User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • DarkButterfly: They don't make them like they used to
    November 21, 2017, 11:13:03
  • Bad Raven: It's bodged up and running flat out, new one delivered tomorrow........... yes, expensive!!
    November 21, 2017, 09:49:25
  • hoverfly: That sounds expensive, on the up side you have to eat all the grub as it defrosts... :eating:
    November 21, 2017, 09:19:40
  • Bad Raven: Ruddy power surge has trashed the Freezer.................
    November 20, 2017, 22:31:36
  • Bad Raven: Nost of the fish went, "what was that?" followed by "who are you?"  :azn
    November 20, 2017, 20:38:57
  • Bad Raven: One of the shrimps is shell shocked, it's still hurtling around the tanke even now and its little heart is racing..........
    November 20, 2017, 20:37:37
  • Gav: oh was it a good excuse for fish n chips for tea?
    November 20, 2017, 19:55:33
  • Gav: did the fish survive?
    November 20, 2017, 19:39:29
  • Bad Raven: We just had the mother of all supply glitches, one of my fish tank lights sounded like it was arc welding itself, all the lights flickered, internet bombed for over five mins!
    November 20, 2017, 18:08:02
  • shawdreamer: used + in a couple of my early builds, I always managaed to bury the front motor, which left the quad stop up in a appropriately visual grave like cross.
    November 20, 2017, 14:01:07
  • AKK Technology: akk promotion!!! mutiple product with discount
    November 20, 2017, 05:36:54
  • Gav: my first quads were + 'Plus' config
    November 19, 2017, 18:02:11
  • Hozza: I have than enough 5 inch quads, or do I [link] this is one style of frame I haven't got.
    November 19, 2017, 07:57:59
  • Bajadre: n1 phil just noticed on there the 12amp esc blheli being rated for 3-4s while ive been running them on 3s for over a year what a idiot lol
    November 17, 2017, 13:57:29
  • Wyntrblue: always things i want when i have no money phil!
    November 17, 2017, 11:44:50
  • philtrum: Black Friday has started early at MakeItBuildIt, over 100 products on sale with more being added daily. We have limited stock on some offers so be quick before their gone! [link]
    November 17, 2017, 11:37:36
  • hoverfly: I got a 2s,but if I think mucky it turns into 3s.  :rolleyes:
    November 16, 2017, 21:35:49
  • DarkButterfly: I got a 6s which does everything I need and an android for stuff it doesn't.
    November 16, 2017, 20:28:30
  • shawdreamer: :nananana:
    November 16, 2017, 20:20:42
  • shawdreamer: ....sorry Iphone users but you bring it on yourself
    November 16, 2017, 20:20:34

Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 72
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr  (Read 2552 times)

Offline iCrashEdit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • :wack0 :wack0 :wack0 :wack0 :wack0 :wack0
taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« on: February 17, 2017, 09:06:50 »
So I just order my taranis qx7   ::)

But will it work with my frsky xsr as I know you have to have the transmitter on a certain setting for them to pair, does the taranis qx7 have said setting?  :crossfingers: :crossfingers:

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2017, 09:25:23 »
It will work fine, you will need to use d16 but go to painless360 YouTube channel, he has a whole playlist on the taranis, I believe the qx7 is pretty much identicle to the older model.
The playlist has lots of stuff you don';t need (setting up mixers etc etc
Some stuff you may want to use or may not - updating seems unlikely, adding custom sounds

And some stuff that you will want:
Into
Setting up models
Binding receivers
Setting up additional channels for multirotors

Offline Hozza

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 786
  • Liked: 248
  • Country: gb
    • Fun, Run and Gun
Re: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2017, 12:04:22 »
Painless has started a QX7 series


Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2017, 12:33:55 »
Ooo no one told him the white one is for girls!  :o

Offline Boardrider

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2017, 11:01:33 »
Hi,
I';m new to this hobby and have become lost in all the info online. I need some guidance please.
I';ve had my Q X7 for a couple of weeks now, and have been using it to fly on a sim.
I bought an XSR receiver a few days ago as it ticked all the boxes, I was aware that this will only work with the D16-eu lbt, I did a little research and it seemed that this may be a good thing.
Prior to attempting to bind the receiver, I flashed Q X7 firmware with version 2.2.0N362 (3e00d016), using  OpenTX companion. Tried to bind, setting internal rf  on X7 to D16 but no luck.
I have since downloaded firmware from FrSky site, stuck them on the SD card and have loaded eu versions direct from Q X7. Still no luck!
Firstly, I';m not sure if I have flashed a version of the OpenTX firmware, which is not compatible with the XSR.
Secondly, I';m not sure if I';m setting up the transmitter to bind correctly.
Any advice greatly received.  :smiley:

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2017, 20:11:05 »
Ok first thi to learn is open tx is the radio operating system, this talks to the internal module, which in turn is what is running the firmware that needs to be compatible with the xsr, not opentx (judging from the version what you have flashed your taranis with is the latest open tx, not the module firmware)

Use LBT firmware, best thing to do.
The firmware on your xsr needs to match in type and frequently version to the module, where did you buy them both from?

Yo

Offline Boardrider

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2017, 10:18:46 »
Thanks for your reply.

I spent some more time on this yesterday and I came across a thread on RCGroups (Binding a Taranis Plus with a frsky XSR receiver), which I thought would be the answer.
There are links on that thread, to eu lbt and non-eu firmware for both the XSR and the transmitter module (the Tx module for the Q X7 is the same as the X9Dplus right?).
I';ve flashed the X7 Tx module and the XSR Rx with the eu lbt firmware and still no joy, I was going to try the non-eu firmware but the XSR wouldn';t accept it.

The transmitter came from banggood and the receiver (listed as eu lbt firmware) was from OrangeRX.

Cheers

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2017, 11:05:47 »
So you have flashed both with the same version of firmware.
Next question can cou detail exactly how you bind and determine it is not bound?

Offline Boardrider

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: taranis qx7 with frsky xsr
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2017, 12:55:50 »
F**kity f**kity f**k! Think I';ve just blown my XSR   :angry:

I found the XJT Tx module lbt firmware on the FrSky website and flashed that.
Downloaded the beta firmware for the XSR from the FrSky site and (like a stupid dipstick) managed to cross connect the jumpers when setting up the receiver on the pin-outs of the X7 external module bay - went GND, +5V, S port from bottom up rather than S port, GND, +5V.

Receiver now not accepting firmware. I hope the internal Tx module is ok?!

In terms of binding;
On Q X7
I was going into page 2 of model set up menu
Scroll to Internal RF Mode - D16
Check Ch Range Ch1-16
Check Rx Num
Scroll to Bind and press centre of wheel so it starts to chirp.

On Rx
Press and hold button under clear heatshrink
Apply power (+5V & GND only)
Green & red led come on (can';t remember if they flashed before I blew the board, they';re on steady now)
Power off Rx, exit menu on Tx and power Rx back up again
Red led flashes (before I blew Rx, now red and green both steady).