User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bad Raven: KNEW there was good reason noit to buy either............
    Today at 20:27:54
  • hoverfly: I've avoided Apple kit for years until I was forced to get an  IPad  for  the ph3  & Mavic.
    Today at 20:17:00
  • Gav: good luck
    Today at 20:13:08
  • Gav: dont tell me you are an apple and iphone user too.  noooo lol
    Today at 20:12:51
  • hoverfly: Hi slayer, how's it hanging.. :laugh:
    Today at 20:03:52
  • hoverfly: Its the power circuit that is  fkuced, on/off switch  u/s   constant voltage fluctuations  and low batt warnings.  It was backup t/x , using Dx9 as main  ,it as its been suggested I feel obliged to get a taranis, might go for the  X9D+ Special Edition - Carbon Fibre
    Today at 20:02:29
  • Gav: serves you right for getting a spektrum.
    Today at 20:02:10
  • Slayer23: Scuse caps
    Today at 18:02:26
    Today at 18:02:17
  • DarkButterfly: You can get a Spektrum module for it
    Today at 17:45:33
  • DarkButterfly: Bury it HF and buy a taranis  ::)
    Today at 17:44:41
  • Bad Raven: Taken the sd card out, cleaned the contacts and replaced?
    Today at 17:43:33
  • hoverfly: My DX8 JUST DIED :cry :cry  R.I.P.  little t/x....
    Today at 10:01:22
  • ched999uk: VaNDAL I missed it but just did a quick flick thru and I can't see the BEER!!!  :beer2: :beer2: :beer2:
    March 19, 2018, 18:21:54
  • atomiclama: I couldn't find the head explode image thing.
    March 19, 2018, 14:01:53
  • hoverfly: Add to those W.T.F.   AND O.M.G.  ..FK-THIS.--- :laugh:.
    March 19, 2018, 13:49:41
  • atomiclama: :o :o
    March 19, 2018, 13:47:24
  • atomiclama: Dual-stage Gyro Filtering: PT1, Biquad, Butterworth, Denoise (FIR), FKF (fixed K), and Biquad RC+FIR2 #5391
    March 19, 2018, 13:47:13
  • atomiclama: I think betaflight filtering is going to get real confusing.
    March 19, 2018, 11:45:00
  • atomiclama: You must smell a bit  ::)
    March 18, 2018, 22:04:34

Who's Online

Theme Selection

Forum Default


Author Topic: Changing VTX on Blade Conspiracy 220 Problem  (Read 405 times)

Offline serepton

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Changing VTX on Blade Conspiracy 220 Problem
« on: May 18, 2017, 17:16:18 »

I have just received a TBS UNIFY PRO 5G8 V2 VTX that I want to put in my stock Blade Conspiracy 220.

The TBS VTX has a 4 pin input but the Blade VTX has a 6 pin plug with 5 cables in it. It seems that the blade cable is split, three going to the camera and two getting power from the RX.

How can I make the TBS VTX work with the Conspiracy?

I am new to FPV so this is a learning curve for me!

Thank you for any help you can give, I have attached some photos to show my dilema.

Offline Ern Stock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
  • Liked: 49
  • Country: gb
  • s devon
Re: Changing VTX on Blade Conspiracy 220 Problem
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2017, 21:43:50 »
Presuming there';s no weird stuff with a blade setup , You need to know the voltage tolerances of that camera.
I would be checking the voltage supplied to the vtx  as well before connecting your new vtx.
Then check with tbs manual , presumably red n black are + and -  .
Yellow (usually ) video.
If you happy about the voltages , yellow from the camera goes to yellow on vtx , then you can use the same power supply for vtx and camera.
If camera volts needs to be ( let';s say ) 5v and vtx supply is (let';s say) 12v , you';ll need a small 5v Bec between them.
Above all
1) check power supply for camera is regulated ( i.e. Not direct battery volts )
2) check out what someone cleverer than me says in next post !

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4188
  • Liked: 936
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Changing VTX on Blade Conspiracy 220 Problem
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2017, 22:18:55 »
Let';s be a bit more specific
Your old vtx has its connections clearly labelled, these are:

Power (usually a red wire, this is providing power to the vtx, would need to trace the cable or more likely put a multimeter in it to find out what voltage is being supplied but suspect battery voltage

Ground (black wire) provides ground to the vtx

Audio (?) used to provide audio from the camera to the vtx - given the cam has no audio or mike suspect this is the missing wire

Video (usually yellow) takes the video signal from the cam

Ground (black) provides ground to the cam

Dc5v (red) provides 5v to power the cam

Typically the last three cables will go straight to the cam, unless there is an osd involved

Now the tbs vtx you have is different
Its cabling, also labelled, is

Video (yellow) - same as other vtx
Audio (white) - same as other, since cam doesn';t have audio you can either cut it off, tape it up or if it has smart audio v2, connect it to the flight controller
Ground (black) provides ground for the vtx
5v (red) powers the vtx

So the main differences, and this is based on the assumption you don';t have an osd, the last three wires above on the old vtx go straight to the cam and the power wire to the old vtx is battery voltage, is

Old system takes battery voltage to the vtx and that provides 5v to the cam

New system the vtx and cam need 5v and neither can power the other

So you need a 5v supply, I';d the pdb doesn';t have one I would suggest a 5v pololu

Offline serepton

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Changing VTX on Blade Conspiracy 220 Problem
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2017, 23:36:09 »
Thank you very much for your help.

It is much clearer now!