User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Multi Rotor UK Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • LuMan: @DW - oh dear. I'm going back to smoke signals and snail mail!!!
    Today at 07:46:50
  • DarrellW: Ooer [link]
    August 27, 2016, 22:25:40
  • hoverfly: I have similar rollon jungle formula and some deet spray but they get left in the car so they don't run out.  Very short flight the right aileron ling gave out,very messy.Iwill post the vid.The Quanum camera/tx combo survived and still works fine. shame about the a/c.
    August 26, 2016, 16:17:21
  • Andy7: Talking of horse flies: I got some little wrist / ankle bands that have citronella in them. Last for ages and let you come back from a session with ALL your blood! (prop cuts excepting)
    August 26, 2016, 14:50:37
  • hoverfly: The stones are the devils quoits, a national monument  and a level 5  no fly zone. :embarrassed Phew for a moment when you asked the stones were i thought there was somthing hanging out my shorts. :rofl: OFff to feed the horse flies. ::)
    August 26, 2016, 14:26:57
  • Slayer23: hoverfly what stones are they in your pictures ???
    August 26, 2016, 14:02:06
  • Slayer23: hmmmmm once again LuMan lowers the tone
    August 26, 2016, 13:59:54
  • LuMan: @hoverfly -please only include footage of the flying... Not your 'Bettys'  :rofl:
    August 26, 2016, 13:21:34
  • hoverfly: So hot, took a plank out for a quick thermal , forgot the insect repelent and ended up doing the horse fly fling. Not wearing shorts this P.M. will have to put up with betty swallocks. :angry:
    August 26, 2016, 12:52:17
  • PropsToYou: and now I want popcorn!
    August 26, 2016, 11:32:31
  • Rommie: Well mtd airplane has done the maiden with video too and no crashes yet will post it up later , still a few weeks to go too
    August 26, 2016, 10:19:33
  • Gaza07: nope dunno whats going on  :popcorn:
    August 26, 2016, 09:45:57
  • PropsToYou: New member uptake seems to have shot up :)
    August 26, 2016, 09:41:16
  • PropsToYou: GAZ, you been advertising or something?
    August 26, 2016, 09:41:02
  • DarkButterfly: @LuMan, Ian has virtually no hair, bloody good eyesight though  ~~
    August 25, 2016, 22:36:07
  • Gav: bike shop up the road - goanna take a look
    August 25, 2016, 22:17:33
  • Gav: hi mate - yeah thanks. long day at the office, just chillin now for 20 in hotel before more play
    August 25, 2016, 22:16:57
  • Yellow: Hi Gav, all good out there?
    August 25, 2016, 22:15:08
  • Gav: hi from Chicago
    August 25, 2016, 22:11:23
  • LuMan: @DB. OUCH! But you got it back, which is good. BTW - Ian has THE BEST HAIR EVER!! :notworthy:
    August 25, 2016, 20:20:56
  • Gandhi: Quote
    Or a house brick, it won';t go too far attached to one of those
      :rofl:
    August 25, 2016, 16:20:49
  • Saleem: Loc8tor I find is pretty vulnerable and can be split easy enough,I have one and have to register it again to handset as it seems to have mind of its own after a while,then it's velcrod inside the quad with wires around it.wouldnt trust it out in the open stuck to side of the cam,I ain't got the cam yet,I bought it early hours of morning on eBay.
    August 25, 2016, 16:16:24
  • teslahed: If you attach a flourescent ribbon to your gopro and wrap it around the thing, it will add hardly any weight and unfurl in the event of a crash making the gopro easier to spot.
    August 25, 2016, 16:14:10
  • kilby: Or a house brick, it won';t go too far attached to one of those
    August 25, 2016, 16:11:27
  • Gandhi: glue a loc8tor onto it
    August 25, 2016, 16:09:23
  • Saleem: I just bought a turnigy 2k,makes me wonder what I should do for daytime as I don't fly at night,that said I suppose if it came off during daylight you can always return at night looking,will have to buy some tape and s torch me thinks
    August 25, 2016, 14:12:11
  • DarkButterfly: we managed to find the GoPro by spotting the flashing red light, we didn't expect it to be so far from the crash site
    August 25, 2016, 11:51:16
  • kilby: Though I did get some glow in the dark tape as well
    August 25, 2016, 11:45:31
  • kilby: Should be useful for things like GoPros, Mobius and similar cameras though
    August 25, 2016, 11:44:50
  • kilby: Well if the beam of a torch hits it it will certainly be noticeable (same stuff as used on roadsigns) and lets face it we need all the advantages we can get
    August 25, 2016, 11:43:58
  • DarkButterfly: That will work for finding downed quads
    August 25, 2016, 11:31:23
  • kilby: Also going to run a some along the edge of the rear arms of my machines
    August 25, 2016, 11:27:30
  • kilby: @DB, I bought some of this stuff so it will reflect light from a torch (the white tape in my case) [link]
    August 25, 2016, 11:26:49
  • Andy7: Owch!!!!
    August 25, 2016, 11:06:46
  • Saleem: Yikes!but you got a right field there for flying.
    August 25, 2016, 10:53:24
  • DarkButterfly: @LuMan [link]
    August 25, 2016, 10:21:18
  • Andy7: New motors arrive today (I think) I LITERALLY can't wait!
    August 25, 2016, 09:22:58
  • LuMan: @DB - post it!!!  ~~
    August 25, 2016, 07:38:33
  • DarkButterfly: Just going through the video, as it was still running when I found it ~~
    August 24, 2016, 20:57:43
  • DarkButterfly: Massive crash with the mini hex, it launched the GoPro about 30ft away from where the hex crashed
    August 24, 2016, 20:57:03
  • Hozza: Only done by a admin I believe
    August 24, 2016, 16:53:38
  • Langywangy: ANyone know how to change profile name?
    August 24, 2016, 12:01:28
  • Langywangy: Hey hey all...I should be working
    August 24, 2016, 12:01:13
  • aesteban: Hello, Any one have sky hero spy 750 with NAZA M v2, 380kv, 14" props and 6s lipo setup? Can you share your gain settings... thanks guys
    August 24, 2016, 07:47:19
  • aesteban: anyone have skyhero spy y6 750???
    August 24, 2016, 07:45:23
  • Slayer23: aceeeeeed
    August 24, 2016, 07:21:25
  • Gav: Big fish, Little fish,.....CARDBOARD BOX
    August 24, 2016, 01:19:23
  • Slayer23: I used to have money, a wife children a home and pets then i met you Quadcopter then i met you
    August 23, 2016, 18:11:54
  • Slayer23: fly it
    August 23, 2016, 15:35:19

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:


Author Topic: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...  (Read 4281 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 26
  • Country: gb
anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« on: September 22, 2013, 18:03:50 »
just got the Naza V2 and fitted it to my quad.

managed to get a really unstable flight out of it. although the altitude lock seemed really good the quad was spinning slowly but enough to be a pain in the backside.

now when i connect the battery i get the flashing red LED and the error says its because of the sticks not being centred even though the software shows all is good.

anyone got any advice. i'm starting to regret switching from AMP.

everything i read is raving about how amazing the Naza M V2 is. i'm clearly going wrong...

cheers

chris


I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 136
  • -Receive: 231
  • Posts: 3852
  • Liked: 1326
  • Country: gb
  • What's the frequency Kenneth?
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2013, 20:41:10 »
What firmware you on Gearymeister?
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
The spiritual home of fpv large
Keep it emax, capiche?
Hardware? sure, I got hardware!

Offline happyal

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 36
  • Liked: 11
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2013, 21:01:41 »
Hi Chris,

I'm really new to the Naza, but I hope I can help.

Before you take off you need to wait for the 10 rapid green flashes. If it's flashing red that means it doesn't have a gps lock.

Also all controls need to be entered in order to get a single flash, including the throttle. No idea why that would be useful, but that's the way it is on my Naza.

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 26
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2013, 00:32:29 »
hey guys,

I have the latest firmware 2.18

I am still waiting fort the GPS to arrive which is a total pain in the hoop but I should still be able to play in the meantime.
like i said, the fault says there is a problem with the control centre point...  which is totally daft.

ALSO WHEN IT DID FLY, (oops caps lock) Atti mode didn't acknowledge any stick input from the throttle untill after the stick was above the centre point... surely this isn't right. whets it all about? lol


chris
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 136
  • -Receive: 231
  • Posts: 3852
  • Liked: 1326
  • Country: gb
  • What's the frequency Kenneth?
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2013, 13:00:00 »
hey guys,

I have the latest firmware 2.18

I am still waiting fort the GPS to arrive which is a total pain in the hoop but I should still be able to play in the meantime.
like i said, the fault says there is a problem with the control centre point...  which is totally daft.

ALSO WHEN IT DID FLY, (oops caps lock) Atti mode didn't acknowledge any stick input from the throttle untill after the stick was above the centre point... surely this isn't right. whets it all about? lol


chris

Chris
Didn't realise you had no GPS!  Ok, so you got v 4.oo fware (so I know where you're at!).  SCuse me if you've stated this in earlier posts.  You've set it up with a clean Acro model?  Calibrated your transmtter (both on your Tx itself) and in the Naza assistant? Made sure you have no trim and all sub-trims are 0?
All sticks are green when in centre?
Just checking.
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
The spiritual home of fpv large
Keep it emax, capiche?
Hardware? sure, I got hardware!

Offline KK1W

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 169
  • Liked: 56
  • Country: us
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2013, 13:49:59 »
hey guys,

I have the latest firmware 2.18

I am still waiting fort the GPS to arrive which is a total pain in the hoop but I should still be able to play in the meantime.
like i said, the fault says there is a problem with the control centre point...  which is totally daft.

ALSO WHEN IT DID FLY, (oops caps lock) Atti mode didn't acknowledge any stick input from the throttle untill after the stick was above the centre point... surely this isn't right. whets it all about? lol


chris

Chris,

When you're in ATTI moving the throttle stick won't have any effect until you go past the 50% point. In MAN mode it will behave normally but if you're new at this I would stay out of MAN for awhile  :(

The double flash will go away when the throttle stick is centered. Many of the manuals mention the stick centering doesn't apply to the throttle stick but it does. Once the throttle stick is centered you will have a single yellow flash in ATTI mode when the other controls are centered.

Sounds like you're doing fine, hope this helps

Jim
Jim/KK1W

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 26
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2013, 14:10:55 »
hi guys, thanks for the replies

yeah, i went through all that but some reason it just wouldnt start up. I went over it all again this morning and withougt actually changing anything it all works again... Total confusion.

flying nicely but needs a bit of a tune up so I'm now at the stage where i'm setting my gains and trying to get the Atti mode to work properly.
Currently it reduces throttle and starts to oscillate really badly at ground level (sort of bouncing). Manual mode is good though.

think i'm at the trial and error stage that I was past with AMP.
it is coming to me but slowly.

however it seems i'm curssed. the screws securing the motors onto the arms keep loosening and despite using thread lock and then upgrading to super glue, and checking then as part of the pre flight checks, one of the motors just came off mid flight. the annoying thing about it is that I noticed just before but it came off just before i could land.  The result was a bent arm and broken carbon prop. I made a new arm and fixed it all up only to discover that one of the motor shafts is now badly bent. how many weeks do i have to wait for more motors to arrive from bloody china or america?

i'm getting so frustrated. All i want to do is get the quad flying and have some fun but it seems the Gods are against me lol

any suggestions on where's good in the uk to order motors?

cheers,


Chris
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 136
  • -Receive: 231
  • Posts: 3852
  • Liked: 1326
  • Country: gb
  • What's the frequency Kenneth?
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2013, 14:53:27 »
hi guys, thanks for the replies

yeah, i went through all that but some reason it just wouldn't start up. I went over it all again this morning and without actually changing anything it all works again... Total confusion.

flying nicely but needs a bit of a tune up so I'm now at the stage where I'm setting my gains and trying to get the Atti mode to work properly.
Currently it reduces throttle and starts to oscillate really badly at ground level (sort of bouncing). Manual mode is good though.

think i'm at the trial and error stage that I was past with AMP.
it is coming to me but slowly.

however it seems i'm curssed. the screws securing the motors onto the arms keep loosening and despite using thread lock and then upgrading to super glue, and checking then as part of the pre flight checks, one of the motors just came off mid flight. the annoying thing about it is that I noticed just before but it came off just before i could land.  The result was a bent arm and broken carbon prop. I made a new arm and fixed it all up only to discover that one of the motor shafts is now badly bent. how many weeks do i have to wait for more motors to arrive from bloody china or america?

i'm getting so frustrated. All i want to do is get the quad flying and have some fun but it seems the Gods are against me lol

any suggestions on where's good in the uk to order motors?

cheers,


Chris


Chris
Sounds like ur having a bad hair day!  It also sounds like your motors/props are w-a-y out of balance.  It makes sense how you describe it, FC's hate vibes of any kind, and will have the effect of making the craft uncontrollable.
As a rule of thumb, if you take the props off, then run it up to full chat, Ideally you'd feel virtually no vibes, but in reality as long as it's not hurting your fingers it's probably OK!  Then all you need to do is carefully balance your props on a prop balancing device, available cheaply throughout the internet.  I think once you've done that, unless there is actually a fault with the device itself, (rare) then your multi should fly sweet as a nut, whether in manual, Atti or GPS/Atti.
 :smiley:

P.S just bought some 10x5 carbons from HK really cheap (for my Naza/hex build), took couple of weeks.  xcellent quality though. Other than that, Electric Wingman is probably the best.  A cheaper alternative are APC props, not quite as elegant as Graupners/Gemfans, but hey, they'll get u back in the air whilst you're waiting for the slow boat!
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__39774__10x5E_Carbon_Fiber_Propellers_L_H_and_R_H_Rotation_1_pair_.html?strSearch=10x5 carbon
Saying out of stock though  :angry:
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
The spiritual home of fpv large
Keep it emax, capiche?
Hardware? sure, I got hardware!

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 26
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2013, 15:09:05 »
bad hair day lol yeah something like that.
such a beautiful day, day off work and I cant get out there...

I have all the props balanced perfect. vibration is not a problem. like i say, the quad is fine in manual mode. think its just about setting the gains. (in manual it kichs AMP's butt!)

Ive got spare carbon props. i learned that lesson at the very beginning.  :laugh:

but i don't have a spare motor. to be honest i'm not sure the motors i've been using are really the best ones.
I've got the 28-26s 1200KV Propdrive from HK http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__25084__NTM_Prop_Drive_Series_28_26A_1200kv_250w_short_shaft_version_.html

I dont know an aweful lot about what KV I should be using. I see a lot of poeple saying they have the 700KV. does this represent the strength of the motor or the power draw?

Now there's a rookie question. I just haven't been able to find a description of the ratings and what it all means.

i garantee the GPS unit arrives tomorrow and I cant play lol

cheers,

Chris
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 26
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2013, 15:04:36 »
The GPS JUST ARRIVED TODAY!!! happy times ahead. I also got more motors yesterday so things are looking good.
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 136
  • -Receive: 231
  • Posts: 3852
  • Liked: 1326
  • Country: gb
  • What's the frequency Kenneth?
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2013, 15:38:13 »
Yeah, lost without my GPS.. :laugh:

Andy
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
The spiritual home of fpv large
Keep it emax, capiche?
Hardware? sure, I got hardware!