User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • hoverfly: That's a long weeee Slayer,   cystitis,???
    February 21, 2018, 20:34:31
  • Slayer23: feeling better now lol
    February 21, 2018, 19:03:35
  • Slayer23: Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    February 21, 2018, 19:03:28
  • hoverfly: cz 250 twin.
    February 21, 2018, 13:09:44
  • Gav: what bike was it
    February 21, 2018, 11:49:36
  • hoverfly: I had similar a few years back , came home from work went int kitchen and made a cuppa  sat on a stool looking out the kitchen window.  There was a large space ,something was wrong, some scumbag a/hole had stolen my motorbike.. :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:
    February 21, 2018, 09:24:58
  • Reman: I just half woke up, opened my eyes to check the time. and while doing this I subconsciously noticed something wrong with the shape of shadows on the other side of the room. That woke me up with a jolt!!!  It seems I've got so used to seeing my camera hex perched up on the set of draws in the corner of my bedroom that the area now looks strangely empty without it (I took it apart on Sunday to begin the rebuild into its new Y6 frame)...... And now I'm wide awake at bloody half one in the morning....... And feeling like a paranoid pillock. :(
    February 21, 2018, 01:27:14
  • atomiclama: Cheers, already have bog standard rucsacs, looking for something with a bit easier access to the internals
    February 15, 2018, 13:12:41
  • CornishMule: Atomiclama, I also had the CS300 but recently got [link] It's big enough to put the Taranis X9D case inside, fatshark case, Lipo bag, a couple of tool bags, launch pad, monitor, laptop and copious props. 2 quads strapped to the front.
    February 15, 2018, 11:29:36
  • atomiclama: Cheers Hozza
    February 14, 2018, 09:00:06
  • yama: hooked on 90mm brushless drones now:)
    February 11, 2018, 15:45:24
  • Hozza: Not found it uncomfortable, but I've probably only walked a mile :laugh:
    February 10, 2018, 17:44:20
  • atomiclama: I'm looking for a new pack as my current one is falling apart.
    February 10, 2018, 11:29:39
  • atomiclama: Don't like the look of the padding on the back.
    February 10, 2018, 11:28:50
  • atomiclama: Hozza, how comfortable is it for a long hike?
    February 10, 2018, 11:28:24
  • Hozza: I have the CS300 [link] bloody good back pack, everything I need inside and 2 quads straped to the front.
    February 10, 2018, 10:13:43
  • Andy7: Sweet! Fixed the USBs on my laptop - been hitting DRL sim with my QX7 all weekend
    February 04, 2018, 21:18:03
  • Bad Raven: Hope the fish are alright........   :laugh:
    February 04, 2018, 18:50:14
  • shawdreamer: hmmm Im feeling a little underwelming here, sorta lacking.... I stubbed my toe earlier on the fishtank stand.... that sorta counts right?
    February 04, 2018, 18:40:09
  • Friskle: Buggered more than Anything atm, struggling walking, getting badly out of breath, hopefully next stent in a few weeks will cure that :)
    February 04, 2018, 15:51:59

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s  (Read 6141 times)

Offline Smit80

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« on: May 14, 2013, 07:14:23 »
Hi All,

I have been running the F550 with Naza FC on 3s (11.1V) and been getting 7 minutes of flight with 1:30 of return time before I hit the 80% limit. I';ve decided to try it on 4s and so ordered a couple my question is :

Is the voltage selection option in the Naza Assistant just for the Low Voltage warning and Cutoff or does it modify some kind of voltage depnedant setting/electronic calibration (for voltage dependant components maybe?) within the firmware.

Have any of you ran the Naza FC on 4s with it set to 3s? or vice versa?

Regards

Offline SimonS

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 474
  • Liked: 196
  • Country: scotland
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2013, 07:38:05 »
If you are going to run a mix of 3s and 4s then you need to turn the Naza voltage monitor off and use an alternative system.

The Naza gives a warning at a particular pack voltage.  If yours is set for a 3s then the 4s lipo will be empty before the warning goes off. If you set it for the 4s the Naza will never get airborne on the 3s.

Use something like this instead: http://www.electriflite.co.uk/store17/index.php/lipo-monitor/lvb1-8s.html
They measure the cell voltage rather than the pack so the pack size does not matter. They have a very loud bleeper which can be heard over the noise of the motors.

Offline Smit80

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2013, 07:53:26 »
Thanks SimonS,

I always use an OSD displaying pack voltage and always fly by timer and then monitor how much juice is put back into each pack. I don';t use the inbuilt voltage protection and have them set very low. I was wondering if this setting modifies anything else internal to the Naza and if anyone else has tried it :)

Offline powerlord

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1015
  • Liked: 445
  • Country: gb
  • youtube/powerlord69
    • powerlord's place
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2013, 07:58:10 »
Nah it doesn';t. I';ve flown mine 4s with the settings at 3s after firmware upgrades by mistake - it';s just for voltage monitoring nowt else.

I have mine set to pull 2000 out of a 2200 4s pack.

I have 4 packs and all still going strong with over a year of use.

Stu

Offline Smit80

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2013, 08:51:14 »
Awesome, cheers powerlord!  :wack0
Are you running a F550 on your 2200';s? I assume you';re running 2x 2200 in parallel? What sort of kit and what flight times are you getting if you don';t mind me asking.

Offline powerlord

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1015
  • Liked: 445
  • Country: gb
  • youtube/powerlord69
    • powerlord's place
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2013, 09:42:38 »
F450.

So just a single 2200 4s.

I get about 7 mins active flight time

2 in parallel gets me around 11-12 mins but its pretty hard on the motors, etc so don';t fly with 2 packs