User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Reman: Unlikely. I can't even see where the snapped end of the windings are. It looks like its fractured right where the enamel copper goes into the stator. I'd have to cook the stator off the bearing tower to get to it, And if I went that far I'd probabbly be better off re winding the whole stator instaid of doing a bodge.
    Today at 21:49:31
  • ched999uk: Sugar reman, can't you resolder a wire onto the windings? You will need to remove teh coating.
    Today at 21:00:42
  • Reman: Oh c0ck. :(  I've been building a lightweight 5" to use the 1900kv Multistar 1704's I salvaged off my first quad. The whole point of this build was to make something light enough to be fun with this particular set of motors........ Long story short, I've just managed to snap one of the windings tails off the stator on one of them. Short of rewinding the little b4stard, its scrap..... So once again, Oh c0ck ! :(
    Today at 20:58:24
  • Bad Raven: Caramel and White Chocolate Mentos..........   MMMMMMM
    Today at 16:11:21
  • Bad Raven: :eating:
    Today at 16:10:04
  • insx: :cool:
    Today at 16:08:26
  • shawdreamer: so another foreign power stuffs the uk suipply lines by blocking antwerp harbour..... 70yrs and we still havnt learnt <sigh>
    August 16, 2017, 08:49:53
  • DarrellW: Oh ow....... HK deliveries stuffed for a while........
    August 15, 2017, 21:40:05
  • hoverfly: Rhubarb superb stuff, always gives you a good run for your money.... ::)
    August 15, 2017, 21:21:47
  • Bajadre: mmm  rhubarb cider :)
    August 15, 2017, 21:15:29
  • DarrellW: Old Rosie is THE stuff, definitely floats my boat ::)
    August 15, 2017, 19:01:06
  • ched999uk: No breaks allowed  ::)
    August 15, 2017, 18:48:45
  • atomiclama: time for a break.
    August 15, 2017, 18:00:22
  • atomiclama: Yeay my post count matches the year.
    August 15, 2017, 18:00:06
  • Bad Raven: Talisker, on prescription??   ::)   ::)
    August 15, 2017, 17:04:34
  • Bajadre: lol atomiclama
    August 15, 2017, 13:21:52
  • atomiclama: I find Talisker does the job quite well ;;)
    August 15, 2017, 08:46:54
  • Bajadre: THC always gets me to sleep lol
    August 14, 2017, 12:59:20
  • hoverfly: C17H27NO2 .. :o
    August 14, 2017, 09:24:57
  • DarrellW: @BR Venlafaxine now :-/
    August 14, 2017, 08:26:46

MultiRotorUK Test

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Switchable VTX or Not ?  (Read 400 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 276
  • Liked: 50
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Switchable VTX or Not ?
« on: May 16, 2017, 07:52:18 »
 My three 200-250 size outdoor quads have the old style Eachine 200mw vtx's in which I have had no problems with but space is always an issue with building quads and I have seen the latest reincarnation of the Eachine VTX  on BG which is much smaller so I want to order three of them......... now there are two that I'm interested in one which is switchable from 25/50/200mw or the 200mw there is only just under a pounds difference per vtx  so am i better to get the switchable over the fixed one.......I fly outdoors and usually alone......... but if I do fly with others would the switchable be better or is 200mw fine and won't interefer with others ? Is really 25/50mw worth me considering anyway as I know it's reduced power/range so why would I really need it anyway or for less than a pound I might as well have it just in case I use it on an indoor quad ?
Forgot to mention I will be using a ipx to sms adapter so I can use my normal size antenna  ;)
https://m.banggood.com/Eachine-VTX02-Super-Mini-5_8G-40CH-200mW-FPV-Transmitter-p-1114204.html?rmmds=search

https://m.banggood.com/Eachine-VTX03-Super-Mini-5_8G-72CH-025mW50mw200mW-Switchable-FPV-Transmitter-p-1114206.html?rmmds=search
« Last Edit: May 16, 2017, 07:56:31 by aburn09 »



Offline Hozza

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 20
  • -Receive: 32
  • Posts: 737
  • Liked: 224
  • Country: gb
  • You don’t pay taxes—they take taxes.
    • View Profile
    • Fun, Run and Gun
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2017, 08:06:35 »
You do know that the UK legal power output for 5.8GHz is 25mW right :laugh:

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 276
  • Liked: 50
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2017, 08:34:29 »
Yes......... but i think most fly 200mw outdoors 'illegally' ......... but until someone official with a mw  detector pulls me up I'll take the risk.......however I suppose with the switchable one I could plead ignorance and have the option of switching it back to 25mw  ;)

Offline hoverfly

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 40
  • -Receive: 63
  • Posts: 1614
  • Liked: 659
  • Country: gb
  • Quads, lots of quads
    • View Profile
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2017, 08:49:59 »
As with the new pest control, weed killer ,wood preserver,cb radio ( remember that)  products,they are only allowed if they don't work. :laugh:
Reptile folder , alien 500 , F/ Shark Attitudes,
Spektrum DX 8 with mode knob conversion.Tarot 650, Tarot 250 DX9

Offline Hozza

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 20
  • -Receive: 32
  • Posts: 737
  • Liked: 224
  • Country: gb
  • You don’t pay taxes—they take taxes.
    • View Profile
    • Fun, Run and Gun
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2017, 08:52:01 »
Personally I'd go for the switcher as I've noticed you get less reflection indoors on lower power and I know it doesn't have the discount code the 200mw has, but if you use  code: affiliate6 there is only £1.26 price difference.

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline ThomRC

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 74
  • Liked: 26
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2017, 09:48:11 »
It's worth noting that regardless of the laws, if you ever want to race, the rules usually say that you must be using 25mw. If your VTX can't do 25mw, you won't be able to race.

Even if the rules don't say you have to be using 25mw, if you're flying with mates in the park that do race in those places, your 200mw vtx could cause problems if they're only on 25.

For the sake of a few quid, you lose nothing and gain the option to race, fly with others and be able to say "Sorry officer, I'll just switch it over".

Offline aburn09

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 276
  • Liked: 50
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2017, 09:56:45 »
I think it makes sense to get the switcher it's only a few pounds more for the three and it will mean I'll have the choice then to choose what channel according to the environment  :smiley:..........I've never used 25mw before I only park fly my quads around  a 150-200 meter range so maybe I'll try the legal 25mw to see if I still get a signal which I assume I probably will depends what break up I get I suppose ?
« Last Edit: May 16, 2017, 10:13:06 by aburn09 »

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 308
  • Posts: 3615
  • Liked: 777
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2017, 10:28:58 »
Relevant points:
1. As above legal limit
2. As above, racing - common for it to be tested now at meets rather than just check it is 25mW or set to 25mW,
3. Flying with others - people don't like it when you fly your quad closer than theirs and their fpv switches to yours
4. Quality/accuracy - without making specific references I have been told some race meets banned specific switchable vtx as the output wasn't accurate

For my money the best vtx by a country mile is the tbs unify pro hv race

Offline Digit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 354
  • Liked: 57
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2017, 10:42:03 »

For my money the best vtx by a country mile is the tbs unify pro hv race

Seconded, any of the unify pro range for me.

Offline Paul01

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 79
  • Posts: 1321
  • Liked: 299
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2017, 14:12:14 »
For my money the best vtx by a country mile is the tbs unify pro hv race

Any reason why the unify is a country mile better than the Tramp? not used a unify yet so interested to know (other than the obvious cost difference).
FrSky Taranis X9D Plus with Hall effect gimbals
FatShark Dominator V3 with RealAcc Pro Diversity
Armattan Chameleon OOmph 2300kv Spedix ES25a ESC's Matek F405 FC
Martian 230 Emax RS2205 2300kv, X-Racer303, Spedix ES20a ESC's
DJI Mavic Pro
RealAcc 210+ Racerstar 2300kv Betaflight F3
Eachine QX90

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 308
  • Posts: 3615
  • Liked: 777
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2017, 19:10:23 »
Any reason why the unify is a country mile better than the Tramp? not used a unify yet so interested to know (other than the obvious cost difference).
Tramp is dependent on a wand (which have a reputation for not working) or getting comms working, if there is a problem you can't troubleshoot it

Unify is easy to change settings with the button, is a smaller form factor.

On face value I prefer the unify, I wouldn't criticise anyone for getting a tramp, but i would say the same is true for the whole flight line I fly on, all using unify over tramp

Offline Paul01

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 79
  • Posts: 1321
  • Liked: 299
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2017, 23:47:46 »
Tramp is dependent on a wand (which have a reputation for not working) or getting comms working, if there is a problem you can't troubleshoot it

Unify is easy to change settings with the button, is a smaller form factor.

On face value I prefer the unify, I wouldn't criticise anyone for getting a tramp, but i would say the same is true for the whole flight line I fly on, all using unify over tramp

Little misleading, the Tramp can be configured easily with its button, can easily be set using the Betaflight OSD and/or the Taranis using a script!

So just the price then thats a difference and the issue of not being able to use audio and smart audio at the same time, i'll probably pick a Unify race up at some point as they are well priced.
FrSky Taranis X9D Plus with Hall effect gimbals
FatShark Dominator V3 with RealAcc Pro Diversity
Armattan Chameleon OOmph 2300kv Spedix ES25a ESC's Matek F405 FC
Martian 230 Emax RS2205 2300kv, X-Racer303, Spedix ES20a ESC's
DJI Mavic Pro
RealAcc 210+ Racerstar 2300kv Betaflight F3
Eachine QX90

Offline Digit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 354
  • Liked: 57
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2017, 00:04:05 »
You can use audio and smart audio at the same time. You get a clicking type sound until you arm and then it goes away and you get the normal audio.

Offline Paul01

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 79
  • Posts: 1321
  • Liked: 299
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: Switchable VTX or Not ?
« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2017, 11:05:26 »
You can use audio and smart audio at the same time. You get a clicking type sound until you arm and then it goes away and you get the normal audio.

Trappy said otherwise in a video I watch about a month ago, good know know you can though.
FrSky Taranis X9D Plus with Hall effect gimbals
FatShark Dominator V3 with RealAcc Pro Diversity
Armattan Chameleon OOmph 2300kv Spedix ES25a ESC's Matek F405 FC
Martian 230 Emax RS2205 2300kv, X-Racer303, Spedix ES20a ESC's
DJI Mavic Pro
RealAcc 210+ Racerstar 2300kv Betaflight F3
Eachine QX90