User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Multi Rotor UK Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • DarkButterfly: Just explored another part of the creek ::)
    Today at 17:34:15
  • insx: I'm learning from scratch.
    Today at 17:31:31
  • insx: Yay, flashed latest version of Cleanflight
    Today at 17:22:07
  • kilby: and DYS too
    Today at 17:04:55
  • kilby: Well they're only for me getting used with the little bugger, Ive also noticed that DAL are doing them too, so there must be some popularity if all the mfgrs are making them
    Today at 17:02:40
  • Gandhi: They should be fine Kilby, I don't think they're as robust as the GF or RotorX ones
    Today at 15:55:04
  • Andy7: Unless you're painless 360, in which case it's Nazay ;)
    Today at 15:34:35
  • atomiclama: Same as I would Maze but with a N
    Today at 15:26:48
  • insx: How do you pronounce NAZE?
    Today at 15:23:11
  • kilby: The ones I mentioned where in the UK warehouse
    Today at 14:59:15
  • kilby: I have some of those on the low boat from china, but I managed to chew up a few of the existing ones over the weekend
    Today at 14:58:55
  • Gandhi: [link]
    Today at 14:31:48
  • Gandhi: If you can handle the wait, these are much better and little bit more thrust too....
    Today at 14:31:43
  • kilby: Any micro fliers tried these props ? [link]
    Today at 13:30:00
  • Hozza: New goggles arrive today, once I'm sure I'm happy with them I'll be selling my Fatshark attitude v2's
    Today at 06:44:47
  • aesteban: Hello, Any one have sky hero spy 750 with NAZA M v2, 380kv, 14" props and 6s lipo setup? Can you share your gain settings... thanks guys
    Today at 00:41:43
  • zomry1: hi someone can help me to install led strip to f450?
    August 29, 2016, 20:00:25
  • atomiclama: last 2 beers of my holiday  :( booooo
    August 29, 2016, 18:13:38
  • teslahed: it's a fossils stuff frame - FSGX 210
    August 29, 2016, 08:48:07
  • DerbyshireDrones: i dont think so they had one of the RaGG-e Frames
    August 28, 2016, 23:39:49
  • Andy7: TH: Is that one of the frames that Rotor Riot might be reviewing? Looks SWEET
    August 28, 2016, 22:52:58
  • LuMan: @teslahed - ooooh... pretty...  ~~
    August 28, 2016, 20:40:07
  • Saleem: Fossilstuff?
    August 28, 2016, 19:56:19
  • hoverfly: There's posh  ~~
    August 28, 2016, 19:48:32
  • teslahed: [link] added the buzzer and LEDs now as well
    August 28, 2016, 19:22:27
  • teslahed: no, just hadn't finished messing with the insides so makes it easier to reopen
    August 28, 2016, 19:22:09
  • Saleem: Save some weight?
    August 28, 2016, 16:27:59
  • hoverfly: Very nice ,but it looks like there are a couple of screws missing!!   Mine are just loose. :wack0
    August 28, 2016, 14:13:24
  • teslahed: [link] new aircraft finished
    August 28, 2016, 12:17:01
  • LuMan: @DW - oh dear. I'm going back to smoke signals and snail mail!!!
    August 28, 2016, 07:46:50
  • DarrellW: Ooer [link]
    August 27, 2016, 22:25:40
  • hoverfly: I have similar rollon jungle formula and some deet spray but they get left in the car so they don't run out.  Very short flight the right aileron ling gave out,very messy.Iwill post the vid.The Quanum camera/tx combo survived and still works fine. shame about the a/c.
    August 26, 2016, 16:17:21
  • Andy7: Talking of horse flies: I got some little wrist / ankle bands that have citronella in them. Last for ages and let you come back from a session with ALL your blood! (prop cuts excepting)
    August 26, 2016, 14:50:37
  • hoverfly: The stones are the devils quoits, a national monument  and a level 5  no fly zone. :embarrassed Phew for a moment when you asked the stones were i thought there was somthing hanging out my shorts. :rofl: OFff to feed the horse flies. ::)
    August 26, 2016, 14:26:57
  • Slayer23: hoverfly what stones are they in your pictures ???
    August 26, 2016, 14:02:06
  • Slayer23: hmmmmm once again LuMan lowers the tone
    August 26, 2016, 13:59:54
  • LuMan: @hoverfly -please only include footage of the flying... Not your 'Bettys'  :rofl:
    August 26, 2016, 13:21:34
  • hoverfly: So hot, took a plank out for a quick thermal , forgot the insect repelent and ended up doing the horse fly fling. Not wearing shorts this P.M. will have to put up with betty swallocks. :angry:
    August 26, 2016, 12:52:17
  • PropsToYou: and now I want popcorn!
    August 26, 2016, 11:32:31
  • Rommie: Well mtd airplane has done the maiden with video too and no crashes yet will post it up later , still a few weeks to go too
    August 26, 2016, 10:19:33
  • Gaza07: nope dunno whats going on  :popcorn:
    August 26, 2016, 09:45:57
  • PropsToYou: New member uptake seems to have shot up :)
    August 26, 2016, 09:41:16
  • PropsToYou: GAZ, you been advertising or something?
    August 26, 2016, 09:41:02
  • DarkButterfly: @LuMan, Ian has virtually no hair, bloody good eyesight though  ~~
    August 25, 2016, 22:36:07
  • Gav: bike shop up the road - goanna take a look
    August 25, 2016, 22:17:33
  • Gav: hi mate - yeah thanks. long day at the office, just chillin now for 20 in hotel before more play
    August 25, 2016, 22:16:57
  • Yellow: Hi Gav, all good out there?
    August 25, 2016, 22:15:08
  • Gav: hi from Chicago
    August 25, 2016, 22:11:23
  • LuMan: @DB. OUCH! But you got it back, which is good. BTW - Ian has THE BEST HAIR EVER!! :notworthy:
    August 25, 2016, 20:20:56

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:


Author Topic: How do you cover / tune your barometer?  (Read 8890 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline teslahed

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 237
  • -Receive: 250
  • Posts: 3978
  • Liked: 1716
  • Country: gb
How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« on: August 09, 2012, 15:07:29 »
I'm not getting as good performance from my barometer as i would like. I have covered it from prop wash by sticking a little square of double sided sticky foam tape on the chip itself but now I'm wondering if that's the best way to do it.

What do other people use and do you tune your altitude hold PIDs much or do you find the defaults work fine?

It's the MS5611 high precision barometer in the GY86 10DoF sensor board i have.


One circlip short of a quadcopter.
 1 lobe short of an antenna.

Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 318
  • -Receive: 216
  • Posts: 4674
  • Liked: 708
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2012, 15:20:00 »
I normally squash a bit of open cell foam onto it, which is easy when you have a separate mcu and sensor board so it just get sandwiched between the 2, you not supposed to cover the holes with anything that can breathe, the altitude hold from the ms5611 should be a lot better than the bmp085 but the sonar is the most accurate but only at low altitude,
If this is multi wii I have in the past found the default values to be about as good as it gets but that was using a bmp085, I have never used a ms5611 with multi wii to date, If you are going to tweak things be carefull with the velocity setting as I altered it once and my copter shot of towards the moon very quickly, just make small adjustments each time and only alter one setting at a time, although default is probably going to end up the best setting  ::)

Offline Toledodave

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 15
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 410
  • Liked: 96
  • Country: us
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2013, 21:53:48 »
I used the foam my motors came in seems perfect for this application.

Offline Biffa

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 33
  • -Receive: 142
  • Posts: 2402
  • Liked: 1000
  • Country: gb
  • Fly more, worry less!
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2013, 22:23:11 »
I have a bunch of sanding blocks. Cut off the emery paper an underneath is an open cell foam. Certainly worked on my Crius build ~~
Steve

Offline nub

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 100
  • -Receive: 194
  • Posts: 3994
  • Liked: 1129
  • Country: scotland
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2013, 22:44:45 »
i used a bit of dark spongy foam with some insulating tape, it done the job quite well.

canny mind what PID settings i ended up with but do remember having to mess about with them quite a bit to get to hold its height in FF, that was with a BMP085.
Point and click.

Shoot from the hip.

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 256
  • -Receive: 609
  • Posts: 6687
  • Liked: 2796
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2013, 23:04:03 »
Whatever you cover it with has to be able to breathe.  I use the foam packing that disk drives arrive in. It is dark grey, totally impervious to light and is open cell, that is it breathes. 

One of the neatest methods I saw was someone cut the top off a car tyre valve cap and glued it to the FC such that it encompassed the barometer chip, and then packed light-opaque open foam into the opening, making a completely light-tight and breathable enclosure for the Baro.

On my APM 2.5 I have a slab of that grey foam that runs along most of the length of the FC inside its 3DR case.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline GdLookinMingeR

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 41
  • Posts: 434
  • Liked: 105
  • Country: gb
    • Dont Tell the Wife
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2013, 23:39:58 »
I have some open cell black foam
if you would like some posted send me an addy
i will post you a 50x50 F.O.C.
Merry Chrimbo
Naza lite on Modified x525 frame, tarot 2d gimbal and some dodgy legs made from hk landing gear fpv
CPO135 Tricopter, Naze32 full, GPS, Cleanflight, Mobius, FPV
Tek Sumo, that i have never got off the ground
and Various other Fails...   :-)

Offline barneyg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 925
  • Liked: 284
  • Country: scotland
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2013, 07:36:03 »
After running some bench tests I've removed the foam from my ms5611 completely, I was just getting the PID's dialed in before the weather closed in here ... At least with multiwii the ms561q is affected by temp quite a lot and if you are also using a 3dr telemetry module or Bluetooth especially the serial IO causes ms5611 to warm significantly (on my crius it is quite close to the UART stuff) ... Over the course of about 15 minutes my quad can drop to -15m (while sitting on the bench) if I cover the chip ... And it settles on about -1m if I don't ... In actual flight the propwash has not been a problem, not sure about light effects - my fc is between the top and bottom plates of a 450 clone.