User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • mo_miah: fatshark do the hd3 core which is decent price or HK have the dom v3 for 210ish
    Today at 09:59:11
  • Bajadre: bought a set of those box googles bro but it aint the same get heavy after awhile and cants troll in the shop with them on head look like something from 80s dr who haha
    April 24, 2018, 21:05:49
  • mo_miah: @Bajadre - what are you using atm?
    April 24, 2018, 08:54:00
  • Bajadre: Enjoy mo there great!! wish i woulnt of sold mine now :(
    April 23, 2018, 17:58:11
  • Andy7: Nice!
    April 23, 2018, 15:32:12
  • mo_miah: im buzzing for tomorrow, fatsharks have been posted and coming straight to work
    April 23, 2018, 14:45:19
  • atomiclama: ~~
    April 23, 2018, 12:08:27
  • Wyntrblue: so far its a good monday, just won a babyhawk r from makeitbuildit :D
    April 23, 2018, 11:30:38
  • DarkButterfly: ::)
    April 22, 2018, 15:02:21
  • DarkButterfly: Met up with my mate, flew 4 packs on 2 on the wing and 2 on the thug quad
    April 22, 2018, 15:02:13
  • Bad Raven: Good News, Kent, didn't.
    April 22, 2018, 12:56:10
  • hoverfly: Bad news Corfu  just sank. ::)
    April 22, 2018, 09:19:28
  • Hozza: All checked in including 15 lipos :)
    April 22, 2018, 05:16:36
  • Wyntrblue: 8 packs through the hornet today. Only my cam connection failing stopped play. Need a new cam and wiring harness. Roll on payday!
    April 21, 2018, 20:48:20
  • Bad Raven: and proud of it.......  :evil
    April 21, 2018, 20:24:09
  • hoverfly: Squirrelist  :nananana:
    April 21, 2018, 18:55:58
  • Bad Raven: Hyperdog catapult, very good for squirrels (greys of course)
    April 21, 2018, 15:09:33
  • hoverfly: Well summer was nice while it lasted.... clouded over and the evil darkness has returned.  feels like a thunder storm is pending.... :shrug:
    April 21, 2018, 15:07:32
  • hoverfly: Superb bit of kit,that will keep the cats off my veg patch.  ~~
    April 21, 2018, 08:34:52
  • Bad Raven: [link]
    April 21, 2018, 05:54:26

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: How do you cover / tune your barometer?  (Read 13051 times)

Offline teslahed

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3987
  • Liked: 1671
  • Country: gb
How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« on: August 09, 2012, 15:07:29 »
I'm not getting as good performance from my barometer as i would like. I have covered it from prop wash by sticking a little square of double sided sticky foam tape on the chip itself but now I'm wondering if that's the best way to do it.

What do other people use and do you tune your altitude hold PIDs much or do you find the defaults work fine?

It's the MS5611 high precision barometer in the GY86 10DoF sensor board i have.
One circlip short of a quadcopter.
 1 lobe short of an antenna.

Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4579
  • Liked: 712
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2012, 15:20:00 »
I normally squash a bit of open cell foam onto it, which is easy when you have a separate mcu and sensor board so it just get sandwiched between the 2, you not supposed to cover the holes with anything that can breathe, the altitude hold from the ms5611 should be a lot better than the bmp085 but the sonar is the most accurate but only at low altitude,
If this is multi wii I have in the past found the default values to be about as good as it gets but that was using a bmp085, I have never used a ms5611 with multi wii to date, If you are going to tweak things be carefull with the velocity setting as I altered it once and my copter shot of towards the moon very quickly, just make small adjustments each time and only alter one setting at a time, although default is probably going to end up the best setting  ::)

Offline Toledodave

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 410
  • Liked: 89
  • Country: us
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2013, 21:53:48 »
I used the foam my motors came in seems perfect for this application.

Offline Biffa

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2458
  • Liked: 988
  • Country: gb
  • Fly more, worry less!
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2013, 22:23:11 »
I have a bunch of sanding blocks. Cut off the emery paper an underneath is an open cell foam. Certainly worked on my Crius build ~~
Steve

Offline nub

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4188
  • Liked: 1119
  • Country: scotland
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2013, 22:44:45 »
i used a bit of dark spongy foam with some insulating tape, it done the job quite well.

canny mind what PID settings i ended up with but do remember having to mess about with them quite a bit to get to hold its height in FF, that was with a BMP085.
Point and click.

Monkey see, Monkey do.

Offline Hands0n

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6876
  • Liked: 2665
  • Country: gb
  • Did the Wright brothers feel this amazing?
    • Technoratia
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2013, 23:04:03 »
Whatever you cover it with has to be able to breathe.  I use the foam packing that disk drives arrive in. It is dark grey, totally impervious to light and is open cell, that is it breathes. 

One of the neatest methods I saw was someone cut the top off a car tyre valve cap and glued it to the FC such that it encompassed the barometer chip, and then packed light-opaque open foam into the opening, making a completely light-tight and breathable enclosure for the Baro.

On my APM 2.5 I have a slab of that grey foam that runs along most of the length of the FC inside its 3DR case.
--
Danny
"Its better than bad, its good"

Current FCs: Pixhawk, APM 2.6, Naza M V2, Naze32, Flip32+ CC3D, KK2.1.5
Aircraft: miniMax Hex, DJI 550 (clone) TBS Disco, 450 Firefly, 250 Pro, ZMR250, Hubsan X4, Bixler 2

Offline GdLookinMingeR

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 619
  • Liked: 194
  • Country: gb
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2013, 23:39:58 »
I have some open cell black foam
if you would like some posted send me an addy
i will post you a 50x50 F.O.C.
Merry Chrimbo
Carbon Tricopter with KK2 mini because you have to own a Tri and Falcon Evo FPV (rebuild again) with fatshark 600mw vtx & pz2040 cam. New addition (hidden from the missus!) 250 quad.

Offline barneyg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 924
  • Liked: 273
  • Country: scotland
Re: How do you cover / tune your barometer?
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2013, 07:36:03 »
After running some bench tests I';ve removed the foam from my ms5611 completely, I was just getting the PID';s dialed in before the weather closed in here ... At least with multiwii the ms561q is affected by temp quite a lot and if you are also using a 3dr telemetry module or Bluetooth especially the serial IO causes ms5611 to warm significantly (on my crius it is quite close to the UART stuff) ... Over the course of about 15 minutes my quad can drop to -15m (while sitting on the bench) if I cover the chip ... And it settles on about -1m if I don';t ... In actual flight the propwash has not been a problem, not sure about light effects - my fc is between the top and bottom plates of a 450 clone.