User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • ched999uk: Once again Sunny her in Blackpool at 27degC. Watched my first race today. WOW.
    May 27, 2018, 14:15:22
  • hoverfly: :laugh: :tongue:
    May 27, 2018, 10:08:03
  • ched999uk: Hoverfly: Nice and sunny here in Blackpool but have to work  :(
    May 26, 2018, 12:17:06
  • hoverfly: drizzle mist  wind ..... must be a bank holiday... ::)
    May 26, 2018, 09:10:37
  • hoverfly: WHOOOOPEEE 20% DISCOUNT ON PROPS AT M.IT.B.IT.  CRAP ALL OUT OF STOCK.. :angry:
    May 25, 2018, 14:41:11
  • nub: :tongue:
    May 25, 2018, 12:55:35
  • ched999uk: Definately follow up. I once didn't get an interview that I had all experience and quali required. So I called them, to be told they filled job internally but they had another coming up next week. Would I like to be considered for that! I said yes and got the job!!! So keep trying mate you will get there.
    May 24, 2018, 17:57:40
  • Wyntrblue: seen and replied
    May 24, 2018, 13:45:28
  • mo_miah: wb pm'd you mate
    May 24, 2018, 13:40:48
  • Wyntrblue: yea i have been. and they say thanks for your call can i call you back... then radio silence... all very annoying, still im applying for around 10 a day at the moment and the as the saying goes. throw enough mud at a wall and some will stick.
    May 24, 2018, 13:38:11
  • DarkButterfly: Best to follow them up, you may get an interview that way
    May 24, 2018, 13:06:33
  • mo_miah: with the number of applicants they don't have time to respond to everyone, normally they say they will contact you within x weeks for an interview and if you dont hear back then assume its a no
    May 24, 2018, 13:04:05
  • Wyntrblue: why do prospective employers never ever call you back. as of today i have applied for 37 jobs in 3 days (really need a new job)
    May 24, 2018, 11:29:01
  • hoverfly: My mistake the Hornet is still going...[link]
    May 23, 2018, 17:25:27
  • hoverfly: F/wings  made one called the Hornet  it's not listed now so i assume it's discontinued.  I have 3 Ravens  in various set ups , they go very well with multirotor motors . If you laminate them they are almost  indestructible,  the only bit to suffer is the wing tips. Absolute bargains... ~~
    May 23, 2018, 16:39:06
  • mo_miah: raven does look good and cheap enough
    May 23, 2018, 16:24:54
  • atomiclama: Isn't the raven small enough?
    May 23, 2018, 15:22:24
  • mo_miah: nothing around the 2ft wing span?
    May 23, 2018, 14:42:34
  • hoverfly: Have a look at the Flyingwings  web site.  they go from   32 inch upwards.. :smiley:
    May 23, 2018, 14:33:05
  • mo_miah: Im tempted by an FPV wing, they all seem huge though
    May 23, 2018, 13:40:48

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...  (Read 5956 times)

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« on: September 22, 2013, 18:03:50 »
just got the Naza V2 and fitted it to my quad.

managed to get a really unstable flight out of it. although the altitude lock seemed really good the quad was spinning slowly but enough to be a pain in the backside.

now when i connect the battery i get the flashing red LED and the error says its because of the sticks not being centred even though the software shows all is good.

anyone got any advice. i';m starting to regret switching from AMP.

everything i read is raving about how amazing the Naza M V2 is. i';m clearly going wrong...

cheers

chris
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3850
  • Liked: 1251
  • Country: gb
  • What's the frequency Kenneth?
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2013, 20:41:10 »
What firmware you on Gearymeister?
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
The spiritual home of fpv large
Keep it emax, capiche?
Hardware? sure, I got hardware!

Offline happyal

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • Liked: 9
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2013, 21:01:41 »
Hi Chris,

I';m really new to the Naza, but I hope I can help.

Before you take off you need to wait for the 10 rapid green flashes. If it';s flashing red that means it doesn';t have a gps lock.

Also all controls need to be entered in order to get a single flash, including the throttle. No idea why that would be useful, but that';s the way it is on my Naza.

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2013, 00:32:29 »
hey guys,

I have the latest firmware 2.18

I am still waiting fort the GPS to arrive which is a total pain in the hoop but I should still be able to play in the meantime.
like i said, the fault says there is a problem with the control centre point...  which is totally daft.

ALSO WHEN IT DID FLY, (oops caps lock) Atti mode didn';t acknowledge any stick input from the throttle untill after the stick was above the centre point... surely this isn';t right. whets it all about? lol


chris
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3850
  • Liked: 1251
  • Country: gb
  • What's the frequency Kenneth?
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2013, 13:00:00 »
hey guys,

I have the latest firmware 2.18

I am still waiting fort the GPS to arrive which is a total pain in the hoop but I should still be able to play in the meantime.
like i said, the fault says there is a problem with the control centre point...  which is totally daft.

ALSO WHEN IT DID FLY, (oops caps lock) Atti mode didn';t acknowledge any stick input from the throttle untill after the stick was above the centre point... surely this isn';t right. whets it all about? lol


chris

Chris
Didn';t realise you had no GPS!  Ok, so you got v 4.oo fware (so I know where you';re at!).  SCuse me if you';ve stated this in earlier posts.  You';ve set it up with a clean Acro model?  Calibrated your transmtter (both on your Tx itself) and in the Naza assistant? Made sure you have no trim and all sub-trims are 0?
All sticks are green when in centre?
Just checking.
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
The spiritual home of fpv large
Keep it emax, capiche?
Hardware? sure, I got hardware!

Offline KK1W

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 170
  • Liked: 56
  • Country: us
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2013, 13:49:59 »
hey guys,

I have the latest firmware 2.18

I am still waiting fort the GPS to arrive which is a total pain in the hoop but I should still be able to play in the meantime.
like i said, the fault says there is a problem with the control centre point...  which is totally daft.

ALSO WHEN IT DID FLY, (oops caps lock) Atti mode didn';t acknowledge any stick input from the throttle untill after the stick was above the centre point... surely this isn';t right. whets it all about? lol


chris

Chris,

When you';re in ATTI moving the throttle stick won';t have any effect until you go past the 50% point. In MAN mode it will behave normally but if you';re new at this I would stay out of MAN for awhile  :(

The double flash will go away when the throttle stick is centered. Many of the manuals mention the stick centering doesn';t apply to the throttle stick but it does. Once the throttle stick is centered you will have a single yellow flash in ATTI mode when the other controls are centered.

Sounds like you';re doing fine, hope this helps

Jim
Jim/KK1W

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2013, 14:10:55 »
hi guys, thanks for the replies

yeah, i went through all that but some reason it just wouldnt start up. I went over it all again this morning and withougt actually changing anything it all works again... Total confusion.

flying nicely but needs a bit of a tune up so I';m now at the stage where i';m setting my gains and trying to get the Atti mode to work properly.
Currently it reduces throttle and starts to oscillate really badly at ground level (sort of bouncing). Manual mode is good though.

think i';m at the trial and error stage that I was past with AMP.
it is coming to me but slowly.

however it seems i';m curssed. the screws securing the motors onto the arms keep loosening and despite using thread lock and then upgrading to super glue, and checking then as part of the pre flight checks, one of the motors just came off mid flight. the annoying thing about it is that I noticed just before but it came off just before i could land.  The result was a bent arm and broken carbon prop. I made a new arm and fixed it all up only to discover that one of the motor shafts is now badly bent. how many weeks do i have to wait for more motors to arrive from bloody china or america?

i';m getting so frustrated. All i want to do is get the quad flying and have some fun but it seems the Gods are against me lol

any suggestions on where';s good in the uk to order motors?

cheers,


Chris
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3850
  • Liked: 1251
  • Country: gb
  • What's the frequency Kenneth?
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2013, 14:53:27 »
hi guys, thanks for the replies

yeah, i went through all that but some reason it just wouldn';t start up. I went over it all again this morning and without actually changing anything it all works again... Total confusion.

flying nicely but needs a bit of a tune up so I';m now at the stage where I';m setting my gains and trying to get the Atti mode to work properly.
Currently it reduces throttle and starts to oscillate really badly at ground level (sort of bouncing). Manual mode is good though.

think i';m at the trial and error stage that I was past with AMP.
it is coming to me but slowly.

however it seems i';m curssed. the screws securing the motors onto the arms keep loosening and despite using thread lock and then upgrading to super glue, and checking then as part of the pre flight checks, one of the motors just came off mid flight. the annoying thing about it is that I noticed just before but it came off just before i could land.  The result was a bent arm and broken carbon prop. I made a new arm and fixed it all up only to discover that one of the motor shafts is now badly bent. how many weeks do i have to wait for more motors to arrive from bloody china or america?

i';m getting so frustrated. All i want to do is get the quad flying and have some fun but it seems the Gods are against me lol

any suggestions on where';s good in the uk to order motors?

cheers,


Chris


Chris
Sounds like ur having a bad hair day!  It also sounds like your motors/props are w-a-y out of balance.  It makes sense how you describe it, FC';s hate vibes of any kind, and will have the effect of making the craft uncontrollable.
As a rule of thumb, if you take the props off, then run it up to full chat, Ideally you';d feel virtually no vibes, but in reality as long as it';s not hurting your fingers it';s probably OK!  Then all you need to do is carefully balance your props on a prop balancing device, available cheaply throughout the internet.  I think once you';ve done that, unless there is actually a fault with the device itself, (rare) then your multi should fly sweet as a nut, whether in manual, Atti or GPS/Atti.
 :smiley:

P.S just bought some 10x5 carbons from HK really cheap (for my Naza/hex build), took couple of weeks.  xcellent quality though. Other than that, Electric Wingman is probably the best.  A cheaper alternative are APC props, not quite as elegant as Graupners/Gemfans, but hey, they';ll get u back in the air whilst you';re waiting for the slow boat!
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__39774__10x5E_Carbon_Fiber_Propellers_L_H_and_R_H_Rotation_1_pair_.html?strSearch=10x5 carbon
Saying out of stock though  :angry:
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
The spiritual home of fpv large
Keep it emax, capiche?
Hardware? sure, I got hardware!

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2013, 15:09:05 »
bad hair day lol yeah something like that.
such a beautiful day, day off work and I cant get out there...

I have all the props balanced perfect. vibration is not a problem. like i say, the quad is fine in manual mode. think its just about setting the gains. (in manual it kichs AMP';s butt!)

Ive got spare carbon props. i learned that lesson at the very beginning.  :laugh:

but i don';t have a spare motor. to be honest i';m not sure the motors i';ve been using are really the best ones.
I';ve got the 28-26s 1200KV Propdrive from HK http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__25084__NTM_Prop_Drive_Series_28_26A_1200kv_250w_short_shaft_version_.html

I dont know an aweful lot about what KV I should be using. I see a lot of poeple saying they have the 700KV. does this represent the strength of the motor or the power draw?

Now there';s a rookie question. I just haven';t been able to find a description of the ratings and what it all means.

i garantee the GPS unit arrives tomorrow and I cant play lol

cheers,

Chris
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2013, 15:04:36 »
The GPS JUST ARRIVED TODAY!!! happy times ahead. I also got more motors yesterday so things are looking good.
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3850
  • Liked: 1251
  • Country: gb
  • What's the frequency Kenneth?
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2013, 15:38:13 »
Yeah, lost without my GPS.. :laugh:

Andy
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
The spiritual home of fpv large
Keep it emax, capiche?
Hardware? sure, I got hardware!