User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Hozza: yeah all good thanks
    Today at 05:12:48
  • Gav: hi hoz ok thank you. u ok.
    June 27, 2017, 21:58:39
  • Hozza: Hey Gav hows it going?
    June 27, 2017, 21:39:18
  • Gav: Hello from Germany
    June 27, 2017, 21:20:31
  • Bad Raven: Wasn't a dog, cat in drag, 1 life gone, eight left....
    June 27, 2017, 12:59:16
  • shawdreamer: tell that to the dog :laugh:
    June 27, 2017, 12:37:54
  • JeremyE: The surface is constantly changing and you have way less time to react.
    June 27, 2017, 10:55:22
  • JeremyE: F1 requires way more skill!
    June 27, 2017, 10:54:31
  • ched999uk: Rally is great to watch and they display amazing control and skill. The problem for me is only seeing very limited clips of cars and it's a tie trial only. OK so the surface changes and they don't get to try the track before it matters. I like to see F1 drivers overtaking, OK so before anyone says what overtake in F1, it is getting better :)
    June 27, 2017, 10:35:24
  • shawdreamer: dont mean to take anything away from F1 drivers but when they race they rely on the road surface being dependably and consistently the same everytime..... a rally driver has to has to adjust his technique on every single turn and bend and take account that everytime another vehicle go's through that turn and bend ahead of his it changes the nature of the surface, F1 drivers are skilled, Rally drivers are skilled and brave..... and more than a little nuts
    June 27, 2017, 06:27:19
  • Hozza: BTCC is a good one to watch also, after all rubbing is racing
    June 26, 2017, 15:24:51
  • ched999uk: true
    June 26, 2017, 10:31:03
  • shawdreamer: "once ina while" is all very good with F1 but you watch a rally and everytime its a spectacle.
    June 26, 2017, 09:10:35
  • ched999uk: I assume you missed the F1 today. It was ore like rally cross!!!
    June 25, 2017, 23:45:50
  • shawdreamer: thats why Rally motorsport is the only motorsport ill even entertain anymore, those guys display almost inhuman skill levels everytime the go out, compared to driving round and round a flat tarmaced race track in a F1 is just a piece of pi55
    June 25, 2017, 19:27:05
  • DarrellW: Yep I thought the X5 was pretty amazing, overall really good.
    June 25, 2017, 16:54:12
  • hoverfly: Best I've seen for ages,  :smiley:
    June 25, 2017, 16:09:30
  • DarkButterfly: that dog at the beginning and the X5 at the end, epic wins ~~
    June 25, 2017, 14:54:27
  • DarrellW: Some really lucky escapes here ::) 
    June 25, 2017, 10:27:43
  • Hozza: Squalor is at large in tidy suburbia
    June 24, 2017, 18:43:25

MultiRotorUK Test

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:


Author Topic: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx  (Read 563 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline baines17

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 15
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« on: January 10, 2017, 13:44:23 »
Hi,

After a crash resulting in a broken vtx, I decided to buy a new one. After getting help of which one to use I ended up buying one which doesn't fit my lead.

The image below shows the new one on the right and the old on the left. The new one won't fit on my cable, is there any way of making this work without soldering? Do I have to take it back or could I get a connector?



Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 262
  • Posts: 3343
  • Liked: 640
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2017, 13:52:27 »
No way to fix without soldering, all the vtx come with their own leads

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline iRobot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 12
  • -Receive: 16
  • Posts: 692
  • Liked: 420
  • Country: gb
  • Leftover parts are just proof you made it better..
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2017, 14:07:55 »
is there any way of making this work without soldering? Do I have to take it back or could I get a connector?

Did you get the correct connector with the new vtx? (you should have  :smiley:)

Quite sure the only way is to solder the new connector to power supply, and cam.

If you did take it back, you'd have to just get a like for like vtx, to do a straight forward plug in and play!

Don't be afraid of soldering  :laugh:

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline iRobot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 12
  • -Receive: 16
  • Posts: 692
  • Liked: 420
  • Country: gb
  • Leftover parts are just proof you made it better..
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2017, 14:09:17 »
No way to fix without soldering, all the vtx come with their own leads

You beat me to it  :laugh:

Your right!

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 130
  • -Receive: 181
  • Posts: 3238
  • Liked: 1034
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2017, 14:11:55 »
Looks like a Luminier VTX. It's a good VTX and a good connector, mine is 14 months old and going strong. But you'll have to do a little cable splicing or soldering. Nothing unusual there :smiley:

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline baines17

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 15
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2017, 14:33:19 »
Could I try and take of this connector and attach it to my original so it fits?

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 262
  • Posts: 3343
  • Liked: 640
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2017, 14:41:58 »
Technically, if the crimps between the two adaptors are the same you can lift the white tabs on the adaptors and remove the wires then do the same to the other set of wires and switch the adaptor over

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline baines17

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 15
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2017, 15:43:18 »
okay thanks ill take a look. Is there any videos you could share with me that show how to solder it together?

thanks


Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 130
  • -Receive: 181
  • Posts: 3238
  • Liked: 1034
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2017, 16:05:29 »
I'd be inclined to use the new wiring and it's silicone and your old wiring is plastic coated. Far more durable.

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline baines17

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 15
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2017, 22:00:35 »
Hi , thanks for all the information.

I was wondering if this method could work. Would i be able to cut the existing wires and attach the new wires to the existing so the connector will fit the vtx.

See below images of existing wires and the new one. Would i only need to keep the red, black and yellow on the new wires as thats the only ones i have on the existing. I have attached the diagrams that show what the cables are.









Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 262
  • Posts: 3343
  • Liked: 640
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2017, 22:45:59 »
And how do you attach the two sets of wires? This is tradionally a soldering job

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline baines17

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 15
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2017, 00:04:44 »
Hi,

My Dad is an electrician and he used these metal clios (think there called crimps) that connect wires together. Would you be able to tell me if i've got the right wires as in do i cut the two red ones completely off (image 3) and leave the yellow black and red and then attach them to the yellow balcjk and red existing ones?
« Last Edit: January 11, 2017, 00:07:45 by baines17 »

Offline iRobot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 12
  • -Receive: 16
  • Posts: 692
  • Liked: 420
  • Country: gb
  • Leftover parts are just proof you made it better..
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2017, 13:26:58 »
Get it soldered you wuss lol

Wire crimps = crap connection  :laugh: and you want a good camera/power wiring connection for FPV !

Crimps are only good for wiring car sound systems and tow bar elecy hookups  :laugh:

Offline baines17

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 15
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2017, 16:02:47 »
Hi,

Ahah I would but I've never tried it and it's extra money as I need to buy a soldering kit! How hard is it, don't want to mess it up!

Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 130
  • -Receive: 181
  • Posts: 3238
  • Liked: 1034
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2017, 16:28:51 »
Hi,

Ahah I would but I've never tried it and it's extra money as I need to buy a soldering kit! How hard is it, don't want to mess it up!

Soldering isn't that tricky and you can't really get away from it if you're building/modifying quads. Just don't go too cheap, you need a fair bit of power and ideally temperature control. Also solder quality varies quite a bit. I've been using the following..

http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/60w-mains-lcd-solder-station-a55kj (got it on sale at Maplin for £40, plus they're on eBay now for about £50)

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Silverline-AS15-Solder-100g-/252409457280?_trksid=p2141725.m3641.l6368

Offline Dougal1957

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 41
  • Posts: 673
  • Liked: 148
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2017, 16:33:38 »
To add to Revs comments just do not get any lead free solder it will just end in tears unless you have done a lot of soldering you definitely want 60/40 leaded solder for best results also don't forget some heatshrink tubing to cover up those joints

Doug

Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 130
  • -Receive: 181
  • Posts: 3238
  • Liked: 1034
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #16 on: January 11, 2017, 16:51:42 »
I've just got some 63/37 solder to try, I read it cools more evenly resulting in a better, shinier joint. But I can't confirm that yet. Will report back soon :smiley:

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 262
  • Posts: 3343
  • Liked: 640
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #17 on: January 11, 2017, 21:10:34 »
Probably be worth checking the member map to see if there is anyone near you, whilst I agree with the others that soldering isn't hard and is pretty much mandatory, I can understand it being intimidating and the upfront cost is huge just to get two wires tacked together, if you are close to someone they may a) do it for you and b) show you how

Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 130
  • -Receive: 181
  • Posts: 3238
  • Liked: 1034
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
    • View Profile
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #18 on: January 11, 2017, 21:41:36 »
That's a fair point, it's a big outlay for one job. TBH a cheap low power soldering iron (<£10) is fine for this kind of work. It's just that it'll struggle like hell to do anything that draws the heat away quickly, like ESC pads and PDB's. Small stuff, flight controllers, etc, no props with the cheap one.

Or as suggested, let us know where you are and someone could help.