User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • DarkButterfly: They don't make them like they used to
    November 21, 2017, 11:13:03
  • Bad Raven: It's bodged up and running flat out, new one delivered tomorrow........... yes, expensive!!
    November 21, 2017, 09:49:25
  • hoverfly: That sounds expensive, on the up side you have to eat all the grub as it defrosts... :eating:
    November 21, 2017, 09:19:40
  • Bad Raven: Ruddy power surge has trashed the Freezer.................
    November 20, 2017, 22:31:36
  • Bad Raven: Nost of the fish went, "what was that?" followed by "who are you?"  :azn
    November 20, 2017, 20:38:57
  • Bad Raven: One of the shrimps is shell shocked, it's still hurtling around the tanke even now and its little heart is racing..........
    November 20, 2017, 20:37:37
  • Gav: oh was it a good excuse for fish n chips for tea?
    November 20, 2017, 19:55:33
  • Gav: did the fish survive?
    November 20, 2017, 19:39:29
  • Bad Raven: We just had the mother of all supply glitches, one of my fish tank lights sounded like it was arc welding itself, all the lights flickered, internet bombed for over five mins!
    November 20, 2017, 18:08:02
  • shawdreamer: used + in a couple of my early builds, I always managaed to bury the front motor, which left the quad stop up in a appropriately visual grave like cross.
    November 20, 2017, 14:01:07
  • AKK Technology: akk promotion!!! mutiple product with discount
    November 20, 2017, 05:36:54
  • Gav: my first quads were + 'Plus' config
    November 19, 2017, 18:02:11
  • Hozza: I have than enough 5 inch quads, or do I [link] this is one style of frame I haven't got.
    November 19, 2017, 07:57:59
  • Bajadre: n1 phil just noticed on there the 12amp esc blheli being rated for 3-4s while ive been running them on 3s for over a year what a idiot lol
    November 17, 2017, 13:57:29
  • Wyntrblue: always things i want when i have no money phil!
    November 17, 2017, 11:44:50
  • philtrum: Black Friday has started early at MakeItBuildIt, over 100 products on sale with more being added daily. We have limited stock on some offers so be quick before their gone! [link]
    November 17, 2017, 11:37:36
  • hoverfly: I got a 2s,but if I think mucky it turns into 3s.  :rolleyes:
    November 16, 2017, 21:35:49
  • DarkButterfly: I got a 6s which does everything I need and an android for stuff it doesn't.
    November 16, 2017, 20:28:30
  • shawdreamer: :nananana:
    November 16, 2017, 20:20:42
  • shawdreamer: ....sorry Iphone users but you bring it on yourself
    November 16, 2017, 20:20:34

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Wizard x220  (Read 1083 times)

Offline malloch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: england
Wizard x220
« on: February 15, 2017, 14:09:13 »
Right guys and gals I need some help for my brother in law.  He has bought a Eachine Wizard x220 almost ready to fly(?) as it just needed a receiver.  He tried to use the receiver and controller from his own build but that apparently wasn';t compatible with the Wizard so then bought a FrSky Taranis - plus X9D and a X4R receiver.   After installing the receiver he has no response on Cleanflight.

The LED on the X4R lights up but there is nothing showing on the computer.  I don';t know if this is a simple fix or something silly that we cant work out but after putting a reasonable amount of money into this its still on the bench and hes getting to the point where hes giving up.  I need to have someone to learn how to fly with so want to get this going for him.

Any help or suggestions is more than greatly received

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2017, 14:23:53 »
In configurator he needs to set it up as a serial Rx using sbus
Then he needs to change the channel map to TAER which is jr/spektrum/graupner on the drop down

That assumes he has wired it correctly for sbus
It also assumes he has set the correct port to serial rx in the ports tab, he needs to do that first

Offline malloch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: england
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2017, 14:33:10 »
To be honest I am doing this for him. He works nights as doesn';t get much of a chance to get on here.  I have even less of a idea on this than he does so you will have to be a little slower for me if that';s alright  :hmm:




So I';ve changed in cleanflight




And that';s how its wired to the receiver going into a white plug on the FC

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2017, 14:44:21 »
Ok mate so we are going for cleanflight
Please take screenshots of ports tab and also about halfway down on left had side of config tab there is a serial reciever section

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2017, 14:51:54 »
(Also I suspect he is using an sprf3 flight controller, if you can showered those leads from the reciever are connected to the flight controller that would probably help

Offline malloch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: england
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2017, 15:19:51 »
okay here we go

ports



receiver



wire





Offline malloch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: england
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2017, 15:40:04 »
just looked through the top plate and its a SP racing MOF3 v1 CLEANFLIGHT

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2017, 15:41:33 »
Ok mate
So you missed the reciever section of the config tab which you need to set up as serial Rx and sbus

But your problem is a wiring one
You are using a wiring loom for a ppm reciever

Other than the aforementioned missing config page which I can';t confirm wiout seeing you are set up to use uart3 for the reciever, this is reasonable and correct.
But it means you need the reciever connected to uart3

This can be done from the specific pin out holes for uart three, on the photo you provided they are four holes on the right sort of between the USB port and the io1 connector you have it plugged in to
You would need to connect ground to ground, + to 5v and signal to Rx (you do not use the tx on the flight controller

You can either solder the wires to the flight controller or solder pin headers and use a servo wire

The alternative is to use io2 on the opposite side of the board from the one you are using however I think it';s v reg is 3.3v which isn';t enough to feed the x4r so I would stick to the approach above

Offline malloch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: england
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2017, 15:45:57 »



sorry there its is

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2017, 15:50:15 »
Yeah that is all correct mate
Problem is the wiring, I would recomend soldering some rightsngle header pins onto the uart3 pin outs for ground, 5v and Rx and a standard servo cable,
You ok for soldering?

Edit:
See the link below, the four circular holed in the top left quarter of the board in a horizontal row labelled -, +, tx and Rx, that is what you need to connect to, specifically -, + and Rx
https://i.ytimg.com/vi/Fe2reATMjPg/hqdefault.jpg
« Last Edit: February 15, 2017, 15:54:39 by Cheredanine »

Offline malloch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: england
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2017, 15:54:35 »
yeah im ok soldering, just made up a XT60 to Deans plug while been sorting this.

So you mean to this connector here?




So once I have the bit soldered on I then have to do a what? Get a 3 wire servo cable from the receiver to the newly wired bit?

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2017, 15:56:44 »
Yeah those 4 holes, ignore the tx one.
There are three wires coming from the x4r, these are -, + and a signal wire (don';t recall how it is labelled)
They need to connect - to -, + to + and signal to Rx

(The existing three connections are not needed)

Offline malloch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: england
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2017, 15:57:09 »
just a recommendation, would you have it soldered with 90 degree on top?

Offline malloch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: england
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #13 on: February 15, 2017, 15:58:54 »
just a recommendation, would you have it soldered with 90 degree on top?

*frantically searches through boxes for pins*  :o

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2017, 15:59:25 »
Yeah, if your are using pin headers then going straight may mean you bump into the top plate, I would use right angled ones but make sure there is enough clearance below them to plug in

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #15 on: February 15, 2017, 16:00:34 »
*frantically searches through boxes for pins*  :o
(To be completely honest if it was me I would direct solder the wires, not a big fan of connectors, done the walk of shame enough because one has come loose mid flight, not like you will unplug it
Like so:


Offline malloch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: england
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #16 on: February 15, 2017, 16:08:30 »
its not technically mine to direct solder on, i will go with pins fow now and see what he wants to do after. Just noticed that a direct solder has come off from one of the esc to the fc so will sort that while im here

Offline malloch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: england
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #17 on: February 15, 2017, 16:26:17 »
okay so have the pins in and a servo wire made up and on the receiver.

now?

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #18 on: February 15, 2017, 16:35:31 »
Connect the x4r as above mate
It has thre pins for sbus, -, + and sb
Connect them to -, + and Rx on the flight controller and you are done (assuming you have bound the reciever to the radio already you should be able to see bars moving correctly on the reciever tab - not the sprf3 may not provide power to the x4r with just USB power, may have to connect the lipo)

Offline malloch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: england
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #19 on: February 15, 2017, 16:47:18 »
So far I have nothing, plugged into cleanflight, have a green light on receiver but nothing is moving?

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #20 on: February 15, 2017, 16:58:20 »
Ok, so, green light on reciever is power and bound.

(Sorry about daft questions) you sure you have the signal (sb) pin on the x4r connected to the Rx pin on the sprf3? (Not the Rx)

Offline malloch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: england
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #21 on: February 15, 2017, 17:01:55 »
yeah lipo connected, green light on, just double checked wire routes and we have + - and SB on receiver to RX on FC. I assume that the controller is bound but not 100% on that

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #22 on: February 15, 2017, 17:04:04 »
Green light indicates controller is bound mate
Suggests both power and ground are good

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #23 on: February 15, 2017, 17:06:08 »
(Have you got the model set up on the taranis?

Offline malloch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: england
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #24 on: February 15, 2017, 17:07:53 »
Im not quite sure what he has set up on there.  What should I be looking for?

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3950
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #25 on: February 15, 2017, 17:16:39 »
lol That could take a while and painless360 does it far better,
Here is his playlist on the taranis, don';t get overawed, you don';t need most of it:
http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLYsWjANuAm4rtLZuLU2eSTc3svqWx-pa1

First job is set up a model:

Add a couple of channels:

And you should be done



Offline malloch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: england
Re: Wizard x220
« Reply #26 on: February 15, 2017, 17:53:23 »
I think that might be a job for another evening.  Its now "stop playing" time and now "get kids dinner" time. 

I will have a watch of the videos and see what I can get going soon.  Really appreciate the help that you given today  ~~ ~~ ~~