User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Multi Rotor UK Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • DarkButterfly: i've bookmarked it, but may go after an RCExplorer tri
    July 23, 2016, 23:38:53
  • nub: i know on pre order :( think you'd be able to fit 1806's with 2 screws probably ::)
    July 23, 2016, 23:27:52
  • DarkButterfly: Can't push the button on it, out of stock
    July 23, 2016, 23:26:33
  • DarkButterfly: will the natal fpv3 work with 1806 motors?
    July 23, 2016, 23:24:39
  • DarkButterfly: ::)
    July 23, 2016, 23:23:34
  • nub: looks good still prefer the notalp fpv3 ::)
    July 23, 2016, 23:14:20
  • DarkButterfly: [link]
    July 23, 2016, 22:44:22
  • DarkButterfly: David has a little baby tricopter on his site for pre-order.
    July 23, 2016, 21:24:29
  • nub: either or will be a good choice, like the idea of the Armattan lifetime warranty
    July 23, 2016, 13:39:34
  • DarkButterfly: Sounds like a plan, I'll go with the mini tri and KK2 mounting kit
    July 23, 2016, 11:04:49
  • Hozza: DB I love Armattan frames, Chris the owner is very approachable and the warrenty is no BS either, ask Fletch  :laugh:
    July 23, 2016, 10:54:34
  • DarkButterfly: both the full sized and the mini tri
    July 23, 2016, 10:44:29
  • nub: the mini Tri?
    July 23, 2016, 01:16:43
  • DarkButterfly: so is an RCExlorer tri
    July 23, 2016, 00:00:31
  • nub: bit pricey
    July 22, 2016, 23:51:54
  • DarkButterfly: might push the button on this [link]
    July 22, 2016, 23:01:20
  • DarkButterfly: ::)
    July 22, 2016, 22:09:45
  • DarkButterfly: they are ball links, but they are useless when being flown hard, the flip wasn't even that stressful, it would have been if I did a hyper roll
    July 22, 2016, 22:09:34
  • DarrellW: @DG I have one thing to say...... ball links!!!
    July 22, 2016, 21:56:29
  • DarkButterfly: I'll be able to build a tricopter in my sleep lol
    July 22, 2016, 20:09:17
  • DarkButterfly: ::)
    July 22, 2016, 20:08:52
  • hoverfly: Groundhog day  D.B. ::)
    July 22, 2016, 19:47:31
  • DarkButterfly: Just had the most epic tricopter crash not caught on camera, both linkages on the yaw mech came off after doing a simple flip, it went into a massive spin and ploughed into long grass hard, front left arm snapped and the right arm motor mount is bent upwards
    July 22, 2016, 19:21:19
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    July 22, 2016, 18:23:53
  • DarkButterfly: I need to rebuild the tricopter, snapped another front arm
    July 22, 2016, 18:23:36
  • Andy7: Yowch! PROPER prop-break this evening. Bits pinged up in the air and everything. Didn't bring any spares like a PLUM! Lesson learned.
    July 20, 2016, 21:43:41
  • Bad Raven: I have just put 0615-14 motors on a Nano QX and all I can say is............. BLIMEY!!
    July 20, 2016, 18:58:30
  • DarkButterfly: all done, ready to fly ~~
    July 20, 2016, 18:40:22
  • kilby: @DB again !!!
    July 20, 2016, 15:36:36
  • DarkButterfly: Tricopter rebuilding tomorrow ~~
    July 19, 2016, 21:54:33
  • nub: aye hot sweaty day, thunder storms tomorrow! :laugh:
    July 19, 2016, 21:32:29
  • Andy7: oo-er! Car said 35deg here in Oxford. Phew :sweating:
    July 19, 2016, 21:01:58
  • hoverfly: 32 in the shade and all my pumpkins have wilted.  (thats not a euphamism) the spuds are fine.. ::)
    July 19, 2016, 18:08:37
  • DarkButterfly: Got some stick time this afternoon ~~
    July 19, 2016, 16:52:46
  • Bad Raven: AND, I'm going to complain to Heathrow ATC, as all the early morning flights went easterly approach so no jets to hide my early morning quad session so was grounded.....BAH
    July 19, 2016, 15:29:16
  • Bad Raven: It certainly is, I flew from 10 to 12:00 and then have crawled into a dark corner!
    July 19, 2016, 15:27:48
  • nub: damn it's way to hot out there!
    July 19, 2016, 13:34:44
  • kilby: I'm told that it's a good yaw mechanism, though perhaps Phil could tell you more about it
    July 18, 2016, 11:24:02
  • DarkButterfly: Cheers Kilby ~~
    July 18, 2016, 11:09:25
  • kilby: @DB, [link]
    July 18, 2016, 10:54:27
  • kilby: I see David also got a modified version of Baseflight together to make their use on tricopters a bit better (believe it is the why who does the improved KK software)
    July 18, 2016, 10:52:27
  • kilby: DB, you could look at the armattan Tricopter frames too
    July 18, 2016, 10:51:12
  • DarrellW: @DB I've always thought David was the worlds best authority on Tricopters, however something interesting to know is that Simplecopter had a lot of input from him in his designs - probably explains why they are also really good. Not seen the new KK firmware yet, must have a look ::)
    July 18, 2016, 10:22:36
  • DarkButterfly: The KK2 v4 firmware is simply awesome, flies way better than the previous version
    July 18, 2016, 08:59:06
  • DarkButterfly: ::)
    July 18, 2016, 08:58:05
  • DarkButterfly: What David doesn't know about tricopters isn't worth knowing
    July 18, 2016, 08:57:51
  • DarrellW: @DB Davids Tricopters are ace, just a tad more expensive - one's on my hit list at some time in the future ::)
    July 18, 2016, 07:51:31
  • DarkButterfly: David's tricopters look ace and I will get one at some point
    July 17, 2016, 22:04:50
  • Gandhi: @db have a look at the rcexplorer site. David has released a new frame......
    July 17, 2016, 20:50:25
  • DarrellW: @DB get yourself a Simplecopter frame, they just work ::)
    July 17, 2016, 19:16:27

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:


Author Topic: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s  (Read 4711 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Smit80

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 60
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« on: May 14, 2013, 07:14:23 »
Hi All,

I have been running the F550 with Naza FC on 3s (11.1V) and been getting 7 minutes of flight with 1:30 of return time before I hit the 80% limit. I've decided to try it on 4s and so ordered a couple my question is :

Is the voltage selection option in the Naza Assistant just for the Low Voltage warning and Cutoff or does it modify some kind of voltage depnedant setting/electronic calibration (for voltage dependant components maybe?) within the firmware.

Have any of you ran the Naza FC on 4s with it set to 3s? or vice versa?

Regards



Offline SimonS

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 42
  • Posts: 471
  • Liked: 206
  • Country: scotland
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2013, 07:38:05 »
If you are going to run a mix of 3s and 4s then you need to turn the Naza voltage monitor off and use an alternative system.

The Naza gives a warning at a particular pack voltage.  If yours is set for a 3s then the 4s lipo will be empty before the warning goes off. If you set it for the 4s the Naza will never get airborne on the 3s.

Use something like this instead: http://www.electriflite.co.uk/store17/index.php/lipo-monitor/lvb1-8s.html
They measure the cell voltage rather than the pack so the pack size does not matter. They have a very loud bleeper which can be heard over the noise of the motors.

Offline Smit80

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 60
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2013, 07:53:26 »
Thanks SimonS,

I always use an OSD displaying pack voltage and always fly by timer and then monitor how much juice is put back into each pack. I don't use the inbuilt voltage protection and have them set very low. I was wondering if this setting modifies anything else internal to the Naza and if anyone else has tried it :)

Offline powerlord

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 54
  • Posts: 1015
  • Liked: 455
  • Country: gb
  • youtube/powerlord69
    • powerlord's place
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2013, 07:58:10 »
Nah it doesn't. I've flown mine 4s with the settings at 3s after firmware upgrades by mistake - it's just for voltage monitoring nowt else.

I have mine set to pull 2000 out of a 2200 4s pack.

I have 4 packs and all still going strong with over a year of use.

Stu

Offline Smit80

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 60
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2013, 08:51:14 »
Awesome, cheers powerlord!  :wack0
Are you running a F550 on your 2200's? I assume you're running 2x 2200 in parallel? What sort of kit and what flight times are you getting if you don't mind me asking.

Offline powerlord

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 54
  • Posts: 1015
  • Liked: 455
  • Country: gb
  • youtube/powerlord69
    • powerlord's place
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2013, 09:42:38 »
F450.

So just a single 2200 4s.

I get about 7 mins active flight time

2 in parallel gets me around 11-12 mins but its pretty hard on the motors, etc so don't fly with 2 packs