User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bajadre: welcome to MRUK chad enjoy buddy :)
    May 20, 2018, 09:25:43
  • Andy7: Hey chad. Welcome to the forum. Hope you enjoy it!
    May 18, 2018, 22:15:38
  • Kellarly: Hi
    May 18, 2018, 21:43:36
  • ChadB: Hello from a new member!
    May 18, 2018, 21:14:11
  • Gaza07: :beer2:  ~~
    May 17, 2018, 19:45:07
  • Bajadre: thanks gaza your a legend brother!!!!
    May 17, 2018, 19:13:46
  • ched999uk: VaNDAL just do the chargeback don't bother threatning just just lose time. I had an F4 with no OSD been flying with out the OSD as rest works fine. Never had an OSD so not really missing it. Do have Swift MicroV2 so batt V OSD.
    May 17, 2018, 18:54:29
  • arashi2009: lantian 90L
    May 15, 2018, 17:00:26
  • VaNDAL_UK: charge*
    May 15, 2018, 12:56:19
  • VaNDAL_UK: Thanks done all that. Pal, ntsc and auto. Tested the beeper all working correct pads ect.. I've put a RMA in with banggood. No responce afte 7 days a carge back warning is in order
    May 15, 2018, 12:55:34
  • ched999uk: VaNDAL make sure the tv system is selected to match the camera. Beeper normally +5v and 0v via beeper pin?
    May 14, 2018, 18:09:07
  • VaNDAL_UK: Anyone got experience with a Fury f3S flight controlelr. I can't get OSD or the beeper working!!!
    May 14, 2018, 16:28:18
  • mo_miah: @HF real talk!
    May 14, 2018, 11:36:47
  • Andy7: Ah... never watch that expecting anything serious. That's why Graham Nortin is the perfect host for that show.
    May 13, 2018, 09:19:01
  • hoverfly: I didn't watch eurovision but saw the winning entry on the news this morning.... w.t.f.   just what is going on  if anything  in the heads of people who think that was anything but  total pig slurry....It should also be remembered these people also vote in general elections  which affect your lives.. ..off to bog to finish puking.. :sick: :sick: :sick:
    May 13, 2018, 09:10:18
  • Andy7: Watching Eurovision and ripping the new map in DRL... yeahh!!
    May 12, 2018, 22:23:35
  • DarkButterfly: I’m just not keen on MAVlink, it’s an unencrypted link and can be pwnd by anyone with a laptop and a modified 433 telemetry radio
    May 12, 2018, 21:44:01
  • shawdreamer: doesnt anyone use a mission planner anymore?,  as much as APM's are getting outdated now I still cant fault their mission planner when your doing range runs, take my laptop or windows pad along with me, program in a simple straight line waypoint route and hit "launch", aslong as your frame got a 433mhz telem radio onboard you can monitor the entire run their and back and worse case scenerio hit RTH on the lappy to bring it home early
    May 12, 2018, 17:36:30
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    May 11, 2018, 20:03:57
  • hoverfly: Don't  panic all hex's  pee themselves on 6s  , it's the excitement.. :laugh:
    May 11, 2018, 19:03:05

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Dji s800 ESC input signal  (Read 760 times)

Offline Davie12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Dji s800 ESC input signal
« on: October 21, 2017, 11:17:50 »
Hi guys
for quite sometime I';ve been attempting to test some dji 4114 pro KV:400 motors by using the DJI a2 flight controller without the use of RC transmitter.

I';ve got my taranis and pixhawk their way.

has anyone got information on these motor';s and esc';s

input voltage to power the esc/motor';s
input signal to trigger the motor';s
many thanks

So I';ve taken this control board apart and found "S800 EVO- BLDC v8"
i can also see what looks like jtag pads are these for firmware updates or just factory test pads?

thanks again
« Last Edit: October 21, 2017, 14:16:30 by Davie12 »

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2474
  • Liked: 579
  • Country: gb
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2017, 15:02:58 »
I believe the motors are rated 4-8S.
As for getting the motors to spin the signal you need depend on the esc you are using.
I would wait till your pixhawk and tx arrive.

Offline Davie12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2018, 17:31:03 »
I now got myself a pixhawk flight controller and taranis x9plus and using mission planner

still no look with getting the motors to spin up.

any ideas

Offline AmiSMB

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Liked: 10
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2018, 18:29:34 »
With the Pixhawk it will refuse to arm unless it passes all of the pre flight checks. If you run the mission control software it should show in red why it is not able to arm. There is also a button you may need to push to enable it to arm. I had a similar issue on my Pixracer running PX4 or Ardupilot.
KC250 RS2205 2300kv SPF3 DAL 5 x 4.5 BN
EMAX MT2204 2300kv SPF3 DAL 5 x 4.5 BN
Gravity 250 DYS 1806 2300kv SPF3 DAL 5 x 4.5BN

Controlled by FrSky Taranis

Offline Davie12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2018, 18:48:28 »
Thanks for getting back to me Amismb.

I disabled the pre-check in mission planner and I can get it to arm but nothing from the motors.

Are DJI products compatible with pixhawk.


Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2474
  • Liked: 579
  • Country: gb
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2018, 21:33:36 »
I know nothing about mission planner but normally in Flight Controller config software there is a system where you can test and calibrate esc and motors.
Is there something like that in mission planner?
On BetaFlight you normally have to tick a box saying props are off and I know what I am doing!!!!

Remember PROPS OFF.

Offline Davie12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2018, 15:54:19 »
thanks for the input guys.
 I must be doing something wrong as i still cant get the motors to spin up.
 
  could anyone recommend some lightweight ESC's that work well with the pichawk

 cheers again

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2474
  • Liked: 579
  • Country: gb
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2018, 16:43:48 »
thanks for the input guys.
 I must be doing something wrong as i still cant get the motors to spin up.
 
  could anyone recommend some lightweight ESC's that work well with the pichawk

 cheers again
I know this means a bit or rewiring but it would prove if the esc and motors are working.
Basically you need to plug the esc control wires directly into your rx (as long as it does pwm, you will need appropriate power fro rx) and connect power to the esc. Then you should be able to get the tx-rx to make the motor spin. Remember NO PROPS.

If you can get that working then the motors and esc are all working. So its just the FC to sort out.

Offline orfordness

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 681
  • Liked: 142
  • Country: gb
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2018, 09:42:12 »
thanks for the input guys.
 I must be doing something wrong as i still cant get the motors to spin up.
 
  could anyone recommend some lightweight ESC's that work well with the pichawk

 cheers again

What ESC's were you using before?
DJI Mavic Pro
Tarot 680 Pro Hex
450 (Flamewheel clone) x 4
Hubsan X4
CS022 Mini Quad

Offline Davie12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2018, 17:24:47 »
@ched999uk:
     It didn't even dawn on me to try that. I am right in thinking that the frsky x8R receiver is pwm output.

@orfordness:
     The escs are the ones that DJI have attached to the 4114 pro motors.
  After pulled the motor off the only markings where S800-evo.
 There is no power lead so I have to supply it myself.

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2474
  • Liked: 579
  • Country: gb
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2018, 19:37:32 »
@ched999uk:
     It didn't even dawn on me to try that. I am right in thinking that the frsky x8R receiver is pwm output.
Looks like it. Normally ch3 is throttle, so that might be easiest to try. I assume you have a way of providing 4-10v to power the x8r? Check everything before attaching power as it's easy to make a mistake and blow something up.
Sorry but I assume you have bound the tx to rx?

Offline Davie12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2018, 15:27:07 »
Chad999uk:
  Yes I've bound the Rx to TX, the only thing I've been able to do without having to ask for help (LOL).
   I've tried connecting the motor and esc to the frsky x8r still no luck. I tried all 8 motors and nothing.
   I was able to connect mini servos and they worked just fine.
   thanks again for all your help


Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2474
  • Liked: 579
  • Country: gb
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2018, 15:37:09 »
OK so you now know by testing with a servo that you are bound and the sticks make the servo move. So that proves tx/rx. I would be very surprised if all 8 motors and esc were dead.
Any chance you can wire up the rx - esc - motor (plus battery) and show us a picture in case there is something you have missed?
Dont worry about asking questions, we all started somewhere plus the thread may help others in the future. I enjoy trying to solve issues as I learn as well, so its all good  ::)

Offline orfordness

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 681
  • Liked: 142
  • Country: gb
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2018, 17:30:43 »
Quote
@orfordness:
     The escs are the ones that DJI have attached to the 4114 pro motors.
  After pulled the motor off the only markings where S800-evo.
 There is no power lead so I have to supply it myself.

I could be being stupid here, but are you sure the DJI 4114 Motors have built in ESC? I can see the E1200 Pro system does but it uses 4216 motors?

These 4114 motors have no ESC https://www.heliguy.com/dji-s900-part-22-4114-motor-with-red-prop-cover-p257
« Last Edit: February 14, 2018, 13:11:32 by orfordness »
DJI Mavic Pro
Tarot 680 Pro Hex
450 (Flamewheel clone) x 4
Hubsan X4
CS022 Mini Quad

Offline Davie12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Dji s800 ESC input signal
« Reply #14 on: March 02, 2018, 16:53:56 »
sorry for taking so long to get back to you guys.
below are the photo of the dji motor setup.

I now know that the motors are fine a bought a cheap 35A ESC from ebay and tested them one by one.
they spin up fine when attached to the substitute esc however nothing when attached to the dji escs.

on the photo i've marked four pads and was wondering if these might be for re-flashing?





thanks for any help guys

<br /><br />