User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bajadre: welcome to MRUK chad enjoy buddy :)
    May 20, 2018, 09:25:43
  • Andy7: Hey chad. Welcome to the forum. Hope you enjoy it!
    May 18, 2018, 22:15:38
  • Kellarly: Hi
    May 18, 2018, 21:43:36
  • ChadB: Hello from a new member!
    May 18, 2018, 21:14:11
  • Gaza07: :beer2:  ~~
    May 17, 2018, 19:45:07
  • Bajadre: thanks gaza your a legend brother!!!!
    May 17, 2018, 19:13:46
  • ched999uk: VaNDAL just do the chargeback don't bother threatning just just lose time. I had an F4 with no OSD been flying with out the OSD as rest works fine. Never had an OSD so not really missing it. Do have Swift MicroV2 so batt V OSD.
    May 17, 2018, 18:54:29
  • arashi2009: lantian 90L
    May 15, 2018, 17:00:26
  • VaNDAL_UK: charge*
    May 15, 2018, 12:56:19
  • VaNDAL_UK: Thanks done all that. Pal, ntsc and auto. Tested the beeper all working correct pads ect.. I've put a RMA in with banggood. No responce afte 7 days a carge back warning is in order
    May 15, 2018, 12:55:34
  • ched999uk: VaNDAL make sure the tv system is selected to match the camera. Beeper normally +5v and 0v via beeper pin?
    May 14, 2018, 18:09:07
  • VaNDAL_UK: Anyone got experience with a Fury f3S flight controlelr. I can't get OSD or the beeper working!!!
    May 14, 2018, 16:28:18
  • mo_miah: @HF real talk!
    May 14, 2018, 11:36:47
  • Andy7: Ah... never watch that expecting anything serious. That's why Graham Nortin is the perfect host for that show.
    May 13, 2018, 09:19:01
  • hoverfly: I didn't watch eurovision but saw the winning entry on the news this morning.... w.t.f.   just what is going on  if anything  in the heads of people who think that was anything but  total pig slurry....It should also be remembered these people also vote in general elections  which affect your lives.. ..off to bog to finish puking.. :sick: :sick: :sick:
    May 13, 2018, 09:10:18
  • Andy7: Watching Eurovision and ripping the new map in DRL... yeahh!!
    May 12, 2018, 22:23:35
  • DarkButterfly: I’m just not keen on MAVlink, it’s an unencrypted link and can be pwnd by anyone with a laptop and a modified 433 telemetry radio
    May 12, 2018, 21:44:01
  • shawdreamer: doesnt anyone use a mission planner anymore?,  as much as APM's are getting outdated now I still cant fault their mission planner when your doing range runs, take my laptop or windows pad along with me, program in a simple straight line waypoint route and hit "launch", aslong as your frame got a 433mhz telem radio onboard you can monitor the entire run their and back and worse case scenerio hit RTH on the lappy to bring it home early
    May 12, 2018, 17:36:30
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    May 11, 2018, 20:03:57
  • hoverfly: Don't  panic all hex's  pee themselves on 6s  , it's the excitement.. :laugh:
    May 11, 2018, 19:03:05

Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 35
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Remote Desktop - easy instal for the elderly?  (Read 372 times)

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2474
  • Liked: 579
  • Country: gb
Remote Desktop - easy instal for the elderly?
« on: February 12, 2018, 19:04:28 »
OK so this is a long shot and off topic.
My Mum who is 100 miles away is having computer issues!!! She is a bit deaf and very computer illiterate.
I had installed Chrome Remote Desktop to try and access her computer but it seems like what ever she has done is stopping it running.
Her computer (laptop) is running Win10 as she accidentally upgraded!!

So can anyone think of an easy way for me to remotely control her laptop? Needs to be easy for her to install.

Thanks for any help.

Offline Gavster29

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
  • Liked: 45
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Remote Desktop - easy instal for the elderly?
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2018, 19:22:54 »
You could try TeamViewer but if she can't download it there might be an issue!

It's the easy way to remote desktop in

Sent from my TA-1033 using Tapatalk


Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4407
  • Liked: 1071
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Remote Desktop - easy instal for the elderly?
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2018, 19:26:13 »
Agree with Gav

Offline orfordness

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 681
  • Liked: 142
  • Country: gb
Re: Remote Desktop - easy instal for the elderly?
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2018, 19:45:27 »
Remote assistance is built into Windows 10:-

https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/4026516/windows-use-remote-assistance-to-let-someone-fix-your-pc

Or use the Windows 10 Quick assist app?

All depends if she can actually get online?

Steve
DJI Mavic Pro
Tarot 680 Pro Hex
450 (Flamewheel clone) x 4
Hubsan X4
CS022 Mini Quad

Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 238
  • Liked: 51
  • Country: gb
Re: Remote Desktop - easy instal for the elderly?
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2018, 20:32:22 »
Another vote for teamviewer. Just make sure it’s set to always run on startup

Offline Wyntrblue

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 238
  • Liked: 51
  • Country: gb
Re: Remote Desktop - easy instal for the elderly?
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2018, 20:32:46 »
Or just save a bookmark to the teamviewer quick support app. Doesn’t need an install

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2474
  • Liked: 579
  • Country: gb
Re: Remote Desktop - easy instal for the elderly?
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2018, 21:02:17 »
Or just save a bookmark to the teamviewer quick support app. Doesn’t need an install
That sounds good where can I find the link?

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2474
  • Liked: 579
  • Country: gb
Re: Remote Desktop - easy instal for the elderly?
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2018, 21:06:12 »
Thanks very much everyone. I am about to try and get her to install Teamview, this could be fun  :(
Thanks

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2474
  • Liked: 579
  • Country: gb
Re: Remote Desktop - easy instal for the elderly?
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2018, 21:48:05 »
I failed! Well forces stopped me. More accurately some scam/virus stopped me! Somehow she has installed something that stops chrome apps (remote desktop) and blocks teamviewer!!! When you try and go to teamviewer.com it pops up some bloke saying he is from microsoft and you need to contact their techs and pay via credit card to remove the virus!!!!

So she is stuck just using here Kindle fire till I can get time to go and fix it.

Thanks very much for the suggestions. I will install TeamViewer when I visit so then I have that and Chrome Remote Desktop to try.

Unfortunately the Win10 remote assistant is a no go as I only have win7 here. Oh no I dont I have my 8" win10 tablet, now there is an idea for another day. She is too stressed by the man from 'microsoft' saying she has a virus......

Maybe I will just wipe it and install some sort of Linux, she only browses or uses email (well webmail). That should stop it getting viruses! I guess she gets suckered by the clickbait ads or my Sisters kids install all sorts of rubbish containing viruses.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4407
  • Liked: 1071
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Remote Desktop - easy instal for the elderly?
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2018, 22:01:07 »
Be careful fixing mate, you don’t want to look at your mums browser history based on that! :)
(Check her proxy settings, Suspect they are looping back

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2474
  • Liked: 579
  • Country: gb
Re: Remote Desktop - easy instal for the elderly?
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2018, 22:52:39 »
Be careful fixing mate, you don’t want to look at your mums browser history based on that! :)
(Check her proxy settings, Suspect they are looping back
I think you are right about the LoopBack. History :hmm: :hmm: :hmm: :hmm:

Might just wipe machine as it has issues ever since she 'upgraded to Win10 by accident!'. Somehow either it or she switches to the colour scheme for high contrast...