User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • shawdreamer: so another foreign power stuffs the uk suipply lines by blocking antwerp harbour..... 70yrs and we still havnt learnt <sigh>
    August 16, 2017, 08:49:53
  • DarrellW: Oh ow....... HK deliveries stuffed for a while........
    August 15, 2017, 21:40:05
  • hoverfly: Rhubarb superb stuff, always gives you a good run for your money.... ::)
    August 15, 2017, 21:21:47
  • Bajadre: mmm  rhubarb cider :)
    August 15, 2017, 21:15:29
  • DarrellW: Old Rosie is THE stuff, definitely floats my boat ::)
    August 15, 2017, 19:01:06
  • ched999uk: No breaks allowed  ::)
    August 15, 2017, 18:48:45
  • atomiclama: time for a break.
    August 15, 2017, 18:00:22
  • atomiclama: Yeay my post count matches the year.
    August 15, 2017, 18:00:06
  • Bad Raven: Talisker, on prescription??   ::)   ::)
    August 15, 2017, 17:04:34
  • Bajadre: lol atomiclama
    August 15, 2017, 13:21:52
  • atomiclama: I find Talisker does the job quite well ;;)
    August 15, 2017, 08:46:54
  • Bajadre: THC always gets me to sleep lol
    August 14, 2017, 12:59:20
  • hoverfly: C17H27NO2 .. :o
    August 14, 2017, 09:24:57
  • DarrellW: @BR Venlafaxine now :-/
    August 14, 2017, 08:26:46
  • atomiclama: Flying in the rain, it's gota be done ::)
    August 14, 2017, 08:16:28
  • Bad Raven: Amitriptyline? Prescription, non-addictive.
    August 14, 2017, 05:49:56
  • DarrellW: Can'tsleep.com  :-/
    August 14, 2017, 01:05:26
  • Bajadre: Ohh nice mate
    August 13, 2017, 20:59:14
  • DarrellW: Trusty old dx7 has gone phut........ Just won a Futaba T8J though!!!
    August 13, 2017, 20:34:49
  • atomiclama: Dynamic filters, mmmMMMm  me likey likey  ::)
    August 13, 2017, 20:32:43

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More  (Read 156 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 152
  • -Receive: 142
  • Posts: 1732
  • Liked: 430
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« on: August 12, 2017, 11:30:17 »
Just thought I would post on my recent experience on the latest modded FW for the i6.
The main FW thread is here: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?2486545-FlySky-FS-i6-8-channels-firmware-patch%21/page162 GitHub https://github.com/qba667/FlySkyI6/releases I dont have the Switch E so used the NO SW14 FW.
So I had been running a modded FW that was about 1 year old. It was fine as it gave me 10 channels which was more than I needed anyway. During my new build (Martian3) I realised that the Betaflight OSD could display RSSI which would be nice. I love data  :smiley:
So the latest i6 FW does RSSI via a channel. So I installed the FW with a ftdi adapter and the downloaded fw which has an installer that, once you are in FW updating mode, finds the tx and flashes the FW. It was so easy and as I already had modded FW it didn't overwrite models.

So now I have a timer that can be started by any channel (set ch3, throttle to 1050) so as soon as channel goes above or below set value it starts. RSSI now sent on CH11 and BF RSSI set to ch11 and displays on screen  :smiley: I also have X6B rx with batt voltage connection so have set flight battery alarms on tx.

For a tx that costs less than £40 I am amazed. OK so it's no taranis but at a fraction of the cost it doesn't do bad.


Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline atomiclama

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 57
  • -Receive: 103
  • Posts: 2024
  • Liked: 615
  • Country: gb
  • Uhh! What's that then, Oh! new project.
    • View Profile
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2017, 14:35:51 »
must get round to modding mine.

That rssi might be the thing that does it.
Wasdale X, Ow that hurt

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 152
  • -Receive: 142
  • Posts: 1732
  • Liked: 430
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2017, 14:44:43 »
must get round to modding mine.

That rssi might be the thing that does it.
RSSi was the thing that made me update. The updater on Github is great, very easy, no need to select port or anything like that. Just connect ftdi to tx, put tx in FW update mode via menu, run updater and that's it. All updated. My models and their settings were retained.

New FW will also allow SWB ( I think it's B) to be changed to 3 pos and there is even a version that allows you to add a SWE (only 2 pos). Amazing work by the FW people.

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Online Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 91
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 219
  • Liked: 12
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
    • View Profile
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2017, 18:20:27 »
Just thought I would post on my recent experience on the latest modded FW for the i6.
The main FW thread is here: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?2486545-FlySky-FS-i6-8-channels-firmware-patch%21/page162 GitHub https://github.com/qba667/FlySkyI6/releases I dont have the Switch E so used the NO SW14 FW.
So I had been running a modded FW that was about 1 year old. It was fine as it gave me 10 channels which was more than I needed anyway. During my new build (Martian3) I realised that the Betaflight OSD could display RSSI which would be nice. I love data  :smiley:
So the latest i6 FW does RSSI via a channel. So I installed the FW with a ftdi adapter and the downloaded fw which has an installer that, once you are in FW updating mode, finds the tx and flashes the FW. It was so easy and as I already had modded FW it didn't overwrite models.

So now I have a timer that can be started by any channel (set ch3, throttle to 1050) so as soon as channel goes above or below set value it starts. RSSI now sent on CH11 and BF RSSI set to ch11 and displays on screen  :smiley: I also have X6B rx with batt voltage connection so have set flight battery alarms on tx.

For a tx that costs less than £40 I am amazed. OK so it's no taranis but at a fraction of the cost it doesn't do bad.

Thank you ched for this wonderful post, i think i will have to try this new firmware, i don't know if this is the same as the 10 ch beta fw i have already installed on my Tx, but will check it out, as i also now have the Fs 1a10b on my rx.

Do i need to also update the firmware on my Receiver Fs ia6b and fs ia10b, if yes how?

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 152
  • -Receive: 142
  • Posts: 1732
  • Liked: 430
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2017, 19:04:14 »
just tx. I was running fw beta dated 20/01/16 8.27 Now v 1.6 10/07/17 19.21. It went very easy with ftdi (set to 3.3v)  Diagram https://github.com/benb0jangles/FlySky-i6-Mod-
FW: https://github.com/qba667/FlySkyI6/releases I used the NO_SWE_14_channels_flysky-updater_x64.zip one as running win7 64bit

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Online Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 91
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 219
  • Liked: 12
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
    • View Profile
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2017, 08:40:27 »








just tx. I was running fw beta dated 20/01/16 8.27 Now v 1.6 10/07/17 19.21. It went very easy with ftdi (set to 3.3v)  Diagram https://github.com/benb0jangles/FlySky-i6-Mod-
FW: https://github.com/qba667/FlySkyI6/releases I used the NO_SWE_14_channels_flysky-updater_x64.zip one as running win7 64bit

Now modified to the latest software <<no_swe_14_ channels>>

How would you recommend to set up the new settings on my TX?
Should i use my FS IA10b rather than FS IA6b on my current build?
IS there another way to wire the RX to the FC instead of all those damn wirings?
If yes what settings to use on the RX?
« Last Edit: August 13, 2017, 08:43:35 by Dippi »

Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 152
  • -Receive: 142
  • Posts: 1732
  • Liked: 430
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2017, 14:28:54 »

How would you recommend to set up the new settings on my TX?
Should i use my FS IA10b rather than FS IA6b on my current build?
IS there another way to wire the RX to the FC instead of all those damn wirings?
If yes what settings to use on the RX?
There a few alarms you need to set. I think the tx battery alarm is set at 0v by default so will beep every min or so until you raise it to something more sensible like 4.5v.
I am using a 10b on my F450. I am using all the individual servo wires. My reason is that I am using 1 channel to my video switcher and 2 channels to my gimbal. So I don't think I can use the alternative PPM.

If it is just for the Naza then you should be able to use a single servo wire from the rx ppm port. Then in the Naza configuration you select ppm rx and calibrate the channels. One weird thing is the Naza uses ch7 (I think) for flight modes. So make sure you set  CH7 to be SW3 (the 3 position one). So I think you can only use the 10ch rx on the Naza as you need ch7 set to flight modes if using PPM (1 servo wire).

Hope that helps.

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 40
  • Posts: 895
  • Liked: 300
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #7 on: August 13, 2017, 16:38:41 »
Had been toying with buying another just to play and have "spare".  This makes that much more likely!



Online ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 152
  • -Receive: 142
  • Posts: 1732
  • Liked: 430
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: FlySky i6 modded firmware 14ch + More
« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2017, 17:05:14 »
I am pleased with the X6B receiver as well. It fits on 30.5mm stack, well it does after you widen the holes from 2mm to 3mm! It is about 20mm wide so not half a normal FC size which would have been nice. It also has flight battery voltage monitoring built in. There are also solder pads for 0v, 5v and iBus, so you dont need to use the connectors.
Not actually tested range yet as my Omnibus F4 V2 Pro clones keep dying or are faulty when they arrive. Going to order a Matek F405 so hopefully ave it ready this week.