User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Multi Rotor UK Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • atomiclama: typical after the foul weather today, it clears up now but I've been on the vino for too long
    April 30, 2016, 20:05:03
  • DarrellW: ttfn JT, off down the pub for a quick one!
    April 30, 2016, 19:29:42
  • JT: :laugh:
    April 30, 2016, 19:27:52
  • DarrellW: Then you're adding more weight again ::)
    April 30, 2016, 19:25:16
  • JT: I have a huge box of hotglue sticks though.......  :laugh:
    April 30, 2016, 19:24:37
  • DarrellW: Only trouble with big batteries is more weight so more kinetic energy to dissipate into the ground if it accidentally goes there ::)
    April 30, 2016, 19:23:53
  • JT: :laugh:
    April 30, 2016, 19:22:45
  • DarrellW: I gave up ground skimming it cost me too much ::) my reactions are getting  s l o w e r and s  l  o  w  e  r.....
    April 30, 2016, 19:20:13
  • JT: well so the makers claim anyway
    April 30, 2016, 19:19:59
  • JT: 10,000 4s that is
    April 30, 2016, 19:19:44
  • JT: the talon can carry 10,000 mAh though, long flights, expensive lipos lol
    April 30, 2016, 19:19:20
  • DarrellW: That mini talon looks nice, I guess it's a pusher; you want a nice big glider with a folding prop, much more efficient.
    April 30, 2016, 19:18:11
  • JT: [link]
    April 30, 2016, 19:16:11
  • JT: good fun just above the floor though lol
    April 30, 2016, 19:15:12
  • JT: quick enough lol. I think my wing wing does about 60
    April 30, 2016, 19:14:47
  • JT: Quite like the look of these too [link]
    April 30, 2016, 19:14:14
  • DarrellW: Flat out at the bottom of a dive it's been clocked at just over 100mph but it's scary at that speed!!!
    April 30, 2016, 19:13:51
  • DarrellW: The difference is that you are usually going quite fast whereas i'm just floating around. Giving my AXN beans I get about 6 mins, I've put a carbon spar inside the one that came with it and given it more power; the reinforced spar was to hopefully stop the wings clapping ::)
    April 30, 2016, 19:11:02
  • JT: I still quite like my wing wing, it's only 60cm wide and likes to fly silly lol. only get 7 minutes on a 1300mah 3s though
    April 30, 2016, 19:07:03
  • JT: Pretty good going there
    April 30, 2016, 19:05:27
  • DarrellW: That said my AXN is my current favourite hack, it thermals ok; 30 mins from a 3S 2200
    April 30, 2016, 19:04:37
  • DarrellW: It's all about thermal performance, with bigger wings the wing loading is lower so they thermal better, you only need small batteries for a few climbs.
    April 30, 2016, 19:02:55
  • JT: I think my Mrs would have a fit if I came home with something bigger lol
    April 30, 2016, 18:53:33
  • JT: [link]
    April 30, 2016, 18:52:37
  • JT: 3 meters! Not small lol. I've just got a Mini Sky Hunter that's big for me with 1.3m wingspan lol.
    April 30, 2016, 18:51:36
  • DarrellW: [link]
    April 30, 2016, 18:51:06
  • DarrellW: I remember that one JT, looked like great fun. The only thing about the gliders I like now is they are 2 metres plus wingspan so don't travel in one piece. The new one I want is 3 metre wingspan, called Bird of time.
    April 30, 2016, 18:48:56
  • JT: [link]
    April 30, 2016, 18:45:21
  • JT: This is one of my favourite FPV flights, from last summer with my Falcon Evo, you just can't do that LOS, it's just so relaxing to float about on a summers evening  ::)
    April 30, 2016, 18:45:15
  • DarrellW: The gliders i'm flying now will do over an hour on a 3S 1300 if there's any thermals about.
    April 30, 2016, 18:44:54
  • JT: lol, when you get used to goggles thats it  :laugh:   If a crisis requiring LOS happens you can just haul them down
    April 30, 2016, 18:42:48
  • DarrellW: I definitely won't be doing any racing, it's cost me too much - more interested in slow flight now hence gliders and AP multicopters.
    April 30, 2016, 18:42:31
  • DarrellW: With a screen you can still fly los and use the screen to set videos up better, that's one of the reasons for going this way.
    April 30, 2016, 18:40:17
  • DarkButterfly: In my experience, I find googles are good for fast FPV and a screen/tablet for AP
    April 30, 2016, 18:39:10
  • DarrellW: That's one of the reasons for the Hubsan, you can add goggles at a later date!
    April 30, 2016, 18:38:38
  • JT: Good stuff Darrell, you won't be sorry, don't give up on the idea of goggles, they are weird as hell to start with and take a good few flights to get the hang of, screens are good but goggles are better
    April 30, 2016, 18:37:28
  • DarrellW: JT i'm going 1 step at a time, will be putting a cam on one of my gliders soon, see how we go from there.
    April 30, 2016, 18:35:21
  • DarkButterfly: Hubsan FPV is nuts, me and my bro-in-law raced them through the flat
    April 30, 2016, 18:33:34
  • JT: it should do you proud Darrell. But you will need some gear to FPV planks  ::)  I enjoy FPVing them more than flying about all crazy with a mini quad lol
    April 30, 2016, 18:33:28
  • DarrellW: Well when I saw the Hubsan ad I thought I couldn't go far wrong,
    April 30, 2016, 18:32:15
  • DarkButterfly: ::)
    April 30, 2016, 18:32:12
  • DarkButterfly: 7 mins is better than not flying at all
    April 30, 2016, 18:32:04
  • JT: OK Darrell, hope you're doing good mate  ::) Nice to see you're dipping a toe in the 21st century  ::) ::) ::)
    April 30, 2016, 18:31:18
  • DarkButterfly: not really anything special DW, I'm still playing with FCP, ao that was a bit of test footage ~~
    April 30, 2016, 18:31:17
  • JT: so 7 ish minutes of flying lol
    April 30, 2016, 18:30:33
  • DarrellW: Hey JT, good to see you about again, how you doing?
    April 30, 2016, 18:30:24
  • JT: then one of the wing bolts wouldn't go back in lol. Then the wind picked up as a thunderstorm came along! I quickly chucked a battery on the wing wing and flew it around all wobbly in the wind lol.
    April 30, 2016, 18:30:13
  • DarrellW: Nice 1 DB, see what I can do when I get this Hubsan h501s, no gimbal but looks ok, plus it's got fpv!
    April 30, 2016, 18:29:32
  • DarkButterfly: lol, did you manage to do it?
    April 30, 2016, 18:29:29
  • JT: It didn't go to plan lol. I wanted to fly the mini sky hunter but on the way to the field the esc became detached from the power module of the vector. That involved taking off the wings to get enough slack to reconnect it!!
    April 30, 2016, 18:28:51

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:


Author Topic: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...  (Read 4057 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 23
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 75
  • Liked: 25
  • Country: gb
anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« on: September 22, 2013, 18:03:50 »
just got the Naza V2 and fitted it to my quad.

managed to get a really unstable flight out of it. although the altitude lock seemed really good the quad was spinning slowly but enough to be a pain in the backside.

now when i connect the battery i get the flashing red LED and the error says its because of the sticks not being centred even though the software shows all is good.

anyone got any advice. i'm starting to regret switching from AMP.

everything i read is raving about how amazing the Naza M V2 is. i'm clearly going wrong...

cheers

chris


I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 136
  • -Receive: 231
  • Posts: 3852
  • Liked: 1331
  • Country: gb
  • What's the frequency Kenneth?
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2013, 20:41:10 »
What firmware you on Gearymeister?
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
The spiritual home of fpv large
Keep it emax, capiche?
Hardware? sure, I got hardware!

Offline happyal

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 36
  • Liked: 11
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2013, 21:01:41 »
Hi Chris,

I'm really new to the Naza, but I hope I can help.

Before you take off you need to wait for the 10 rapid green flashes. If it's flashing red that means it doesn't have a gps lock.

Also all controls need to be entered in order to get a single flash, including the throttle. No idea why that would be useful, but that's the way it is on my Naza.

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 23
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 75
  • Liked: 25
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2013, 00:32:29 »
hey guys,

I have the latest firmware 2.18

I am still waiting fort the GPS to arrive which is a total pain in the hoop but I should still be able to play in the meantime.
like i said, the fault says there is a problem with the control centre point...  which is totally daft.

ALSO WHEN IT DID FLY, (oops caps lock) Atti mode didn't acknowledge any stick input from the throttle untill after the stick was above the centre point... surely this isn't right. whets it all about? lol


chris
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 136
  • -Receive: 231
  • Posts: 3852
  • Liked: 1331
  • Country: gb
  • What's the frequency Kenneth?
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2013, 13:00:00 »
hey guys,

I have the latest firmware 2.18

I am still waiting fort the GPS to arrive which is a total pain in the hoop but I should still be able to play in the meantime.
like i said, the fault says there is a problem with the control centre point...  which is totally daft.

ALSO WHEN IT DID FLY, (oops caps lock) Atti mode didn't acknowledge any stick input from the throttle untill after the stick was above the centre point... surely this isn't right. whets it all about? lol


chris

Chris
Didn't realise you had no GPS!  Ok, so you got v 4.oo fware (so I know where you're at!).  SCuse me if you've stated this in earlier posts.  You've set it up with a clean Acro model?  Calibrated your transmtter (both on your Tx itself) and in the Naza assistant? Made sure you have no trim and all sub-trims are 0?
All sticks are green when in centre?
Just checking.
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
The spiritual home of fpv large
Keep it emax, capiche?
Hardware? sure, I got hardware!

Offline KK1W

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 169
  • Liked: 56
  • Country: us
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2013, 13:49:59 »
hey guys,

I have the latest firmware 2.18

I am still waiting fort the GPS to arrive which is a total pain in the hoop but I should still be able to play in the meantime.
like i said, the fault says there is a problem with the control centre point...  which is totally daft.

ALSO WHEN IT DID FLY, (oops caps lock) Atti mode didn't acknowledge any stick input from the throttle untill after the stick was above the centre point... surely this isn't right. whets it all about? lol


chris

Chris,

When you're in ATTI moving the throttle stick won't have any effect until you go past the 50% point. In MAN mode it will behave normally but if you're new at this I would stay out of MAN for awhile  :(

The double flash will go away when the throttle stick is centered. Many of the manuals mention the stick centering doesn't apply to the throttle stick but it does. Once the throttle stick is centered you will have a single yellow flash in ATTI mode when the other controls are centered.

Sounds like you're doing fine, hope this helps

Jim
Jim/KK1W

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 23
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 75
  • Liked: 25
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2013, 14:10:55 »
hi guys, thanks for the replies

yeah, i went through all that but some reason it just wouldnt start up. I went over it all again this morning and withougt actually changing anything it all works again... Total confusion.

flying nicely but needs a bit of a tune up so I'm now at the stage where i'm setting my gains and trying to get the Atti mode to work properly.
Currently it reduces throttle and starts to oscillate really badly at ground level (sort of bouncing). Manual mode is good though.

think i'm at the trial and error stage that I was past with AMP.
it is coming to me but slowly.

however it seems i'm curssed. the screws securing the motors onto the arms keep loosening and despite using thread lock and then upgrading to super glue, and checking then as part of the pre flight checks, one of the motors just came off mid flight. the annoying thing about it is that I noticed just before but it came off just before i could land.  The result was a bent arm and broken carbon prop. I made a new arm and fixed it all up only to discover that one of the motor shafts is now badly bent. how many weeks do i have to wait for more motors to arrive from bloody china or america?

i'm getting so frustrated. All i want to do is get the quad flying and have some fun but it seems the Gods are against me lol

any suggestions on where's good in the uk to order motors?

cheers,


Chris
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 136
  • -Receive: 231
  • Posts: 3852
  • Liked: 1331
  • Country: gb
  • What's the frequency Kenneth?
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2013, 14:53:27 »
hi guys, thanks for the replies

yeah, i went through all that but some reason it just wouldn't start up. I went over it all again this morning and without actually changing anything it all works again... Total confusion.

flying nicely but needs a bit of a tune up so I'm now at the stage where I'm setting my gains and trying to get the Atti mode to work properly.
Currently it reduces throttle and starts to oscillate really badly at ground level (sort of bouncing). Manual mode is good though.

think i'm at the trial and error stage that I was past with AMP.
it is coming to me but slowly.

however it seems i'm curssed. the screws securing the motors onto the arms keep loosening and despite using thread lock and then upgrading to super glue, and checking then as part of the pre flight checks, one of the motors just came off mid flight. the annoying thing about it is that I noticed just before but it came off just before i could land.  The result was a bent arm and broken carbon prop. I made a new arm and fixed it all up only to discover that one of the motor shafts is now badly bent. how many weeks do i have to wait for more motors to arrive from bloody china or america?

i'm getting so frustrated. All i want to do is get the quad flying and have some fun but it seems the Gods are against me lol

any suggestions on where's good in the uk to order motors?

cheers,


Chris


Chris
Sounds like ur having a bad hair day!  It also sounds like your motors/props are w-a-y out of balance.  It makes sense how you describe it, FC's hate vibes of any kind, and will have the effect of making the craft uncontrollable.
As a rule of thumb, if you take the props off, then run it up to full chat, Ideally you'd feel virtually no vibes, but in reality as long as it's not hurting your fingers it's probably OK!  Then all you need to do is carefully balance your props on a prop balancing device, available cheaply throughout the internet.  I think once you've done that, unless there is actually a fault with the device itself, (rare) then your multi should fly sweet as a nut, whether in manual, Atti or GPS/Atti.
 :smiley:

P.S just bought some 10x5 carbons from HK really cheap (for my Naza/hex build), took couple of weeks.  xcellent quality though. Other than that, Electric Wingman is probably the best.  A cheaper alternative are APC props, not quite as elegant as Graupners/Gemfans, but hey, they'll get u back in the air whilst you're waiting for the slow boat!
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__39774__10x5E_Carbon_Fiber_Propellers_L_H_and_R_H_Rotation_1_pair_.html?strSearch=10x5 carbon
Saying out of stock though  :angry:
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
The spiritual home of fpv large
Keep it emax, capiche?
Hardware? sure, I got hardware!

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 23
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 75
  • Liked: 25
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2013, 15:09:05 »
bad hair day lol yeah something like that.
such a beautiful day, day off work and I cant get out there...

I have all the props balanced perfect. vibration is not a problem. like i say, the quad is fine in manual mode. think its just about setting the gains. (in manual it kichs AMP's butt!)

Ive got spare carbon props. i learned that lesson at the very beginning.  :laugh:

but i don't have a spare motor. to be honest i'm not sure the motors i've been using are really the best ones.
I've got the 28-26s 1200KV Propdrive from HK http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__25084__NTM_Prop_Drive_Series_28_26A_1200kv_250w_short_shaft_version_.html

I dont know an aweful lot about what KV I should be using. I see a lot of poeple saying they have the 700KV. does this represent the strength of the motor or the power draw?

Now there's a rookie question. I just haven't been able to find a description of the ratings and what it all means.

i garantee the GPS unit arrives tomorrow and I cant play lol

cheers,

Chris
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 23
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 75
  • Liked: 25
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2013, 15:04:36 »
The GPS JUST ARRIVED TODAY!!! happy times ahead. I also got more motors yesterday so things are looking good.
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 136
  • -Receive: 231
  • Posts: 3852
  • Liked: 1331
  • Country: gb
  • What's the frequency Kenneth?
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2013, 15:38:13 »
Yeah, lost without my GPS.. :laugh:

Andy
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
The spiritual home of fpv large
Keep it emax, capiche?
Hardware? sure, I got hardware!