User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Multi Rotor UK Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • atomiclama: typical after the foul weather today, it clears up now but I've been on the vino for too long
    April 30, 2016, 20:05:03
  • DarrellW: ttfn JT, off down the pub for a quick one!
    April 30, 2016, 19:29:42
  • JT: :laugh:
    April 30, 2016, 19:27:52
  • DarrellW: Then you're adding more weight again ::)
    April 30, 2016, 19:25:16
  • JT: I have a huge box of hotglue sticks though.......  :laugh:
    April 30, 2016, 19:24:37
  • DarrellW: Only trouble with big batteries is more weight so more kinetic energy to dissipate into the ground if it accidentally goes there ::)
    April 30, 2016, 19:23:53
  • JT: :laugh:
    April 30, 2016, 19:22:45
  • DarrellW: I gave up ground skimming it cost me too much ::) my reactions are getting  s l o w e r and s  l  o  w  e  r.....
    April 30, 2016, 19:20:13
  • JT: well so the makers claim anyway
    April 30, 2016, 19:19:59
  • JT: 10,000 4s that is
    April 30, 2016, 19:19:44
  • JT: the talon can carry 10,000 mAh though, long flights, expensive lipos lol
    April 30, 2016, 19:19:20
  • DarrellW: That mini talon looks nice, I guess it's a pusher; you want a nice big glider with a folding prop, much more efficient.
    April 30, 2016, 19:18:11
  • JT: [link]
    April 30, 2016, 19:16:11
  • JT: good fun just above the floor though lol
    April 30, 2016, 19:15:12
  • JT: quick enough lol. I think my wing wing does about 60
    April 30, 2016, 19:14:47
  • JT: Quite like the look of these too [link]
    April 30, 2016, 19:14:14
  • DarrellW: Flat out at the bottom of a dive it's been clocked at just over 100mph but it's scary at that speed!!!
    April 30, 2016, 19:13:51
  • DarrellW: The difference is that you are usually going quite fast whereas i'm just floating around. Giving my AXN beans I get about 6 mins, I've put a carbon spar inside the one that came with it and given it more power; the reinforced spar was to hopefully stop the wings clapping ::)
    April 30, 2016, 19:11:02
  • JT: I still quite like my wing wing, it's only 60cm wide and likes to fly silly lol. only get 7 minutes on a 1300mah 3s though
    April 30, 2016, 19:07:03
  • JT: Pretty good going there
    April 30, 2016, 19:05:27
  • DarrellW: That said my AXN is my current favourite hack, it thermals ok; 30 mins from a 3S 2200
    April 30, 2016, 19:04:37
  • DarrellW: It's all about thermal performance, with bigger wings the wing loading is lower so they thermal better, you only need small batteries for a few climbs.
    April 30, 2016, 19:02:55
  • JT: I think my Mrs would have a fit if I came home with something bigger lol
    April 30, 2016, 18:53:33
  • JT: [link]
    April 30, 2016, 18:52:37
  • JT: 3 meters! Not small lol. I've just got a Mini Sky Hunter that's big for me with 1.3m wingspan lol.
    April 30, 2016, 18:51:36
  • DarrellW: [link]
    April 30, 2016, 18:51:06
  • DarrellW: I remember that one JT, looked like great fun. The only thing about the gliders I like now is they are 2 metres plus wingspan so don't travel in one piece. The new one I want is 3 metre wingspan, called Bird of time.
    April 30, 2016, 18:48:56
  • JT: [link]
    April 30, 2016, 18:45:21
  • JT: This is one of my favourite FPV flights, from last summer with my Falcon Evo, you just can't do that LOS, it's just so relaxing to float about on a summers evening  ::)
    April 30, 2016, 18:45:15
  • DarrellW: The gliders i'm flying now will do over an hour on a 3S 1300 if there's any thermals about.
    April 30, 2016, 18:44:54
  • JT: lol, when you get used to goggles thats it  :laugh:   If a crisis requiring LOS happens you can just haul them down
    April 30, 2016, 18:42:48
  • DarrellW: I definitely won't be doing any racing, it's cost me too much - more interested in slow flight now hence gliders and AP multicopters.
    April 30, 2016, 18:42:31
  • DarrellW: With a screen you can still fly los and use the screen to set videos up better, that's one of the reasons for going this way.
    April 30, 2016, 18:40:17
  • DarkButterfly: In my experience, I find googles are good for fast FPV and a screen/tablet for AP
    April 30, 2016, 18:39:10
  • DarrellW: That's one of the reasons for the Hubsan, you can add goggles at a later date!
    April 30, 2016, 18:38:38
  • JT: Good stuff Darrell, you won't be sorry, don't give up on the idea of goggles, they are weird as hell to start with and take a good few flights to get the hang of, screens are good but goggles are better
    April 30, 2016, 18:37:28
  • DarrellW: JT i'm going 1 step at a time, will be putting a cam on one of my gliders soon, see how we go from there.
    April 30, 2016, 18:35:21
  • DarkButterfly: Hubsan FPV is nuts, me and my bro-in-law raced them through the flat
    April 30, 2016, 18:33:34
  • JT: it should do you proud Darrell. But you will need some gear to FPV planks  ::)  I enjoy FPVing them more than flying about all crazy with a mini quad lol
    April 30, 2016, 18:33:28
  • DarrellW: Well when I saw the Hubsan ad I thought I couldn't go far wrong,
    April 30, 2016, 18:32:15
  • DarkButterfly: ::)
    April 30, 2016, 18:32:12
  • DarkButterfly: 7 mins is better than not flying at all
    April 30, 2016, 18:32:04
  • JT: OK Darrell, hope you're doing good mate  ::) Nice to see you're dipping a toe in the 21st century  ::) ::) ::)
    April 30, 2016, 18:31:18
  • DarkButterfly: not really anything special DW, I'm still playing with FCP, ao that was a bit of test footage ~~
    April 30, 2016, 18:31:17
  • JT: so 7 ish minutes of flying lol
    April 30, 2016, 18:30:33
  • DarrellW: Hey JT, good to see you about again, how you doing?
    April 30, 2016, 18:30:24
  • JT: then one of the wing bolts wouldn't go back in lol. Then the wind picked up as a thunderstorm came along! I quickly chucked a battery on the wing wing and flew it around all wobbly in the wind lol.
    April 30, 2016, 18:30:13
  • DarrellW: Nice 1 DB, see what I can do when I get this Hubsan h501s, no gimbal but looks ok, plus it's got fpv!
    April 30, 2016, 18:29:32
  • DarkButterfly: lol, did you manage to do it?
    April 30, 2016, 18:29:29
  • JT: It didn't go to plan lol. I wanted to fly the mini sky hunter but on the way to the field the esc became detached from the power module of the vector. That involved taking off the wings to get enough slack to reconnect it!!
    April 30, 2016, 18:28:51

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:


Author Topic: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s  (Read 4527 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Smit80

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 60
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« on: May 14, 2013, 07:14:23 »
Hi All,

I have been running the F550 with Naza FC on 3s (11.1V) and been getting 7 minutes of flight with 1:30 of return time before I hit the 80% limit. I've decided to try it on 4s and so ordered a couple my question is :

Is the voltage selection option in the Naza Assistant just for the Low Voltage warning and Cutoff or does it modify some kind of voltage depnedant setting/electronic calibration (for voltage dependant components maybe?) within the firmware.

Have any of you ran the Naza FC on 4s with it set to 3s? or vice versa?

Regards



Offline SimonS

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 42
  • Posts: 471
  • Liked: 206
  • Country: scotland
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2013, 07:38:05 »
If you are going to run a mix of 3s and 4s then you need to turn the Naza voltage monitor off and use an alternative system.

The Naza gives a warning at a particular pack voltage.  If yours is set for a 3s then the 4s lipo will be empty before the warning goes off. If you set it for the 4s the Naza will never get airborne on the 3s.

Use something like this instead: http://www.electriflite.co.uk/store17/index.php/lipo-monitor/lvb1-8s.html
They measure the cell voltage rather than the pack so the pack size does not matter. They have a very loud bleeper which can be heard over the noise of the motors.

Offline Smit80

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 60
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2013, 07:53:26 »
Thanks SimonS,

I always use an OSD displaying pack voltage and always fly by timer and then monitor how much juice is put back into each pack. I don't use the inbuilt voltage protection and have them set very low. I was wondering if this setting modifies anything else internal to the Naza and if anyone else has tried it :)

Offline powerlord

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 54
  • Posts: 1015
  • Liked: 455
  • Country: gb
  • youtube/powerlord69
    • powerlord's place
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2013, 07:58:10 »
Nah it doesn't. I've flown mine 4s with the settings at 3s after firmware upgrades by mistake - it's just for voltage monitoring nowt else.

I have mine set to pull 2000 out of a 2200 4s pack.

I have 4 packs and all still going strong with over a year of use.

Stu

Offline Smit80

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 60
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2013, 08:51:14 »
Awesome, cheers powerlord!  :wack0
Are you running a F550 on your 2200's? I assume you're running 2x 2200 in parallel? What sort of kit and what flight times are you getting if you don't mind me asking.

Offline powerlord

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 54
  • Posts: 1015
  • Liked: 455
  • Country: gb
  • youtube/powerlord69
    • powerlord's place
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2013, 09:42:38 »
F450.

So just a single 2200 4s.

I get about 7 mins active flight time

2 in parallel gets me around 11-12 mins but its pretty hard on the motors, etc so don't fly with 2 packs