User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Icefever: Bad R...I have matey here..[link].
    December 12, 2017, 15:30:28
  • Bad Raven: IF/A7, a summary thread would enable more people to look and comment, its too big here!
    December 12, 2017, 07:05:40
  • Icefever: I've set the failsafe in the TX setting that's all..there's no connection between the TX and quad. at all..
    December 12, 2017, 03:40:10
  • Icefever: Andy..I've only messed with the failsafe one...but not in Beta.
    December 12, 2017, 03:38:04
  • Andy7: Ice: Is it just that it's not arming? Have you set the switch settings in betaflight?
    December 11, 2017, 21:24:23
  • Two-Six: Fixed it yet Ice?
    December 11, 2017, 15:04:23
  • hoverfly: ffs.. :rofl: :rofl:
    December 11, 2017, 14:51:15
  • Bad Raven: No, a nun falling down stairs...............
    December 11, 2017, 14:01:01
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    December 11, 2017, 12:27:30
  • hoverfly: you are probably on a zebra crossing. ::)
    December 11, 2017, 09:49:42
  • Bad Raven: Everything went white, black, white, and is now mostly black again.............
    December 10, 2017, 16:55:37
  • hoverfly: everything has gone white. :shrug:
    December 10, 2017, 12:21:29
  • Icefever: Hi Andy I have a prob with the Tx.  it's bound to the rx but when I try the either gimbel nothing happens....I have a green led on the rx..when connected to beta I can run up the motors but nothing else??help
    December 10, 2017, 09:23:12
  • Andy7: Perfect day to have shaved off the beard.... :(
    December 10, 2017, 09:17:17
  • Saleem: Just dont do it facing the wind
    December 09, 2017, 19:36:25
  • hoverfly: AGHHH  yellow snow warning  :laugh:
    December 09, 2017, 18:49:57
  • Bajadre: sounds a fair price mate
    December 08, 2017, 16:47:54
  • VaNDAL_UK: What would a Walkera 250 PRO with FatShark Predator v2's be worth? I was thinking £250 ish?!
    December 08, 2017, 16:13:15
  • atomiclama: found it
    December 08, 2017, 14:32:26
  • atomiclama: Ah nuts how do I get to my book marks on this site???
    December 08, 2017, 14:28:31

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: 210 build list - any problems?  (Read 676 times)

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2005
  • Liked: 487
  • Country: gb
210 build list - any problems?
« on: June 25, 2017, 13:54:59 »

Offline TheJackal

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Liked: 8
  • Country: gb
  • New to quads
Re: 210 build list - any problems?
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2017, 16:04:36 »
I';m in the process of putting together an X210 V+ and I am wondering if you will have room to fit the Split ontop of the 4in1 and FC with a receiver and vtx in there too.
As you can see in my pic the camera mount sits over the front edge of the 2 layer stack.
Might be worth going with a longer body frame?<br /><br />
I';m only a noob with my first build so I may be mistaken. I just know how tight mine is with just a receiver and vtx to go in there.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2005
  • Liked: 487
  • Country: gb
Re: 210 build list - any problems?
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2017, 16:09:38 »
I';m in the process of putting together an X210 V+ and I am wondering if you will have room to fit the Split ontop of the 4in1 and FC with a receiver and vtx in there too.
As you can see in my pic the camera mount sits over the front edge of the 2 layer stack.
Might be worth going with a longer body frame?<br /><br />
I';m only a noob with my first build so I may be mistaken. I just know how tight mine is with just a receiver and vtx to go in there.
Just noticed the stack height might be an issue. Looking at a Martian 3 frame as camera mount doesn';t seem issue plus dont need the go pro mount on x210. Only problem is Martian 3 is a little heavier and not true X not that I will notice that anyway. On the plus the Martian is cheaper!!
I have been watching your build, looking nice.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2005
  • Liked: 487
  • Country: gb
Re: 210 build list - any problems?
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2017, 19:20:29 »
I';m in the process of putting together an X210 V+ and I am wondering if you will have room to fit the Split ontop of the 4in1 and FC with a receiver and vtx in there too.
As you can see in my pic the camera mount sits over the front edge of the 2 layer stack.
Might be worth going with a longer body frame?<br /><br />
I';m only a noob with my first build so I may be mistaken. I just know how tight mine is with just a receiver and vtx to go in there.
Forget to say the x210 Pro has 35mm standoffs and obviously appropriate camera brackets. You can buy these parts of AliExpress if the extra 5mm would help?

Offline Hozza

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 792
  • Liked: 248
  • Country: gb
    • Fun, Run and Gun
Re: 210 build list - any problems?
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2017, 19:28:38 »
Well if your having 30a esc';s and pushing 5040 triples you can definitely look at 2600kv motors, also be careful of the BG Omnibus FC a couple of mates I know have had failures after several flights, I';m growing fond of the DYS F4 FC thats only a few quid more.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2005
  • Liked: 487
  • Country: gb
Re: 210 build list - any problems?
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2017, 19:39:18 »
Well if your having 30a esc';s and pushing 5040 triples you can definitely look at 2600kv motors, also be careful of the BG Omnibus FC a couple of mates I know have had failures after several flights, I';m growing fond of the DYS F4 FC thats only a few quid more.
Thanks for that. The DYS F4 has separate pads for each esc so not ideal for a 4 in 1. The Omnibus does have issues which vary across versions but I am aware of the 5v issue (hence 4 in 1 with 5v 3a) and turning dma off on blackbox sd card (only 1khz sample in non dma). Problem is that it ticks all the bells and whistles I like  ::) If it fails I can probably get budget to replace  ::)

The motors I have been thinking that the 2300kv would be better with the heavier props and I was thinking that the 2600kv were better for 4 inch props. What do you think?

I was thinking of starting with 5040 triples and then going 5045 triples whick kv do you think I should use.

The 30A esc were more a case of looking at bench tests the RacerStar 2205 2300kv can pull towards 35A. So even reducing amps by 25% to represent flight is about 26A. So I was concerned that 20A esc might not survive. Plus I can';t find cheap 20a esc with 5v regulator and they seem to weigh the same as the 30A ones.

Thanks very much for your reply. I would be interested in your thoughts on motor kv.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3993
  • Liked: 888
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: 210 build list - any problems?
« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2017, 20:48:23 »
My thoughts: I would trade the all in one escs for 4xspedix, price will be about the same, but more room in the stack, no issues with motor wire length and most importantly if you kill one you don';t replace all 4

Racerstar motors are just mah mate :(
Performance was average when they came out, against the modern stuff it is pretty pants. Appreciate the price is attractive but get better if you possibly do it, it isn';t just about top speed but agility and speed of reaction to fc commands,

Kk props are also naff tbh :(

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2005
  • Liked: 487
  • Country: gb
Re: 210 build list - any problems?
« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2017, 21:06:37 »
My thoughts: I would trade the all in one escs for 4xspedix, price will be about the same, but more room in the stack, no issues with motor wire length and most importantly if you kill one you don';t replace all 4

Racerstar motors are just mah mate :(
Performance was average when they came out, against the modern stuff it is pretty pants. Appreciate the price is attractive but get better if you possibly do it, it isn';t just about top speed but agility and speed of reaction to fc commands,

Kk props are also naff tbh :(
Cheers for the reply.
I was thinking of the spedix as you had previously recommended them to others. I can see the point of single failure vs replace whole 4 in 1. But still means I have to find space for 5V BEC and not as neat!!! I will think.
Motors, yes not great but give me future room for improvements  ::) Usually easier to get more budget to replace broken components down the line  :smiley:.

Props, well looking for something robust and nothing too powerful, trying to keep it a bit slow to start. Any suggestions?
Thanks

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3993
  • Liked: 888
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: 210 build list - any problems?
« Reply #8 on: June 25, 2017, 21:26:03 »
Some suggestions on motors mate:

Cobra champion 2205 2300kv

Brother hobby returner r5 are coming out, r4 are brilliant and may get a price drop

Zmx fusion x25 2300kv


Prop wise would probably suggest hq 5x4x3 v1s

Robust, lacks  top end against a heavier prop but flies superbly smooth and very forgiving on the pilot

Offline TheJackal

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Liked: 8
  • Country: gb
  • New to quads
Re: 210 build list - any problems?
« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2017, 01:25:50 »

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2005
  • Liked: 487
  • Country: gb
Re: 210 build list - any problems?
« Reply #10 on: June 26, 2017, 10:31:43 »
« Last Edit: June 26, 2017, 10:42:36 by ched999uk »

Offline TheJackal

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Liked: 8
  • Country: gb
  • New to quads
Re: 210 build list - any problems?
« Reply #11 on: June 26, 2017, 13:55:07 »
I think the Matek provides a 3A 5v anyway and all you do is disable DMA on the SDCard to sort that problem.
A lot of people are using them and there is a lot of info and interaction from Matek with them, so they will be well supported.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2005
  • Liked: 487
  • Country: gb
Re: 210 build list - any problems?
« Reply #12 on: June 26, 2017, 13:58:04 »
I think the Matek provides a 3A 5v anyway and all you do is disable DMA on the SDCard to sort that problem.
A lot of people are using them and there is a lot of info and interaction from Matek with them, so they will be well supported.
Cheers.
Matek state 5v @ 1.5A 2A max.

Offline TheJackal

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Liked: 8
  • Country: gb
  • New to quads
Re: 210 build list - any problems?
« Reply #13 on: June 26, 2017, 15:02:12 »
The reviews say the split needs a 5v/1A supply.
But they do say the Betaflight F3 provides 5v/3A if you want to make sure.
I cant see you squeezing a BEC in there as well.