User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Multi Rotor UK Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • teslahed: [link] new aircraft finished
    Today at 12:17:01
  • LuMan: @DW - oh dear. I'm going back to smoke signals and snail mail!!!
    Today at 07:46:50
  • DarrellW: Ooer [link]
    August 27, 2016, 22:25:40
  • hoverfly: I have similar rollon jungle formula and some deet spray but they get left in the car so they don't run out.  Very short flight the right aileron ling gave out,very messy.Iwill post the vid.The Quanum camera/tx combo survived and still works fine. shame about the a/c.
    August 26, 2016, 16:17:21
  • Andy7: Talking of horse flies: I got some little wrist / ankle bands that have citronella in them. Last for ages and let you come back from a session with ALL your blood! (prop cuts excepting)
    August 26, 2016, 14:50:37
  • hoverfly: The stones are the devils quoits, a national monument  and a level 5  no fly zone. :embarrassed Phew for a moment when you asked the stones were i thought there was somthing hanging out my shorts. :rofl: OFff to feed the horse flies. ::)
    August 26, 2016, 14:26:57
  • Slayer23: hoverfly what stones are they in your pictures ???
    August 26, 2016, 14:02:06
  • Slayer23: hmmmmm once again LuMan lowers the tone
    August 26, 2016, 13:59:54
  • LuMan: @hoverfly -please only include footage of the flying... Not your 'Bettys'  :rofl:
    August 26, 2016, 13:21:34
  • hoverfly: So hot, took a plank out for a quick thermal , forgot the insect repelent and ended up doing the horse fly fling. Not wearing shorts this P.M. will have to put up with betty swallocks. :angry:
    August 26, 2016, 12:52:17
  • PropsToYou: and now I want popcorn!
    August 26, 2016, 11:32:31
  • Rommie: Well mtd airplane has done the maiden with video too and no crashes yet will post it up later , still a few weeks to go too
    August 26, 2016, 10:19:33
  • Gaza07: nope dunno whats going on  :popcorn:
    August 26, 2016, 09:45:57
  • PropsToYou: New member uptake seems to have shot up :)
    August 26, 2016, 09:41:16
  • PropsToYou: GAZ, you been advertising or something?
    August 26, 2016, 09:41:02
  • DarkButterfly: @LuMan, Ian has virtually no hair, bloody good eyesight though  ~~
    August 25, 2016, 22:36:07
  • Gav: bike shop up the road - goanna take a look
    August 25, 2016, 22:17:33
  • Gav: hi mate - yeah thanks. long day at the office, just chillin now for 20 in hotel before more play
    August 25, 2016, 22:16:57
  • Yellow: Hi Gav, all good out there?
    August 25, 2016, 22:15:08
  • Gav: hi from Chicago
    August 25, 2016, 22:11:23
  • LuMan: @DB. OUCH! But you got it back, which is good. BTW - Ian has THE BEST HAIR EVER!! :notworthy:
    August 25, 2016, 20:20:56
  • Gandhi: Quote
    Or a house brick, it won';t go too far attached to one of those
      :rofl:
    August 25, 2016, 16:20:49
  • Saleem: Loc8tor I find is pretty vulnerable and can be split easy enough,I have one and have to register it again to handset as it seems to have mind of its own after a while,then it's velcrod inside the quad with wires around it.wouldnt trust it out in the open stuck to side of the cam,I ain't got the cam yet,I bought it early hours of morning on eBay.
    August 25, 2016, 16:16:24
  • teslahed: If you attach a flourescent ribbon to your gopro and wrap it around the thing, it will add hardly any weight and unfurl in the event of a crash making the gopro easier to spot.
    August 25, 2016, 16:14:10
  • kilby: Or a house brick, it won';t go too far attached to one of those
    August 25, 2016, 16:11:27
  • Gandhi: glue a loc8tor onto it
    August 25, 2016, 16:09:23
  • Saleem: I just bought a turnigy 2k,makes me wonder what I should do for daytime as I don't fly at night,that said I suppose if it came off during daylight you can always return at night looking,will have to buy some tape and s torch me thinks
    August 25, 2016, 14:12:11
  • DarkButterfly: we managed to find the GoPro by spotting the flashing red light, we didn't expect it to be so far from the crash site
    August 25, 2016, 11:51:16
  • kilby: Though I did get some glow in the dark tape as well
    August 25, 2016, 11:45:31
  • kilby: Should be useful for things like GoPros, Mobius and similar cameras though
    August 25, 2016, 11:44:50
  • kilby: Well if the beam of a torch hits it it will certainly be noticeable (same stuff as used on roadsigns) and lets face it we need all the advantages we can get
    August 25, 2016, 11:43:58
  • DarkButterfly: That will work for finding downed quads
    August 25, 2016, 11:31:23
  • kilby: Also going to run a some along the edge of the rear arms of my machines
    August 25, 2016, 11:27:30
  • kilby: @DB, I bought some of this stuff so it will reflect light from a torch (the white tape in my case) [link]
    August 25, 2016, 11:26:49
  • Andy7: Owch!!!!
    August 25, 2016, 11:06:46
  • Saleem: Yikes!but you got a right field there for flying.
    August 25, 2016, 10:53:24
  • DarkButterfly: @LuMan [link]
    August 25, 2016, 10:21:18
  • Andy7: New motors arrive today (I think) I LITERALLY can't wait!
    August 25, 2016, 09:22:58
  • LuMan: @DB - post it!!!  ~~
    August 25, 2016, 07:38:33
  • DarkButterfly: Just going through the video, as it was still running when I found it ~~
    August 24, 2016, 20:57:43
  • DarkButterfly: Massive crash with the mini hex, it launched the GoPro about 30ft away from where the hex crashed
    August 24, 2016, 20:57:03
  • Hozza: Only done by a admin I believe
    August 24, 2016, 16:53:38
  • Langywangy: ANyone know how to change profile name?
    August 24, 2016, 12:01:28
  • Langywangy: Hey hey all...I should be working
    August 24, 2016, 12:01:13
  • aesteban: Hello, Any one have sky hero spy 750 with NAZA M v2, 380kv, 14" props and 6s lipo setup? Can you share your gain settings... thanks guys
    August 24, 2016, 07:47:19
  • aesteban: anyone have skyhero spy y6 750???
    August 24, 2016, 07:45:23
  • Slayer23: aceeeeeed
    August 24, 2016, 07:21:25
  • Gav: Big fish, Little fish,.....CARDBOARD BOX
    August 24, 2016, 01:19:23
  • Slayer23: I used to have money, a wife children a home and pets then i met you Quadcopter then i met you
    August 23, 2016, 18:11:54

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:


Author Topic: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s  (Read 4790 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Smit80

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 60
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« on: May 14, 2013, 07:14:23 »
Hi All,

I have been running the F550 with Naza FC on 3s (11.1V) and been getting 7 minutes of flight with 1:30 of return time before I hit the 80% limit. I've decided to try it on 4s and so ordered a couple my question is :

Is the voltage selection option in the Naza Assistant just for the Low Voltage warning and Cutoff or does it modify some kind of voltage depnedant setting/electronic calibration (for voltage dependant components maybe?) within the firmware.

Have any of you ran the Naza FC on 4s with it set to 3s? or vice versa?

Regards



Offline SimonS

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 42
  • Posts: 471
  • Liked: 206
  • Country: scotland
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2013, 07:38:05 »
If you are going to run a mix of 3s and 4s then you need to turn the Naza voltage monitor off and use an alternative system.

The Naza gives a warning at a particular pack voltage.  If yours is set for a 3s then the 4s lipo will be empty before the warning goes off. If you set it for the 4s the Naza will never get airborne on the 3s.

Use something like this instead: http://www.electriflite.co.uk/store17/index.php/lipo-monitor/lvb1-8s.html
They measure the cell voltage rather than the pack so the pack size does not matter. They have a very loud bleeper which can be heard over the noise of the motors.

Offline Smit80

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 60
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2013, 07:53:26 »
Thanks SimonS,

I always use an OSD displaying pack voltage and always fly by timer and then monitor how much juice is put back into each pack. I don't use the inbuilt voltage protection and have them set very low. I was wondering if this setting modifies anything else internal to the Naza and if anyone else has tried it :)

Offline powerlord

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 54
  • Posts: 1015
  • Liked: 455
  • Country: gb
  • youtube/powerlord69
    • powerlord's place
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2013, 07:58:10 »
Nah it doesn't. I've flown mine 4s with the settings at 3s after firmware upgrades by mistake - it's just for voltage monitoring nowt else.

I have mine set to pull 2000 out of a 2200 4s pack.

I have 4 packs and all still going strong with over a year of use.

Stu

Offline Smit80

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 60
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2013, 08:51:14 »
Awesome, cheers powerlord!  :wack0
Are you running a F550 on your 2200's? I assume you're running 2x 2200 in parallel? What sort of kit and what flight times are you getting if you don't mind me asking.

Offline powerlord

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 54
  • Posts: 1015
  • Liked: 455
  • Country: gb
  • youtube/powerlord69
    • powerlord's place
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2013, 09:42:38 »
F450.

So just a single 2200 4s.

I get about 7 mins active flight time

2 in parallel gets me around 11-12 mins but its pretty hard on the motors, etc so don't fly with 2 packs