User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bad Raven: I would'nt know but obviously you have had the experience.....  :evil
    June 17, 2018, 13:08:09
  • shawdreamer: his boyfriend couldnt wait..... :whistling:
    June 17, 2018, 11:58:37
  • hoverfly: Keckon, is usually the result of typing with your mouth full. :whistling:
    June 16, 2018, 16:37:24
  • Bad Raven: Keckon???  Where did THAT come from??
    June 16, 2018, 16:13:17
  • Bad Raven: I keckon you have bootleg Domino's................  And HF , I ALWAYS give a tip, it's "don't upset me"....
    June 16, 2018, 16:08:46
  • DarkButterfly: Not sure why they're different colours :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 13:19:02
  • hoverfly: Blue boxes are used to indicate to the delivery bloke they won't get a tip at that house.. :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 09:07:42
  • Bad Raven: And on another more important matter, wny is your domino's box red, ours are blue!!!   :blink :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 05:47:01
  • Bajadre: :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 23:47:19
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 22:41:37
  • shawdreamer: oh it'll fly...... like a piece of 5hit with a big arse motor attached..... but it'll fly :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 22:25:24
  • hoverfly: Superb,  :rofl:
    June 15, 2018, 22:14:50
  • DarkButterfly: :smiley:
    June 15, 2018, 21:02:23
  • DarkButterfly: Need to get some electronics on this and see if it flies [link]
    June 15, 2018, 21:02:14
  • atomiclama: I used the solder ones [link] as I do't have a crimp tool and should be able to reuse the connector if required
    June 15, 2018, 14:50:33
  • VaNDAL_UK: Nice one. I'm gonna go for it. just looking for the SMA connectors with the crips as Ive had a few break at the root.
    June 15, 2018, 14:44:53
  • atomiclama: these are my first attempts, got better since then [link]
    June 15, 2018, 10:57:11
  • atomiclama: Yeah could've got mine cheaper but wanted it in reasonable time. Go for it, It's rewarding to see something you have made yourself.
    June 15, 2018, 10:54:38
  • VaNDAL_UK: atomiclama: I was pricing up the cable 0.08 copper wire and SMA connectors came out to about £15 and I could have made 5 meters worth of antennas!
    June 15, 2018, 10:31:48
  • hoverfly: Betaflight RC1...Interesting  if you go to the O.S.D  settings and then change the font  by lining up the icons in the correct precise order then hit  enter,...... It opens up the  O.C.D.  screen. :smiley:
    June 15, 2018, 09:01:13

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr  (Read 3988 times)

Offline iCrashEdit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • :wack0 :wack0 :wack0 :wack0 :wack0 :wack0
taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« on: February 17, 2017, 09:06:50 »
So I just order my taranis qx7   ::)

But will it work with my frsky xsr as I know you have to have the transmitter on a certain setting for them to pair, does the taranis qx7 have said setting?  :crossfingers: :crossfingers:

Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4631
  • Liked: 1160
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2017, 09:25:23 »
It will work fine, you will need to use d16 but go to painless360 YouTube channel, he has a whole playlist on the taranis, I believe the qx7 is pretty much identicle to the older model.
The playlist has lots of stuff you don';t need (setting up mixers etc etc
Some stuff you may want to use or may not - updating seems unlikely, adding custom sounds

And some stuff that you will want:
Into
Setting up models
Binding receivers
Setting up additional channels for multirotors

Offline Hozza

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 839
  • Liked: 270
  • Country: gb
  • Meh!
Re: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2017, 12:04:22 »
Painless has started a QX7 series


Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4631
  • Liked: 1160
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2017, 12:33:55 »
Ooo no one told him the white one is for girls!  :o

Offline Boardrider

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2017, 11:01:33 »
Hi,
I';m new to this hobby and have become lost in all the info online. I need some guidance please.
I';ve had my Q X7 for a couple of weeks now, and have been using it to fly on a sim.
I bought an XSR receiver a few days ago as it ticked all the boxes, I was aware that this will only work with the D16-eu lbt, I did a little research and it seemed that this may be a good thing.
Prior to attempting to bind the receiver, I flashed Q X7 firmware with version 2.2.0N362 (3e00d016), using  OpenTX companion. Tried to bind, setting internal rf  on X7 to D16 but no luck.
I have since downloaded firmware from FrSky site, stuck them on the SD card and have loaded eu versions direct from Q X7. Still no luck!
Firstly, I';m not sure if I have flashed a version of the OpenTX firmware, which is not compatible with the XSR.
Secondly, I';m not sure if I';m setting up the transmitter to bind correctly.
Any advice greatly received.  :smiley:

Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4631
  • Liked: 1160
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2017, 20:11:05 »
Ok first thi to learn is open tx is the radio operating system, this talks to the internal module, which in turn is what is running the firmware that needs to be compatible with the xsr, not opentx (judging from the version what you have flashed your taranis with is the latest open tx, not the module firmware)

Use LBT firmware, best thing to do.
The firmware on your xsr needs to match in type and frequently version to the module, where did you buy them both from?

Yo

Offline Boardrider

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2017, 10:18:46 »
Thanks for your reply.

I spent some more time on this yesterday and I came across a thread on RCGroups (Binding a Taranis Plus with a frsky XSR receiver), which I thought would be the answer.
There are links on that thread, to eu lbt and non-eu firmware for both the XSR and the transmitter module (the Tx module for the Q X7 is the same as the X9Dplus right?).
I';ve flashed the X7 Tx module and the XSR Rx with the eu lbt firmware and still no joy, I was going to try the non-eu firmware but the XSR wouldn';t accept it.

The transmitter came from banggood and the receiver (listed as eu lbt firmware) was from OrangeRX.

Cheers

Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4631
  • Liked: 1160
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2017, 11:05:47 »
So you have flashed both with the same version of firmware.
Next question can cou detail exactly how you bind and determine it is not bound?

Offline Boardrider

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2017, 12:55:50 »
F**kity f**kity f**k! Think I';ve just blown my XSR   :angry:

I found the XJT Tx module lbt firmware on the FrSky website and flashed that.
Downloaded the beta firmware for the XSR from the FrSky site and (like a stupid dipstick) managed to cross connect the jumpers when setting up the receiver on the pin-outs of the X7 external module bay - went GND, +5V, S port from bottom up rather than S port, GND, +5V.

Receiver now not accepting firmware. I hope the internal Tx module is ok?!

In terms of binding;
On Q X7
I was going into page 2 of model set up menu
Scroll to Internal RF Mode - D16
Check Ch Range Ch1-16
Check Rx Num
Scroll to Bind and press centre of wheel so it starts to chirp.

On Rx
Press and hold button under clear heatshrink
Apply power (+5V & GND only)
Green & red led come on (can';t remember if they flashed before I blew the board, they';re on steady now)
Power off Rx, exit menu on Tx and power Rx back up again
Red led flashes (before I blew Rx, now red and green both steady).