User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • hoverfly: Still have a couple of orange tipple batts still working,   mainly part time... ::)
    July 16, 2018, 16:42:16
  • Bad Raven: The difference being most will not deliver the power but wil not be trashed in trying!
    July 16, 2018, 16:12:57
  • Kellarly: hehe, nothing changes there then!
    July 16, 2018, 09:26:19
  • Bad Raven: Is the issue Turnigy or Turnigy Nano-Tech? I have found that mid-blue Turnigy tend to be low on their stated "C" discharge rating.
    July 16, 2018, 08:37:09
  • ched999uk: RaceDayQuads have some cheap but good batts out now. Josh B tested and stats say very good especially at price. HobbyRC have 1300mAh 4S just under £20. Not had luck with Turnigy lipos either!!
    July 15, 2018, 22:48:51
  • Reman: Just realised that I hadn't gone through my stored Li-Po's for about a month. I try to visually check them every Saturday, And prod the plugs with a multimeter about once a month. Todays seen 12 more bulging packs go out to the incinerator..... All but one was a bloody Turnigy! Part of me wan't to burn the rest now and just get a load more Tattu packs, But I've spent good money on these packs and wan't to at least get a little more use out of them. :(
    July 15, 2018, 19:54:53
  • Bad Raven: Pre MR's I used to buy a lot from J.Perkins. Their website showed all items and stock or due date, go to dealer and buy with confidence. Then they went all "lifestyle" and all the site had were pictures or people. I wasn't after people. I never bought again. Yes, you'd think they'd learn...........
    July 15, 2018, 17:51:40
  • ched999uk: Reman sounds like amazon search. I find it ok unitil you want to search by price then amazon falls apart.... You would think both companies would get it right...
    July 15, 2018, 16:54:55
  • Reman: It's strange. The original setup they had about 5 or 6 years back wasn't too bad (Except for them occasionally getting accounts hacked), But they changed it to the last one that was clunky and slow, Now they've replaced that with a flashier one that's also clunky and slow ?!?!?! Most companies learn from what they do wrong. I don't buy from HK half as much as I used to, Mainly because it takes forever to trawl through 100 pages of totally unrelated stuff while looking for something you were thinking about getting when you saw it there the previous week !!!
    July 15, 2018, 16:27:21
  • hoverfly: I don't think there is a search button on H/King. They updated the site and forgot to  relabel the search button with  Random bo##ocks..
    July 15, 2018, 09:47:35
  • Bad Raven: Agree - The Search is abysmal!!
    July 15, 2018, 08:40:52
  • Reman: I see HobbyKing's revamped their site again...... Shame they haven't made the search function work any better, Or worked out why the whole site goes slower than a pensioner in a Nissan Micra. :)
    July 15, 2018, 08:28:14
  • Reman: How thick is Google? You buy something online, Then for the next week you get targeted adds for the item you've just got?!?! That's the one item you're NOT going to be buying again at that point so it's wasted effort of there part. :)
    July 14, 2018, 08:50:51
  • DarkButterfly: ~~
    July 13, 2018, 23:56:20
  • Kellarly: as does my ability not to realise what i've already typed
    July 13, 2018, 22:25:42
  • Kellarly: Wahooo, my whoop now lives!
    July 13, 2018, 22:25:19
  • Kellarly: yay, the whoop lives!!!
    July 13, 2018, 22:18:43
  • DarkButterfly: Had to replace the battery connector
    July 12, 2018, 10:57:47
  • Kellarly: good work! what was up with it?
    July 12, 2018, 10:39:33
  • DarkButterfly: Fixed my tiny6
    July 12, 2018, 10:23:59

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: XM+ RSSI HELP  (Read 5124 times)

Offline Trimitsos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Liked: 10
  • Country: gr
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
XM+ RSSI HELP
« on: March 18, 2017, 00:08:20 »
I';ve just replaced my XSR receiver with an XM+ But I am having some hard time with the RSSI signal...

I have seen a video on how to use the RSSI on the 16th channel.


But since I do not have an OSD, I can not utilize this function as the video says.
Is there a way to use this 16th channel RSSI input on my Taranis and display values of it or get alarms?

I hope I am explaining this well...

p.s.
After following the above video';s steps (CLI inputs etc), I am to the point where I get RSSI valued on AUX12 through Channgel 16.

Offline Trimitsos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Liked: 10
  • Country: gr
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2017, 10:38:30 »
I think it is more of a taranis setup issue. Since I get the %value in cleanflight
 on the receiver tab
« Last Edit: March 18, 2017, 10:53:14 by Trimitsos »

Offline Hozza

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
  • Liked: 274
  • Country: gb
  • Meh!
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2017, 13:49:51 »
The XM+ doesn';t send back RSSI as there isn';t any telemetry output from it, so you need a OSD to be able to see the RSSI valve from your FC


Offline Trimitsos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Liked: 10
  • Country: gr
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2017, 19:48:31 »
So I have the v1.3 Red Rotor OSD and I see an input pin "RSSI"
Do I connect directly from the F.C. RSSI pin?

I have a Lumenier Lux
[attachimg=1]
 [ Invalid Attachment ]

Offline Trimitsos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Liked: 10
  • Country: gr
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2017, 09:35:59 »
When I connected the RSSI pin from the receiver to the RROSD, I just stopped receiving RSSI info on Cleanflight.
Then on My OSD I get the following value that does not change at all: " 7%5% "

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4740
  • Liked: 1239
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2017, 10:34:29 »
I believe both of those pads are input mate, they both expect to reciever a signal, not put one out.

The way (frsky) RSSI works tradionally:

The radio sends its signals to the reciever. The reciever works out the RSSI. the reciever sends the RSSI value back to the radio.

In taranis:
-you can put the RSSI in screen,
-you canset something like a momentary switch to audibly tell you the RSSI,
-you can set up logical switches to trigger an audible alarm
- you can put the RSSI in a channel which will send it back up through the reciever to the flight controller or, if you can break out that channel from the reciever, to something like your rrosd, either the fc or the osd can put the value on screen (assuming the fc can talk to an osd)

The xm+ works differently I believe
Instead of passing the RSSI back to the taranis it inserts the value in one of the channels directly, this is then passed to the flight controller. If the fc has the ability to pass data to an osd such as a minim or a bf/cf osd then it will display

If you want RSSI on screen with an xm+ that is how you do it.

You may be able to do something clever like set up servos, use the RSSI channel as the signal for the servo and connecting the servo pad to the RSSI on you rrosd but that is just a SWAG, it may well not work due to things like inversion or logical constraintts

Offline Hozza

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
  • Liked: 274
  • Country: gb
  • Meh!
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2017, 11:03:06 »
https://www.reddit.com/r/Multicopter/comments/4pv4zz/how_do_you_get_rssi_from_the_x4rsb_rrosd/

Different Rx but they say about calibrating RROSD for an RSSI signal, plus you probably don';t need to go via CF just straight off the RSSI pad on the XM+ to the RROSD.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4740
  • Liked: 1239
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2017, 11:33:45 »
https://www.reddit.com/r/Multicopter/comments/4pv4zz/how_do_you_get_rssi_from_the_x4rsb_rrosd/

Different Rx but they say about calibrating RROSD for an RSSI signal, plus you probably don';t need to go via CF just straight off the RSSI pad on the XM+ to the RROSD.
the problem he is encountering mate is the lack of an RSSI pad on the xm+ as far as I am aware

Offline Hozza

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
  • Liked: 274
  • Country: gb
  • Meh!
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2017, 12:57:06 »
the problem he is encountering mate is the lack of an RSSI pad on the xm+ as far as I am aware

Oops may of missed that :-/ It has an RSSI pad, which I';m hoping works as my current build is going to be using a XM+ with a HUBOSD ECO X, RSSI pad to RSSI pad :crossfingers:


Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4740
  • Liked: 1239
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2017, 13:31:30 »
Good catch, that should do it

Trimitsos you would need to connect the RSSI pad on the xm+ to the RSSI pad on your rrosd

Offline Trimitsos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Liked: 10
  • Country: gr
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #10 on: March 19, 2017, 20:15:05 »
Thanks for the answers everyone.

About calibrations it is described correctly in the above link. I knew the procedure from a video I have seen.
as a note, the video also said that the RSSI pad is analogue input on the RROSD.

I tried connecting from the XM+ pad directly to the RROSD pad.
1) the pad is tiny tiny tiny.
2) when connected on screen I would see a "7%5%" value that would not change at all!
3) At the same time in cleanflight it stopped showing anything
4) In the end after moving the cable it stripped off the tiny pad from the receiver!!! :banghead: and actually destroyed it.
5) after stripping the signal pad, the indication returned to cleanflight....

I gues I wasn';t lucky enough!

Offline Trimitsos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Liked: 10
  • Country: gr
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #11 on: March 19, 2017, 20:21:33 »
The xm+ works differently I believe
Instead of passing the RSSI back to the taranis it inserts the value in one of the channels directly, this is then passed to the flight controller. If the fc has the ability to pass data to an osd such as a minim or a bf/cf osd then it will display

Currently my XM+ sends the signal to my Lumenier Lux FC through channel 16.
Is there a way to output this signal from the lux and insert it in the RROSD, in order to display it?


Offline DarkButterfly

  • Wings in the sky
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1847
  • Liked: 1128
  • Country: gb
  • Got the Hexfactor
    • My blog
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #12 on: March 20, 2017, 00:14:26 »
Just got RRSI to work with my FC using CH16 of the XM+, exactly the same procedure as in the video. ~~
Why use 4 motors when you can use 6?

YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/RobR386

Offline Trimitsos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Liked: 10
  • Country: gr
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #13 on: March 20, 2017, 06:50:48 »
Just got RRSI to work with my FC using CH16 of the XM+, exactly the same procedure as in the video. ~~

Could you explain how you see your RSSI signal on your goggles?
What did you connect and where?

Offline DarkButterfly

  • Wings in the sky
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1847
  • Liked: 1128
  • Country: gb
  • Got the Hexfactor
    • My blog
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2017, 07:31:54 »
Could you explain how you see your RSSI signal on your goggles?
What did you connect and where?


My FC has an OSD built in, it does have an RSS! pad, but I didn';t need to use it, using the procedure in the video, I got it working through CH16 on the SBUS without having to solder anything, verified it working in betaflight, then enabled it on my OSD using its menu through the goggles.
Why use 4 motors when you can use 6?

YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/RobR386

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4740
  • Liked: 1239
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #15 on: March 20, 2017, 08:30:06 »
Could you explain how you see your RSSI signal on your goggles?
What did you connect and where?
OSDs like the betaflight/cleanflight OSDs or minims talk to the flight controller, that is how db and most people do it, but that won';t work with an rrosd.

The only possible way you may get it to work if you have burned the Rx pad would be to output channel 16 on the fc to a pad by telling the fc it is a servo, then connecting that pad to the rrosd RSSI pad but there are many reasons why that may not work

Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3256
  • Liked: 1030
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #16 on: March 20, 2017, 09:28:54 »
AFAIK the only reason to connect the RSSI to the FC is so that the info gets logged in blackbox. Personally I';d run the wire from the RX pad shown is Hozza';s post to the RSSI pad on the RROSD. That way you';ll get in on your screen. You can still use ch16 so that you can set an audible warning on the Taranis.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4740
  • Liked: 1239
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #17 on: March 20, 2017, 10:37:04 »
That was what he tried mate, he has burned the Rx pad

Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3256
  • Liked: 1030
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #18 on: March 20, 2017, 11:13:16 »
That was what he tried mate, he has burned the Rx pad

Ah sorry I obviously wasn';t reading with my eyes open.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4740
  • Liked: 1239
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #19 on: March 20, 2017, 11:16:29 »
Take your fatsharks off ;)

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4740
  • Liked: 1239
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #20 on: March 20, 2017, 11:18:45 »
Trimitsos
Easiest thing to do would be rip out the rrosd, replace with a matek one with 12v and 5v regs and use a minim, either a micro minim or a piggy osd

Offline Trimitsos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Liked: 10
  • Country: gr
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #21 on: March 20, 2017, 11:37:49 »
.....would be to output channel 16 on the fc to a pad by telling the fc it is a servo, then connecting that pad to the rrosd RSSI pad but there are many reasons why that may not work

How do I do this? How do I tell the FC that one output is a servo?

So lets hope I do not need a digital to analogue converter, right?
Eventhough as I said RROSD has an analogue input!


p.s.
I do have this OSD
http://www.banggood.com/5V-OSD-Board-Module-for-Foxeer-HS1177-HS1190-Camera-p-1097720.html?rmmds=search
but don';t know how to set it up.... any video suggestions on how to setup and configure?
« Last Edit: March 20, 2017, 11:43:39 by Trimitsos »

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4740
  • Liked: 1239
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: XM+ RSSI HELP
« Reply #22 on: March 20, 2017, 11:50:52 »
That would do it
Believe that is a banggood clone of a piggy, assuming it is...

Guides to piggys: