User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Multi Rotor UK Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • hoverfly: I dont need one, I want one . then i can build a hex. ::)
    Today at 16:41:41
  • hoverfly: strange smell, DJI have reduced the A2  f/c too £459,half price. the WooPong is still £691...The A3 is £829.. Confused  or what.. :shrug:
    Today at 16:40:37
  • kilby: At least you arent using the Naze Rev 6 (aka timecops revenge)
    Today at 16:37:45
  • nub: can't believe this thing aint working like
    Today at 16:28:34
  • nub: kk2 ewwwww ;) :laugh:
    Today at 16:07:13
  • DarkButterfly: I'm still using rev 5 Naze32 and KK2 boards :laugh:
    Today at 15:59:40
  • nub: aye should last a wee while, i'm still using a naze32 rev ::) :laugh:
    Today at 15:48:00
  • nub: fs picture sorted now an intermittent ESC error wtf
    Today at 15:47:20
  • kilby: I but the bullet and bought a SPRacing Evo, that way I don't have to think about what they do with cleanflight/betaflight for a decent length of time
    Today at 14:11:11
  • nub: ach nps, looks like i'm cooking with gas just needing some nicer weather now
    Today at 12:55:53
  • kilby: Without you pointing out something iI missed in that video I wouldn't have bothered trying tough
    Today at 10:10:56
  • nub: nice1 good to hear you got them sorted oot ::)
    Today at 00:31:42
  • kilby: @Nub Thanks BTW the esc's are now updated to the current BIHeli sd I had convinced myself that I would probably have an early version with no bootloader
    June 29, 2016, 22:10:25
  • nub: aye spotted the upload last week, :hmm: what FC to choose quite a few out nowadays
    June 29, 2016, 21:42:17
  • Yellow: Did anyone see Jab1a's video with Nissan? [link]
    June 29, 2016, 21:19:44
  • kilby: Now I still have to decide on a new flight controller
    June 29, 2016, 15:55:19
  • kilby: Hurrah my atmel programmer is finally in the post (and I found my USBASP tool last night) :)
    June 29, 2016, 15:55:02
  • kilby: If I relent on the clothes then she will start expecting food
    June 29, 2016, 12:58:29
  • nub: oh but they do, out the bedroom wndow :laugh:
    June 29, 2016, 12:57:50
  • DarrellW: @Kilby, tried putting plastic bags on your feet before you put your boots on  :laugh:
    June 29, 2016, 12:50:24
  • DarrellW: @Nub, you need to explain to her that clothes don't fly ::)
    June 29, 2016, 12:49:24
  • nub: :laugh: i need to buy some new clothes, my wife keeps getting on at me hehe
    June 29, 2016, 12:45:06
  • kilby: I have the choice of buying new boots (so my feet don't get wet) or quadcopter parts, it's a hard decision
    June 29, 2016, 12:44:11
  • kilby: Would rather save my money to replace the Naze with something that uses SBus as I love it on the Pixhawk machine (even though I don't really need it)
    June 29, 2016, 12:43:19
  • nub: na can use either [link] ma mistake :smiley:
    June 29, 2016, 12:41:56
  • kilby: I'm waiting on a mate sending back my atmel programmer but he could take ages doing that :(
    June 29, 2016, 12:41:20
  • nub: well i see one person using the bootloader and another not :hmm:
    June 29, 2016, 12:40:22
  • kilby: I have some work to get the machine into the air, and after getting a taste of oneshot, I don't believe it's an optional item ;)
    June 29, 2016, 12:40:08
  • nub: think they do
    June 29, 2016, 12:39:11
  • kilby: If I hadn't spent so mich I would just buy new EScs and have done with it
    June 29, 2016, 12:34:48
  • kilby: The Morphite I got currently has Spider 12a ESCs (seemingly without oneshot) just wondering if anybody knows if they are likely to have a bootloader as standard, so I can at least upgrade to a modern Simonk version
    June 29, 2016, 12:34:26
  • nub: wit you trying to do Kilby?
    June 29, 2016, 12:32:44
  • nub: to escape the repression of his Master/s :( :laugh:
    June 29, 2016, 12:32:10
  • nub: poor Robot he just wants to be free!
    June 29, 2016, 12:30:20
  • kilby: Hey chris the very person, Flashing ESC questions
    June 29, 2016, 12:09:26
  • teslahed: In russia, friendly robot finds you; [link]
    June 29, 2016, 12:02:37
  • nub: aye just dinny let them think for themselves to much :laugh:
    June 28, 2016, 22:41:51
  • DarkButterfly: No we should make more, I want one ::)
    June 28, 2016, 22:26:34
  • nub: :laugh: the banana skins bit was funny, but we should stop making machines like them...
    June 28, 2016, 22:07:06
  • DarkButterfly: Cheers Gav ~~
    June 28, 2016, 21:48:12
  • Gav: butter - youve got some decent airtime on the phantom now - youre getting the most out of yours. well done
    June 28, 2016, 20:47:00
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    June 28, 2016, 20:05:14
  • DarkButterfly: Watching a robot slip on banana skins is always funny [link]
    June 28, 2016, 20:05:00
  • nub: know nowt about the new boards Kilby
    June 28, 2016, 17:15:05
  • nub: :laugh: do it, get one Gav it's a nice machine, shame the only thing it's Inspired me to do so far is get the big hammer out!
    June 28, 2016, 17:12:10
  • kilby: I'm a little confused as the price of the Evo is quite decent (I whinged last year about the price of the Acro board)
    June 28, 2016, 16:40:25
  • kilby: What is the actual difference between the SeriouslyPro FR Acro and the Evo (apart from the transponder, using SPI for the sensors and gaining a magnotometer?
    June 28, 2016, 16:39:44
  • Andy7: Tore the lab apart this afternoon looking for my XT60s... did I find any??? Nah.
    June 28, 2016, 15:57:44
  • Gav: :whistling:
    June 28, 2016, 14:32:59
  • Gav: :popcorn:
    June 28, 2016, 14:07:02

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:

Author Topic: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2  (Read 10580 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« on: January 05, 2013, 16:51:50 »
Hi all,
 :help: Need some help here. (newbee on MegaPirate)
I'm having a new Crius FC AIO Pro loaded with "MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2".
Before that I had a Crius SE having no problems with this SE board.
But here's my thing now.

I can arm the motors (yaw to the right, solid red led)
Motors are not spinning, but when i push the throttle a little bit (say 1%) they start up in iddle speed. If i want to disarm, I still can.
But, when I push the throttle more (say +/-30%) motors are spinning more rpm, but i want to return to idle rpm, the motors keep on running (in idle speed) and i can't DISarm (yaw left) any more.

My config is:
Futaba FC 18 v1 (hacked with Assan 2.4G)
RX Assan X8R9
4-ESC Turnigy Plush 30A
FC is Crius aio pro V1.1
Software is "MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2"

Anyone ???
Ps: I'm Dutch, so I hope my English is good anough  ;)



Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 319
  • -Receive: 226
  • Posts: 4672
  • Liked: 735
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2013, 17:01:39 »
Hi Polleke1949 and welcome to the forum they have now released megapirateNG 2.8r3 because the r2 had some problems, you would be far better trying that and see if you still have the problem, if you do then you could try putting your throttle trim down a little to see if that helps, or make the rudder end points a little wider  ~~

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2013, 18:52:07 »
Hi Gaza07,
Thank you for the quick answer. ~~
The "R3" version seems to work fine (as showing in the AMPlanner).........however, now the motors have the well known fast beep, beep, beep sound. (even after recallibrating)
In the "multiwii" software there's a configuralble setting on the "minthrottle".
I remember i had to set this value at 930 (stock is 1000)
Is there also a configurable minthrottle setting in the R3 as well, because i can't find it.
Or need I to do something else?
« Last Edit: January 05, 2013, 19:00:39 by Polleke1949 »

Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 319
  • -Receive: 226
  • Posts: 4672
  • Liked: 735
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2013, 21:11:00 »
Hi Polleke1949 I have installed v2.8r3 on mine and got the same as you the esc's are out of calibration range, I just re-calibrated my esc's and they worked fine,
When you install a new firmware are you dropping into terminal and doing an erase of the eeprom
this removes and settings that may have been left from the previous version, I always do this when upgrading the firmware  ~~

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2013, 11:17:28 »
Hi Gaza07,
First i erased the eeprom and installed the "R3".
The board does arm and disarm when i apply the transmitters yaw stick (showing also in the AMPlanner gui)  ~~, but......
when i move the throttle, nothing happens. motors will not spin  :confused:
Please  :help:

[ Guests cannot view attachments ]
« Last Edit: January 06, 2013, 12:54:14 by Polleke1949 »

Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 319
  • -Receive: 226
  • Posts: 4672
  • Liked: 735
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2013, 14:09:34 »
Did you re-calibrate your esc's  :confused:

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2013, 14:31:38 »
Hi Gaza07,
First of all let me thank so much for helping me this way.  ~~ ~~ ~~
Yes, I did recallibrated my esc's.
In fact, I started all over again (clearing eeprom, loading software, call esc's and tx) and guess what???
It's working now  :beer2:

btw. As I'm new to AMP, can you perhaps tell me: how can i see in the mission planner that I have stable mode on or off. Because i want to make sure that I will take off in stable mode.

Offline Jesse101

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 26
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: wales
  • Hello World
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2013, 14:40:13 »
Hi guys. Can I ask how you erased the eeprom?

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2013, 14:52:51 »
Start up your Arduino software.
goto "file"
"example"
"eeprom"
"eeprom clear"
don't forget to connect your board  ;)
your red led should be solid when done. [ Guests cannot view attachments ]

Offline Jesse101

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 26
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: wales
  • Hello World
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2013, 15:04:53 »
Nice one.
 ~~ I hadn't seen it sitting there!!!

Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 319
  • -Receive: 226
  • Posts: 4672
  • Liked: 735
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2013, 15:32:51 »
Thats not actually the erase I was talking about but it gets the job done  ~~
When your in the mission planner you click the Terminal button which drops you in to the cli (command line interface) once you see the promt in the cli type setup then return the prompt will now show the word setup, next type erase this then erases all the settings from the eeprom but not the actual firmware once the erase is complete the default settings are rewritten by the firmware back in to the eeprom  ~~

The reason for doing this is to remove any old pid or other settings from the eeprom that may not work well with the new firmware  ~~

Offline willumpie82

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 29
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: nl
  • if it ain't broken tweak it :P
    • electronicareparaties, voor alles dat kapot kan
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2013, 14:09:55 »
btw. As I'm new to AMP, can you perhaps tell me: how can i see in the mission planner that I have stable mode on or off. Because i want to make sure that I will take off in stable mode.

At my missionplanner HUD it apeares on the lower right just above GPS status.
at the configuration page there is an option to configure the flightmodes, the active mode will be highlighted in green.

if you just start learning multirotor flying, just set all modes to stable to get to know your plane, once you have the hang of it add a mode, and so on...

tripple check all your flightmodes, i almost lost my plane once because I didn't check it thorough enough (TX failure)
Talon V2 quad X
crius AIO pro v1 (latest mpng)
cruis GPS v2, chinese elcheapo sonar, custom led works
4x plush 18 with BLheli 0.9
4x sk3 1130kv + 8x45
turnigy er9x with frsky telemitry enabled, backlight and lipo mods

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #12 on: January 07, 2013, 18:47:01 »
GGGGRRRRR   :cry   :banghead:
Just started the copter (lucky me with no props)
Still got my problem. AGAIN

Will i do it all over every time????

Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 319
  • -Receive: 226
  • Posts: 4672
  • Liked: 735
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #13 on: January 07, 2013, 19:23:20 »
Step away from the copter and count to 10  ;) these things can really be annoying but some times a break from it can help a lot, I hope you get it sorted soon  ~~

Offline willumpie82

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 29
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: nl
  • if it ain't broken tweak it :P
    • electronicareparaties, voor alles dat kapot kan
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #14 on: January 07, 2013, 20:24:20 »
I think clearing your eeprom so much is not helping, this is only neccesary once when you switch from multiwii to mpng (or if you realy screwd-up the settings)

I think this is the procedure from scratch:

TX calibration link to arducopter intro
1. set all your TX trims and subtrims to zero and disable expo/dr
2. if your TX has calibration, do it.
2b. I had to reverse my pitch on my TX (er9x) for mpng (multiwii was normal)
3. Calibrate TX from missionplanner
4. all sticks should be centered, throttle should be minimal. before you click Ok at the popup

power toggle everyting (copter and TX) and check if the ranges are still OK, eg every step of movement on your TX results in movement at the configuration-txcalibration screen of missionplanner.
as sanity you can check if there is a difference in powering your copter from lipo or USB-only

next ESC calibration link to original document from arducopter
!!! with no props: !!!
0. copter off completely (no lipo nor usb)
1. TX on
2. throttle max
3. fully power your copter (logic and ESC's)
4. wait for rolling leds
-- the copter has now enabled passtrough to all four esc's
5. power off the copter and wait a few sec (capacity in the ESC's need a second or so to deplete)
6. still trhottle max
7. power copter again
8. wait for special beep-tone of esc(motors) (i think the "123" tone) comfirming max throttle
9. set throttle minimal and wait for reversed beeps (321) confirming min. throttle
10. wait for long confirmation beep
11. toggle the power of the copter with throttle down. mpng starts in normal mode

don't use your TX trims to trim your copter. http://code.google.com/p/arducopter/wiki/AC2_Flying

please, also check out the links and other information from APM, it is actualy almost the same except the pcb and the connections (sanity check ;) )

succes er mee, good luck with it!
Talon V2 quad X
crius AIO pro v1 (latest mpng)
cruis GPS v2, chinese elcheapo sonar, custom led works
4x plush 18 with BLheli 0.9
4x sk3 1130kv + 8x45
turnigy er9x with frsky telemitry enabled, backlight and lipo mods

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2013, 10:50:41 »
Thank you willumpie82
So far so good.............