the nose ;)
Not much kit, but what I have I like
Armattan Tilt 2, Morphite 180, Quark 150, Decapitated NanoQX
Taranis+