User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • hoverfly: you been watching... :embarrassed
    December 15, 2017, 14:16:18
  • VaNDAL_UK: grab ya TX and pretend to be flying it
    December 15, 2017, 11:22:49
  • hoverfly: Sitting looking out the window watching  a Redkite  being mobbed by a couple of crows.   3d handbrake corners , and a  visible contempt for gravity  .So not a bad morning so far.. :smiley: :smiley:
    December 15, 2017, 10:29:36
  • Icefever: At last the TX is talking to the FC...now I can get on with sorting out the next part
    December 14, 2017, 15:40:20
  • Icefever: Bad R...I have matey here..[link].
    December 12, 2017, 15:30:28
  • Bad Raven: IF/A7, a summary thread would enable more people to look and comment, its too big here!
    December 12, 2017, 07:05:40
  • Icefever: I've set the failsafe in the TX setting that's all..there's no connection between the TX and quad. at all..
    December 12, 2017, 03:40:10
  • Icefever: Andy..I've only messed with the failsafe one...but not in Beta.
    December 12, 2017, 03:38:04
  • Andy7: Ice: Is it just that it's not arming? Have you set the switch settings in betaflight?
    December 11, 2017, 21:24:23
  • Two-Six: Fixed it yet Ice?
    December 11, 2017, 15:04:23
  • hoverfly: ffs.. :rofl: :rofl:
    December 11, 2017, 14:51:15
  • Bad Raven: No, a nun falling down stairs...............
    December 11, 2017, 14:01:01
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    December 11, 2017, 12:27:30
  • hoverfly: you are probably on a zebra crossing. ::)
    December 11, 2017, 09:49:42
  • Bad Raven: Everything went white, black, white, and is now mostly black again.............
    December 10, 2017, 16:55:37
  • hoverfly: everything has gone white. :shrug:
    December 10, 2017, 12:21:29
  • Icefever: Hi Andy I have a prob with the Tx.  it's bound to the rx but when I try the either gimbel nothing happens....I have a green led on the rx..when connected to beta I can run up the motors but nothing else??help
    December 10, 2017, 09:23:12
  • Andy7: Perfect day to have shaved off the beard.... :(
    December 10, 2017, 09:17:17
  • Saleem: Just dont do it facing the wind
    December 09, 2017, 19:36:25
  • hoverfly: AGHHH  yellow snow warning  :laugh:
    December 09, 2017, 18:49:57

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx  (Read 729 times)

Offline baines17

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« on: January 10, 2017, 13:44:23 »
Hi,

After a crash resulting in a broken vtx, I decided to buy a new one. After getting help of which one to use I ended up buying one which doesn';t fit my lead.

The image below shows the new one on the right and the old on the left. The new one won';t fit on my cable, is there any way of making this work without soldering? Do I have to take it back or could I get a connector?

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3997
  • Liked: 889
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2017, 13:52:27 »
No way to fix without soldering, all the vtx come with their own leads

Offline iRobot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 868
  • Liked: 576
  • Country: gb
  • Leftover parts are just proof you made it better..
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2017, 14:07:55 »
is there any way of making this work without soldering? Do I have to take it back or could I get a connector?

Did you get the correct connector with the new vtx? (you should have  :smiley:)

Quite sure the only way is to solder the new connector to power supply, and cam.

If you did take it back, you';d have to just get a like for like vtx, to do a straight forward plug in and play!

Don';t be afraid of soldering  :laugh:


Offline iRobot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 868
  • Liked: 576
  • Country: gb
  • Leftover parts are just proof you made it better..
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2017, 14:09:17 »
No way to fix without soldering, all the vtx come with their own leads

You beat me to it  :laugh:

Your right!

Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3256
  • Liked: 1028
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2017, 14:11:55 »
Looks like a Luminier VTX. It';s a good VTX and a good connector, mine is 14 months old and going strong. But you';ll have to do a little cable splicing or soldering. Nothing unusual there :smiley:

Offline baines17

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2017, 14:33:19 »
Could I try and take of this connector and attach it to my original so it fits?

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3997
  • Liked: 889
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2017, 14:41:58 »
Technically, if the crimps between the two adaptors are the same you can lift the white tabs on the adaptors and remove the wires then do the same to the other set of wires and switch the adaptor over

Offline baines17

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2017, 15:43:18 »
okay thanks ill take a look. Is there any videos you could share with me that show how to solder it together?

thanks


Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3256
  • Liked: 1028
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2017, 16:05:29 »
I';d be inclined to use the new wiring and it';s silicone and your old wiring is plastic coated. Far more durable.

Offline baines17

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2017, 22:00:35 »
Hi , thanks for all the information.

I was wondering if this method could work. Would i be able to cut the existing wires and attach the new wires to the existing so the connector will fit the vtx.

See below images of existing wires and the new one. Would i only need to keep the red, black and yellow on the new wires as thats the only ones i have on the existing. I have attached the diagrams that show what the cables are.









Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3997
  • Liked: 889
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2017, 22:45:59 »
And how do you attach the two sets of wires? This is tradionally a soldering job

Offline baines17

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2017, 00:04:44 »
Hi,

My Dad is an electrician and he used these metal clios (think there called crimps) that connect wires together. Would you be able to tell me if i';ve got the right wires as in do i cut the two red ones completely off (image 3) and leave the yellow black and red and then attach them to the yellow balcjk and red existing ones?
« Last Edit: January 11, 2017, 00:07:45 by baines17 »

Offline iRobot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 868
  • Liked: 576
  • Country: gb
  • Leftover parts are just proof you made it better..
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2017, 13:26:58 »
Get it soldered you wuss lol

Wire crimps = crap connection  :laugh: and you want a good camera/power wiring connection for FPV !

Crimps are only good for wiring car sound systems and tow bar elecy hookups  :laugh:

Offline baines17

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2017, 16:02:47 »
Hi,

Ahah I would but I';ve never tried it and it';s extra money as I need to buy a soldering kit! How hard is it, don';t want to mess it up!

Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3256
  • Liked: 1028
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2017, 16:28:51 »

Offline Doug

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 678
  • Liked: 143
  • Country: gb
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2017, 16:33:38 »
To add to Revs comments just do not get any lead free solder it will just end in tears unless you have done a lot of soldering you definitely want 60/40 leaded solder for best results also don';t forget some heatshrink tubing to cover up those joints

Doug

Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3256
  • Liked: 1028
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #16 on: January 11, 2017, 16:51:42 »
I';ve just got some 63/37 solder to try, I read it cools more evenly resulting in a better, shinier joint. But I can';t confirm that yet. Will report back soon :smiley:

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3997
  • Liked: 889
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #17 on: January 11, 2017, 21:10:34 »
Probably be worth checking the member map to see if there is anyone near you, whilst I agree with the others that soldering isn';t hard and is pretty much mandatory, I can understand it being intimidating and the upfront cost is huge just to get two wires tacked together, if you are close to someone they may a) do it for you and b) show you how

Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3256
  • Liked: 1028
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
Re: VTX lead doesn't fit my new vtx
« Reply #18 on: January 11, 2017, 21:41:36 »