User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bad Raven: I would'nt know but obviously you have had the experience.....  :evil
    June 17, 2018, 13:08:09
  • shawdreamer: his boyfriend couldnt wait..... :whistling:
    June 17, 2018, 11:58:37
  • hoverfly: Keckon, is usually the result of typing with your mouth full. :whistling:
    June 16, 2018, 16:37:24
  • Bad Raven: Keckon???  Where did THAT come from??
    June 16, 2018, 16:13:17
  • Bad Raven: I keckon you have bootleg Domino's................  And HF , I ALWAYS give a tip, it's "don't upset me"....
    June 16, 2018, 16:08:46
  • DarkButterfly: Not sure why they're different colours :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 13:19:02
  • hoverfly: Blue boxes are used to indicate to the delivery bloke they won't get a tip at that house.. :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 09:07:42
  • Bad Raven: And on another more important matter, wny is your domino's box red, ours are blue!!!   :blink :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 05:47:01
  • Bajadre: :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 23:47:19
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 22:41:37
  • shawdreamer: oh it'll fly...... like a piece of 5hit with a big arse motor attached..... but it'll fly :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 22:25:24
  • hoverfly: Superb,  :rofl:
    June 15, 2018, 22:14:50
  • DarkButterfly: :smiley:
    June 15, 2018, 21:02:23
  • DarkButterfly: Need to get some electronics on this and see if it flies [link]
    June 15, 2018, 21:02:14
  • atomiclama: I used the solder ones [link] as I do't have a crimp tool and should be able to reuse the connector if required
    June 15, 2018, 14:50:33
  • VaNDAL_UK: Nice one. I'm gonna go for it. just looking for the SMA connectors with the crips as Ive had a few break at the root.
    June 15, 2018, 14:44:53
  • atomiclama: these are my first attempts, got better since then [link]
    June 15, 2018, 10:57:11
  • atomiclama: Yeah could've got mine cheaper but wanted it in reasonable time. Go for it, It's rewarding to see something you have made yourself.
    June 15, 2018, 10:54:38
  • VaNDAL_UK: atomiclama: I was pricing up the cable 0.08 copper wire and SMA connectors came out to about £15 and I could have made 5 meters worth of antennas!
    June 15, 2018, 10:31:48
  • hoverfly: Betaflight RC1...Interesting  if you go to the O.S.D  settings and then change the font  by lining up the icons in the correct precise order then hit  enter,...... It opens up the  O.C.D.  screen. :smiley:
    June 15, 2018, 09:01:13

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Battery size  (Read 309 times)

Online mo_miah

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 308
  • Liked: 60
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Battery size
« on: March 09, 2018, 10:05:08 »
i was wondering...
my 5" quad uses a 4s 1500mah lipo
but i dont race, much prefer freestyle even though i'm not that great at it atm
i dont need to top speed that 4s offers
could i use a 3s 1800/2200mah to increase flight time as 3s higher capacity battery will weigh the same as a 4s lower capacity battery
would that work?
any benefit of sticking to 4s for freestyle?

Online atomiclama

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2425
  • Liked: 763
  • Country: gb
  • Uhh! What's that then, Oh! new project.
Re: Battery size
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2018, 11:25:58 »
As you are used to 4S dropping to 3S would be a big hit in performance it would fly like a pig and by which I mean, punch outs, changes in direction and just general fly ability. All of which you need for freestyle.

I'd stick with 4S and just get more lipos.

Now if you just want to just cruise around then that's a different matter, whack a larger lipo on it and see how you go.
Wasdale X, Ow that hurt

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
  • Liked: 577
  • Country: gb
Re: Battery size
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2018, 11:29:31 »
Talking fixed wing for a moment, choice of number of cells is a variable linked with prop diameter and pitch juts as much as it is about the motor.  If you have the correct props to suit the number of cells, then the higher cell count will give a higher current potential (if the motor can take it).

In principle this follows into MRs. My GP freestyle MRs can run 4S but all use 3S and suitably propped perform nearly as well but for longer.

Drop from 4S to 3S and the punch out from moves might be reduced even with correct pitch props, but whether that is enough to be an issue is down to your flying style.  It isn't on mine.

Online mo_miah

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 308
  • Liked: 60
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Battery size
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2018, 11:51:24 »
punch outs, that a good point, with 4s i guess i can freefall closer to the ground and have enough power to recover

Offline Bajadre

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 731
  • Liked: 209
  • Country: gb
Re: Battery size
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2018, 17:06:25 »
before using 1550mah 3s on my nighthawk I used to use 3s 2200mahs used to get a good 10mins upto 5mins on the 1550s obv ike said dropping from 4s to 3s you will notice the power difference,but I always liked cruising around more than WOT  ~~
Emax nighthawk 280,Emax x4,Blade 350qx3,dx6 (gen2),fatshark doms v2.

Online mo_miah

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 308
  • Liked: 60
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Battery size
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2018, 17:33:45 »
that's the idea, my acro needs work so i would prefer flight time over speed until i get hang of the controls

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2606
  • Liked: 606
  • Country: gb
Re: Battery size
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2018, 20:52:26 »
There is 1 other problem with 3S. That is because you have less thrust, and not just max thrust but you also have less torque. So if you mess up and the quad is coming down too fast 4S gives you more thrust to pull up. So you might be better off cutting your rates in BetaFlight so your sticks are less sensitive till you can better master the controls.
While 3S will give you longer flight times it might actually be more difficult to freestyle.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4631
  • Liked: 1160
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Battery size
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2018, 22:10:36 »
I would really stick to 4s, it isn’t, as others have said, just about Top end speed.
Can I ask what motors and props you are using? It is possible you can get longer flight times from changing props

Online mo_miah

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 308
  • Liked: 60
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Battery size
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2018, 22:25:15 »
Emax rs2205 2300kv. Dal 5040

Offline Bajadre

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 731
  • Liked: 209
  • Country: gb
Re: Battery size
« Reply #9 on: March 09, 2018, 23:24:43 »
true what the guys are saying about having that extra zip for last minute saves etc 3s is more for relaxed flying, a few speed dives but nothing flatout,give it try matey and see how you get on I found 4s a bit too nippy for me tbh am a lazy flyer haha  :laugh:
Emax nighthawk 280,Emax x4,Blade 350qx3,dx6 (gen2),fatshark doms v2.

Offline Elmattbo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 885
  • Liked: 295
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • Youtube
Re: Battery size
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2018, 00:39:37 »
If you have a Taranis you can always create a different curve so the throttle range between idle and full stick is only say 75% of the actual throttle range of the motors. This gives you more throttle resolution, limits the top end, but still lets the flight controller use the full throttle range for manoeuvrability. Maybe that would help?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk