User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Multi Rotor UK Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • PropsToYou: I thought he was rocking a miniature arc reactor?
    Today at 14:40:40
  • Saleem: He ain't using batteries,them Warpner cells ;)
    Today at 14:13:22
  • hoverfly: @Gav that's a hell of a flight ,what batteries you using. :blink
    Today at 13:52:03
  • Gav: Hello from Bangalore
    Today at 13:26:24
  • PropsToYou: Drove past an FPV group in the middle of nowhere in Malaysia flying fixed wings
    Today at 13:20:24
  • PropsToYou: Nice! I really need to get my racer up and flying again
    Today at 13:20:08
  • insx: I flew my Eachine Racer and took it home in one piece
    Today at 13:14:11
  • insx: JAB1a came back after a long break and posted a load of his videos flying like a pro
    Today at 13:13:42
  • insx: *the last
    Today at 13:12:14
  • insx: Stupotsthelot appeared in the shoutbox with all sorts of problems with his Eachine Racer but has been conspicuous by his absence that last couple of days.
    Today at 13:12:04
  • Slayer23: toilets?
    Today at 12:56:02
  • insx: England?
    Today at 12:26:29
  • PropsToYou: Back from three weeks flying in Malaysia, 9 days to prep myself then off for another 3 weeks in Nepal. What have I missed? :)
    Today at 12:25:35
  • kilby: My 450 prop strikes used to be audible from over 150 meters away (the joys of CF props)
    Today at 11:23:19
  • insx: LOS was a different story. That DING as you break a prop!
    Today at 09:04:45
  • Bajadre: Did well there insx remember my first go at goalposts doing LOS lol never again
    Today at 00:13:13
  • insx: Bed time
    September 27, 2016, 23:19:09
  • insx: Thanks. I thought it wasn't bad for my 2nd time out (1st was very brief). Hopefully I'll get the confidence to take the training wheels off soon (horizon mode).
    September 27, 2016, 23:17:57
  • Saleem: You fly OK I nsx,it's good example for that guy wanting to pack it in twenty or whatever name is
    September 27, 2016, 23:11:46
  • Saleem: I stand me,yet where I fly it's pretty good but I want one of them dvr units for my ev800,they are oretty good tried today although it was rainy,my quad I esc are playing up and cam pic is bad so grounding my quad till I get new esc,ordered just waiting.
    September 27, 2016, 23:11:04
  • insx: I do sway a bit.
    September 27, 2016, 23:08:58
  • insx: I think I was kneeling. I read that if you stand you might fall over.
    September 27, 2016, 23:08:17
  • Saleem: You fly kinda like me,expect you lazy,you sit down
    September 27, 2016, 23:07:49
  • Saleem: Sorry I hate this phone,dodgier than a Slovakian selling Galaxy phone in city centre :laugh:
    September 27, 2016, 23:06:34
  • insx: abs localism...
    September 27, 2016, 23:06:29
  • Saleem: Dodgier than abs localism selling galaxy phones in city centre!
    September 27, 2016, 23:05:33
  • insx: See my slightly pathetic attemps at flying and video editing here [link]
    September 27, 2016, 23:01:13
  • Bajadre: Done another emax motor 2nite :( think am gonna change these rjx props and they dont have no give and the motor takes the hit lol
    September 27, 2016, 21:53:08
  • Slayer23: gotta love chinglish
    September 27, 2016, 21:49:20
  • insx: Instant gratification eh?
    September 27, 2016, 21:35:38
  • Slayer23: insx check the last post in the wasp thging
    September 27, 2016, 20:14:09
  • Slayer23: oh dear i think i need to go lay down i am having an attack of the sence of humour and she dont like it
    September 27, 2016, 17:03:54
  • Slayer23: lmao could do with bandana and say hewo
    September 27, 2016, 16:47:52
  • insx: Maybe a rating for Chinglish in the instuctions, they are always fun
    September 27, 2016, 16:46:23
  • insx: Tackyness...
    September 27, 2016, 16:45:55
  • insx: I'm thinking about the rating system. Annoyance /10, Amusement/10, Endurance/10, etc.
    September 27, 2016, 16:44:03
  • Slayer23: insx that has brightened up my day i am looking at army surplus sites for a ghillie suit so i can play at being a drone operator for real lol
    September 27, 2016, 16:42:31
  • insx: Forum post probably best for that one
    September 27, 2016, 16:15:16
  • Two-Six: yer, me out ;-)
    September 27, 2016, 16:09:43
  • Slayer23: no lol too many convos going on here i was answering insx
    September 27, 2016, 16:08:48
  • Two-Six: what fly drones filming stuff for a living?
    September 27, 2016, 16:08:06
  • Slayer23: oh i would love to do that lol
    September 27, 2016, 16:03:24
  • Two-Six: I know there are a few ppl here who do, or they fly for a drone filming outfit
    September 27, 2016, 15:55:39
  • Two-Six: Anybody on who know anybody on here who has a drone filming  business?
    September 27, 2016, 15:55:06
  • insx: There's a youtube career opportunity here, Slayer
    September 27, 2016, 15:46:53
  • Slayer23: have suggested that they should use humourous reviews to sell their items lol
    September 27, 2016, 15:44:43
  • insx: My understanding was that you needed Flysky for Flysky, not FrSky. All that DHT, etc has just confused me though. Still lots to learn.
    September 27, 2016, 15:43:29
  • insx: Maybe the production model will have the omniscience module
    September 27, 2016, 15:41:55
  • Slayer23: DHT, DFT, DJT, XJT, X9D plus, and X9E protocol will my FS-i6s support it
    September 27, 2016, 15:31:54
  • Slayer23: not sure how omnipotent it is
    September 27, 2016, 15:31:08

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:


Author Topic: APM 2.5 by a newbie  (Read 4562 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline happyal

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 36
  • Liked: 11
  • Country: gb
APM 2.5 by a newbie
« on: September 11, 2013, 22:40:15 »
Hello everyone,

I have bought a APM 2.5, GPS, external compass, OSD and a few other bits. I thought I would start a new thread to ask some setup questions, share my build process and document a fairly new copter pilots attempts at getting this control board working. I am currently flying a F450 with a KK2 board and it's flying really well, but I want to move to a board with GPS functions.

Before I got the board I read the wiki, and I started to watch videos on youtube about the setup. I watched quite a few videos but this is the one that I followed when I setup my board.



Setup seem to go fine, everything on the screen is level. Compassmot was 2% once I moved the external compass away from the ESC's (where I mounted it first time). Here is a picture of the completed multirotor. It has changed a little as I have changed the compass location and I have mounted the GPS high too.



Normal flying in stability mode works great, it's unbelievably stable and so easy to fly. It is a little titchy, as it goes back to level as soon as you lift of the sticks, but I think this is a slight settings issue.

I'm having problems getting the GPS functions to work. It does get a lock, etc. but when I switch on a GPS mode it goes off in a random direction. I tried holding it, running it up and turn of GPS Hold mode. I noticed that it would give wrong messages to the motors, i.e. if I lifted the front, instead of giving more power to the rear to get it back level, it would give more power to the front? I have made sure that the compass is the correct direction (checked against a real compass), and the APM board is correct and calibrated. Does anyone have any idea what I've done wrong?

Once it stops raining here, I will post my log files up and make sure it's not a vibration issue. I also haven't been waiting for a good GPS fix, could the problem be as simple as not waiting long enough?



Offline rickp

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 33
  • Posts: 471
  • Liked: 203
  • Country: gb
Re: APM 2.5 by a newbie
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2013, 22:47:56 »
If its flies in 'stable', then its not a motor wiring problem.
Could be a number of things - logs help. Firstly - you want to check that you're getting a good GPS lock with an HDOP below 2 (or 200 if you're looking in MP). If you don't get that - it could be some interference - for example, my JR RX interferes with GPS quite a bit, so I had to separate them by 6cm or so.
If you're getting a good lock, then check your vibrations - turn on IMU logs and check your vibrations. Does alt-hold work well? I'd try that before loiter..

Offline Tony Campbell

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 142
  • Liked: 55
  • Country: scotland
Re: APM 2.5 by a newbie
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2013, 22:49:02 »
GPS can take 10-15 mins the first time its switched on and outside to fully download all the info it needs from the sats. It has to download a surprising amount of info. Once that has been done, it takes 3 -5 mins on first startup of the day to get its proper fix. Although it will get a 3d fix fairly quickly, it really needs 7 or more sats to get a really good fix and will wander about a lot until it does finally settle down.

Offline Neil R

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 10
  • Country: gb
Re: APM 2.5 by a newbie
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2013, 22:51:22 »
My learning curve on lengthy GPS settling was reinforced by doing a simple switch on outside with the lap-top still connected (presumably easier if you have telemetry).  I was amazed how far your present position jumps on that Mission Planner Google-Maps page in the settling period. Suggest you try it and see how well yours is settling.

Offline happyal

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 36
  • Liked: 11
  • Country: gb
Re: APM 2.5 by a newbie
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2013, 22:56:34 »
Does alt-hold work well?

Yes Alt Hold works great too.

I left GPS on in the house for about 30 minutes (I see from the threads it's not a true measure), it did get a lock, but it was still jumping around a lot. I will do the same outside once it stops raining.

Offline Tony Campbell

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 142
  • Liked: 55
  • Country: scotland
Re: APM 2.5 by a newbie
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2013, 23:05:23 »
If you can, get it in a position outside, with completely clear sky visibility all around. Doing it in the house may get you a 3d fix, but it most certainly wont have downloaded all the info it needs from all the sats. And just like has been mentioned, if you have telemtry, use it to determine the holding pattern to ensure a good fix. Once you have allowed the gps to initialise properly, you'll see a huge difference in the 'wander' on screen. I've seen it jump 20 metres or more on screen, before it settles down. I reckon that, thats what your issue was. Keep at it, it'll come along nicely  ~~

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 256
  • -Receive: 609
  • Posts: 6723
  • Liked: 2819
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: APM 2.5 by a newbie
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2013, 07:37:35 »
What GPS module do you have? As others have said, you really do need to get a good first fix and after that allow a 3 minute period before first flight of the day.

Also, have you set the compass magnetic declination? That is important too.

It sounds like you've got your APM nicely tuned to your air frame.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk 4

--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline QuadBod

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 43
  • Posts: 431
  • Liked: 90
  • Country: gb
Re: APM 2.5 by a newbie
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2013, 08:02:18 »
Doing it in the house may get you a 3d fix

...but with most of the signals coming from reflections off the walls, with 'interesting' consequences. Also, be careful with geofencing - if it's enabled, it's enabled, even if indoors, so if the position appears to move outside your geofence boundary doue to a dodgy indoor fix, off it will go on a quest for 'home', wall, furniture or people be damned!

Offline dazza22

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 173
  • Liked: 55
  • Country: gb
Re: APM 2.5 by a newbie
« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2013, 08:21:14 »
hi
I would stop looking too hard at the gps for now  .
and go back to the compass and double check its pointing the wright way.
if so ,have you check your vibration levels in the logs?

if not do this next because most APM issues come from vibration .
How have you attached the APM to your frame ?

I run 3 frames  all with APM2.5    and 1  as a external compass all run well (touch wood).
I now use 1 layer of http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=26457 under the APM and found it to be by fare the best for removing vibration.

Anyway if you can post your logs it may help
Good luck

Offline happyal

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 36
  • Liked: 11
  • Country: gb
Re: APM 2.5 by a newbie
« Reply #9 on: September 12, 2013, 08:22:34 »
What GPS module do you have?

Also, have you set the compass magnetic declination? That is important too.

The GPS is this one: Mediatek-mt3329 v2

http://store.3drobotics.com/products/mediatek-mt3329-gps-v2-0

I currently don't have a separate UBEC, I have read that this GPS likes a separate UBEC, I do have one on order.

I have not sent my compass magnetic declination, I have left it as auto.

How have you attached the APM to your frame ?

At the moment it's attached using Velco

Offline Tony Campbell

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 142
  • Liked: 55
  • Country: scotland
Re: APM 2.5 by a newbie
« Reply #10 on: September 12, 2013, 10:22:56 »
Like the majority of us, I think you have fallen prey to that man thing, 'take it out the packet and plug it in'.
Hey, we've all done it with something at one time or another!!!

You really should mount the apm (you do have a case for it?) by something a bit better than velcro. The reasons for this are that firstly, velcro will allow slight movement on all axis. This will give problems with level readings. Secondly, velcro most likely isn't the best at vibe absorbtion. Get some heli gyro mounting pads. They have adhesive on both sides and are about 3-6mm thick. Cut some 8-10mm squares and stick them to each other, two high. Stick these little towers to the four corners of the underneath of the apm case and then mount it to the frame as close to the centre as poss. This (at least for me), gives good vibe absorbtion and has the added benefit of raising the apm up away from the electrical and magnetic noise of the frame and all wires, motors and esc's. Then you will have to balance all of the props, including hubs. Once you have that done, balance the motors. Then, using the logs ( you'll find some good stickies on this site), to determine your vibration levels. Once you've got those, post them up and we can all see if you need to do anthing else vibration wise.
As far as setting your compass, I'd really recommend using the declination website to set you declination manually.
Also, please make sure that you do the compassmot and the 'compass dance', making sure you do it outside if you can. It works much better than doing it anywhere near household wiring and central heating pipes etc. So......lots for you to do!!! Something else that sometimes gets overlooked is to make sure all cables are secured to the frame. Lots of vibes can be created by loose wiring, transferring the vibes straight to the apm case. Oh, nearly forgot..... I found that sticking a couple of self adhesive wheel balancing weights to the top of the apm case, increases its mass, allowing it to be less affected by some of the vibes. You can usually cadge a couple of freebies from a tyre fitting place.
If you approach this the right way, you'll actually enjoy it and learn loads about how and why the apm works. Its certainly not a plug and play FC, but once set up, it works really, really well.

I'm sure there'll be loads more help and suggestions coming your way, so try to absorb it all and should you get stuck, we are just a message away.  ~~

Offline happyal

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 36
  • Liked: 11
  • Country: gb
Re: APM 2.5 by a newbie
« Reply #11 on: September 12, 2013, 11:16:57 »
Thanks Tony for the information in the post.

I will take your advice and order the anti vibration foam from Hobby King now.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__41134__Anti_Vibration_Foam_White_Latex_Foam_UK_Warehouse_.html?strSearch=anti%20v

Also I will manually set the compass declination and go through the calibration routines again.

I'll post logs when I can :)

Thank you all again for your help. It's so nice for a newbie like me to get the benefit of your experience.p

Offline Tony Campbell

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 142
  • Liked: 55
  • Country: scotland
Re: APM 2.5 by a newbie
« Reply #12 on: September 12, 2013, 12:17:34 »
You are very welcome mate. The tips I've given you are just the very basics. Hopefully they will help. Just one point though...... the anti vibe foam will help, but the main thing is to reduce your vibes by balancing as much as you possibly can. The last update of the APM firmware was superb, but in doing so, it made balancing props and motors absolutedly imperative. As virtually everyone on here will tell you, nearly every flight issue with the APM since the new firmware was released, has been traced to vibration issues. To be honest though, balancing doesn't take long at all. Good luck  :beer2:

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 256
  • -Receive: 609
  • Posts: 6723
  • Liked: 2819
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: APM 2.5 by a newbie
« Reply #13 on: September 12, 2013, 19:36:15 »

Thank you all again for your help. It's so nice for a newbie like me to get the benefit of your experience.p

There is a lengthy thread here http://www.multi-rotor.co.uk/index.php?topic=4006.0 That may help you a little. As Tony says, vibration at source is your biggest enemy with APM 2.5 and 3.0.1 firmware.  They use the ACCelerometers to help with Altitude Hold and other auto modes more than ever before (like a kind of inertial damping).  And it works very effectively indeed.

I have published a pair of APM log charts near the end of the thread where you can see what the Arducopter team suggest is "acceptable" vibration levels for X Y and Z compared against what I was able to achieve simply by balancing the Propellers and their Hubs.  Since then I've worked on the motors to reduce the vibration even further.  But before I did any of this vibration-elimination work the APM was very unpredictable and near impossible to control. 

Once you've reduced the vibration to as little as possible then you may be able to dampen whatever is left by fitting various materials between the APM and the air frame.  I went for Moongel, cut into four and double layered at each corner of the APM case (also worth getting one of those if you haven't). 

--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2