User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

Theme Selection

Forum Default

Permanently

* Who's In The Chat Rooms

User in Chat:

Author Topic: Designing my Own 450 Folding Frame  (Read 4458 times)

Offline NorcoT

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 57
  • -Receive: 33
  • Liked: 210
Designing my Own 450 Folding Frame
« on: November 13, 2014, 07:51:37 »
Hi all, by day I am a Mechanical Engineer having had much experience in the past designing aircraft components. Having looked for a 450 folding frame online and only finding £90+ solutions I have decided i'm going to design my own.

My requirements:
> 450 Size
> Quadcopter
> Foldable for easy transport (hiking!)
> 10" / 11" Prop Capability
> Space for GoPro (with no props in vision)
> Target frame only weight ~300g
> Space for 4000mAH 3S battery

Nice to haves:
> Landing Gear
> Gimbal attachment point

Currently I have a folding mechanism in mind like the LS-450 Butterfly Alien frame: http://www.goodluckbuy.com/ls-480-450mm-butterfly-alien-carbon-fiber-quadcopter-frame-rack-for-fpv.html

I will have the Carbon plates CNC'd to my design by a company and the other components I plan to purchase off the shelf, apart from the arms which I will make from Aluminium Square Section or Carbon Tubes.

I am currently performing a planform study. i've sketched up in plan view a 450 motor to motor distance with 10" props and currently manipulating the positioning of the frame relative to the motors to see how the arms line up. It's rather challenging getting the frame plate as far forward as possible whilst not to make it too long so that a battery can be placed aft to balance the quad.

This is where I need some input: