User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • ched999uk: Like the flags, thought I better show rest of UK  :N-Ireland: :scotland: :wales:
    Today at 13:22:26
  • Gaza07: :england:
    Today at 11:24:13
  • Gav: :uk:
    Today at 11:05:19
  • Gav: hello peeps
    Today at 11:05:03
  • Bajadre: lol hover
    October 17, 2017, 15:14:13
  • hoverfly: His grandfather was called onehunglow ,there was an accident when he tried jumping a fence... :o
    October 16, 2017, 16:26:06
  • Wyntrblue: ok i will get mycoat and go away now
    October 16, 2017, 14:43:56
  • Wyntrblue: is his grandfather called li puffed?.....
    October 16, 2017, 14:43:44
  • Bad Raven: Chinese guy, goes by the name of Li Po
    October 16, 2017, 14:06:32
  • hoverfly: I don't where does he live??
    October 16, 2017, 10:13:48
  • Bad Raven: Yes, do you......   :rolleyes:
    October 16, 2017, 05:49:43
  • Vivian Lai: do youknow TATTU Rline new 1800 4s ?
    October 16, 2017, 04:52:30
  • DarkButterfly: Was going to fly FPV today, but run all 4 batteries on the wing LOS, great fun ::)
    October 15, 2017, 21:49:40
  • Gav: make sure to video it
    October 12, 2017, 09:34:47
  • hoverfly: I'll give it a go... :laugh:
    October 12, 2017, 09:30:35
  • Gav: oh eye brow for flight mode switch.
    October 12, 2017, 09:29:24
  • Gav: good question. well.. only if you have heated handle bar grips and use your tongue to operate the throttle and your nose for the aileron and elevator
    October 12, 2017, 09:27:46
  • hoverfly: Gav would it still be good on a motor bike? ::)
    October 12, 2017, 09:24:39
  • Saleem: Gav your a life saver,i aint got a car!
    October 11, 2017, 21:11:24
  • Gav: fpv in your car nice n warm in the winter with uhf
    October 11, 2017, 20:48:57

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More  (Read 441 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 157
  • -Receive: 162
  • Posts: 1949
  • Liked: 475
  • Country: gb
FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« on: August 12, 2017, 11:30:17 »
Just thought I would post on my recent experience on the latest modded FW for the i6.
The main FW thread is here: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?2486545-FlySky-FS-i6-8-channels-firmware-patch%21/page162 GitHub https://github.com/qba667/FlySkyI6/releases I dont have the Switch E so used the NO SW14 FW.
So I had been running a modded FW that was about 1 year old. It was fine as it gave me 10 channels which was more than I needed anyway. During my new build (Martian3) I realised that the Betaflight OSD could display RSSI which would be nice. I love data  :smiley:
So the latest i6 FW does RSSI via a channel. So I installed the FW with a ftdi adapter and the downloaded fw which has an installer that, once you are in FW updating mode, finds the tx and flashes the FW. It was so easy and as I already had modded FW it didn't overwrite models.

So now I have a timer that can be started by any channel (set ch3, throttle to 1050) so as soon as channel goes above or below set value it starts. RSSI now sent on CH11 and BF RSSI set to ch11 and displays on screen  :smiley: I also have X6B rx with batt voltage connection so have set flight battery alarms on tx.

For a tx that costs less than £40 I am amazed. OK so it's no taranis but at a fraction of the cost it doesn't do bad.


Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline atomiclama

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 59
  • -Receive: 108
  • Posts: 2119
  • Liked: 643
  • Country: gb
  • Uhh! What's that then, Oh! new project.
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2017, 14:35:51 »
must get round to modding mine.

That rssi might be the thing that does it.
Wasdale X, Ow that hurt

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 157
  • -Receive: 162
  • Posts: 1949
  • Liked: 475
  • Country: gb
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2017, 14:44:43 »
must get round to modding mine.

That rssi might be the thing that does it.
RSSi was the thing that made me update. The updater on Github is great, very easy, no need to select port or anything like that. Just connect ftdi to tx, put tx in FW update mode via menu, run updater and that's it. All updated. My models and their settings were retained.

New FW will also allow SWB ( I think it's B) to be changed to 3 pos and there is even a version that allows you to add a SWE (only 2 pos). Amazing work by the FW people.

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 126
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 302
  • Liked: 14
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2017, 18:20:27 »
Just thought I would post on my recent experience on the latest modded FW for the i6.
The main FW thread is here: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?2486545-FlySky-FS-i6-8-channels-firmware-patch%21/page162 GitHub https://github.com/qba667/FlySkyI6/releases I dont have the Switch E so used the NO SW14 FW.
So I had been running a modded FW that was about 1 year old. It was fine as it gave me 10 channels which was more than I needed anyway. During my new build (Martian3) I realised that the Betaflight OSD could display RSSI which would be nice. I love data  :smiley:
So the latest i6 FW does RSSI via a channel. So I installed the FW with a ftdi adapter and the downloaded fw which has an installer that, once you are in FW updating mode, finds the tx and flashes the FW. It was so easy and as I already had modded FW it didn't overwrite models.

So now I have a timer that can be started by any channel (set ch3, throttle to 1050) so as soon as channel goes above or below set value it starts. RSSI now sent on CH11 and BF RSSI set to ch11 and displays on screen  :smiley: I also have X6B rx with batt voltage connection so have set flight battery alarms on tx.

For a tx that costs less than £40 I am amazed. OK so it's no taranis but at a fraction of the cost it doesn't do bad.

Thank you ched for this wonderful post, i think i will have to try this new firmware, i don't know if this is the same as the 10 ch beta fw i have already installed on my Tx, but will check it out, as i also now have the Fs 1a10b on my rx.

Do i need to also update the firmware on my Receiver Fs ia6b and fs ia10b, if yes how?

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 157
  • -Receive: 162
  • Posts: 1949
  • Liked: 475
  • Country: gb
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2017, 19:04:14 »
just tx. I was running fw beta dated 20/01/16 8.27 Now v 1.6 10/07/17 19.21. It went very easy with ftdi (set to 3.3v)  Diagram https://github.com/benb0jangles/FlySky-i6-Mod-
FW: https://github.com/qba667/FlySkyI6/releases I used the NO_SWE_14_channels_flysky-updater_x64.zip one as running win7 64bit

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 126
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 302
  • Liked: 14
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2017, 08:40:27 »








just tx. I was running fw beta dated 20/01/16 8.27 Now v 1.6 10/07/17 19.21. It went very easy with ftdi (set to 3.3v)  Diagram https://github.com/benb0jangles/FlySky-i6-Mod-
FW: https://github.com/qba667/FlySkyI6/releases I used the NO_SWE_14_channels_flysky-updater_x64.zip one as running win7 64bit

Now modified to the latest software <<no_swe_14_ channels>>

How would you recommend to set up the new settings on my TX?
Should i use my FS IA10b rather than FS IA6b on my current build?
IS there another way to wire the RX to the FC instead of all those damn wirings?
If yes what settings to use on the RX?
« Last Edit: August 13, 2017, 08:43:35 by Dippi »

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 157
  • -Receive: 162
  • Posts: 1949
  • Liked: 475
  • Country: gb
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2017, 14:28:54 »

How would you recommend to set up the new settings on my TX?
Should i use my FS IA10b rather than FS IA6b on my current build?
IS there another way to wire the RX to the FC instead of all those damn wirings?
If yes what settings to use on the RX?
There a few alarms you need to set. I think the tx battery alarm is set at 0v by default so will beep every min or so until you raise it to something more sensible like 4.5v.
I am using a 10b on my F450. I am using all the individual servo wires. My reason is that I am using 1 channel to my video switcher and 2 channels to my gimbal. So I don't think I can use the alternative PPM.

If it is just for the Naza then you should be able to use a single servo wire from the rx ppm port. Then in the Naza configuration you select ppm rx and calibrate the channels. One weird thing is the Naza uses ch7 (I think) for flight modes. So make sure you set  CH7 to be SW3 (the 3 position one). So I think you can only use the 10ch rx on the Naza as you need ch7 set to flight modes if using PPM (1 servo wire).

Hope that helps.

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 47
  • Posts: 1017
  • Liked: 361
  • Country: gb
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #7 on: August 13, 2017, 16:38:41 »
Had been toying with buying another just to play and have "spare".  This makes that much more likely!



Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 157
  • -Receive: 162
  • Posts: 1949
  • Liked: 475
  • Country: gb
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2017, 17:05:14 »
I am pleased with the X6B receiver as well. It fits on 30.5mm stack, well it does after you widen the holes from 2mm to 3mm! It is about 20mm wide so not half a normal FC size which would have been nice. It also has flight battery voltage monitoring built in. There are also solder pads for 0v, 5v and iBus, so you dont need to use the connectors.
Not actually tested range yet as my Omnibus F4 V2 Pro clones keep dying or are faulty when they arrive. Going to order a Matek F405 so hopefully ave it ready this week.

Offline Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 126
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 302
  • Liked: 14
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #9 on: August 20, 2017, 18:49:56 »
I am not sure. But my arc is behaving strange after the 16 channel firmware. Has any one else had issues with it. Guess will have to shift back to the 10 channel fiemware


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline apollo7

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 43
  • Posts: 1617
  • Liked: 546
  • Country: gb
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2017, 18:03:28 »
I could do with a couple more channels on my ai6, what would i need to do this, i would need a 10chan RX compatable, but what cable to connect the TX
S550 with Naza and Phantom 3, Falcon evo 1340 wing, AQ600 Quad
Sweet dreams and flying machines in pieces on the ground

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 157
  • -Receive: 162
  • Posts: 1949
  • Liked: 475
  • Country: gb
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2017, 19:15:03 »
I could do with a couple more channels on my ai6, what would i need to do this, i would need a 10chan RX compatable, but what cable to connect the TX
Look here: https://github.com/benb0jangles/FlySky-i6-Mod- for instructions on using s FTDI adapter.
Here for latest FW: https://github.com/qba667/FlySkyI6/releases - Unless you add an extra switch use the NO_SWE_14_channels_flysky-update.................. version (dependant on your pc win version).

I think if you are  using ppm the ai6 will give extra channels. There is also a X6B rx which does ibus, pwm, ppm and have flight battery voltage port for telemetry. You can also do RSSI by assigning it to a channel (default 11) and setting RSSI to ch11 in Betaflight if your board does that. Then you can have RSSI in an OSD.

One thing to note is that, I think on first flash of modded FW your models list and setup will be erassed!!! But subsequent flashes should be fine. You will need to re bind your rx to the modded firmware.

There are some extra alarms including a channel triggered timer and tx voltage alarm. Plus combining switches to create multi position ones.
There is a mod to change swB for a 3 way with the addition of a resistor and adding an extra 2 way sw.
You can also add your own custom images instead of the little plane  :smiley:

One thing that is slightly annoying is that the channel timer alarm, mine set on CH3 (throttle) at above 1050 and 7 min, it doesn't pause after the throttle is raised above 1050. So even if you land for a few mins it's still counting. It resets via a long press on cancel and you can't have different times set for different models.

Overall its great what they have done with a £40 radio.

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 126
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 302
  • Liked: 14
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #12 on: August 22, 2017, 19:34:49 »
Thanks Chad for such a detailed explanation, i am just frozen now. Started work on my Robocat 270.
I received as informed earlier the lux v1, but i didn't imagine is was so small, and the soldering is a pain.
Just finished padding the solder pads  :o

I am not sure about the wiring, though i have seen the manual but can't find an actual specimen.






photo hosting site free

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 157
  • -Receive: 162
  • Posts: 1949
  • Liked: 475
  • Country: gb
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #13 on: August 22, 2017, 19:47:21 »
It's quite rare to find the exact FC with wiring showing how components are connected as everyone has different components.

If you want do a little drawing and post an image of it with the fc and your components connected. That way we can see if it looks OK. Maybe in your Lux thread.

Your soldering looks OK but try and get the insulation to butt up against the edge of the pcb. That way it leaves less exposed conductor at the side of the board.

Follow members gave a thank to your post: