User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 41
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 7
  • Dot Users Online:

Calendar

November 2014
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29
30


Author Topic: Naza V2 or Futaba t8J setup issues  (Read 6194 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Opto-Mystic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 47
  • -Receive: 20
  • Posts: 375
  • Liked: 188
  • Country: gb
    • WebSilk
Naza V2 or Futaba t8J setup issues
« on: November 22, 2013, 19:41:16 »
I have spent 4 hours trying to get the setup right - I am not sure if it is a Naza issue or a Futaba issue or a 'me ' issue.
I have checked & double checked all the wiring and connections.

Kit:
F450 Flame Wheel
Naza M V2 FC
Radio: Futaba T8J Tx &  R2008SB Rx
Firmware upgraded to latest with no problems (I had same issues below on previous firmware so can rule that out as the cause)
The Naza talks to the laptop (Win7 with the latest Naza Assistant)

I can spin motors in correct sequence and rotation with the 'Motor test' feature in Naza Assistance

TX is talking to RX and to the NAZA M but the only way I can arm the motors is the absolute reverse of throttle control. EG throttle to top left or top right, bringing the throttle to below centre point revs up the motors... OK, thinks me, lets reverse things... no go ... reversing throttle in Naza Assistant and/or on Futaba TX nothing works other than the led. I have tried each combination with all modes, the

Yes - the Futaba T8J is set as 'Aircraft'

I have connected everything accord according to the Naza Quick Start Guide, VIS:
4 ESCs to FC ports: M1, M2, M3 & M4 (tested & right sequence)
Naza PMU X3 to FC X3
Naza PMU EXP to FC EXP
Naza PMU GPF to FC GPS
LED module to FC LED
Futaba R2008SB Receiver S-Bus port to FC X2 ... This is the only connection twix rx & FC. I am assuming that no other connections are requires - I would appreciate confirmation of that please.

On TX memory, I have set 'Aux Ch': Ch5= SwE, CH6=VR,CH7=SwC (end points on CH5:L=61,H=61)

Switch E (ch5) on Futaba TX equates to  Flight Mode: Down=manual, Centre=Altitude/Attitude & Up=GPS
Switch C (ch7) on Futaba TX equates to IOC: Down=Home lock, Centre=Course Lock, Up- IOC Off.

I cribbed these settings from Alishanmo videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/alishanmao
But his setup was for the earlier Naza M (V1)

Any pointers/advice or links will be truly appreciated.

Thanks


Donald

Online xxpitt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 17
  • -Receive: 49
  • Posts: 772
  • Liked: 383
  • Country: gb
Re: Naza V2 or Futaba t8J setup issues
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2013, 19:45:13 »
Have you tried reversing channel 3 on your tx if ur mode 2 that is

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 118
  • -Receive: 156
  • Posts: 2537
  • Liked: 861
  • Country: gb
  • Dronesville
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: Naza V2 or Futaba t8J setup issues
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2013, 19:48:20 »
A quickie:  is correct tx type selected?
I use spektrum, so cant help 2 much with futaba, sorry!
The home of fpv large
Likes: 'stuff that works' init!
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
one day somebody will pay me for my dumb ideas..
DJI fanboy
TBS fanboy (although i don’t have 1)
et deus in nobis confidimus GPS

Offline Opto-Mystic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 47
  • -Receive: 20
  • Posts: 375
  • Liked: 188
  • Country: gb
    • WebSilk
Re: Naza V2 or Futaba t8J setup issues
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2013, 20:01:51 »
Have you tried reversing channel 3 on your tx if ur mode 2 that is
Yup - reversed that  (THR in the reverse menu) it is in reverse mode now and I can arm the motors but with the stick UP left/right - putting it to un-reversed, it will not arm the motors.
Donald

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 118
  • -Receive: 156
  • Posts: 2537
  • Liked: 861
  • Country: gb
  • Dronesville
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: Naza V2 or Futaba t8J setup issues
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2013, 20:05:55 »
Do the sticks move correctly in tx monitor in assistant?  That should tell u if your tx channels are allocated correctly, and all moving in the right direction.
The home of fpv large
Likes: 'stuff that works' init!
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
one day somebody will pay me for my dumb ideas..
DJI fanboy
TBS fanboy (although i don’t have 1)
et deus in nobis confidimus GPS

Offline Opto-Mystic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 47
  • -Receive: 20
  • Posts: 375
  • Liked: 188
  • Country: gb
    • WebSilk
Re: Naza V2 or Futaba t8J setup issues
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2013, 20:07:22 »
Do the sticks move correctly in tx monitor in assistant?  That should tell u if your tx channels are allocated correctly, and all moving in the right direction.
Yes - everything looks great in N.A.
Donald

Offline fruitsalad

  • Site Sponsor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 47
  • Posts: 694
  • Liked: 207
  • Country: gb
  • pilot error nah not my fault ground got in the way
Re: Naza V2 or Futaba t8J setup issues
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2013, 20:13:19 »
is throttle direction normal in assistant and on normal direction on tx
then do the radio calibration in assistant,see if that helps..
dont grow up,just buy bigger toys!!!!

Offline Opto-Mystic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 47
  • -Receive: 20
  • Posts: 375
  • Liked: 188
  • Country: gb
    • WebSilk
Re: Naza V2 or Futaba t8J setup issues
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2013, 20:31:59 »
is throttle direction normal in assistant and on normal direction on tx
then do the radio calibration in assistant,see if that helps..
Already done that - no go...
Donald

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 118
  • -Receive: 156
  • Posts: 2537
  • Liked: 861
  • Country: gb
  • Dronesville
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: Naza V2 or Futaba t8J setup issues
« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2013, 20:58:51 »
That's a head scratcher mate.  You know what, i'm certain it'll be something mega simple, it usually is.  Sometimes you just can't see for looking.

:banghead:

Just wait for that eureka moment!   :crossfingers:
The home of fpv large
Likes: 'stuff that works' init!
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
one day somebody will pay me for my dumb ideas..
DJI fanboy
TBS fanboy (although i don’t have 1)
et deus in nobis confidimus GPS

Offline barneyg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 63
  • Posts: 783
  • Liked: 243
  • Country: scotland
Re: Naza V2 or Futaba t8J setup issues
« Reply #9 on: November 22, 2013, 21:19:13 »
In Multiwii and MegaPirate land on some TX/RX's you have to set the range of the channels to -125% -> +125% or at least something greater than 100% ... have you tried doing that  ?

Offline Opto-Mystic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 47
  • -Receive: 20
  • Posts: 375
  • Liked: 188
  • Country: gb
    • WebSilk
Re: Naza V2 or Futaba t8J setup issues
« Reply #10 on: November 22, 2013, 21:48:22 »
In Multiwii and MegaPirate land on some TX/RX's you have to set the range of the channels to -125% -> +125% or at least something greater than 100% ... have you tried doing that  ?

Not understanding this ???

I have just trawled through several Youtube vids and found nowt to help - going to give it a break and try again tomorrow!
 (F8T battery needs charging anyway!)
Donald

Offline Biffa

  • Site Sponsor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 34
  • -Receive: 145
  • Posts: 2368
  • Liked: 1043
  • Country: gb
  • Fly more, worry less!
Re: Naza V2 or Futaba t8J setup issues
« Reply #11 on: November 22, 2013, 22:25:07 »
Not understanding this ???

The servo travel.

Sometimes manufactures reduce the travel on the TX so as not to overdrive servos.
Steve

Offline Marklincs

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 130
  • Liked: 60
  • Country: gb
    • UAV AERIAL SERVICES
Re: Naza V2 or Futaba t8J setup issues
« Reply #12 on: November 22, 2013, 23:38:44 »
Okay.

Take all Props OFF

1. Reverse Channel 3 in the Transmitter  (YES REVERSE THE DAM CHANNEL)
2. Re-calibrate DJI Naza software


3 Way Switch - Ditch Manual
So make it.
GPS
Atti
RTH  (okay so you need manual for the Compass set up once done go in and change it to RTH)

So when you have a problem pull the switch towards you so it Comes Home

Also while in naza set up on computer - find the channel you have the GPS/Atti/RTH options and dial in the failsafe so that when the transmitter is off it automatically drops to RTH mode

You will however need to do the Naza GPS calibration 1st

You might need to reverse the elevator or aileron as well in transmitter but I'm buggered if I can recall which one.



wish I was closer its a 5 min job.... and I'd you up in and flying in no time :)


Now - Why Reverse channel 3 - Futaba sets and ESCs this has been since day one all electronic ESCs to my knowledge mean Futaba users have to reverse the channel as their 1st thing to do.

End Points - these allow more servo Travel but also important limit it and in cases of 3 way switches allow you to move settings about. Try it while in the DJI assistant you'll see what I mean.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2013, 23:47:07 by Marklincs »

Offline Marklincs

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 130
  • Liked: 60
  • Country: gb
    • UAV AERIAL SERVICES
Re: Naza V2 or Futaba t8J setup issues
« Reply #13 on: November 22, 2013, 23:44:10 »
is throttle direction normal in assistant and on normal direction on tx
then do the radio calibration in assistant,see if that helps..

no its Futaba so reverse channel 3 Transmitter

Online xxpitt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 17
  • -Receive: 49
  • Posts: 772
  • Liked: 383
  • Country: gb
Re: Naza V2 or Futaba t8J setup issues
« Reply #14 on: November 23, 2013, 00:54:18 »
This probably wont be the problem if naza software says all the stick movements are ok... but have you go into ur tx menu and calibrated the sticks? I mean actually on ur tx not the naza calibration