User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bajadre: welcome to MRUK chad enjoy buddy :)
    May 20, 2018, 09:25:43
  • Andy7: Hey chad. Welcome to the forum. Hope you enjoy it!
    May 18, 2018, 22:15:38
  • Kellarly: Hi
    May 18, 2018, 21:43:36
  • ChadB: Hello from a new member!
    May 18, 2018, 21:14:11
  • Gaza07: :beer2:  ~~
    May 17, 2018, 19:45:07
  • Bajadre: thanks gaza your a legend brother!!!!
    May 17, 2018, 19:13:46
  • ched999uk: VaNDAL just do the chargeback don't bother threatning just just lose time. I had an F4 with no OSD been flying with out the OSD as rest works fine. Never had an OSD so not really missing it. Do have Swift MicroV2 so batt V OSD.
    May 17, 2018, 18:54:29
  • arashi2009: lantian 90L
    May 15, 2018, 17:00:26
  • VaNDAL_UK: charge*
    May 15, 2018, 12:56:19
  • VaNDAL_UK: Thanks done all that. Pal, ntsc and auto. Tested the beeper all working correct pads ect.. I've put a RMA in with banggood. No responce afte 7 days a carge back warning is in order
    May 15, 2018, 12:55:34
  • ched999uk: VaNDAL make sure the tv system is selected to match the camera. Beeper normally +5v and 0v via beeper pin?
    May 14, 2018, 18:09:07
  • VaNDAL_UK: Anyone got experience with a Fury f3S flight controlelr. I can't get OSD or the beeper working!!!
    May 14, 2018, 16:28:18
  • mo_miah: @HF real talk!
    May 14, 2018, 11:36:47
  • Andy7: Ah... never watch that expecting anything serious. That's why Graham Nortin is the perfect host for that show.
    May 13, 2018, 09:19:01
  • hoverfly: I didn't watch eurovision but saw the winning entry on the news this morning.... w.t.f.   just what is going on  if anything  in the heads of people who think that was anything but  total pig slurry....It should also be remembered these people also vote in general elections  which affect your lives.. ..off to bog to finish puking.. :sick: :sick: :sick:
    May 13, 2018, 09:10:18
  • Andy7: Watching Eurovision and ripping the new map in DRL... yeahh!!
    May 12, 2018, 22:23:35
  • DarkButterfly: I’m just not keen on MAVlink, it’s an unencrypted link and can be pwnd by anyone with a laptop and a modified 433 telemetry radio
    May 12, 2018, 21:44:01
  • shawdreamer: doesnt anyone use a mission planner anymore?,  as much as APM's are getting outdated now I still cant fault their mission planner when your doing range runs, take my laptop or windows pad along with me, program in a simple straight line waypoint route and hit "launch", aslong as your frame got a 433mhz telem radio onboard you can monitor the entire run their and back and worse case scenerio hit RTH on the lappy to bring it home early
    May 12, 2018, 17:36:30
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    May 11, 2018, 20:03:57
  • hoverfly: Don't  panic all hex's  pee themselves on 6s  , it's the excitement.. :laugh:
    May 11, 2018, 19:03:05

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Switchable VTX or Not ?  (Read 835 times)

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 444
  • Liked: 72
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Switchable VTX or Not ?
« on: May 16, 2017, 07:52:18 »
 My three 200-250 size outdoor quads have the old style Eachine 200mw vtx';s in which I have had no problems with but space is always an issue with building quads and I have seen the latest reincarnation of the Eachine VTX  on BG which is much smaller so I want to order three of them......... now there are two that I';m interested in one which is switchable from 25/50/200mw or the 200mw there is only just under a pounds difference per vtx  so am i better to get the switchable over the fixed one.......I fly outdoors and usually alone......... but if I do fly with others would the switchable be better or is 200mw fine and won';t interefer with others ? Is really 25/50mw worth me considering anyway as I know it';s reduced power/range so why would I really need it anyway or for less than a pound I might as well have it just in case I use it on an indoor quad ?
Forgot to mention I will be using a ipx to sms adapter so I can use my normal size antenna  ;)
https://m.banggood.com/Eachine-VTX02-Super-Mini-5_8G-40CH-200mW-FPV-Transmitter-p-1114204.html?rmmds=search

https://m.banggood.com/Eachine-VTX03-Super-Mini-5_8G-72CH-025mW50mw200mW-Switchable-FPV-Transmitter-p-1114206.html?rmmds=search
« Last Edit: May 16, 2017, 07:56:31 by aburn09 »

Offline Hozza

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 828
  • Liked: 269
  • Country: gb
  • Meh!
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2017, 08:06:35 »
You do know that the UK legal power output for 5.8GHz is 25mW right :laugh:

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 444
  • Liked: 72
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2017, 08:34:29 »
Yes......... but i think most fly 200mw outdoors ';illegally'; ......... but until someone official with a mw  detector pulls me up I';ll take the risk.......however I suppose with the switchable one I could plead ignorance and have the option of switching it back to 25mw  ;)

Offline hoverfly

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2388
  • Liked: 1029
  • Country: gb
  • Quads, lots of quads
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2017, 08:49:59 »
As with the new pest control, weed killer ,wood preserver,cb radio ( remember that)  products,they are only allowed if they don';t work. :laugh:
Reptile folder , alien 500 , F/ Shark Attitudes,
 .Tarot 650, Air-rio Kinetic.. DX9  Various wings and planks.. Taranis x9D+..Mavic..Armattan.. Chameleion...
Massive over draught.....

Offline Hozza

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 828
  • Liked: 269
  • Country: gb
  • Meh!
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2017, 08:52:01 »

Offline ThomRC

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Liked: 26
  • Country: gb
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2017, 09:48:11 »
It';s worth noting that regardless of the laws, if you ever want to race, the rules usually say that you must be using 25mw. If your VTX can';t do 25mw, you won';t be able to race.

Even if the rules don';t say you have to be using 25mw, if you';re flying with mates in the park that do race in those places, your 200mw vtx could cause problems if they';re only on 25.

For the sake of a few quid, you lose nothing and gain the option to race, fly with others and be able to say "Sorry officer, I';ll just switch it over".

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 444
  • Liked: 72
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2017, 09:56:45 »
I think it makes sense to get the switcher it';s only a few pounds more for the three and it will mean I';ll have the choice then to choose what channel according to the environment  :smiley:..........I';ve never used 25mw before I only park fly my quads around  a 150-200 meter range so maybe I';ll try the legal 25mw to see if I still get a signal which I assume I probably will depends what break up I get I suppose ?
« Last Edit: May 16, 2017, 10:13:06 by aburn09 »

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4402
  • Liked: 1070
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2017, 10:28:58 »
Relevant points:
1. As above legal limit
2. As above, racing - common for it to be tested now at meets rather than just check it is 25mW or set to 25mW,
3. Flying with others - people don';t like it when you fly your quad closer than theirs and their fpv switches to yours
4. Quality/accuracy - without making specific references I have been told some race meets banned specific switchable vtx as the output wasn';t accurate

For my money the best vtx by a country mile is the tbs unify pro hv race

Offline Digit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
  • Liked: 58
  • Country: gb
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2017, 10:42:03 »

For my money the best vtx by a country mile is the tbs unify pro hv race

Seconded, any of the unify pro range for me.

Offline Paul01

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1392
  • Liked: 313
  • Country: gb
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2017, 14:12:14 »
For my money the best vtx by a country mile is the tbs unify pro hv race

Any reason why the unify is a country mile better than the Tramp? not used a unify yet so interested to know (other than the obvious cost difference).
FrSky Taranis X9D Plus with TBS Crossfire Micro
FatShark Dominator V3 with RealAcc Pro Diversity
Armattan Chameleon
DJI Mavic Pro
https://www.youtube.com/c/paul01

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4402
  • Liked: 1070
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2017, 19:10:23 »
Any reason why the unify is a country mile better than the Tramp? not used a unify yet so interested to know (other than the obvious cost difference).
Tramp is dependent on a wand (which have a reputation for not working) or getting comms working, if there is a problem you can';t troubleshoot it

Unify is easy to change settings with the button, is a smaller form factor.

On face value I prefer the unify, I wouldn';t criticise anyone for getting a tramp, but i would say the same is true for the whole flight line I fly on, all using unify over tramp

Offline Paul01

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1392
  • Liked: 313
  • Country: gb
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2017, 23:47:46 »
Tramp is dependent on a wand (which have a reputation for not working) or getting comms working, if there is a problem you can';t troubleshoot it

Unify is easy to change settings with the button, is a smaller form factor.

On face value I prefer the unify, I wouldn';t criticise anyone for getting a tramp, but i would say the same is true for the whole flight line I fly on, all using unify over tramp

Little misleading, the Tramp can be configured easily with its button, can easily be set using the Betaflight OSD and/or the Taranis using a script!

So just the price then thats a difference and the issue of not being able to use audio and smart audio at the same time, i';ll probably pick a Unify race up at some point as they are well priced.
FrSky Taranis X9D Plus with TBS Crossfire Micro
FatShark Dominator V3 with RealAcc Pro Diversity
Armattan Chameleon
DJI Mavic Pro
https://www.youtube.com/c/paul01

Offline Digit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
  • Liked: 58
  • Country: gb
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2017, 00:04:05 »
You can use audio and smart audio at the same time. You get a clicking type sound until you arm and then it goes away and you get the normal audio.

Offline Paul01

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1392
  • Liked: 313
  • Country: gb
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2017, 11:05:26 »
You can use audio and smart audio at the same time. You get a clicking type sound until you arm and then it goes away and you get the normal audio.

Trappy said otherwise in a video I watch about a month ago, good know know you can though.
FrSky Taranis X9D Plus with TBS Crossfire Micro
FatShark Dominator V3 with RealAcc Pro Diversity
Armattan Chameleon
DJI Mavic Pro
https://www.youtube.com/c/paul01