User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Hozza: yeah all good thanks
    Today at 05:12:48
  • Gav: hi hoz ok thank you. u ok.
    June 27, 2017, 21:58:39
  • Hozza: Hey Gav hows it going?
    June 27, 2017, 21:39:18
  • Gav: Hello from Germany
    June 27, 2017, 21:20:31
  • Bad Raven: Wasn't a dog, cat in drag, 1 life gone, eight left....
    June 27, 2017, 12:59:16
  • shawdreamer: tell that to the dog :laugh:
    June 27, 2017, 12:37:54
  • JeremyE: The surface is constantly changing and you have way less time to react.
    June 27, 2017, 10:55:22
  • JeremyE: F1 requires way more skill!
    June 27, 2017, 10:54:31
  • ched999uk: Rally is great to watch and they display amazing control and skill. The problem for me is only seeing very limited clips of cars and it's a tie trial only. OK so the surface changes and they don't get to try the track before it matters. I like to see F1 drivers overtaking, OK so before anyone says what overtake in F1, it is getting better :)
    June 27, 2017, 10:35:24
  • shawdreamer: dont mean to take anything away from F1 drivers but when they race they rely on the road surface being dependably and consistently the same everytime..... a rally driver has to has to adjust his technique on every single turn and bend and take account that everytime another vehicle go's through that turn and bend ahead of his it changes the nature of the surface, F1 drivers are skilled, Rally drivers are skilled and brave..... and more than a little nuts
    June 27, 2017, 06:27:19
  • Hozza: BTCC is a good one to watch also, after all rubbing is racing
    June 26, 2017, 15:24:51
  • ched999uk: true
    June 26, 2017, 10:31:03
  • shawdreamer: "once ina while" is all very good with F1 but you watch a rally and everytime its a spectacle.
    June 26, 2017, 09:10:35
  • ched999uk: I assume you missed the F1 today. It was ore like rally cross!!!
    June 25, 2017, 23:45:50
  • shawdreamer: thats why Rally motorsport is the only motorsport ill even entertain anymore, those guys display almost inhuman skill levels everytime the go out, compared to driving round and round a flat tarmaced race track in a F1 is just a piece of pi55
    June 25, 2017, 19:27:05
  • DarrellW: Yep I thought the X5 was pretty amazing, overall really good.
    June 25, 2017, 16:54:12
  • hoverfly: Best I've seen for ages,  :smiley:
    June 25, 2017, 16:09:30
  • DarkButterfly: that dog at the beginning and the X5 at the end, epic wins ~~
    June 25, 2017, 14:54:27
  • DarrellW: Some really lucky escapes here ::) 
    June 25, 2017, 10:27:43
  • Hozza: Squalor is at large in tidy suburbia
    June 24, 2017, 18:43:25

MultiRotorUK Test

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:

Author Topic: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...  (Read 385 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« on: April 19, 2017, 18:51:14 »
Just cant get anywhere with this setup, bought with advice and visits to local pilots, all looks OK but just cant get the radio to be recognised in cleanflight...

Futaba T6EX
Tarot RFASB
F4 Flight Controller
and Cleanflight

I've bound the receiver with the radio, green light.

connected the Tarot to the board using the sbus connector

all power looks OK, (using power from the USB for testing this)

am seeing attitude and pitch etc in cleanflight, but no radio transmitter connection (ie no movement on any of the sticks)

I've setup the ports etc as per the images attached and by following advice from shop to this setup:

https://oscarliang.com/sbus-smartport-telemetry-naze32/

but just failing miserably..... anyone any helpful ideas?







Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 130
  • -Receive: 181
  • Posts: 3238
  • Liked: 1034
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2017, 20:06:42 »
Which F4 flight controller is it bud? One of the Omnibus range? And which RX? I don't think the stock one that comes with the TX has s.bus capability. Also which version of CF have you flashed it with? Better off with BetaFlight really anyway.

Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 262
  • Posts: 3343
  • Liked: 640
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2017, 20:56:48 »
Judging from uart numbering it is a bluejay or a clone of it,
Assuming you have connected the wires from the rx correctly to uart6, then you have not yet set the channel map on the reciever page, or if you have you haven't shown a screen shot of it

Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 130
  • -Receive: 181
  • Posts: 3238
  • Liked: 1034
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2017, 08:36:48 »
The Bluejay must have similar serial setup to the Omnibus. If it is an Omnibus like mine you have to connect to UART1, there are several ports for UART1 but only one has an s.bus inverter. But I think you'll have to connect using PWM with that RX anyhow.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 08:43:17 by Revs »

Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 262
  • Posts: 3343
  • Liked: 640
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2017, 10:12:54 »
Yeah bluejay has inverter on uarts 1 and 6 but 6 is normally used for Rx, however pwm ain't gonna fly

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2017, 12:13:38 »
Hi - firstly thanks for the interest - here's some more info:

the flight controller is:
SP Racing F4 Acro Flight Controller for Cleanflight & Betaflight

RX is the tarot:
Tarot RFASB Micro 2.4Ghz 16CH Futaba FASST Compatible SBUS Receiver​ (RX-RFASB16CHSBUS)

I'm pretty sure I've connected it right, the F4 FC has a 3pin labeled with sbus conector and that's the only connection with the RX...

I'm not sure I've set the channel map on the receiver page... I went through this page

 https://oscarliang.com/sbus-smartport-telemetry-naze32/

but that doesn't say anything about the channel map...?

Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 262
  • Posts: 3343
  • Liked: 640
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2017, 12:17:20 »
Lol well first let's get the channel map right.

On the reciever page there is a drop down called "channel map"
There are three different options. They need to match the channels your radio uses for throttle elevator aileron and rudder. (Do you know what the futaba uses?)

Edit - a brief google suggests futaba uses aetr which is, I think the default so that probably isn't your problem

Can you link your fc? Spr don't make a flight controller with that description, they make an f3 or an evo f4, and the evo doesn't expose uart6
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 12:23:59 by Cheredanine »

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2017, 12:20:44 »
let me get to 1.00pm and I' can start making noises...

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile

Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 262
  • Posts: 3343
  • Liked: 640
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2017, 13:10:51 »
Gah,
Ok to be clear it is not spracing, nor is it a cheap Chinese clone of spr, what it actually is is a cheap Chinese clone of a cc3d revo.

Unfortunately it is not a direct clone
Just gah :(

It states it has a pin for sbus, does it have anything on the silk screen? (Can you take a good quality close up photo?)

Edit, is the reason you used uart6 in configurator because it is the bottom one as it is in the page you were shown by the shop?

Need a close up, in focus photo for the flight control with clarity on where you have connected the rx
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 13:25:12 by Cheredanine »

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2017, 13:35:18 »
hmmm

Ok I had done the channel map radio and selected futaba, and yes it was the aetr

the only reson I used uart6 in config was I tried uart3 and it did nothing...

Do I need to replace the FC?

here's the pic, link on the far left as the paperwork suggests for sbus...




Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 262
  • Posts: 3343
  • Liked: 640
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #11 on: April 20, 2017, 13:50:56 »
The fc is (admittedly in my subjective opinion), a heap of junk, it is done as cheaply as possible by people who don't document it, haven't labelled the silk screen thoroughly and can't maintain targets in open source software.

That said, let's see if we can get it working.

So if I can follow hat right you have the reciever connected to the pins anticlockwise of motor 1.
Sadly they haven't labelled them, can you take a picture of the bottom of the fc, see if there is any labels there?

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #12 on: April 20, 2017, 14:17:45 »
it is labeled on the back with SBUS/PPM...



Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 262
  • Posts: 3343
  • Liked: 640
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #13 on: April 20, 2017, 14:22:13 »
It is a flip32 f4 clone,
That is uart 1.

See your ports tab, on the line where you have uart1 select serial Rx
Disable anything else on that line and disable serialrx on uart6

Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 130
  • -Receive: 181
  • Posts: 3238
  • Liked: 1034
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #14 on: April 20, 2017, 14:34:18 »
It's hard to tell from the pic but it looks like there might be a resistor missing just above the sbus pin..?

Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 262
  • Posts: 3343
  • Liked: 640
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #15 on: April 20, 2017, 14:36:56 »
It's hard to tell from the pic but it looks like there might be a resistor missing just above the sbus pin..?
Yeah see what you mean, there does appear to be empty pads there but still worth trying the correct uart settings

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #16 on: April 20, 2017, 14:41:25 »
OK that's done... what's next (as that didn't give me anything on the receiver)  :-/








Offline Revs

  • aka Paul
  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 130
  • -Receive: 181
  • Posts: 3238
  • Liked: 1034
  • Country: gb
  • If it ain't broke... it will be soon!
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #17 on: April 20, 2017, 14:46:11 »
You've got it set to SPEKTRUM1024 you need it set to sbus ;)

Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 262
  • Posts: 3343
  • Liked: 640
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #18 on: April 20, 2017, 14:46:36 »
On config tab change serial revciever provider to sbus and save
On reciever tab turn rc intoperlation to auto and save

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #19 on: April 20, 2017, 14:52:11 »
I was hoping you'd say something about the Receiver SBUS - I did have it set to SBUS but it kept reverting to Spectrum... however now done that again and it seems to have stuck, and saved receiver to auto interpolation...

what's next?

(Still no stick movement)

Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 262
  • Posts: 3343
  • Liked: 640
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #20 on: April 20, 2017, 14:54:28 »
That's it.
Even if you have channel maps wrong you would have movement, just on the wrong channels, can you redo screenshots to be certain? But otherwise as per revs, looks like you have a missing component of the board beside the pins on the back

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #21 on: April 20, 2017, 14:58:59 »
so it's just a shite FC then...  :angry:

OK.... next question... anyone want to point me in the right direction for a replacement?? was looking for racing and freestyle ... at some point in the future...!








Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 262
  • Posts: 3343
  • Liked: 640
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #22 on: April 20, 2017, 15:01:57 »
No config is still up its Jackie

On the reciever tab you have stick min, stick centre and stick max
Futaba may be slightly different but these are normally 1000, 1500 and 2000 respectively, set those and give it one more try

(I don't think it will help but worth a try)

The config is pretty screwed up but I think revs is also right

Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #23 on: April 20, 2017, 15:07:02 »
yes I had tried that in the past thinking it should have values and seeing them somewhere, however still dead as a dead thing on dead day.  :banghead:




Offline windymiller

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #24 on: April 20, 2017, 15:10:27 »
I've got to leave this for a bit - work getting in the way ! - I'll check back tonight but thanks very much for your help so far...

Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 262
  • Posts: 3343
  • Liked: 640
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #25 on: April 20, 2017, 15:12:00 »
Pulled schematics of flip32 f4. That looks like a early release, not the current flight controller but revs is right, there is definatley a component missing, personnaly I would bin it and get a better fc

Online teslahed

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 238
  • -Receive: 253
  • Posts: 4014
  • Liked: 1732
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #26 on: April 21, 2017, 12:42:36 »
Do you know if the sbus signal from the futaba receiver is inverted or not? Some receivers are, some aren't. If it's the wrong way round for your flight controller then you wouldn't get any signal, as you are seeing.

If this is the problem then set up your receiver on a different serial port that doesn't have a hardware inverter built in and it should work.

If none of your serial ports have working hardware serial inverters then you might need to buy a separate one because I don't think F4 boards do software serial inversion;

Quote
set sbus_inversion = OFF ??
[OFF,ON]
SBUS inversion ONLY ON F3 TARGETS.

https://github.com/betaflight/betaflight/wiki/Betaflight-specific-CLI-commands

Or it could be something completely different :hmm:
One circlip short of a quadcopter.
 1 lobe short of an antenna.

Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 262
  • Posts: 3343
  • Liked: 640
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: Help setting up cleanflight and F4 with Futaba radio...
« Reply #27 on: April 21, 2017, 12:53:15 »
Do you know if the sbus signal from the futaba receiver is inverted or not? Some receivers are, some aren't. If it's the wrong way round for your flight controller then you wouldn't get any signal, as you are seeing.

If this is the problem then set up your receiver on a different serial port that doesn't have a hardware inverter built in and it should work.

If none of your serial ports have working hardware serial inverters then you might need to buy a separate one because I don't think F4 boards do software serial inversion;

https://github.com/betaflight/betaflight/wiki/Betaflight-specific-CLI-commands

Or it could be something completely different :hmm:
the pins he is using is for inverted sbus, if futaba does not use inverted there are pin outs on the flip for non inverted uart1