User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Multi Rotor UK Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Bad Raven: Their real issue competition wise was the judging needing "control"..am they looked out of it ALL the time   ::)
    Today at 07:04:20
  • Bad Raven: Yes, true, TBH their "weapon" wasn't up to much, but they were great value in the fun stakes
    Today at 07:02:39
  • DarkButterfly: Nuts was awesome, the way it was rebuilt and put back into the arena ~~
    July 24, 2016, 22:14:47
  • DarkButterfly: Behemoth, terahertz and razer, will be good to see more former competitors of the original series
    July 24, 2016, 22:13:22
  • Bad Raven: According to trailer they are heavier and more powerful.........but yes, good they kept the basic set.
    July 24, 2016, 21:48:07
  • DarkButterfly: Also they kept the original house robots another plus
    July 24, 2016, 21:44:22
  • DarkButterfly: Ah okay, still sounded good though
    July 24, 2016, 21:41:05
  • Bad Raven: Jonathan Pearce
    July 24, 2016, 21:25:49
  • DarkButterfly: Sounds like Craig Charles was running the commentary, that's good enough for me ~~
    July 24, 2016, 21:02:36
  • Bad Raven: Bring back Craig Charles..........
    July 24, 2016, 20:59:25
  • DarkButterfly: I'm watching it, impressed so far ~~
    July 24, 2016, 20:38:57
  • Bad Raven: Robot Wars............
    July 24, 2016, 19:57:22
  • DarrellW: Watching St trinians on the box,  black and white too!!! Don't make them like that anymore, shame it would lighten up our lives ::)
    July 24, 2016, 18:17:01
  • Gandhi: Drop me a PM if you want....
    July 24, 2016, 10:17:23
  • Gandhi: @DB if you are after an rcexplorer tri, I'm selling my mini
    July 24, 2016, 10:17:14
  • DarkButterfly: i've bookmarked it, but may go after an RCExplorer tri
    July 23, 2016, 23:38:53
  • nub: i know on pre order :( think you'd be able to fit 1806's with 2 screws probably ::)
    July 23, 2016, 23:27:52
  • DarkButterfly: Can't push the button on it, out of stock
    July 23, 2016, 23:26:33
  • DarkButterfly: will the natal fpv3 work with 1806 motors?
    July 23, 2016, 23:24:39
  • DarkButterfly: ::)
    July 23, 2016, 23:23:34
  • nub: looks good still prefer the notalp fpv3 ::)
    July 23, 2016, 23:14:20
  • DarkButterfly: [link]
    July 23, 2016, 22:44:22
  • DarkButterfly: David has a little baby tricopter on his site for pre-order.
    July 23, 2016, 21:24:29
  • nub: either or will be a good choice, like the idea of the Armattan lifetime warranty
    July 23, 2016, 13:39:34
  • DarkButterfly: Sounds like a plan, I'll go with the mini tri and KK2 mounting kit
    July 23, 2016, 11:04:49
  • Hozza: DB I love Armattan frames, Chris the owner is very approachable and the warrenty is no BS either, ask Fletch  :laugh:
    July 23, 2016, 10:54:34
  • DarkButterfly: both the full sized and the mini tri
    July 23, 2016, 10:44:29
  • nub: the mini Tri?
    July 23, 2016, 01:16:43
  • DarkButterfly: so is an RCExlorer tri
    July 23, 2016, 00:00:31
  • nub: bit pricey
    July 22, 2016, 23:51:54
  • DarkButterfly: might push the button on this [link]
    July 22, 2016, 23:01:20
  • DarkButterfly: ::)
    July 22, 2016, 22:09:45
  • DarkButterfly: they are ball links, but they are useless when being flown hard, the flip wasn't even that stressful, it would have been if I did a hyper roll
    July 22, 2016, 22:09:34
  • DarrellW: @DG I have one thing to say...... ball links!!!
    July 22, 2016, 21:56:29
  • DarkButterfly: I'll be able to build a tricopter in my sleep lol
    July 22, 2016, 20:09:17
  • DarkButterfly: ::)
    July 22, 2016, 20:08:52
  • hoverfly: Groundhog day  D.B. ::)
    July 22, 2016, 19:47:31
  • DarkButterfly: Just had the most epic tricopter crash not caught on camera, both linkages on the yaw mech came off after doing a simple flip, it went into a massive spin and ploughed into long grass hard, front left arm snapped and the right arm motor mount is bent upwards
    July 22, 2016, 19:21:19
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    July 22, 2016, 18:23:53
  • DarkButterfly: I need to rebuild the tricopter, snapped another front arm
    July 22, 2016, 18:23:36
  • Andy7: Yowch! PROPER prop-break this evening. Bits pinged up in the air and everything. Didn't bring any spares like a PLUM! Lesson learned.
    July 20, 2016, 21:43:41
  • Bad Raven: I have just put 0615-14 motors on a Nano QX and all I can say is............. BLIMEY!!
    July 20, 2016, 18:58:30
  • DarkButterfly: all done, ready to fly ~~
    July 20, 2016, 18:40:22
  • kilby: @DB again !!!
    July 20, 2016, 15:36:36
  • DarkButterfly: Tricopter rebuilding tomorrow ~~
    July 19, 2016, 21:54:33
  • nub: aye hot sweaty day, thunder storms tomorrow! :laugh:
    July 19, 2016, 21:32:29
  • Andy7: oo-er! Car said 35deg here in Oxford. Phew :sweating:
    July 19, 2016, 21:01:58
  • hoverfly: 32 in the shade and all my pumpkins have wilted.  (thats not a euphamism) the spuds are fine.. ::)
    July 19, 2016, 18:08:37
  • DarkButterfly: Got some stick time this afternoon ~~
    July 19, 2016, 16:52:46
  • Bad Raven: AND, I'm going to complain to Heathrow ATC, as all the early morning flights went easterly approach so no jets to hide my early morning quad session so was grounded.....BAH
    July 19, 2016, 15:29:16

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:

Author Topic: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2  (Read 10691 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« on: January 05, 2013, 16:51:50 »
Hi all,
 :help: Need some help here. (newbee on MegaPirate)
I'm having a new Crius FC AIO Pro loaded with "MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2".
Before that I had a Crius SE having no problems with this SE board.
But here's my thing now.

I can arm the motors (yaw to the right, solid red led)
Motors are not spinning, but when i push the throttle a little bit (say 1%) they start up in iddle speed. If i want to disarm, I still can.
But, when I push the throttle more (say +/-30%) motors are spinning more rpm, but i want to return to idle rpm, the motors keep on running (in idle speed) and i can't DISarm (yaw left) any more.

My config is:
Futaba FC 18 v1 (hacked with Assan 2.4G)
RX Assan X8R9
4-ESC Turnigy Plush 30A
FC is Crius aio pro V1.1
Software is "MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2"

Anyone ???
Ps: I'm Dutch, so I hope my English is good anough  ;)



Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 320
  • -Receive: 226
  • Posts: 4678
  • Liked: 742
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2013, 17:01:39 »
Hi Polleke1949 and welcome to the forum they have now released megapirateNG 2.8r3 because the r2 had some problems, you would be far better trying that and see if you still have the problem, if you do then you could try putting your throttle trim down a little to see if that helps, or make the rudder end points a little wider  ~~

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2013, 18:52:07 »
Hi Gaza07,
Thank you for the quick answer. ~~
The "R3" version seems to work fine (as showing in the AMPlanner).........however, now the motors have the well known fast beep, beep, beep sound. (even after recallibrating)
In the "multiwii" software there's a configuralble setting on the "minthrottle".
I remember i had to set this value at 930 (stock is 1000)
Is there also a configurable minthrottle setting in the R3 as well, because i can't find it.
Or need I to do something else?
« Last Edit: January 05, 2013, 19:00:39 by Polleke1949 »

Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 320
  • -Receive: 226
  • Posts: 4678
  • Liked: 742
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2013, 21:11:00 »
Hi Polleke1949 I have installed v2.8r3 on mine and got the same as you the esc's are out of calibration range, I just re-calibrated my esc's and they worked fine,
When you install a new firmware are you dropping into terminal and doing an erase of the eeprom
this removes and settings that may have been left from the previous version, I always do this when upgrading the firmware  ~~

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2013, 11:17:28 »
Hi Gaza07,
First i erased the eeprom and installed the "R3".
The board does arm and disarm when i apply the transmitters yaw stick (showing also in the AMPlanner gui)  ~~, but......
when i move the throttle, nothing happens. motors will not spin  :confused:
Please  :help:

[ Guests cannot view attachments ]
« Last Edit: January 06, 2013, 12:54:14 by Polleke1949 »

Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 320
  • -Receive: 226
  • Posts: 4678
  • Liked: 742
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2013, 14:09:34 »
Did you re-calibrate your esc's  :confused:

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2013, 14:31:38 »
Hi Gaza07,
First of all let me thank so much for helping me this way.  ~~ ~~ ~~
Yes, I did recallibrated my esc's.
In fact, I started all over again (clearing eeprom, loading software, call esc's and tx) and guess what???
It's working now  :beer2:

btw. As I'm new to AMP, can you perhaps tell me: how can i see in the mission planner that I have stable mode on or off. Because i want to make sure that I will take off in stable mode.

Offline Jesse101

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 26
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: wales
  • Hello World
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2013, 14:40:13 »
Hi guys. Can I ask how you erased the eeprom?

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2013, 14:52:51 »
Start up your Arduino software.
goto "file"
"example"
"eeprom"
"eeprom clear"
don't forget to connect your board  ;)
your red led should be solid when done. [ Guests cannot view attachments ]

Offline Jesse101

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 26
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: wales
  • Hello World
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2013, 15:04:53 »
Nice one.
 ~~ I hadn't seen it sitting there!!!

Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 320
  • -Receive: 226
  • Posts: 4678
  • Liked: 742
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2013, 15:32:51 »
Thats not actually the erase I was talking about but it gets the job done  ~~
When your in the mission planner you click the Terminal button which drops you in to the cli (command line interface) once you see the promt in the cli type setup then return the prompt will now show the word setup, next type erase this then erases all the settings from the eeprom but not the actual firmware once the erase is complete the default settings are rewritten by the firmware back in to the eeprom  ~~

The reason for doing this is to remove any old pid or other settings from the eeprom that may not work well with the new firmware  ~~

Offline willumpie82

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 29
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: nl
  • if it ain't broken tweak it :P
    • electronicareparaties, voor alles dat kapot kan
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2013, 14:09:55 »
btw. As I'm new to AMP, can you perhaps tell me: how can i see in the mission planner that I have stable mode on or off. Because i want to make sure that I will take off in stable mode.

At my missionplanner HUD it apeares on the lower right just above GPS status.
at the configuration page there is an option to configure the flightmodes, the active mode will be highlighted in green.

if you just start learning multirotor flying, just set all modes to stable to get to know your plane, once you have the hang of it add a mode, and so on...

tripple check all your flightmodes, i almost lost my plane once because I didn't check it thorough enough (TX failure)
Talon V2 quad X
crius AIO pro v1 (latest mpng)
cruis GPS v2, chinese elcheapo sonar, custom led works
4x plush 18 with BLheli 0.9
4x sk3 1130kv + 8x45
turnigy er9x with frsky telemitry enabled, backlight and lipo mods

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #12 on: January 07, 2013, 18:47:01 »
GGGGRRRRR   :cry   :banghead:
Just started the copter (lucky me with no props)
Still got my problem. AGAIN

Will i do it all over every time????

Offline Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 320
  • -Receive: 226
  • Posts: 4678
  • Liked: 742
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #13 on: January 07, 2013, 19:23:20 »
Step away from the copter and count to 10  ;) these things can really be annoying but some times a break from it can help a lot, I hope you get it sorted soon  ~~

Offline willumpie82

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 29
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: nl
  • if it ain't broken tweak it :P
    • electronicareparaties, voor alles dat kapot kan
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #14 on: January 07, 2013, 20:24:20 »
I think clearing your eeprom so much is not helping, this is only neccesary once when you switch from multiwii to mpng (or if you realy screwd-up the settings)

I think this is the procedure from scratch:

TX calibration link to arducopter intro
1. set all your TX trims and subtrims to zero and disable expo/dr
2. if your TX has calibration, do it.
2b. I had to reverse my pitch on my TX (er9x) for mpng (multiwii was normal)
3. Calibrate TX from missionplanner
4. all sticks should be centered, throttle should be minimal. before you click Ok at the popup

power toggle everyting (copter and TX) and check if the ranges are still OK, eg every step of movement on your TX results in movement at the configuration-txcalibration screen of missionplanner.
as sanity you can check if there is a difference in powering your copter from lipo or USB-only

next ESC calibration link to original document from arducopter
!!! with no props: !!!
0. copter off completely (no lipo nor usb)
1. TX on
2. throttle max
3. fully power your copter (logic and ESC's)
4. wait for rolling leds
-- the copter has now enabled passtrough to all four esc's
5. power off the copter and wait a few sec (capacity in the ESC's need a second or so to deplete)
6. still trhottle max
7. power copter again
8. wait for special beep-tone of esc(motors) (i think the "123" tone) comfirming max throttle
9. set throttle minimal and wait for reversed beeps (321) confirming min. throttle
10. wait for long confirmation beep
11. toggle the power of the copter with throttle down. mpng starts in normal mode

don't use your TX trims to trim your copter. http://code.google.com/p/arducopter/wiki/AC2_Flying

please, also check out the links and other information from APM, it is actualy almost the same except the pcb and the connections (sanity check ;) )

succes er mee, good luck with it!
Talon V2 quad X
crius AIO pro v1 (latest mpng)
cruis GPS v2, chinese elcheapo sonar, custom led works
4x plush 18 with BLheli 0.9
4x sk3 1130kv + 8x45
turnigy er9x with frsky telemitry enabled, backlight and lipo mods

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2013, 10:50:41 »
Thank you willumpie82
So far so good.............