User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bad Raven: I would'nt know but obviously you have had the experience.....  :evil
    June 17, 2018, 13:08:09
  • shawdreamer: his boyfriend couldnt wait..... :whistling:
    June 17, 2018, 11:58:37
  • hoverfly: Keckon, is usually the result of typing with your mouth full. :whistling:
    June 16, 2018, 16:37:24
  • Bad Raven: Keckon???  Where did THAT come from??
    June 16, 2018, 16:13:17
  • Bad Raven: I keckon you have bootleg Domino's................  And HF , I ALWAYS give a tip, it's "don't upset me"....
    June 16, 2018, 16:08:46
  • DarkButterfly: Not sure why they're different colours :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 13:19:02
  • hoverfly: Blue boxes are used to indicate to the delivery bloke they won't get a tip at that house.. :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 09:07:42
  • Bad Raven: And on another more important matter, wny is your domino's box red, ours are blue!!!   :blink :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 05:47:01
  • Bajadre: :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 23:47:19
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 22:41:37
  • shawdreamer: oh it'll fly...... like a piece of 5hit with a big arse motor attached..... but it'll fly :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 22:25:24
  • hoverfly: Superb,  :rofl:
    June 15, 2018, 22:14:50
  • DarkButterfly: :smiley:
    June 15, 2018, 21:02:23
  • DarkButterfly: Need to get some electronics on this and see if it flies [link]
    June 15, 2018, 21:02:14
  • atomiclama: I used the solder ones [link] as I do't have a crimp tool and should be able to reuse the connector if required
    June 15, 2018, 14:50:33
  • VaNDAL_UK: Nice one. I'm gonna go for it. just looking for the SMA connectors with the crips as Ive had a few break at the root.
    June 15, 2018, 14:44:53
  • atomiclama: these are my first attempts, got better since then [link]
    June 15, 2018, 10:57:11
  • atomiclama: Yeah could've got mine cheaper but wanted it in reasonable time. Go for it, It's rewarding to see something you have made yourself.
    June 15, 2018, 10:54:38
  • VaNDAL_UK: atomiclama: I was pricing up the cable 0.08 copper wire and SMA connectors came out to about £15 and I could have made 5 meters worth of antennas!
    June 15, 2018, 10:31:48
  • hoverfly: Betaflight RC1...Interesting  if you go to the O.S.D  settings and then change the font  by lining up the icons in the correct precise order then hit  enter,...... It opens up the  O.C.D.  screen. :smiley:
    June 15, 2018, 09:01:13

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: FatShark Teleporter 4 - using with a PC  (Read 535 times)

Online Gavster29

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Liked: 45
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
FatShark Teleporter 4 - using with a PC
« on: March 08, 2018, 09:22:49 »
Hey folks  ::)

In my mission to become a better pilot I am fully intending to to get my time on the sim again!  I have DRL flightsim working with my QX7.

I really would like to get more FPV time and looking at a screen isn't quite the same so I was thinking about using the FatShark Teleporter V4 which I already have.

So I am after some experiences is it worth using the goggles on a sim?  I will need to adapt it from HDMI to Analogue I have seen a few cheap boxes to do that, again will it give me a decent enough image, given the screens are small in the goggles I doubt it will be much of an issue?

Has anyone done it, do you still do it?  I know the newer FatShark goggles have HDMI input to make it easier

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
  • Liked: 607
  • Country: gb
Re: FatShark Teleporter 4 - using with a PC
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2018, 21:02:15 »
This is what I have used to go from my win10 tablet to my Quanum v2 box goggles.
It takes hdmi in from my tablet, requires usb mini power, and outputs composite video and audio. It's s bit messy wires wise but works great. I haven't found a better solution.

Online Gavster29

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Liked: 45
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: FatShark Teleporter 4 - using with a PC
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2018, 21:09:44 »
Thanks Ched that is exactly what I was looking at!

I've ordered 1 and a DVI to hdmi so I can keep it plugged in, I also plan on using a voltage regulator and connector so I can plug the goggles in to mains power!

Looking forward to trying it, what's 5he picture like on it?

Sent from my TA-1033 using Tapatalk


Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
  • Liked: 607
  • Country: gb
Re: FatShark Teleporter 4 - using with a PC
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2018, 21:13:56 »
Picy is good. I was impressed considering it's only £10. Probably a better picture than when quad is flying behind trees etc..  :smiley:
It does the sound from the sim as well if you plug headphones into the audio sockets via an adapter.

Online Gavster29

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Liked: 45
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: FatShark Teleporter 4 - using with a PC
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2018, 22:57:23 »
Thanks Ched :)

All ordered plus I've been researching the QX7 a bit more, looking forward to practicing on the sim and the E011!

Sent from my TA-1033 using Tapatalk


Offline mitchell.atheis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
  • Liked: 29
  • Country: gb
Re: FatShark Teleporter 4 - using with a PC
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2018, 03:31:07 »
How do you plan on powering the headset as you said above?

Is it possible to do this through the computers USB port? Needs a 2S power output equivalent so that's 7V also would be nice to have the fan running as well which needs the same power supply again.

Would like to know this myself


Online Gavster29

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Liked: 45
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: FatShark Teleporter 4 - using with a PC
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2018, 08:10:29 »
How do you plan on powering the headset as you said above?

Is it possible to do this through the computers USB port? Needs a 2S power output equivalent so that's 7V also would be nice to have the fan running as well which needs the same power supply again.

Would like to know this myself

My plan is to use a 12v DC adaptor, similar to a laptop power supply, I will then use an DC-DC converter I will be using an LM2596 board which you can adjust the output voltage on, that will supply up to 3A, the FatSharks won't pull anywhere near that, the voltage will be set to 8v to mimic a charged 2S cell.

I wouldn't try and use the USB it won't put out enough current even if you use a DC-DC voltage step up to get the right voltage.


Offline daich

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Liked: 49
  • Country: gb
  • crash. build.
Re: FatShark Teleporter 4 - using with a PC
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2018, 12:50:57 »
I use the same converter connected to an old VTX

and then use this to connect my tx wirelessly (using a broken frsky beecore)

then I can fly anywhere in the house really :P

This is what I have used to go from my win10 tablet to my Quanum v2 box goggles.
It takes hdmi in from my tablet, requires usb mini power, and outputs composite video and audio. It's s bit messy wires wise but works great. I haven't found a better solution.

Online Gavster29

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Liked: 45
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: FatShark Teleporter 4 - using with a PC
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2018, 20:24:35 »
A bit of an update, a good haul from the postman today :D

DVI to HDMI cable, audio is supported through DVI on my PC

HDMI2AV adaptor this works great it's powered from usb port

4 pole AV Cable for the Fatshark V4s now all is not simple here, I'll explain.....

The Fatshark Teleporter V4 has an input for AV but in Fatshark's wisdom they made the input non-standard!  I picked up a £2 AV lead as I couldn't find a FatShark version and the out of stock were up at around £10!

So what did I do, FatShark instructions show which points on the 4 pole do what, so I cut it open and re-soldered all the wires back on in the correct order, a bit of heatshrink and voila it works!

Sent from my TA-1033 using Tapatalk