User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bad Raven: I would'nt know but obviously you have had the experience.....  :evil
    June 17, 2018, 13:08:09
  • shawdreamer: his boyfriend couldnt wait..... :whistling:
    June 17, 2018, 11:58:37
  • hoverfly: Keckon, is usually the result of typing with your mouth full. :whistling:
    June 16, 2018, 16:37:24
  • Bad Raven: Keckon???  Where did THAT come from??
    June 16, 2018, 16:13:17
  • Bad Raven: I keckon you have bootleg Domino's................  And HF , I ALWAYS give a tip, it's "don't upset me"....
    June 16, 2018, 16:08:46
  • DarkButterfly: Not sure why they're different colours :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 13:19:02
  • hoverfly: Blue boxes are used to indicate to the delivery bloke they won't get a tip at that house.. :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 09:07:42
  • Bad Raven: And on another more important matter, wny is your domino's box red, ours are blue!!!   :blink :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 05:47:01
  • Bajadre: :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 23:47:19
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 22:41:37
  • shawdreamer: oh it'll fly...... like a piece of 5hit with a big arse motor attached..... but it'll fly :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 22:25:24
  • hoverfly: Superb,  :rofl:
    June 15, 2018, 22:14:50
  • DarkButterfly: :smiley:
    June 15, 2018, 21:02:23
  • DarkButterfly: Need to get some electronics on this and see if it flies [link]
    June 15, 2018, 21:02:14
  • atomiclama: I used the solder ones [link] as I do't have a crimp tool and should be able to reuse the connector if required
    June 15, 2018, 14:50:33
  • VaNDAL_UK: Nice one. I'm gonna go for it. just looking for the SMA connectors with the crips as Ive had a few break at the root.
    June 15, 2018, 14:44:53
  • atomiclama: these are my first attempts, got better since then [link]
    June 15, 2018, 10:57:11
  • atomiclama: Yeah could've got mine cheaper but wanted it in reasonable time. Go for it, It's rewarding to see something you have made yourself.
    June 15, 2018, 10:54:38
  • VaNDAL_UK: atomiclama: I was pricing up the cable 0.08 copper wire and SMA connectors came out to about £15 and I could have made 5 meters worth of antennas!
    June 15, 2018, 10:31:48
  • hoverfly: Betaflight RC1...Interesting  if you go to the O.S.D  settings and then change the font  by lining up the icons in the correct precise order then hit  enter,...... It opens up the  O.C.D.  screen. :smiley:
    June 15, 2018, 09:01:13

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Poll

What tv format and resolution do you film in?

NTSC 1080 60hz
2 (50%)
PAL 1080 50hz
1 (25%)
NTSC 2.7K 60Hz
1 (25%)
PAL 2.7K 50Hz
0 (0%)
NTSC 4K 60Hz
0 (0%)
PAL 4K 50Hz
0 (0%)
Other - Please list below
0 (0%)
PAL 1080 60Hz
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 4


Author Topic: GoPro - NTSC - PAL - 50hz or 60Hz - 1080, 2.7K, 4K  (Read 189 times)

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2610
  • Liked: 606
  • Country: gb
GoPro - NTSC - PAL - 50hz or 60Hz - 1080, 2.7K, 4K
« on: June 13, 2018, 16:21:49 »
After having a bit of a discussion about frame rate I started doing a bit of reading and came to a conclusion that surprised me.
I have always filmed in PAL as it has more lines (576) vs NTSC at 480 lines but PAL is 25fps whereas NTSC is 30fps.
So in theory PAL would give better resolution but worse frame rate.  This was in analogue days.

Now we are mainly using digital recording and 1080 pixels or more then is TV display systems really an issue or is it just more fps is smoother/better?

So what TV Formal do you film in?


Offline Stactix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Liked: 27
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: GoPro - NTSC - PAL - 50hz or 60Hz - 1080, 2.7K, 4K
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2018, 20:39:26 »
I use Pal, Default 60 hz, 1080p 60 fps with 60 fps.

Then after making a video export it as 4k /upload to youtube.

Not my idea, basically copied Snake and the like.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2610
  • Liked: 606
  • Country: gb
Re: GoPro - NTSC - PAL - 50hz or 60Hz - 1080, 2.7K, 4K
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2018, 20:54:34 »
I use Pal, Default 60 hz, 1080p 60 fps with 60 fps.

Then after making a video export it as 4k /upload to youtube.

Not my idea, basically copied Snake and the like.
Cheers. What camera are you using as my GoPro session5 won't allow me to select 60hz when on 1080 with PAL selected. I am using Android app on my phone.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4642
  • Liked: 1166
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: GoPro - NTSC - PAL - 50hz or 60Hz - 1080, 2.7K, 4K
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2018, 21:02:27 »
Cheers. What camera are you using as my GoPro session5 won't allow me to select 60hz when on 1080 with PAL selected. I am using Android app on my phone.
Mine is same on PAL

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2610
  • Liked: 606
  • Country: gb
Re: GoPro - NTSC - PAL - 50hz or 60Hz - 1080, 2.7K, 4K
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2018, 21:13:08 »
That is weird.
Looking on GoPro site here: https://gopro.com/help/articles/block/Available-Video-Resolutions-for-HERO5-Black-and-HERO5-Session
This is the resolutions for Session 5. PAL values in [].



This image with the PAL settings in [] is the ones that I can select via my Android phone. I wonder if it's an IOS difference?

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4642
  • Liked: 1166
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: GoPro - NTSC - PAL - 50hz or 60Hz - 1080, 2.7K, 4K
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2018, 21:31:43 »
No mate, think they are the same

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2610
  • Liked: 606
  • Country: gb
Re: GoPro - NTSC - PAL - 50hz or 60Hz - 1080, 2.7K, 4K
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2018, 21:34:48 »
No mate, think they are the same
In that case how are you able to select 60Hz on PAL and I can only get 50Hz on PAL as per GoPro image above?
The image suggests, to me, that if PAL is selected then only the fps within the [ ] are available.

I wonder if it's a fw version thing?

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4642
  • Liked: 1166
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: GoPro - NTSC - PAL - 50hz or 60Hz - 1080, 2.7K, 4K
« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2018, 21:39:29 »
I am using NTSC mate, if I switch to PAL I get 50

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2610
  • Liked: 606
  • Country: gb
Re: GoPro - NTSC - PAL - 50hz or 60Hz - 1080, 2.7K, 4K
« Reply #8 on: June 13, 2018, 21:48:53 »
I am using NTSC mate, if I switch to PAL I get 50
Cheers for that, I thought I was doing something stupid, well more stupid than normal  ::).
 
I think that 1080 60Hz is the way to go for smoothest footage at HD. I get the feeling that NTSC or PAL doesn't have any effect in digital world. Only reason to use PAL and 50Hz is if recording under artificial light and in UK.

Not sure how my pc would cope with 4K then there is storage  ::)

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4642
  • Liked: 1166
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: GoPro - NTSC - PAL - 50hz or 60Hz - 1080, 2.7K, 4K
« Reply #9 on: June 13, 2018, 22:32:07 »
There is a school of thought that says 1080p 30fps shows up any jello less

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2610
  • Liked: 606
  • Country: gb
Re: GoPro - NTSC - PAL - 50hz or 60Hz - 1080, 2.7K, 4K
« Reply #10 on: June 13, 2018, 23:03:44 »
There is a school of thought that says 1080p 30fps shows up any jello less
Interesting. I do have lots of jello as I bend lots of props and it would cost me a fortune if I had to replace a prop every time I dinged one  ::) ::) ::)

Offline Elmattbo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 890
  • Liked: 298
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • Youtube
GoPro - NTSC - PAL - 50hz or 60Hz - 1080, 2.7K, 4K
« Reply #11 on: June 14, 2018, 02:19:14 »
I use 2.7k 25fps and have no jello issues. I know those are the PAL version of the settings that Mr Steele etc use (NTSC 2.7k 30fps). I’ve never had any jello issues unless I do attach the GoPro with a LiPo strap. If you ratchet it down too tight you can transmit any vibrations regardless of any foam damping you use.

Using 3D printed TPU mounts I have never had jello using a GoPro.

It gives really good quality recordings but the file size can be immense!

HTH


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4642
  • Liked: 1166
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: GoPro - NTSC - PAL - 50hz or 60Hz - 1080, 2.7K, 4K
« Reply #12 on: June 14, 2018, 07:58:08 »
You guys may be interested in this (aside from the ND filter solution, jello can be caused by movement coupled with shutter speed (and since we use automatic shutter speed, this resolves to light entering the sensor and hence ND filters) and viewed FPS
Edit: lol I forgot the link:
« Last Edit: June 14, 2018, 21:30:25 by Cheredanine »

Offline Stactix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Liked: 27
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: GoPro - NTSC - PAL - 50hz or 60Hz - 1080, 2.7K, 4K
« Reply #13 on: June 14, 2018, 19:53:04 »
oops my bad, must be on NTSC then:D

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4642
  • Liked: 1166
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: GoPro - NTSC - PAL - 50hz or 60Hz - 1080, 2.7K, 4K
« Reply #14 on: June 14, 2018, 21:31:45 »
Ched, aside from the vid above I forgot to link (fixed) this one may be of use: