User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Multi Rotor UK Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Saleem: Am wandering if my new eachine ev800 will arrive at lunch time with postie!
    September 25, 2016, 21:58:19
  • Slayer23: B6 all the way
    September 25, 2016, 19:23:35
  • insx: Or this if you already have a 12V/5A power supply [link]
    September 25, 2016, 19:20:25
  • insx: I'm still trying to get under 35 seconds, Stu!!!
    September 25, 2016, 19:19:19
  • insx: Imax B6 seconded. I had a similar experience with the Banggood charger and ended up with a dead cell. I'm pretty sure it's the charger's fault. Bin it ASAP.
    September 25, 2016, 19:18:55
  • DarrellW: [link]
    September 25, 2016, 19:17:48
  • DarrellW: @Stu an imax b6 is a very good option but make sure you get the genuine one, also they come in 240/12V or 12V only options so make sure you either get the mains dc one or get a dc one and power supply.
    September 25, 2016, 19:14:54
  • Stupotsthelot: What do u suggest then. Just keep an eye on it when charging and manually stop it at 12.6 like I had done earlier?
    September 25, 2016, 19:05:58
  • DarrellW: It's much easier to adjust to get it slop free and in the right position, don't very often have to trim them.
    September 25, 2016, 19:04:48
  • DarkButterfly: sounds good, I used to use wire links, will need to go back to it again as they worked very well ~~
    September 25, 2016, 19:02:01
  • DarrellW: I use wire links or CF rod, makes it very positive and unless you manage to strip the servo gears very reliable, I don't use metal gear servos any more, just carbonite or nylon gears but go up to 16-18gm ones
    September 25, 2016, 18:59:08
  • DarkButterfly: I used to run that setup on my talon tri, but the ball links were crap and both let go in flight causing a very awesome spin-crash, that I never filmed
    September 25, 2016, 18:55:29
  • DarrellW: @Stu, that's not the best charger, it's very basic.
    September 25, 2016, 18:55:04
  • DarrellW: I've got a double sided servo arm with connections off both sides to the yaw platform - Push/Pull.
    September 25, 2016, 18:53:51
  • DarkButterfly: I'm not a fan of direct drive yaw mechs, I try to use links if possible
    September 25, 2016, 18:52:26
  • DarkButterfly: ah okay ::)
    September 25, 2016, 18:51:24
  • hoverfly: For closed loop read  string, ::)
    September 25, 2016, 18:51:00
  • DarkButterfly: you may have to explain that one, I know it sounds silly, as I've built tri's before
    September 25, 2016, 18:49:12
  • DarkButterfly: Closed loop?
    September 25, 2016, 18:48:00
  • DarkButterfly: I wonder how it will stand up to fairly brisk wind having less weight, the mini hex does okay up to 15mph wind, after that it gets a bit hairy
    September 25, 2016, 18:47:19
  • DarrellW: @DB my tricopters all have closed loop on the yaw, it puts less stress on the servos.
    September 25, 2016, 18:46:37
  • Stupotsthelot: It's the b3ac balance charger that came with my kit
    September 25, 2016, 18:45:21
  • DarrellW: @Stu the charger cutout should be set at 12.6V for 3S, you don't want to overcharge - it can quite easily cause the magic smoke to get out......
    September 25, 2016, 18:44:07
  • DarkButterfly: It will with the active yaw mech, although my mini hex is very snappy in the turns
    September 25, 2016, 18:42:27
  • Saleem: Gonna flash the minimosd I have here!
    September 25, 2016, 18:41:51
  • Saleem: And an osd when I get keyboard and mouse for my PC tower,I had to buy ps/2 type
    September 25, 2016, 18:41:25
  • DarrellW: @DB I reckon that would give some of these fpv racers a very good run for their money if not beat them; the better yaw would make turns quicker I would have thought plus the lower weight to slow down for the turn.
    September 25, 2016, 18:41:19
  • Stupotsthelot: This is only second time charging. They didn't go green that time either and I had to stop it as it was on 12.8. Im confused lol
    September 25, 2016, 18:41:11
  • Saleem: I got a diatone lizard 150,that's gonna be my next build planned.little bee 20a blheli,Rotorx 1104 4000,pdb?couldvtry to daisy chain the motors and esc?naze32,1000tvlrx,just need a tx.waiting on some racestar 30a blheli_s,then I can fit them to my 250 and reuse the little bees off it,otherwise nearly everything's there bar a tx
    September 25, 2016, 18:40:57
  • DarrellW: I mean leave it until the lights do go green, it can take a l  o  n  g time... but next time because the cells are very close it takes a lot less time.
    September 25, 2016, 18:38:35
  • DarkButterfly: i've seen David's baby tri and really want to build one
    September 25, 2016, 18:37:08
  • Stupotsthelot: How long should I have left it on?
    September 25, 2016, 18:36:53
  • Stupotsthelot: What u mean? Let It balance? 2 n half hours charging no lights going green
    September 25, 2016, 18:36:37
  • DarrellW: @DB you seen David Widenstall's little 'un  100 mph on his setup!!!!
    September 25, 2016, 18:36:25
  • DarrellW: @Stu that's ok, but you would have been better letting it balance, reduces the time next time you charge it.
    September 25, 2016, 18:34:55
  • DarkButterfly: feel like doing another build, either a baby tricopter or a baby X quad
    September 25, 2016, 18:29:42
  • Stupotsthelot: I just stopped it manually, is now at 12.6.... 4.17... 4.17...4.21
    September 25, 2016, 18:26:58
  • Stupotsthelot: It's all brand new from banggood!
    September 25, 2016, 18:25:40
  • DarrellW: 0.1  difference means 15% less life for that battery, if it gets more I would only use if for less arduous applications.
    September 25, 2016, 18:13:03
  • DarrellW: 0.1 difference in lipo terms is not good, sounds either like your charger isn't right or that lipo is on its way out; do other lipos charge ok?
    September 25, 2016, 18:08:57
  • Stupotsthelot: Pretty balanced
    September 25, 2016, 17:51:42
  • Stupotsthelot: 4.1. 4.1 4.0
    September 25, 2016, 17:51:33
  • Bad Raven: Sounds like the charger can't balance it, never will, what is the cell voltage per cell?
    September 25, 2016, 17:49:52
  • Stupotsthelot: This lipo is pissing me off. Nearly 2 hours charging n still not done.
    September 25, 2016, 17:47:48
  • DarrellW: @BR PMSL!!!! p.s. I'm a Moody blues fan...... seen my handle obviously ::)
    September 25, 2016, 17:44:02
  • Bad Raven: MOODY!!!!!
    September 25, 2016, 16:25:35
  • Bad Raven: Must be beef today cos lamb was last week  (Moddy Blues)
    September 25, 2016, 16:25:22
  • Bad Raven: E010's were on 48hrs for £8.53 so I bought three........one converted FPV with std motors at the mo and works OK.
    September 25, 2016, 16:24:40
  • DarrellW: Mmmmm roast lamb..... Mmmmm Merlot...... Zzzzzzz ::) ::) ::)
    September 25, 2016, 15:58:56
  • Stupotsthelot: Insx, I just had 24.02 on meadow. Chalenger set! Lol
    September 25, 2016, 13:46:19

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:


Author Topic: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...  (Read 4347 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 26
  • Country: gb
anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« on: September 22, 2013, 18:03:50 »
just got the Naza V2 and fitted it to my quad.

managed to get a really unstable flight out of it. although the altitude lock seemed really good the quad was spinning slowly but enough to be a pain in the backside.

now when i connect the battery i get the flashing red LED and the error says its because of the sticks not being centred even though the software shows all is good.

anyone got any advice. i'm starting to regret switching from AMP.

everything i read is raving about how amazing the Naza M V2 is. i'm clearly going wrong...

cheers

chris


I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 136
  • -Receive: 231
  • Posts: 3852
  • Liked: 1326
  • Country: gb
  • What's the frequency Kenneth?
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2013, 20:41:10 »
What firmware you on Gearymeister?
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
The spiritual home of fpv large
Keep it emax, capiche?
Hardware? sure, I got hardware!

Offline happyal

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 36
  • Liked: 11
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2013, 21:01:41 »
Hi Chris,

I'm really new to the Naza, but I hope I can help.

Before you take off you need to wait for the 10 rapid green flashes. If it's flashing red that means it doesn't have a gps lock.

Also all controls need to be entered in order to get a single flash, including the throttle. No idea why that would be useful, but that's the way it is on my Naza.

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 26
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2013, 00:32:29 »
hey guys,

I have the latest firmware 2.18

I am still waiting fort the GPS to arrive which is a total pain in the hoop but I should still be able to play in the meantime.
like i said, the fault says there is a problem with the control centre point...  which is totally daft.

ALSO WHEN IT DID FLY, (oops caps lock) Atti mode didn't acknowledge any stick input from the throttle untill after the stick was above the centre point... surely this isn't right. whets it all about? lol


chris
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 136
  • -Receive: 231
  • Posts: 3852
  • Liked: 1326
  • Country: gb
  • What's the frequency Kenneth?
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2013, 13:00:00 »
hey guys,

I have the latest firmware 2.18

I am still waiting fort the GPS to arrive which is a total pain in the hoop but I should still be able to play in the meantime.
like i said, the fault says there is a problem with the control centre point...  which is totally daft.

ALSO WHEN IT DID FLY, (oops caps lock) Atti mode didn't acknowledge any stick input from the throttle untill after the stick was above the centre point... surely this isn't right. whets it all about? lol


chris

Chris
Didn't realise you had no GPS!  Ok, so you got v 4.oo fware (so I know where you're at!).  SCuse me if you've stated this in earlier posts.  You've set it up with a clean Acro model?  Calibrated your transmtter (both on your Tx itself) and in the Naza assistant? Made sure you have no trim and all sub-trims are 0?
All sticks are green when in centre?
Just checking.
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
The spiritual home of fpv large
Keep it emax, capiche?
Hardware? sure, I got hardware!

Offline KK1W

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 169
  • Liked: 56
  • Country: us
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2013, 13:49:59 »
hey guys,

I have the latest firmware 2.18

I am still waiting fort the GPS to arrive which is a total pain in the hoop but I should still be able to play in the meantime.
like i said, the fault says there is a problem with the control centre point...  which is totally daft.

ALSO WHEN IT DID FLY, (oops caps lock) Atti mode didn't acknowledge any stick input from the throttle untill after the stick was above the centre point... surely this isn't right. whets it all about? lol


chris

Chris,

When you're in ATTI moving the throttle stick won't have any effect until you go past the 50% point. In MAN mode it will behave normally but if you're new at this I would stay out of MAN for awhile  :(

The double flash will go away when the throttle stick is centered. Many of the manuals mention the stick centering doesn't apply to the throttle stick but it does. Once the throttle stick is centered you will have a single yellow flash in ATTI mode when the other controls are centered.

Sounds like you're doing fine, hope this helps

Jim
Jim/KK1W

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 26
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2013, 14:10:55 »
hi guys, thanks for the replies

yeah, i went through all that but some reason it just wouldnt start up. I went over it all again this morning and withougt actually changing anything it all works again... Total confusion.

flying nicely but needs a bit of a tune up so I'm now at the stage where i'm setting my gains and trying to get the Atti mode to work properly.
Currently it reduces throttle and starts to oscillate really badly at ground level (sort of bouncing). Manual mode is good though.

think i'm at the trial and error stage that I was past with AMP.
it is coming to me but slowly.

however it seems i'm curssed. the screws securing the motors onto the arms keep loosening and despite using thread lock and then upgrading to super glue, and checking then as part of the pre flight checks, one of the motors just came off mid flight. the annoying thing about it is that I noticed just before but it came off just before i could land.  The result was a bent arm and broken carbon prop. I made a new arm and fixed it all up only to discover that one of the motor shafts is now badly bent. how many weeks do i have to wait for more motors to arrive from bloody china or america?

i'm getting so frustrated. All i want to do is get the quad flying and have some fun but it seems the Gods are against me lol

any suggestions on where's good in the uk to order motors?

cheers,


Chris
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 136
  • -Receive: 231
  • Posts: 3852
  • Liked: 1326
  • Country: gb
  • What's the frequency Kenneth?
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2013, 14:53:27 »
hi guys, thanks for the replies

yeah, i went through all that but some reason it just wouldn't start up. I went over it all again this morning and without actually changing anything it all works again... Total confusion.

flying nicely but needs a bit of a tune up so I'm now at the stage where I'm setting my gains and trying to get the Atti mode to work properly.
Currently it reduces throttle and starts to oscillate really badly at ground level (sort of bouncing). Manual mode is good though.

think i'm at the trial and error stage that I was past with AMP.
it is coming to me but slowly.

however it seems i'm curssed. the screws securing the motors onto the arms keep loosening and despite using thread lock and then upgrading to super glue, and checking then as part of the pre flight checks, one of the motors just came off mid flight. the annoying thing about it is that I noticed just before but it came off just before i could land.  The result was a bent arm and broken carbon prop. I made a new arm and fixed it all up only to discover that one of the motor shafts is now badly bent. how many weeks do i have to wait for more motors to arrive from bloody china or america?

i'm getting so frustrated. All i want to do is get the quad flying and have some fun but it seems the Gods are against me lol

any suggestions on where's good in the uk to order motors?

cheers,


Chris


Chris
Sounds like ur having a bad hair day!  It also sounds like your motors/props are w-a-y out of balance.  It makes sense how you describe it, FC's hate vibes of any kind, and will have the effect of making the craft uncontrollable.
As a rule of thumb, if you take the props off, then run it up to full chat, Ideally you'd feel virtually no vibes, but in reality as long as it's not hurting your fingers it's probably OK!  Then all you need to do is carefully balance your props on a prop balancing device, available cheaply throughout the internet.  I think once you've done that, unless there is actually a fault with the device itself, (rare) then your multi should fly sweet as a nut, whether in manual, Atti or GPS/Atti.
 :smiley:

P.S just bought some 10x5 carbons from HK really cheap (for my Naza/hex build), took couple of weeks.  xcellent quality though. Other than that, Electric Wingman is probably the best.  A cheaper alternative are APC props, not quite as elegant as Graupners/Gemfans, but hey, they'll get u back in the air whilst you're waiting for the slow boat!
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__39774__10x5E_Carbon_Fiber_Propellers_L_H_and_R_H_Rotation_1_pair_.html?strSearch=10x5 carbon
Saying out of stock though  :angry:
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
The spiritual home of fpv large
Keep it emax, capiche?
Hardware? sure, I got hardware!

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 26
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2013, 15:09:05 »
bad hair day lol yeah something like that.
such a beautiful day, day off work and I cant get out there...

I have all the props balanced perfect. vibration is not a problem. like i say, the quad is fine in manual mode. think its just about setting the gains. (in manual it kichs AMP's butt!)

Ive got spare carbon props. i learned that lesson at the very beginning.  :laugh:

but i don't have a spare motor. to be honest i'm not sure the motors i've been using are really the best ones.
I've got the 28-26s 1200KV Propdrive from HK http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__25084__NTM_Prop_Drive_Series_28_26A_1200kv_250w_short_shaft_version_.html

I dont know an aweful lot about what KV I should be using. I see a lot of poeple saying they have the 700KV. does this represent the strength of the motor or the power draw?

Now there's a rookie question. I just haven't been able to find a description of the ratings and what it all means.

i garantee the GPS unit arrives tomorrow and I cant play lol

cheers,

Chris
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline Gearymeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 76
  • Liked: 26
  • Country: gb
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2013, 15:04:36 »
The GPS JUST ARRIVED TODAY!!! happy times ahead. I also got more motors yesterday so things are looking good.
I started off with nothing... I still have most of it left.

Offline flybywire

  • Je suis un Multi-Rotorist!
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 136
  • -Receive: 231
  • Posts: 3852
  • Liked: 1326
  • Country: gb
  • What's the frequency Kenneth?
    • ajw's more-stuff
Re: anoying issues with the Naza M V2 on my quad...
« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2013, 15:38:13 »
Yeah, lost without my GPS.. :laugh:

Andy
Blog: http://ajwillis303.wix.com/stuff
The spiritual home of fpv large
Keep it emax, capiche?
Hardware? sure, I got hardware!