User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • atomiclama: Cheers, already have bog standard rucsacs, looking for something with a bit easier access to the internals
    February 15, 2018, 13:12:41
  • CornishMule: Atomiclama, I also had the CS300 but recently got [link] It's big enough to put the Taranis X9D case inside, fatshark case, Lipo bag, a couple of tool bags, launch pad, monitor, laptop and copious props. 2 quads strapped to the front.
    February 15, 2018, 11:29:36
  • atomiclama: Cheers Hozza
    February 14, 2018, 09:00:06
  • yama: hooked on 90mm brushless drones now:)
    February 11, 2018, 15:45:24
  • Hozza: Not found it uncomfortable, but I've probably only walked a mile :laugh:
    February 10, 2018, 17:44:20
  • atomiclama: I'm looking for a new pack as my current one is falling apart.
    February 10, 2018, 11:29:39
  • atomiclama: Don't like the look of the padding on the back.
    February 10, 2018, 11:28:50
  • atomiclama: Hozza, how comfortable is it for a long hike?
    February 10, 2018, 11:28:24
  • Hozza: I have the CS300 [link] bloody good back pack, everything I need inside and 2 quads straped to the front.
    February 10, 2018, 10:13:43
  • Andy7: Sweet! Fixed the USBs on my laptop - been hitting DRL sim with my QX7 all weekend
    February 04, 2018, 21:18:03
  • Bad Raven: Hope the fish are alright........   :laugh:
    February 04, 2018, 18:50:14
  • shawdreamer: hmmm Im feeling a little underwelming here, sorta lacking.... I stubbed my toe earlier on the fishtank stand.... that sorta counts right?
    February 04, 2018, 18:40:09
  • Friskle: Buggered more than Anything atm, struggling walking, getting badly out of breath, hopefully next stent in a few weeks will cure that :)
    February 04, 2018, 15:51:59
  • Andy7: Yikes! Sounds like it'a worked. How you feeling?
    February 03, 2018, 10:49:59
  • Friskle: just had stents fitted in the heart..rather a serious heart attack.. never saw it coming at all :(
    February 03, 2018, 03:58:02
  • VaNDAL_UK: Check the photos and see who is wearing to jacket with the most pockets!
    February 02, 2018, 17:02:23
  • DarkButterfly: Had a quick look at it
    February 02, 2018, 14:09:26
  • Gaza07: So who's enjoying reading the new BMFA mag  :hmm:
    February 02, 2018, 12:10:53
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh: :laugh:
    February 01, 2018, 18:44:11
  • hoverfly: Thanks D.B.  they just put a catheter  in ,I think they are taking the pi$$.... :rofl:
    February 01, 2018, 18:28:41

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Dji s800 ESC input signal  (Read 413 times)

Offline Davie12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Dji s800 ESC input signal
« on: October 21, 2017, 11:17:50 »
Hi guys
for quite sometime I';ve been attempting to test some dji 4114 pro KV:400 motors by using the DJI a2 flight controller without the use of RC transmitter.

I';ve got my taranis and pixhawk their way.

has anyone got information on these motor';s and esc';s

input voltage to power the esc/motor';s
input signal to trigger the motor';s
many thanks

So I';ve taken this control board apart and found "S800 EVO- BLDC v8"
i can also see what looks like jtag pads are these for firmware updates or just factory test pads?

thanks again
« Last Edit: October 21, 2017, 14:16:30 by Davie12 »

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2176
  • Liked: 510
  • Country: gb
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2017, 15:02:58 »
I believe the motors are rated 4-8S.
As for getting the motors to spin the signal you need depend on the esc you are using.
I would wait till your pixhawk and tx arrive.

Offline Davie12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2018, 17:31:03 »
I now got myself a pixhawk flight controller and taranis x9plus and using mission planner

still no look with getting the motors to spin up.

any ideas

Offline AmiSMB

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Liked: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2018, 18:29:34 »
With the Pixhawk it will refuse to arm unless it passes all of the pre flight checks. If you run the mission control software it should show in red why it is not able to arm. There is also a button you may need to push to enable it to arm. I had a similar issue on my Pixracer running PX4 or Ardupilot.
KC250 RS2205 2300kv SPF3 DAL 5 x 4.5 BN
EMAX MT2204 2300kv SPF3 DAL 5 x 4.5 BN
Gravity 250 DYS 1806 2300kv SPF3 DAL 5 x 4.5BN

Controlled by FrSky Taranis

Offline Davie12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2018, 18:48:28 »
Thanks for getting back to me Amismb.

I disabled the pre-check in mission planner and I can get it to arm but nothing from the motors.

Are DJI products compatible with pixhawk.


Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2176
  • Liked: 510
  • Country: gb
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2018, 21:33:36 »
I know nothing about mission planner but normally in Flight Controller config software there is a system where you can test and calibrate esc and motors.
Is there something like that in mission planner?
On BetaFlight you normally have to tick a box saying props are off and I know what I am doing!!!!

Remember PROPS OFF.

Offline Davie12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2018, 15:54:19 »
thanks for the input guys.
 I must be doing something wrong as i still cant get the motors to spin up.
 
  could anyone recommend some lightweight ESC's that work well with the pichawk

 cheers again

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2176
  • Liked: 510
  • Country: gb
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2018, 16:43:48 »
thanks for the input guys.
 I must be doing something wrong as i still cant get the motors to spin up.
 
  could anyone recommend some lightweight ESC's that work well with the pichawk

 cheers again
I know this means a bit or rewiring but it would prove if the esc and motors are working.
Basically you need to plug the esc control wires directly into your rx (as long as it does pwm, you will need appropriate power fro rx) and connect power to the esc. Then you should be able to get the tx-rx to make the motor spin. Remember NO PROPS.

If you can get that working then the motors and esc are all working. So its just the FC to sort out.

Offline orfordness

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 677
  • Liked: 140
  • Country: gb
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2018, 09:42:12 »
thanks for the input guys.
 I must be doing something wrong as i still cant get the motors to spin up.
 
  could anyone recommend some lightweight ESC's that work well with the pichawk

 cheers again

What ESC's were you using before?
DJI Mavic Pro
Tarot 680 Pro Hex
450 (Flamewheel clone) x 4
Hubsan X4
CS022 Mini Quad

Offline Davie12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2018, 17:24:47 »
@ched999uk:
     It didn't even dawn on me to try that. I am right in thinking that the frsky x8R receiver is pwm output.

@orfordness:
     The escs are the ones that DJI have attached to the 4114 pro motors.
  After pulled the motor off the only markings where S800-evo.
 There is no power lead so I have to supply it myself.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2176
  • Liked: 510
  • Country: gb
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2018, 19:37:32 »
@ched999uk:
     It didn't even dawn on me to try that. I am right in thinking that the frsky x8R receiver is pwm output.
Looks like it. Normally ch3 is throttle, so that might be easiest to try. I assume you have a way of providing 4-10v to power the x8r? Check everything before attaching power as it's easy to make a mistake and blow something up.
Sorry but I assume you have bound the tx to rx?

Offline Davie12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2018, 15:27:07 »
Chad999uk:
  Yes I've bound the Rx to TX, the only thing I've been able to do without having to ask for help (LOL).
   I've tried connecting the motor and esc to the frsky x8r still no luck. I tried all 8 motors and nothing.
   I was able to connect mini servos and they worked just fine.
   thanks again for all your help


Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2176
  • Liked: 510
  • Country: gb
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2018, 15:37:09 »
OK so you now know by testing with a servo that you are bound and the sticks make the servo move. So that proves tx/rx. I would be very surprised if all 8 motors and esc were dead.
Any chance you can wire up the rx - esc - motor (plus battery) and show us a picture in case there is something you have missed?
Dont worry about asking questions, we all started somewhere plus the thread may help others in the future. I enjoy trying to solve issues as I learn as well, so its all good  ::)

Offline orfordness

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 677
  • Liked: 140
  • Country: gb
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2018, 17:30:43 »
Quote
@orfordness:
     The escs are the ones that DJI have attached to the 4114 pro motors.
  After pulled the motor off the only markings where S800-evo.
 There is no power lead so I have to supply it myself.

I could be being stupid here, but are you sure the DJI 4114 Motors have built in ESC? I can see the E1200 Pro system does but it uses 4216 motors?

These 4114 motors have no ESC https://www.heliguy.com/dji-s900-part-22-4114-motor-with-red-prop-cover-p257
« Last Edit: February 14, 2018, 13:11:32 by orfordness »
DJI Mavic Pro
Tarot 680 Pro Hex
450 (Flamewheel clone) x 4
Hubsan X4
CS022 Mini Quad