User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • ched999uk: Once again Sunny her in Blackpool at 27degC. Watched my first race today. WOW.
    May 27, 2018, 14:15:22
  • hoverfly: :laugh: :tongue:
    May 27, 2018, 10:08:03
  • ched999uk: Hoverfly: Nice and sunny here in Blackpool but have to work  :(
    May 26, 2018, 12:17:06
  • hoverfly: drizzle mist  wind ..... must be a bank holiday... ::)
    May 26, 2018, 09:10:37
  • hoverfly: WHOOOOPEEE 20% DISCOUNT ON PROPS AT M.IT.B.IT.  CRAP ALL OUT OF STOCK.. :angry:
    May 25, 2018, 14:41:11
  • nub: :tongue:
    May 25, 2018, 12:55:35
  • ched999uk: Definately follow up. I once didn't get an interview that I had all experience and quali required. So I called them, to be told they filled job internally but they had another coming up next week. Would I like to be considered for that! I said yes and got the job!!! So keep trying mate you will get there.
    May 24, 2018, 17:57:40
  • Wyntrblue: seen and replied
    May 24, 2018, 13:45:28
  • mo_miah: wb pm'd you mate
    May 24, 2018, 13:40:48
  • Wyntrblue: yea i have been. and they say thanks for your call can i call you back... then radio silence... all very annoying, still im applying for around 10 a day at the moment and the as the saying goes. throw enough mud at a wall and some will stick.
    May 24, 2018, 13:38:11
  • DarkButterfly: Best to follow them up, you may get an interview that way
    May 24, 2018, 13:06:33
  • mo_miah: with the number of applicants they don't have time to respond to everyone, normally they say they will contact you within x weeks for an interview and if you dont hear back then assume its a no
    May 24, 2018, 13:04:05
  • Wyntrblue: why do prospective employers never ever call you back. as of today i have applied for 37 jobs in 3 days (really need a new job)
    May 24, 2018, 11:29:01
  • hoverfly: My mistake the Hornet is still going...[link]
    May 23, 2018, 17:25:27
  • hoverfly: F/wings  made one called the Hornet  it's not listed now so i assume it's discontinued.  I have 3 Ravens  in various set ups , they go very well with multirotor motors . If you laminate them they are almost  indestructible,  the only bit to suffer is the wing tips. Absolute bargains... ~~
    May 23, 2018, 16:39:06
  • mo_miah: raven does look good and cheap enough
    May 23, 2018, 16:24:54
  • atomiclama: Isn't the raven small enough?
    May 23, 2018, 15:22:24
  • mo_miah: nothing around the 2ft wing span?
    May 23, 2018, 14:42:34
  • hoverfly: Have a look at the Flyingwings  web site.  they go from   32 inch upwards.. :smiley:
    May 23, 2018, 14:33:05
  • mo_miah: Im tempted by an FPV wing, they all seem huge though
    May 23, 2018, 13:40:48

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: 130, 150, 180, 210 frame size?  (Read 1556 times)

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
  • Liked: 586
  • Country: gb
130, 150, 180, 210 frame size?
« on: May 16, 2017, 19:53:12 »
Been flying my f450 with gimbal for a while. Started using fpvfreerider and my TX (flysky i6) and quanum v2 goggles to start learning fpv acro.
I would like to just fly round between trees and a bit of aerobatics. Obviously the f450 isn';t the craft for this. So I want to build a robust small quad that can on odd occasions carry my sj4000 cam but mostly just have fun flying round things learning acro.
So what size frame do you think fits the bill best bearing in mind I can build small (electronics engineer by trade) but don';t want to pay more just to be small? Also it will be a budget build.

Cheers for any suggestions.

Offline Saleem

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 958
  • Liked: 180
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: 130, 150, 180, 210 frame size?
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2017, 21:14:08 »
Biggest one mate,i got the turnigy version of the same cam and its pretty small on its own but with the protective case its rather hefty and large so off experience of the width and weight you gonna need hefty motors and frame.

Quite frankly i just gave up on mine and i fitted a dvr to my 250,shame i hardly ever fly it why i never post any footage of my not so flying skills  :laugh:

If theres a safe way to mount it and its less weighty then you will be okay fir a smaller frame but you will have to underslung the battery,if you ok with that?some people prefer underslung over ontop,personaly i wouldnt know fir acro as i fly it but dont freestyle.i can fly with battery either way but on a 180 you gotta think about the battery and the size if you want to mount ontop.

I am just not a big fan at the mo with anything much bigger than 200ish,i prefer smaller 150 myself.
 :smiley:

Offline Cynabal

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Liked: 28
  • Country: wales
  • ESC Destroyer
Re: 130, 150, 180, 210 frame size?
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2017, 21:23:48 »
130 and 150 size are great for learning on and fun to fly and are small and light enough if you get a good frame they tend to bounce on crashes and very rarely break, but i feel they are a little small for mounting a camera the extra weight ruins the flight times and maneuverability. You definitely want something that can run at least 5 inch props.

Offline ThomRC

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Liked: 26
  • Country: gb
Re: 130, 150, 180, 210 frame size?
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2017, 22:13:29 »
If you';re set on getting an HD cam on it, go for a 200+ with 5" props. A 130 will struggle to lift it, it';ll probably take off but it';ll feel underpowered. Here';s a video of an Armattan Japalura with a runcam: you can hear the motors screaming all the way around and you can see the lack of power when he';s trying to punch over trees.

A 180 on 4" props will be slightly better and not sound like it';s got a fire lit under it';s danglies, but it';ll still impact the performance.

Look up the weight of the quads you';re looking at, the SJ4000 weighs 58g, on a little 130 that can be over a quarter of it';s AUW.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4447
  • Liked: 1096
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: 130, 150, 180, 210 frame size?
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2017, 23:08:49 »
Agree with Cynabel, 5 inch props, plenty of robust 5 inch frames around, watch the weight

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1434
  • Liked: 562
  • Country: gb
Re: 130, 150, 180, 210 frame size?
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2017, 06:38:28 »
OK, so I have 280, 250, 200, 160 (2 of) and 150 (2 of).

As already said, I';d forget anything below 200 and 5" props carrying a HD camera, HOWEVER, I find most of my flying is on the pair of 160';s with 1306 motors and three blades with a DVR on the Headset.  The other pair are 1104 motored for big indoor and garden.

The 1306 motors will happily drag a 1300mAh 3S around, though normally when not running the full size to boundaries of our site I run 850 or 1000.

Incidentally, one 150 and one 160 are on the expensive Horus, the other pair on a really cheap FlySky FS-i6, otherwise the quads are identical. I prefer the FlySky!!!!  The 280, 250 and 200 are also on the FlySky and I see no reason to swap.

Offline atomiclama

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2365
  • Liked: 732
  • Country: gb
  • Uhh! What's that then, Oh! new project.
Re: 130, 150, 180, 210 frame size?
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2017, 12:29:24 »
+1 for the smaller quads.

Bits are cheaper.
They bounce better.
They break less.
Still fast and maneuverable.
They can carry a camera but it gets harder to fit them on.

I prefer them.
Wasdale X, Ow that hurt

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
  • Liked: 586
  • Country: gb
Re: 130, 150, 180, 210 frame size?
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2017, 21:05:28 »
Thanks very much for all the helpful replies.
Must admit I am a bit torn between carrying the hd cam and survivability. I suppose thinking about it I have the F450 for HD stuff maybe I should just go for a 160ish.
I do like the idea of something small and fairly crash resistant.
I think I will start investigating 160 ish frames.

Anyone suggest a budget 160ish frame and associated components?

Thanks again.

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1434
  • Liked: 562
  • Country: gb
Re: 130, 150, 180, 210 frame size?
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2017, 05:35:35 »
Mine are Diatone ET frames, DYS 1306 3100kV, BL Heli 20A, 3" TRI BLADES, Foxeer CCD Camera, "full size" PDB, FC and VTX.

The early frames had a thinner 1.5mm base plate, the later 2mm.  Frame format is "Dead Cat" giving a good combo of stability at speed yet great acro.

Offline atomiclama

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2365
  • Liked: 732
  • Country: gb
  • Uhh! What's that then, Oh! new project.
Re: 130, 150, 180, 210 frame size?
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2017, 08:02:49 »

I';ve built and crashed a couple of small quads. The first frame didn';t last too long, cheap thin carbon, but it was a good introduction.

http://www.multi-rotor.co.uk/index.php?topic=18236.0


My second is proving to be bomb proof, managed to get a preproduction frame from armattanquad';s bargain bin for a tenner
http://www.multi-rotor.co.uk/index.php?topic=19318.0

If I were to build something up from scratch I';d go with the following: -
http://www.armattanquads.com/armatank-162/

Budget frames are ok as long as you understand they are more likely to break and require replacing.

1806 motors.
http://rctimer.com/product-1571.html
https://www.banggood.com/DYS-1806-SE1806PRO-2700KV-3-4S-Brushless-Motor-For-180-200-210-220-250-FPV-Racing-Frame-p-1093094.html

You could fit 220x motors but then the weight goes up

Dalprop 4045 x 3 props.
http://www.surveilzone.com/-g-1515

The quad blades are a blast but borderline too heavy and they hammer the lipo. My lipos are not upto the job.

Any of the 4-in-1 ESC as fitting the ESC on the arms is a pain in the backside, something like:-
https://www.banggood.com/Racerstar-RS20Ax4-V2-20A-BB2-48MHz-Blheli_S-2-4S-Opto-Oneshot42-Multishot-4-in-1-ESC-for-FPV-Racer-p-1080541.html

I';m just rebuilding my quad with one of these to see what it';s like.
https://www.banggood.com/BF3_1_5-Omnibus-F4-V2-Flight-Controller-STM32-F405-MCU-Integrated-OSD-Built-in-5V-BEC-Current-Meter-p-1143258.html

Camera, RX and VTX of choice , just keep it small and light.

I run a selection of lipos from 800mAh to 1100mAh and get ~4-5 mins flight out of them.
Wasdale X, Ow that hurt

Offline atomiclama

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2365
  • Liked: 732
  • Country: gb
  • Uhh! What's that then, Oh! new project.
Re: 130, 150, 180, 210 frame size?
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2017, 10:29:07 »
Oh yeah a build log with pictures is required.  :popcorn:
Wasdale X, Ow that hurt

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
  • Liked: 586
  • Country: gb
Re: 130, 150, 180, 210 frame size?
« Reply #11 on: June 22, 2017, 17:00:03 »
Now the runcam split is out, subject to reviews, it makes HD footage on a smaller than 200 frame a good possibility.
So any recommendations for a 150+ budget frame and Motors etc. Ideally want standard 35mm FC as the split is same mount, would like to use 4in1 esc as tidied and safer inside frame.
So any ideas?

Thanks again.

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1434
  • Liked: 562
  • Country: gb
Re: 130, 150, 180, 210 frame size?
« Reply #12 on: June 22, 2017, 17:32:37 »

Offline shawdreamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1260
  • Liked: 720
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: 130, 150, 180, 210 frame size?
« Reply #13 on: June 22, 2017, 18:03:54 »
Now the runcam split is out, subject to reviews, it makes HD footage on a smaller than 200 frame a good possibility.
So any recommendations for a 150+ budget frame and Motors etc. Ideally want standard 35mm FC as the split is same mount, would like to use 4in1 esc as tidied and safer inside frame.
So any ideas?

Thanks again.

Im looking at using a stacked fc and esc setup on my new frame design and found a nice budget freindly assortment on banggood as usual, basically they offer three different fc';s coupled with the same 4in1 esc, 35mm format and a nice compact stack setup too.

might be worth a nose to ya...
https://www.banggood.com/Eachine-Falcon-120-Spare-Part-Naze32-6DOF-Flight-Controller-with-4-In-1-BLHELI-S-20A-ESC-p-1116896.html?rmmds=search

https://www.banggood.com/Eachine-Falcon-120-Spare-Part-CC3D-32-bit-Flight-Controller-with-4-In-1-BLHELI-S-20A-ESC-p-1116901.html?rmmds=search

https://www.banggood.com/Eachine-Falcon-120-F3-Acro-6-DOF-Flight-Controller-with-4-In-1-BLHELI-S-20A-ESC-p-1116897.html?rmmds=search

their all listed as optional upgrades for the Eachine 120 falcon but Ive used the exact same 20amp racerstar 4in1 on 250';s for a while now and it performs very well, add in the prewired plugs and they all make for a very tidy setup.
550 custom H-copter
zmr250
Reaper250 V.1
Reaper250 V.2
ViceVersa250 XL
zmr250Hybrid
250 Twinboard
Dji Spark clone
Project Sparkie
https://www.thingiverse.com/shawdreamer/designs