User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • ched999uk: Definately follow up. I once didn't get an interview that I had all experience and quali required. So I called them, to be told they filled job internally but they had another coming up next week. Would I like to be considered for that! I said yes and got the job!!! So keep trying mate you will get there.
    May 24, 2018, 17:57:40
  • Wyntrblue: seen and replied
    May 24, 2018, 13:45:28
  • mo_miah: wb pm'd you mate
    May 24, 2018, 13:40:48
  • Wyntrblue: yea i have been. and they say thanks for your call can i call you back... then radio silence... all very annoying, still im applying for around 10 a day at the moment and the as the saying goes. throw enough mud at a wall and some will stick.
    May 24, 2018, 13:38:11
  • DarkButterfly: Best to follow them up, you may get an interview that way
    May 24, 2018, 13:06:33
  • mo_miah: with the number of applicants they don't have time to respond to everyone, normally they say they will contact you within x weeks for an interview and if you dont hear back then assume its a no
    May 24, 2018, 13:04:05
  • Wyntrblue: why do prospective employers never ever call you back. as of today i have applied for 37 jobs in 3 days (really need a new job)
    May 24, 2018, 11:29:01
  • hoverfly: My mistake the Hornet is still going...[link]
    May 23, 2018, 17:25:27
  • hoverfly: F/wings  made one called the Hornet  it's not listed now so i assume it's discontinued.  I have 3 Ravens  in various set ups , they go very well with multirotor motors . If you laminate them they are almost  indestructible,  the only bit to suffer is the wing tips. Absolute bargains... ~~
    May 23, 2018, 16:39:06
  • mo_miah: raven does look good and cheap enough
    May 23, 2018, 16:24:54
  • atomiclama: Isn't the raven small enough?
    May 23, 2018, 15:22:24
  • mo_miah: nothing around the 2ft wing span?
    May 23, 2018, 14:42:34
  • hoverfly: Have a look at the Flyingwings  web site.  they go from   32 inch upwards.. :smiley:
    May 23, 2018, 14:33:05
  • mo_miah: Im tempted by an FPV wing, they all seem huge though
    May 23, 2018, 13:40:48
  • DarkButterfly: ::)
    May 22, 2018, 17:56:49
  • hoverfly: Hit the button on a W.R.A. spec racing wing.....feeling the need for speed.. ::)
    May 22, 2018, 13:27:46
  • Bajadre: welcome to MRUK chad enjoy buddy :)
    May 20, 2018, 09:25:43
  • Andy7: Hey chad. Welcome to the forum. Hope you enjoy it!
    May 18, 2018, 22:15:38
  • Kellarly: Hi
    May 18, 2018, 21:43:36
  • ChadB: Hello from a new member!
    May 18, 2018, 21:14:11

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Camera Control in BetaFlight?  (Read 439 times)

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2490
  • Liked: 581
  • Country: gb
Camera Control in BetaFlight?
« on: February 09, 2018, 22:03:17 »
So just read Oscar Laings article on Camera Control https://oscarliang.com/fpv-camera-control-fc/.
So now I am keen on getting my FC - via tx to be able to control my RunCam Micro 2, well if I had a FC that had a working osd I would, but that's another issue to sort.
Anyway the article looks interesting. Basically you add a resistor in series with the pin that normally you plug the joystick into and do a bit of resource mapping. Mind you I think that is only necessary if you dont have a spare uart. Then using the BF OSD you can change settings on the camera. Sounds perfect as my Micro 2 has pre set scenes which are great to be able to flick between a bright sunny day and late in the day with just a few flicks of the tx sticks. Means less to carry, OK so the joystick thing isn't exactly large but it one less thing to remember to carry about.

So has anyone tried BetaFlight Camera Control?

Offline daich

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Liked: 41
  • Country: gb
  • crash. build.
Re: Camera Control in BetaFlight?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2018, 22:32:19 »
I've set it up on my caddx sdr1 and is ultra convenient.
a few points though
-you don't need a working osd actually...it's using the OSD built into the camera
-it doesn't tie up a uart but you have to give up your LED_strip pin
-unfortunately it doesn't work with micro swift 2's awesome scene selector as it doesn't do Long presses which you need to get into the scene selection menu. But it will still be able to go into the standard menu to make adjustments

I stole a tiny SMD resistor off of a broken PCB which I looked up on google to be within a useable range. Didn't end up needing a capacitor.
Using this really the below thread on rcgroups you can find what values to set your reference voltage (so you don't have to measure it yourself), key delay and internal resistance

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?2961216-Betaflight-Camera-Control-Compatibility-Reports



Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2490
  • Liked: 581
  • Country: gb
Re: Camera Control in BetaFlight?
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2018, 22:47:26 »
RunCam have now made an interface to go between a uart and the cameras. OK so it's not as light as a resistor (plus capacitor if necessary) but it is supposed to work with the Micro 2  ::)
Its only about £3 from here  RunCam Camera Control

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1433
  • Liked: 562
  • Country: gb
Re: Camera Control in BetaFlight?
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2018, 06:00:55 »
Ordered  (Well, PRE-Ordered!)   ~~

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2490
  • Liked: 581
  • Country: gb
Re: Camera Control in BetaFlight?
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2018, 11:12:50 »
Ordered  (Well, PRE-Ordered!)   ~~
Cool, let us know how you get on.
I must replace my fc as it has a dodgy video chip so no osd. But getting more batts seems more important  ::)
Trying to find 4s 1500/1300 lipo at reasonable price in uk seems difficult due to p&p.