User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Cheredanine: GoPro lense is pretty unbeatable to be fair
    Today at 16:42:38
  • ched999uk: Back to multis - if anyone was thinking of ordering/ppre ordering RunCam Split they only have them with GoPro lenses at the moment!  ::)
    Today at 15:01:01
  • ched999uk: Ooh the good old days :smiley: Unfortunately way too much money involved these days.
    Today at 15:00:06
  • shawdreamer: back in the days of arton sennsa and nigel mansell a race was always closer, even though the cars back then wernt as limited and standardized across the teams as todays the drivers unique skills had a massive factor in how a race would pan out.... either way it was always a guaranteed sight to see..... same situ in footy, back in the days of vinny jones and the like, they took a nasty tackle and dislocated there knee, quick spit and wipe off and up they got to take the free kick, nowadays a fan calls them a poofters and they dive on the floor and throw a tantrum like a five yr old whos been told they cant have any sweeties.
    Today at 14:09:04
  • ched999uk: You are right about the entertainment factor. I think F1 is entertaining provided there are some closely matched competition or weather. I like teh fact that on some tracks a single slight error can cost the driver the race in F1. I used to love the, I think it was Rally Cross in the 80's. Saw some live with Metro XR4 at Brans, just amazing control. That was entertaining as rally+tarmac and cars racing each other side by side.
    Today at 11:50:05
  • Reman: I never really liked F1. It was too all or nothing for my liking. The driver had to get every racing line, breaking point and gear change right to have a chance at winning. In rallying, someone could barrel roll their car into a ravine, but if they could get back on the track and had a big enough lead they could still wind up finishing in a podium position. Now THAT'S  entertainment. :)
    Today at 10:04:18
  • Hozza: yeah all good thanks
    Today at 05:12:48
  • Gav: hi hoz ok thank you. u ok.
    June 27, 2017, 21:58:39
  • Hozza: Hey Gav hows it going?
    June 27, 2017, 21:39:18
  • Gav: Hello from Germany
    June 27, 2017, 21:20:31
  • Bad Raven: Wasn't a dog, cat in drag, 1 life gone, eight left....
    June 27, 2017, 12:59:16
  • shawdreamer: tell that to the dog :laugh:
    June 27, 2017, 12:37:54
  • JeremyE: The surface is constantly changing and you have way less time to react.
    June 27, 2017, 10:55:22
  • JeremyE: F1 requires way more skill!
    June 27, 2017, 10:54:31
  • ched999uk: Rally is great to watch and they display amazing control and skill. The problem for me is only seeing very limited clips of cars and it's a tie trial only. OK so the surface changes and they don't get to try the track before it matters. I like to see F1 drivers overtaking, OK so before anyone says what overtake in F1, it is getting better :)
    June 27, 2017, 10:35:24
  • shawdreamer: dont mean to take anything away from F1 drivers but when they race they rely on the road surface being dependably and consistently the same everytime..... a rally driver has to has to adjust his technique on every single turn and bend and take account that everytime another vehicle go's through that turn and bend ahead of his it changes the nature of the surface, F1 drivers are skilled, Rally drivers are skilled and brave..... and more than a little nuts
    June 27, 2017, 06:27:19
  • Hozza: BTCC is a good one to watch also, after all rubbing is racing
    June 26, 2017, 15:24:51
  • ched999uk: true
    June 26, 2017, 10:31:03
  • shawdreamer: "once ina while" is all very good with F1 but you watch a rally and everytime its a spectacle.
    June 26, 2017, 09:10:35
  • ched999uk: I assume you missed the F1 today. It was ore like rally cross!!!
    June 25, 2017, 23:45:50

MultiRotorUK Test

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:


Author Topic: How do you cover / tune your barometer?  (Read 11344 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline teslahed

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 238
  • -Receive: 253
  • Posts: 4014
  • Liked: 1732
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« on: August 09, 2012, 15:07:29 »
I'm not getting as good performance from my barometer as i would like. I have covered it from prop wash by sticking a little square of double sided sticky foam tape on the chip itself but now I'm wondering if that's the best way to do it.

What do other people use and do you tune your altitude hold PIDs much or do you find the defaults work fine?

It's the MS5611 high precision barometer in the GY86 10DoF sensor board i have.


One circlip short of a quadcopter.
 1 lobe short of an antenna.

Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 290
  • -Receive: 181
  • Posts: 4597
  • Liked: 731
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2012, 15:20:00 »
I normally squash a bit of open cell foam onto it, which is easy when you have a separate mcu and sensor board so it just get sandwiched between the 2, you not supposed to cover the holes with anything that can breathe, the altitude hold from the ms5611 should be a lot better than the bmp085 but the sonar is the most accurate but only at low altitude,
If this is multi wii I have in the past found the default values to be about as good as it gets but that was using a bmp085, I have never used a ms5611 with multi wii to date, If you are going to tweak things be carefull with the velocity setting as I altered it once and my copter shot of towards the moon very quickly, just make small adjustments each time and only alter one setting at a time, although default is probably going to end up the best setting  ::)

Offline Toledodave

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 15
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 410
  • Liked: 90
  • Country: us
    • View Profile
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2013, 21:53:48 »
I used the foam my motors came in seems perfect for this application.

Offline Biffa

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 33
  • -Receive: 140
  • Posts: 2400
  • Liked: 993
  • Country: gb
  • Fly more, worry less!
    • View Profile
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2013, 22:23:11 »
I have a bunch of sanding blocks. Cut off the emery paper an underneath is an open cell foam. Certainly worked on my Crius build ~~
Steve

Offline nub

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 102
  • -Receive: 184
  • Posts: 4175
  • Liked: 1184
  • Country: scotland
    • View Profile
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2013, 22:44:45 »
i used a bit of dark spongy foam with some insulating tape, it done the job quite well.

canny mind what PID settings i ended up with but do remember having to mess about with them quite a bit to get to hold its height in FF, that was with a BMP085.
Point and click.

Monkey see, Monkey do.

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 258
  • -Receive: 609
  • Posts: 6874
  • Liked: 2838
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • View Profile
    • Technoratia
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2013, 23:04:03 »
Whatever you cover it with has to be able to breathe.  I use the foam packing that disk drives arrive in. It is dark grey, totally impervious to light and is open cell, that is it breathes. 

One of the neatest methods I saw was someone cut the top off a car tyre valve cap and glued it to the FC such that it encompassed the barometer chip, and then packed light-opaque open foam into the opening, making a completely light-tight and breathable enclosure for the Baro.

On my APM 2.5 I have a slab of that grey foam that runs along most of the length of the FC inside its 3DR case.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Online GdLookinMingeR

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 64
  • Posts: 589
  • Liked: 178
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2013, 23:39:58 »
I have some open cell black foam
if you would like some posted send me an addy
i will post you a 50x50 F.O.C.
Merry Chrimbo
Carbon Tricopter with KK2 mini because you have to own a Tri and Falcon Evo FPV (rebuild again) with fatshark 600mw vtx & pz2040 cam. New addition (hidden from the missus!) 250 quad.

Offline barneyg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 68
  • Posts: 924
  • Liked: 282
  • Country: scotland
    • View Profile
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2013, 07:36:03 »
After running some bench tests I've removed the foam from my ms5611 completely, I was just getting the PID's dialed in before the weather closed in here ... At least with multiwii the ms561q is affected by temp quite a lot and if you are also using a 3dr telemetry module or Bluetooth especially the serial IO causes ms5611 to warm significantly (on my crius it is quite close to the UART stuff) ... Over the course of about 15 minutes my quad can drop to -15m (while sitting on the bench) if I cover the chip ... And it settles on about -1m if I don't ... In actual flight the propwash has not been a problem, not sure about light effects - my fc is between the top and bottom plates of a 450 clone.