User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Multi Rotor UK Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • nub: aye just dinny let them think for themselves to much :laugh:
    June 28, 2016, 22:41:51
  • DarkButterfly: No we should make more, I want one ::)
    June 28, 2016, 22:26:34
  • nub: :laugh: the banana skins bit was funny, but we should stop making machines like them...
    June 28, 2016, 22:07:06
  • DarkButterfly: Cheers Gav ~~
    June 28, 2016, 21:48:12
  • Gav: butter - youve got some decent airtime on the phantom now - youre getting the most out of yours. well done
    June 28, 2016, 20:47:00
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    June 28, 2016, 20:05:14
  • DarkButterfly: Watching a robot slip on banana skins is always funny [link]
    June 28, 2016, 20:05:00
  • nub: know nowt about the new boards Kilby
    June 28, 2016, 17:15:05
  • nub: :laugh: do it, get one Gav it's a nice machine, shame the only thing it's Inspired me to do so far is get the big hammer out!
    June 28, 2016, 17:12:10
  • kilby: I'm a little confused as the price of the Evo is quite decent (I whinged last year about the price of the Acro board)
    June 28, 2016, 16:40:25
  • kilby: What is the actual difference between the SeriouslyPro FR Acro and the Evo (apart from the transponder, using SPI for the sensors and gaining a magnotometer?
    June 28, 2016, 16:39:44
  • Andy7: Tore the lab apart this afternoon looking for my XT60s... did I find any??? Nah.
    June 28, 2016, 15:57:44
  • Gav: :whistling:
    June 28, 2016, 14:32:59
  • Gav: :popcorn:
    June 28, 2016, 14:07:02
  • Gav: id have an inspire - but not a phantom - looks too much like a toy  :laugh:
    June 28, 2016, 14:06:54
  • nub: nice1 now get oot and fly! ::)
    June 28, 2016, 13:52:34
  • DarkButterfly: I'm ready to test fly the RD290 mini quad, it was a motor problem and the new motor fixed it ~~
    June 28, 2016, 13:19:25
  • nub: you know you want tooooo :laugh:
    June 28, 2016, 13:07:43
  • nub: yes join us Gav become part of the DJI Union (cult) :laugh:
    June 28, 2016, 13:07:08
  • DarkButterfly: @Gav, join us too :laugh:
    June 28, 2016, 12:49:02
  • Rommie: i may haver to learn how to make these then
    June 28, 2016, 12:41:10
  • Rommie: nooooooooooooooooooooooooo
    June 28, 2016, 12:29:08
  • Gav: no soz
    June 28, 2016, 12:28:37
  • Rommie: Gav do you make or can you make 433mhz dipole
    June 28, 2016, 12:28:01
  • Gav: you got a Phantom now then Nub mate  :o
    June 28, 2016, 10:13:15
  • nub: i aint updating nowt again! :laugh: only reason i done it was because i thought they enforce the update or something after so many days
    June 27, 2016, 21:24:55
  • hoverfly: Smart move  ~~
    June 27, 2016, 19:12:59
  • DarkButterfly: I'll download the bin file, but not install it
    June 27, 2016, 19:12:22
  • hoverfly: I thought about giving it a miss,but I think I read somewhere that if updates aren't sequential they don't install properly.
    June 27, 2016, 19:11:00
  • DarkButterfly: I won't be updating mine
    June 27, 2016, 19:01:08
  • hoverfly: New update for Phantom available, extended no-fly zones and a cold battery fix,  feared the worse after reading Nubs woes but  it went OK.  Good to know you are getting replacement Nub.
    June 27, 2016, 18:52:00
  • DarkButterfly: That's awesome ~~
    June 27, 2016, 17:21:10
  • nub: must be something up with it
    June 27, 2016, 17:12:46
  • nub: not sure if that'll work, spoke to DJI it's to be exchanged
    June 27, 2016, 17:12:31
  • DarkButterfly: With the continuous bleeps you have to leave it beeping, takes about 20mina
    June 27, 2016, 17:00:37
  • DarkButterfly: Yes it is, if you have the older FW on your controller then you have to upgrade using a USB stick, however later FW needs to be updated through the app
    June 27, 2016, 13:59:17
  • nub: aye pretty much the same process for both from what i can gather
    June 27, 2016, 13:36:06
  • DarkButterfly: No worries I'll take a look, I had issues upgrading the P3 when I first got it, the FW updates from the SD card
    June 27, 2016, 13:26:02
  • nub: quad won't upgrade more info about whats going on here [link]
    June 27, 2016, 13:20:43
  • DarkButterfly: In regards to the firmware, upgrade the quad, then upgrade the controller again
    June 27, 2016, 13:07:32
  • DarkButterfly: If you are careful, you should be okay
    June 27, 2016, 13:06:29
  • nub: think it's a firmware mismatch but can't update the inspire and can't downgrade the RC both fail
    June 27, 2016, 12:12:41
  • nub: nut chickened out! :laugh: would that affect the warranty?
    June 27, 2016, 12:11:40
  • DarkButterfly: Did you check the cable?
    June 27, 2016, 12:04:47
  • nub: morning folks! :tongue: still nae joy ffs
    June 27, 2016, 11:56:30
  • nub: bed for me fek this laters
    June 27, 2016, 00:38:30
  • nub: really lie the controller though :laugh: feels great in my hand, the stivks are in the perfect position for my thumbs
    June 27, 2016, 00:37:52
  • nub: no wonder the price dropped the bams!
    June 27, 2016, 00:35:58
  • nub: i want a replacement as quickly as they were to send one to sell lol
    June 27, 2016, 00:35:24
  • nub: was just about to take it apart but then i had a thought, fek this! lol i shouldn't have to be messing about with it, not sure if i want to be doing this hmmm lol
    June 27, 2016, 00:22:46

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:


Author Topic: How do you cover / tune your barometer?  (Read 8361 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline teslahed

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 238
  • -Receive: 245
  • Posts: 3962
  • Liked: 1698
  • Country: gb
How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« on: August 09, 2012, 15:07:29 »
I'm not getting as good performance from my barometer as i would like. I have covered it from prop wash by sticking a little square of double sided sticky foam tape on the chip itself but now I'm wondering if that's the best way to do it.

What do other people use and do you tune your altitude hold PIDs much or do you find the defaults work fine?

It's the MS5611 high precision barometer in the GY86 10DoF sensor board i have.


One circlip short of a quadcopter.
 1 lobe short of an antenna.

Online Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 319
  • -Receive: 226
  • Posts: 4672
  • Liked: 735
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2012, 15:20:00 »
I normally squash a bit of open cell foam onto it, which is easy when you have a separate mcu and sensor board so it just get sandwiched between the 2, you not supposed to cover the holes with anything that can breathe, the altitude hold from the ms5611 should be a lot better than the bmp085 but the sonar is the most accurate but only at low altitude,
If this is multi wii I have in the past found the default values to be about as good as it gets but that was using a bmp085, I have never used a ms5611 with multi wii to date, If you are going to tweak things be carefull with the velocity setting as I altered it once and my copter shot of towards the moon very quickly, just make small adjustments each time and only alter one setting at a time, although default is probably going to end up the best setting  ::)

Offline Toledodave

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 15
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 410
  • Liked: 96
  • Country: us
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2013, 21:53:48 »
I used the foam my motors came in seems perfect for this application.

Offline Biffa

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 34
  • -Receive: 142
  • Posts: 2429
  • Liked: 1015
  • Country: gb
  • Fly more, worry less!
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2013, 22:23:11 »
I have a bunch of sanding blocks. Cut off the emery paper an underneath is an open cell foam. Certainly worked on my Crius build ~~
Steve

Offline nub

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 96
  • -Receive: 186
  • Posts: 3832
  • Liked: 1106
  • Country: scotland
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2013, 22:44:45 »
i used a bit of dark spongy foam with some insulating tape, it done the job quite well.

canny mind what PID settings i ended up with but do remember having to mess about with them quite a bit to get to hold its height in FF, that was with a BMP085.
Point and click.

Shoot from the hip.

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 258
  • -Receive: 608
  • Posts: 6663
  • Liked: 2789
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2013, 23:04:03 »
Whatever you cover it with has to be able to breathe.  I use the foam packing that disk drives arrive in. It is dark grey, totally impervious to light and is open cell, that is it breathes. 

One of the neatest methods I saw was someone cut the top off a car tyre valve cap and glued it to the FC such that it encompassed the barometer chip, and then packed light-opaque open foam into the opening, making a completely light-tight and breathable enclosure for the Baro.

On my APM 2.5 I have a slab of that grey foam that runs along most of the length of the FC inside its 3DR case.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline GdLookinMingeR

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 41
  • Posts: 415
  • Liked: 104
  • Country: gb
    • Dont Tell the Wife
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2013, 23:39:58 »
I have some open cell black foam
if you would like some posted send me an addy
i will post you a 50x50 F.O.C.
Merry Chrimbo
Naza lite on Modified x525 frame, tarot 2d gimbal and some dodgy legs made from hk landing gear fpv
CPO135 Tricopter, Naze32 full, GPS, Cleanflight, Mobius, FPV
Tek Sumo, that i have never got off the ground
and Various other Fails...   :-)

Offline barneyg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 925
  • Liked: 284
  • Country: scotland
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2013, 07:36:03 »
After running some bench tests I've removed the foam from my ms5611 completely, I was just getting the PID's dialed in before the weather closed in here ... At least with multiwii the ms561q is affected by temp quite a lot and if you are also using a 3dr telemetry module or Bluetooth especially the serial IO causes ms5611 to warm significantly (on my crius it is quite close to the UART stuff) ... Over the course of about 15 minutes my quad can drop to -15m (while sitting on the bench) if I cover the chip ... And it settles on about -1m if I don't ... In actual flight the propwash has not been a problem, not sure about light effects - my fc is between the top and bottom plates of a 450 clone.