User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bad Raven: I would'nt know but obviously you have had the experience.....  :evil
    June 17, 2018, 13:08:09
  • shawdreamer: his boyfriend couldnt wait..... :whistling:
    June 17, 2018, 11:58:37
  • hoverfly: Keckon, is usually the result of typing with your mouth full. :whistling:
    June 16, 2018, 16:37:24
  • Bad Raven: Keckon???  Where did THAT come from??
    June 16, 2018, 16:13:17
  • Bad Raven: I keckon you have bootleg Domino's................  And HF , I ALWAYS give a tip, it's "don't upset me"....
    June 16, 2018, 16:08:46
  • DarkButterfly: Not sure why they're different colours :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 13:19:02
  • hoverfly: Blue boxes are used to indicate to the delivery bloke they won't get a tip at that house.. :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 09:07:42
  • Bad Raven: And on another more important matter, wny is your domino's box red, ours are blue!!!   :blink :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 05:47:01
  • Bajadre: :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 23:47:19
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 22:41:37
  • shawdreamer: oh it'll fly...... like a piece of 5hit with a big arse motor attached..... but it'll fly :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 22:25:24
  • hoverfly: Superb,  :rofl:
    June 15, 2018, 22:14:50
  • DarkButterfly: :smiley:
    June 15, 2018, 21:02:23
  • DarkButterfly: Need to get some electronics on this and see if it flies [link]
    June 15, 2018, 21:02:14
  • atomiclama: I used the solder ones [link] as I do't have a crimp tool and should be able to reuse the connector if required
    June 15, 2018, 14:50:33
  • VaNDAL_UK: Nice one. I'm gonna go for it. just looking for the SMA connectors with the crips as Ive had a few break at the root.
    June 15, 2018, 14:44:53
  • atomiclama: these are my first attempts, got better since then [link]
    June 15, 2018, 10:57:11
  • atomiclama: Yeah could've got mine cheaper but wanted it in reasonable time. Go for it, It's rewarding to see something you have made yourself.
    June 15, 2018, 10:54:38
  • VaNDAL_UK: atomiclama: I was pricing up the cable 0.08 copper wire and SMA connectors came out to about £15 and I could have made 5 meters worth of antennas!
    June 15, 2018, 10:31:48
  • hoverfly: Betaflight RC1...Interesting  if you go to the O.S.D  settings and then change the font  by lining up the icons in the correct precise order then hit  enter,...... It opens up the  O.C.D.  screen. :smiley:
    June 15, 2018, 09:01:13

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: need bigger esc for my t2 motors are im rubbish at soldering!  (Read 835 times)

Offline greggmaN

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Liked: 23
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
hello i have the tornado t2 motors on my quad with the spedix esc lite 20a ....problem i got the wire off the motor is pretty big and the esc is really small making it difficult to solder on any 30a esc out there that you recommend to run these t2s on electricwingman.co.uk ....i would mind a bigger esc so its not to tightly done thanks

Offline Saleem

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 958
  • Liked: 180
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: need bigger esc for my t2 motors are im rubbish at soldering!
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2017, 14:57:09 »
If the esc have them solder/attachment tabs that stick out surely you can solder to them.have you bought 30a esc,if so which if not what type you gonna buy,spedix again?

You gonna have to brush up and learn your soldering skills,simple motor wire to esc soldering is probably the most basic of the things that need soldering on a quad.
 :smiley:

Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4631
  • Liked: 1160
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: need bigger esc for my t2 motors are im rubbish at soldering!
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2017, 17:19:28 »
The spedix es25 work fine, you could use 30amo spedix if you want.

If you are struggling with soldering motor wires sunrise cicada 30a are pretty big

Otherwise may be worth hanging on as blheli32 escs are now available (I have a second set of wraith32 on the way but solder pads are not the largest)

Offline greggmaN

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Liked: 23
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: need bigger esc for my t2 motors are im rubbish at soldering!
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2017, 21:27:56 »

Offline greggmaN

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Liked: 23
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: need bigger esc for my t2 motors are im rubbish at soldering!
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2017, 21:32:26 »
also once you answered my question above....im thinking of ditching my old zmr250 that i have learnt on and just want to carry my t2 motors and rx, cam, vtx etc over to the TSX220 frame...it has its own pdb...i was wondering when i get my new esc i will put it in my new 220 frame where do i put my signal leads from usb (i have the seriously pro f3 cloned board) do i just put the plug directly into the pins for the motors on the f3 board? then power it with the 5v on the pdb?

if thats correct how does the rx connect...just exactly the same was as it does now? (the rx gets its power from the fc, which gets power from pdb) is that right.

also i have the hs1177 cam and it solders directly to the pdb but i dont think you can do this with the tsx220 pdb where would you solder that?
« Last Edit: May 17, 2017, 21:38:33 by greggmaN »

Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4631
  • Liked: 1160
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: need bigger esc for my t2 motors are im rubbish at soldering!
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2017, 21:57:15 »
also once you answered my question above....im thinking of ditching my old zmr250 that i have learnt on and just want to carry my t2 motors and rx, cam, vtx etc over to the TSX220 frame...it has its own pdb...i was wondering when i get my new esc i will put it in my new 220 frame where do i put my signal leads from usb (i have the seriously pro f3 cloned board) do i just put the plug directly into the pins for the motors on the f3 board? then power it with the 5v on the pdb?
So a bit garbled, I assume you mean signal (and ground) leads for the ESCs? Yes, the sorf3 has 3 banks of holes for the motors, they are labelled (ground near the edge of the board, 5v in the middle and signal towards the centre and each set is numbered, this corresponds to the motor number, you connect the esc ground to the ground and the signal to he signal for the corresponding motor. I don';t usually use pins but if it has be pre pinned you can see where they go
Yes power from the 5v off the pdb
Quote
if thats correct how does the rx connect...just exactly the same was as it does now? (the rx gets its power from the fc, which gets power from pdb) is that right.
Yep
Quote
also i have the hs1177 cam and it solders directly to the pdb but i dont think you can do this with the tsx220 pdb where would you solder that?
This is an interesting one, it depends on what the input voltage of the hs1177 is (it carried a bit), typically I would look for a 12v reg to power the vtx and cam

If you run them direct from battery you run the risk of burning them, particularly the cam but also potentially the vtx.

Your vtx may provide 5v for the cam, if the cam runs on 5v then cool. I would still rather run the vtx off a 12v reg.i would suggest getting a 12v pololu, something like this:

http://www.hobbyrc.co.uk/pololu-12v-600ma-step-down-voltage-regulator-d24v6f12

Connect that to to the battery (vin and ground) and use it (vout and ground) to power the fpv kit. Don';t forget to connect shutdown to vin and cover it in a bit of heat shrink when you are done

Yes you can do under/over the motor connections,  doesn';t make a difference


Offline greggmaN

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Liked: 23
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter

Online Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4631
  • Liked: 1160
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: need bigger esc for my t2 motors are im rubbish at soldering!
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2017, 22:25:20 »
https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=tsx220+pdb+camera&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjk8Ji16vfTAhXnJ8AKHW8FD9IQ_AUIBygC&biw=1920&bih=950#imgrc=iUiWrxYvsNW4HM:

thats the pdb its got 5v and 12v pads on there :/ so can find out what mines on now...
No mate, that is the pdb off a tsx200, you said tsx220
If you have a 12v on the pdb should power both the vtx and the cam
Quote
this is my pdb where it says cam i use the + av - ....i dont use the one next to + which says 5v...so does it mean im using 12v

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=zmr250+pdb&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiR-ub76vfTAhUHLcAKHakuCkoQ_AUIBygC&biw=1920&bih=950#tbm=isch&q=zmr250+pdb+vtx&imgdii=Hst-vzqUJ158vM:&imgrc=FxqQ7kLbkTRVGM:
No idea without putting a multimeter on it, probably means you are running battery voltage (nowerdays most bog standard hs1177 will take 5-22v, it can take a 4s lipo, the problem arrives when you have a good power system and active breaking cuts in causing a power spike, these are brief but pretty high, would expect your t2 will get up to 50v on a hard stop, because it is brief it tends not to be a problem for all but the most sensitive of kit such as cams and vtx, a reg will protect that sort of kit.