User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bad Raven: I can fly ALL modes, jus some a little longer than others............
    Today at 13:57:06
  • hoverfly: @ D.B.. weirdo... :rofl:
    Today at 09:08:41
  • Nige8021: [link]
    September 20, 2017, 21:14:15
  • Bajadre: cheers buddy having a lookies now :)
    September 20, 2017, 19:50:38
  • Bad Raven: Still can't post a link.... search YouTube on RC Transmitter modes, there's a good video
    September 20, 2017, 19:37:09
  • Bad Raven: Just tried to post a link and it won't!!
    September 20, 2017, 19:34:07
  • Bad Raven: There are 4 Modes.
    September 20, 2017, 19:32:12
  • Bajadre: whats mode 3 DB never heard of that
    September 20, 2017, 19:23:50
  • DarkButterfly: I can fly mode 1, 2 and 3, you just have to think different for each one ~~
    September 20, 2017, 18:59:23
  • hoverfly: :laugh:
    September 20, 2017, 18:28:44
  • Bad Raven: Mide 1 started way back when RC started and some poeple could not coordinate two axis on one stick, unlike REAL pilots.
    September 20, 2017, 16:25:17
  • hoverfly: Mode 1 fliers have heir brains fitted backwards  poor things    :smiley:
    September 20, 2017, 15:54:17
  • Andy7: BR: MOde 1 lefty here and proud!  :nananana:
    September 20, 2017, 15:26:15
  • Bad Raven: :whistling:
    September 20, 2017, 15:04:05
  • atomiclama: Hopefully found the problem of my range, one antenna held on with a bit of sticky gunk and a couple of strands of wire other antenna looks ok.
    September 20, 2017, 13:39:40
  • atomiclama: @yama there's a tiny6 in the classifieds, any good?
    September 20, 2017, 08:08:51
  • Bad Raven: While there are more Mode2 flyers in the UK, a lot depends upon the locality, with clubs, as if a few hardcore memebrs were Mode1, they tend to bring in new members the same way, so there are pockets of Mode1 lurking!!
    September 20, 2017, 07:17:50
  • Bajadre: mode 2 matey throttle on left etc fpv is da bomb trust me haha
    September 19, 2017, 16:43:36
  • yama: i can never remember which mode i fly? whats uk standard
    September 19, 2017, 15:59:27
  • yama: fpv would be nice i do have goggles
    September 19, 2017, 15:58:57

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec  (Read 677 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 342
  • Posts: 3805
  • Liked: 830
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #30 on: September 12, 2017, 08:53:00 »
Simple way to check basic shorts with a multimeter
A multimeter will cost about £10-20 from memory, any diy store stocks them
You attach the probes and switch it to continuity mode (icon looks like a wifi icon but manual will tell you.
Check it works by touching the probe tips together, the meter will emit a continuous beep

Touch one probe to the ground of the xt60 on the quad and the other to the + it should not continuously beep

Repeat with other voltage outs like the 5v line

Offline VooDoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 41
  • Liked: 5
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #31 on: September 12, 2017, 10:04:23 »
Ah, that sounds straight forward enough. 

Thanks


Offline VooDoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 41
  • Liked: 5
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #32 on: September 16, 2017, 22:06:38 »
Hi, so finished the build all bar soldering on the main power cable.  As advised bought a multimeter and went round all the positive contacts looking for shorts.  With one probe on the negavite battery tab, all is good except for when I touch the "Vid" (at the vtx) / "VTX" (on the FC) / "Cam" (on the camera plug) (worth noting I've not got the camera plugged in, or the ribbon cable between the FC and the PDB yet).  The multimeter doesn't beep, but it makes a sort of crackling sound. I've looked for shorts and I can't see anything that even looks close to a short.

Do you think this anything to worry about before plugging in the power?

Cheers

Vc

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 342
  • Posts: 3805
  • Liked: 830
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #33 on: September 16, 2017, 23:26:16 »
No that sounds fine.
If you are at all worried, set the multimeter to measure up to 20 volts, with the cam plugged in, connect the lipo, put the black probe on a ground, put the red probe on that pad, if it tells you the pad is at lipo voltage you have a problem

Offline VooDoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 41
  • Liked: 5
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #34 on: September 19, 2017, 23:55:59 »
So, the good news is i plugged the battery in this evening and my quad didn't go up in flames!  :smiley: .  I can spin the motors using Betaflight so I've at least got some of the build right.  The bad news is I'm having TX / RX issues.  They appear to have bound OK (I get an RX symbol on the TX and the bind LED on the RX is on permanently after following the bind procedure), but when I configure the ports how I think the instructions are telling me, I get no movement of the controller bars in Betaflight when I move the sticks.

RX Link: https://img.banggood.com/file/products/20160923224744FS-X6B%20Receiver%20User%20Manual.pdf

FC link (inc wiring diagram and port config): http://www.mateksys.com/?portfolio=f405-osd

TX is an FS-i6

I've got it wired up for iBUS (taken from the FC link above):  Gnd to Gnd, 5V to 4v5, and PPM/IBUS to RX2.  The way I'm reading the port config is USB VCP should be on and set to 115200, and all the other ports should be off.  Receiver should be set to PPM RX input.  I think this because there are screen shots showing this next to the way I have the RX wired in to my FC, and different screen shots showing different port configurations next to wiring diagrams for DSM2/DSMX and SBUS RX (although confusingly one of the configs actually details IBUS as the Serial Receiver Provider).

I did read in other posts that you may need to enable UART for the IBUS signal, but the wiring diagrams / port config does look like it details this isn't required.

I've not changed any settings on the TX as I've not read anywhere this is necessary.

I'm off to do some Googling on this, but if anyone has any suggestions I'd be grateful as always.

Thanks

Vc


Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 157
  • -Receive: 160
  • Posts: 1876
  • Liked: 459
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #35 on: September 20, 2017, 00:09:25 »
Can't see links but the x6b rx has to be connected to a uart rx port. In bf the ports tab you need to select the one you connected the rx to and select serial rx as the type (can't see bf so just remembering).
Then on Configure page select serial rx and Ibus, as long as you connected the Ibus port of the x6b to the uart on the FC!
Then in rx page you should get movement.
Hope that gives you some clues. If not post and I can get more accurate info tomorrow.

Offline VooDoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 41
  • Liked: 5
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #36 on: September 20, 2017, 00:14:23 »
Thanks Ched.  Just found a Project Blue Falcon video that seems to suggest something similar:



Will sit down tomorrow evening and have a play with the settings.

Vc

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 157
  • -Receive: 160
  • Posts: 1876
  • Liked: 459
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #37 on: September 20, 2017, 00:19:15 »
Blue falcon (rip) made some really great videos. His video should point you in right direction. If not post back, I have x6b running Ibus on f4 omnibus and did look at the FC you are using.

Offline atomiclama

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 58
  • -Receive: 108
  • Posts: 2081
  • Liked: 627
  • Country: gb
  • Uhh! What's that then, Oh! new project.
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #38 on: September 20, 2017, 07:40:55 »
2 settings for iBus

Choose your comport.





Select RX type




anonymous image hosting


Jobs done.
Wasdale X, Ow that hurt

Offline VooDoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 41
  • Liked: 5
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #39 on: September 20, 2017, 15:15:08 »
Fab, I'll give that a shot when I get home.  Thanks.

Offline VooDoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 41
  • Liked: 5
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #40 on: September 20, 2017, 22:06:35 »
Hmmm, not going to get chance to play with this before the weekend now.  Damn work getting in the way of fun again.

Just re-reading the comments and looking at the videos, I'm starting to wonder if I'm going to need to flash the firmware on my FlySky FS-i6 to get it working with iBUS?  The video's in particular show selecting iBUS, but when I go through the menu on my TX, I don't see that type of iBus selection available.  There is something where I can select iBUS channels 1 - 6 but this doesn't look like the same thing as in the video's.

Firmware on my TX is currently 1.1 27-Mar-2015  which seems quite old.

Vc

Offline atomiclama

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 58
  • -Receive: 108
  • Posts: 2081
  • Liked: 627
  • Country: gb
  • Uhh! What's that then, Oh! new project.
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #41 on: September 20, 2017, 22:26:05 »
You don't need to set anything. The iBus port on the RX just outputs iBus serial data.
Wasdale X, Ow that hurt

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 157
  • -Receive: 160
  • Posts: 1876
  • Liked: 459
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #42 on: September 20, 2017, 22:46:57 »
on the x6b just use the ibus port and that is what you will get. The TX uses AFHDS 2A to 'talk' to the rx. The rx then converts that into pwm, ppm and ibus. Just select the ibus port and connect to uart on fc and set correctly in betaflight and you should be good to go.

PS might also be worth connecting up the battery sense port on the back. You can connect it directly to lipo voltage and it will transmit the voltage back to the tx. If you have the i6 tx you can flash the firmware to go to 14 channels and battery voltage alarms, timer and rssi loopback.