User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Two-Six: Fixed it yet Ice?
    Today at 15:04:23
  • hoverfly: ffs.. :rofl: :rofl:
    Today at 14:51:15
  • Bad Raven: No, a nun falling down stairs...............
    Today at 14:01:01
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    Today at 12:27:30
  • hoverfly: you are probably on a zebra crossing. ::)
    Today at 09:49:42
  • Bad Raven: Everything went white, black, white, and is now mostly black again.............
    December 10, 2017, 16:55:37
  • hoverfly: everything has gone white. :shrug:
    December 10, 2017, 12:21:29
  • Icefever: Hi Andy I have a prob with the Tx.  it's bound to the rx but when I try the either gimbel nothing happens....I have a green led on the rx..when connected to beta I can run up the motors but nothing else??help
    December 10, 2017, 09:23:12
  • Andy7: Perfect day to have shaved off the beard.... :(
    December 10, 2017, 09:17:17
  • Saleem: Just dont do it facing the wind
    December 09, 2017, 19:36:25
  • hoverfly: AGHHH  yellow snow warning  :laugh:
    December 09, 2017, 18:49:57
  • Bajadre: sounds a fair price mate
    December 08, 2017, 16:47:54
  • VaNDAL_UK: What would a Walkera 250 PRO with FatShark Predator v2's be worth? I was thinking £250 ish?!
    December 08, 2017, 16:13:15
  • atomiclama: found it
    December 08, 2017, 14:32:26
  • atomiclama: Ah nuts how do I get to my book marks on this site???
    December 08, 2017, 14:28:31
  • Andy7: Found a bonus bunch of grapes when I pruned one of my vines :)
    December 08, 2017, 11:54:37
  • hoverfly: Great the sky has turned blue and Mr Sun has melted the nasty stuff,  shame the wind is ice cold . I spent 20 mins pruning the grape vine as it's long overdue ,  i now have cold urticaria, lumps all over me face, there is a slight improvement  in looks. :smiley:
    December 08, 2017, 11:36:16
  • Andy7: Ah, ya big baby - we had clder than THAT up on Boars Hill
    December 08, 2017, 10:39:27
  • Gav: get the sledge out hover
    December 08, 2017, 10:26:37
  • shawdreamer: just been out to test the sparkie with dal 4blade 5030's... my delight at its terorfying turn of speed was vastly overshadowed by the fact that my balls froze to my inner thighs within moments :cry
    December 08, 2017, 10:20:01

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...  (Read 940 times)

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« on: April 19, 2017, 18:51:14 »
Just cant get anywhere with this setup, bought with advice and visits to local pilots, all looks OK but just cant get the radio to be recognised in cleanflight...

Futaba T6EX
Tarot RFASB
F4 Flight Controller
and Cleanflight

I';ve bound the receiver with the radio, green light.

connected the Tarot to the board using the sbus connector

all power looks OK, (using power from the USB for testing this)

am seeing attitude and pitch etc in cleanflight, but no radio transmitter connection (ie no movement on any of the sticks)

I';ve setup the ports etc as per the images attached and by following advice from shop to this setup:

https://oscarliang.com/sbus-smartport-telemetry-naze32/

but just failing miserably..... anyone any helpful ideas?





Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3256
  • Liked: 1028
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2017, 20:06:42 »
Which F4 flight controller is it bud? One of the Omnibus range? And which RX? I don';t think the stock one that comes with the TX has s.bus capability. Also which version of CF have you flashed it with? Better off with BetaFlight really anyway.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3980
  • Liked: 888
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2017, 20:56:48 »
Judging from uart numbering it is a bluejay or a clone of it,
Assuming you have connected the wires from the rx correctly to uart6, then you have not yet set the channel map on the reciever page, or if you have you haven';t shown a screen shot of it

Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3256
  • Liked: 1028
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2017, 08:36:48 »
The Bluejay must have similar serial setup to the Omnibus. If it is an Omnibus like mine you have to connect to UART1, there are several ports for UART1 but only one has an s.bus inverter. But I think you';ll have to connect using PWM with that RX anyhow.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 08:43:17 by Revs »

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3980
  • Liked: 888
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2017, 10:12:54 »
Yeah bluejay has inverter on uarts 1 and 6 but 6 is normally used for Rx, however pwm ain';t gonna fly

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2017, 12:13:38 »
Hi - firstly thanks for the interest - here';s some more info:

the flight controller is:
SP Racing F4 Acro Flight Controller for Cleanflight & Betaflight

RX is the tarot:
Tarot RFASB Micro 2.4Ghz 16CH Futaba FASST Compatible SBUS Receiver? (RX-RFASB16CHSBUS)

I';m pretty sure I';ve connected it right, the F4 FC has a 3pin labeled with sbus conector and that';s the only connection with the RX...

I';m not sure I';ve set the channel map on the receiver page... I went through this page

 https://oscarliang.com/sbus-smartport-telemetry-naze32/

but that doesn';t say anything about the channel map...?

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3980
  • Liked: 888
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2017, 12:17:20 »
Lol well first let';s get the channel map right.

On the reciever page there is a drop down called "channel map"
There are three different options. They need to match the channels your radio uses for throttle elevator aileron and rudder. (Do you know what the futaba uses?)

Edit - a brief google suggests futaba uses aetr which is, I think the default so that probably isn';t your problem

Can you link your fc? Spr don';t make a flight controller with that description, they make an f3 or an evo f4, and the evo doesn';t expose uart6
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 12:23:59 by Cheredanine »

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2017, 12:20:44 »
let me get to 1.00pm and I'; can start making noises...

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3980
  • Liked: 888
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2017, 13:10:51 »
Gah,
Ok to be clear it is not spracing, nor is it a cheap Chinese clone of spr, what it actually is is a cheap Chinese clone of a cc3d revo.

Unfortunately it is not a direct clone
Just gah :(

It states it has a pin for sbus, does it have anything on the silk screen? (Can you take a good quality close up photo?)

Edit, is the reason you used uart6 in configurator because it is the bottom one as it is in the page you were shown by the shop?

Need a close up, in focus photo for the flight control with clarity on where you have connected the rx
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 13:25:12 by Cheredanine »

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2017, 13:35:18 »
hmmm

Ok I had done the channel map radio and selected futaba, and yes it was the aetr

the only reson I used uart6 in config was I tried uart3 and it did nothing...

Do I need to replace the FC?

here';s the pic, link on the far left as the paperwork suggests for sbus...




Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3980
  • Liked: 888
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #11 on: April 20, 2017, 13:50:56 »
The fc is (admittedly in my subjective opinion), a heap of junk, it is done as cheaply as possible by people who don';t document it, haven';t labelled the silk screen thoroughly and can';t maintain targets in open source software.

That said, let';s see if we can get it working.

So if I can follow hat right you have the reciever connected to the pins anticlockwise of motor 1.
Sadly they haven';t labelled them, can you take a picture of the bottom of the fc, see if there is any labels there?

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #12 on: April 20, 2017, 14:17:45 »
it is labeled on the back with SBUS/PPM...



Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3980
  • Liked: 888
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #13 on: April 20, 2017, 14:22:13 »
It is a flip32 f4 clone,
That is uart 1.

See your ports tab, on the line where you have uart1 select serial Rx
Disable anything else on that line and disable serialrx on uart6

Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3256
  • Liked: 1028
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #14 on: April 20, 2017, 14:34:18 »
It';s hard to tell from the pic but it looks like there might be a resistor missing just above the sbus pin..?

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3980
  • Liked: 888
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #15 on: April 20, 2017, 14:36:56 »
It';s hard to tell from the pic but it looks like there might be a resistor missing just above the sbus pin..?
Yeah see what you mean, there does appear to be empty pads there but still worth trying the correct uart settings

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #16 on: April 20, 2017, 14:41:25 »
OK that';s done... what';s next (as that didn';t give me anything on the receiver)  :-/








Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3256
  • Liked: 1028
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #17 on: April 20, 2017, 14:46:11 »
You';ve got it set to SPEKTRUM1024 you need it set to sbus ;)

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3980
  • Liked: 888
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #18 on: April 20, 2017, 14:46:36 »
On config tab change serial revciever provider to sbus and save
On reciever tab turn rc intoperlation to auto and save

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #19 on: April 20, 2017, 14:52:11 »
I was hoping you';d say something about the Receiver SBUS - I did have it set to SBUS but it kept reverting to Spectrum... however now done that again and it seems to have stuck, and saved receiver to auto interpolation...

what';s next?

(Still no stick movement)

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3980
  • Liked: 888
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #20 on: April 20, 2017, 14:54:28 »
That';s it.
Even if you have channel maps wrong you would have movement, just on the wrong channels, can you redo screenshots to be certain? But otherwise as per revs, looks like you have a missing component of the board beside the pins on the back

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #21 on: April 20, 2017, 14:58:59 »
so it';s just a shite FC then...  :angry:

OK.... next question... anyone want to point me in the right direction for a replacement?? was looking for racing and freestyle ... at some point in the future...!








Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3980
  • Liked: 888
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #22 on: April 20, 2017, 15:01:57 »
No config is still up its Jackie

On the reciever tab you have stick min, stick centre and stick max
Futaba may be slightly different but these are normally 1000, 1500 and 2000 respectively, set those and give it one more try

(I don';t think it will help but worth a try)

The config is pretty screwed up but I think revs is also right

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #23 on: April 20, 2017, 15:07:02 »
yes I had tried that in the past thinking it should have values and seeing them somewhere, however still dead as a dead thing on dead day.  :banghead:




Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #24 on: April 20, 2017, 15:10:27 »
I';ve got to leave this for a bit - work getting in the way ! - I';ll check back tonight but thanks very much for your help so far...

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3980
  • Liked: 888
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #25 on: April 20, 2017, 15:12:00 »
Pulled schematics of flip32 f4. That looks like a early release, not the current flight controller but revs is right, there is definatley a component missing, personnaly I would bin it and get a better fc

Offline teslahed

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3987
  • Liked: 1671
  • Country: gb
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #26 on: April 21, 2017, 12:42:36 »
Do you know if the sbus signal from the futaba receiver is inverted or not? Some receivers are, some aren';t. If it';s the wrong way round for your flight controller then you wouldn';t get any signal, as you are seeing.

If this is the problem then set up your receiver on a different serial port that doesn';t have a hardware inverter built in and it should work.

If none of your serial ports have working hardware serial inverters then you might need to buy a separate one because I don';t think F4 boards do software serial inversion;

Quote
set sbus_inversion = OFF ??
[OFF,ON]
SBUS inversion ONLY ON F3 TARGETS.

https://github.com/betaflight/betaflight/wiki/Betaflight-specific-CLI-commands

Or it could be something completely different :hmm:
One circlip short of a quadcopter.
 1 lobe short of an antenna.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3980
  • Liked: 888
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #27 on: April 21, 2017, 12:53:15 »
Do you know if the sbus signal from the futaba receiver is inverted or not? Some receivers are, some aren';t. If it';s the wrong way round for your flight controller then you wouldn';t get any signal, as you are seeing.

If this is the problem then set up your receiver on a different serial port that doesn';t have a hardware inverter built in and it should work.

If none of your serial ports have working hardware serial inverters then you might need to buy a separate one because I don';t think F4 boards do software serial inversion;

https://github.com/betaflight/betaflight/wiki/Betaflight-specific-CLI-commands

Or it could be something completely different :hmm:
the pins he is using is for inverted sbus, if futaba does not use inverted there are pin outs on the flip for non inverted uart1