User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • DarkButterfly: I thought so too ::)
    Today at 00:45:02
  • Bajadre: am surprised db thought it would of been a lot less than that
    July 22, 2017, 21:51:31
  • atomiclama: What a porker  ::)
    July 22, 2017, 21:49:42
  • DarkButterfly: Weighed my thug quad it's 470g without battery
    July 22, 2017, 20:39:56
  • Bad Raven: S'why I have been doing so much work with 90 to 160 sized.......... I'm ready!! (but NOT willing)
    July 22, 2017, 19:34:15
  • spaghettinoodles: Mine weighs 666grams with batery
    July 22, 2017, 19:01:04
  • Bajadre: I just wieghted my quad 499grams lol thats me fkd
    July 22, 2017, 18:51:16
  • Gaza07: been puffing on it since I joined to  :rofl:
    July 22, 2017, 16:26:36
  • Bajadre: he been puffing on that same vig since i joined lol
    July 22, 2017, 15:54:08
  • Gaza07: I suppose I should get a new pic since I stopped smoking over 2 years ago, oh and stop looking at my naked body   :rofl:
    July 22, 2017, 14:50:44
  • hoverfly: @ Gaza07, lovely fur  would make a superb waistcoat. ::)
    July 22, 2017, 12:44:56
  • Reman: After finding that about half my stored Turnigy packs have started puffing to one extent or another, I decided to get something different. Just ordered some 1500mah 3s XF Power li-po's to give a try. Cant be any worse than having 2 flights, Storage charging them and digging them out to find them puffed. :(
    July 22, 2017, 09:31:09
  • Bad Raven: :blink :(
    July 20, 2017, 06:21:22
  • ched999uk: DB, had the storm 5pm and the sky did fall in on Blackpool! 1 ceiling down!!!!! and water peeing in!!!!!!
    July 19, 2017, 20:40:36
  • DarkButterfly: on the plus side my new quad is finished and the wing is ready to fly again
    July 19, 2017, 16:53:02
  • DarkButterfly: Had a storm at 3am, sounded like the sky was falling :laugh:
    July 19, 2017, 16:52:37
  • Gav: horrible n drizzly - grrr got me quads in the car for a sneaky flight after work too
    July 19, 2017, 16:27:52
  • Bajadre: Yeah we had thunderstorm tis morning at 4am woke me up still hot today tho
    July 19, 2017, 14:50:09
  • hoverfly: Wind is building here and BBC weather has just shown a storm heading this way  . :blink the also said it's going to be sticky this afternoon, so I'm going to get it washed... :embarrassed
    July 19, 2017, 13:45:02
  • Reman: Very little wind out there, But it looks like it's going to pi$$ it down any second........ Should I risk charging a couple of packs?
    July 19, 2017, 13:21:27

MultiRotorUK Test

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s  (Read 5607 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Smit80

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 60
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« on: May 14, 2013, 07:14:23 »
Hi All,

I have been running the F550 with Naza FC on 3s (11.1V) and been getting 7 minutes of flight with 1:30 of return time before I hit the 80% limit. I've decided to try it on 4s and so ordered a couple my question is :

Is the voltage selection option in the Naza Assistant just for the Low Voltage warning and Cutoff or does it modify some kind of voltage depnedant setting/electronic calibration (for voltage dependant components maybe?) within the firmware.

Have any of you ran the Naza FC on 4s with it set to 3s? or vice versa?

Regards



Offline SimonS

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 42
  • Posts: 474
  • Liked: 204
  • Country: scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2013, 07:38:05 »
If you are going to run a mix of 3s and 4s then you need to turn the Naza voltage monitor off and use an alternative system.

The Naza gives a warning at a particular pack voltage.  If yours is set for a 3s then the 4s lipo will be empty before the warning goes off. If you set it for the 4s the Naza will never get airborne on the 3s.

Use something like this instead: http://www.electriflite.co.uk/store17/index.php/lipo-monitor/lvb1-8s.html
They measure the cell voltage rather than the pack so the pack size does not matter. They have a very loud bleeper which can be heard over the noise of the motors.

Offline Smit80

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 60
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2013, 07:53:26 »
Thanks SimonS,

I always use an OSD displaying pack voltage and always fly by timer and then monitor how much juice is put back into each pack. I don't use the inbuilt voltage protection and have them set very low. I was wondering if this setting modifies anything else internal to the Naza and if anyone else has tried it :)

Offline powerlord

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 54
  • Posts: 1015
  • Liked: 455
  • Country: gb
  • youtube/powerlord69
    • View Profile
    • powerlord's place
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2013, 07:58:10 »
Nah it doesn't. I've flown mine 4s with the settings at 3s after firmware upgrades by mistake - it's just for voltage monitoring nowt else.

I have mine set to pull 2000 out of a 2200 4s pack.

I have 4 packs and all still going strong with over a year of use.

Stu

Offline Smit80

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 60
  • Liked: 20
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2013, 08:51:14 »
Awesome, cheers powerlord!  :wack0
Are you running a F550 on your 2200's? I assume you're running 2x 2200 in parallel? What sort of kit and what flight times are you getting if you don't mind me asking.

Offline powerlord

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 54
  • Posts: 1015
  • Liked: 455
  • Country: gb
  • youtube/powerlord69
    • View Profile
    • powerlord's place
Re: Naza Voltage Setting 3s 4s
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2013, 09:42:38 »
F450.

So just a single 2200 4s.

I get about 7 mins active flight time

2 in parallel gets me around 11-12 mins but its pretty hard on the motors, etc so don't fly with 2 packs