User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • hoverfly: That's a long weeee Slayer,   cystitis,???
    February 21, 2018, 20:34:31
  • Slayer23: feeling better now lol
    February 21, 2018, 19:03:35
  • Slayer23: Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    February 21, 2018, 19:03:28
  • hoverfly: cz 250 twin.
    February 21, 2018, 13:09:44
  • Gav: what bike was it
    February 21, 2018, 11:49:36
  • hoverfly: I had similar a few years back , came home from work went int kitchen and made a cuppa  sat on a stool looking out the kitchen window.  There was a large space ,something was wrong, some scumbag a/hole had stolen my motorbike.. :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:
    February 21, 2018, 09:24:58
  • Reman: I just half woke up, opened my eyes to check the time. and while doing this I subconsciously noticed something wrong with the shape of shadows on the other side of the room. That woke me up with a jolt!!!  It seems I've got so used to seeing my camera hex perched up on the set of draws in the corner of my bedroom that the area now looks strangely empty without it (I took it apart on Sunday to begin the rebuild into its new Y6 frame)...... And now I'm wide awake at bloody half one in the morning....... And feeling like a paranoid pillock. :(
    February 21, 2018, 01:27:14
  • atomiclama: Cheers, already have bog standard rucsacs, looking for something with a bit easier access to the internals
    February 15, 2018, 13:12:41
  • CornishMule: Atomiclama, I also had the CS300 but recently got [link] It's big enough to put the Taranis X9D case inside, fatshark case, Lipo bag, a couple of tool bags, launch pad, monitor, laptop and copious props. 2 quads strapped to the front.
    February 15, 2018, 11:29:36
  • atomiclama: Cheers Hozza
    February 14, 2018, 09:00:06
  • yama: hooked on 90mm brushless drones now:)
    February 11, 2018, 15:45:24
  • Hozza: Not found it uncomfortable, but I've probably only walked a mile :laugh:
    February 10, 2018, 17:44:20
  • atomiclama: I'm looking for a new pack as my current one is falling apart.
    February 10, 2018, 11:29:39
  • atomiclama: Don't like the look of the padding on the back.
    February 10, 2018, 11:28:50
  • atomiclama: Hozza, how comfortable is it for a long hike?
    February 10, 2018, 11:28:24
  • Hozza: I have the CS300 [link] bloody good back pack, everything I need inside and 2 quads straped to the front.
    February 10, 2018, 10:13:43
  • Andy7: Sweet! Fixed the USBs on my laptop - been hitting DRL sim with my QX7 all weekend
    February 04, 2018, 21:18:03
  • Bad Raven: Hope the fish are alright........   :laugh:
    February 04, 2018, 18:50:14
  • shawdreamer: hmmm Im feeling a little underwelming here, sorta lacking.... I stubbed my toe earlier on the fishtank stand.... that sorta counts right?
    February 04, 2018, 18:40:09
  • Friskle: Buggered more than Anything atm, struggling walking, getting badly out of breath, hopefully next stent in a few weeks will cure that :)
    February 04, 2018, 15:51:59

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Taranis or Radiolink  (Read 761 times)

Offline Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
  • Liked: 14
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
Taranis or Radiolink
« on: August 03, 2017, 15:08:29 »
Presently using a Flysky FS i6.

Which model and make of RX AND TX would you recommend with 9 to 10 channels? And Why?

It should have max functions as poss and not tooo pricy.

And when buying what should check, do these models usually have everything you need to use them or o you need to buy additional stuff.

Is buying a used one recommended? If yes what precautions to take. Or Better to get a new one.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2188
  • Liked: 511
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2017, 15:35:42 »
What is wrong with the i6? You can flash the Firmware to 10ch and have voltage and rssi alarms on tx?

What features would you like on a new tx/rx?

I think that the taranis is just the tx, you will need the appropriate rx. They you have to set it up!!!
Have a look at some uTube videos on setting up taranis. While they are immensely feature packed they do require quite a bit of setting up. 

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1266
  • Liked: 486
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2017, 15:51:56 »
As you may know I run a Spektrum DX9, a Futaba 10CG, a Taranis, two Horus, and a FlySkyFS-i6. (And more, but hey......................)

The FlySky is a lovely little Tx but it is limited (even if reflashed) by its small number and variety of switches, etc. And ultimately its four individual cell battery has friction connections that may (or may not) become an issue.

Best of the lot for you based on your fast increasing experience is IMO the Taranis. You can get receivers from miniscule to meaty, innumerable sensors for its telemetry, and it';ll do near anything at a reasonable price. Its been around "forever" and is well supported by Video and other help.

There is a new "10" coming which may or may not replace it, so if you hang on the Taranis might have a price drop. However, if its going to have anything like the Horus gestation, don';t hold breath.

Offline Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
  • Liked: 14
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2017, 15:53:28 »
Nothing is wrong, i was reading and found that some of versions of Taranis and Radiolink TX';s have built in OSD and telemetry. I don';t know if i understood it correctly.

Would i still need a separate module with these TX';s or does the RX come with telemetry built in.

Another dumb question, i have updated the firmware to 10 channels, do i need to update the Rx also to 10 channels unit to be able to have voltage and rssi alarms.

(May be i will stay away from these complex TX';s for the movement, as suggested. I seem to have unnecessarily confused myself, i guess).

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4134
  • Liked: 926
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2017, 15:54:12 »
I would say taranis, hands down. That said why do you want everything? I mean if you are doing something major you are looking at jetis and the like.
For quads a turnigy evo is fine.
And ched has two good points, I have a taranis and a tango, it takes about 5 seconds to setup the tango for a new craft, it takes 15 mins or so to setup the taranis

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4134
  • Liked: 926
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2017, 15:54:51 »
What are you flying?

Offline Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
  • Liked: 14
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2017, 15:55:28 »


There is a new "10" coming which may or may not replace it, so if you hang on the Taranis might have a price drop. However, if its going to have anything like the Horus gestation, don';t hold breath.

Care to elaborate on this more. Thanks.

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1266
  • Liked: 486
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2017, 15:59:06 »
Care to elaborate on this more. Thanks.

No, Non-Disclosure Agreement!  Do some searching.............  ;)

Personally the way consumer electronics is changing, I';d only move on from the FS-i6 when it really REALLY does not do what you NEED any more, and I doubt that';s now!

Offline Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
  • Liked: 14
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2017, 16:01:19 »
No, Non-Disclosure Agreement!  Do some searching.............  ;)

Personally the way consumer electronics is changing, I';d only move on from the FS-i6 when it really REALLY does not do what you NEED any more, and I doubt that';s now!

Would you recommend a Taranis TX+Rx set to get to read on it for future trade.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2188
  • Liked: 511
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2017, 16:14:45 »
Nothing is wrong, i was reading and found that some of versions of Taranis and Radiolink TX';s have built in OSD and telemetry. I don';t know if i understood it correctly.

Would i still need a separate module with these TX';s or does the RX come with telemetry built in.

Another dumb question, i have updated the firmware to 10 channels, do i need to update the Rx also to 10 channels unit to be able to have voltage and rssi alarms.
I use a ia10 rx https://goo.gl/8bRQdTon my F450 with a Voltage module https://goo.gl/Lg26PR.
On my Martian 3 I use an X6B rx https://goo.gl/snPtyp as it is small and have voltage telemetry built in.

As for RSSI, I have not been following the modifications to the firmware but I believe there is now a way to setup RSSi telemetry on the tx. I think it is something to do with assigning a channel to rssi and sort of looping it back via rx. There are also timers, flight battery and rssi alarms I think.
Have a look here: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?2486545-FlySky-FS-i6-8-channels-firmware-patch%21/page158 It';s a long thread and some of it is very complex. There is also a GitHub page about it.

I haven';t looked at the rssi bit yet as I want to get the new Martian 3 airborne before I make any changes to my tx.

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1266
  • Liked: 486
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2017, 11:12:42 »
Would you recommend a Taranis TX+Rx set to get to read on it for future trade.

Of all the Tx I have come across IMO the Taranis is the best most programmable AND economic one around. The Horus is a great piece of kit but functionally adds little that is essential. Currently I am slowly moving my MR';s across to Horus, even from Taranis, more because I have them than because I gain any significant advantage, for example, its colour screen does make moving around easier, but its no game changer.

With how cheap FlySky Rx are, continuing with that make is not going to price you down a dead end that you would waste money to extract from.

If on a tight budget or with other wants like other quads I';d stick as now and watch for when the new "10" likely depresses the sale price of unsold Taranis


Offline Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
  • Liked: 14
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #11 on: August 12, 2017, 12:48:52 »


With how cheap FlySky Rx are, continuing with that make is not going to price you down a dead end that you would waste money to extract from.

If on a tight budget or with other wants like other quads I';d stick as now and watch for when the new "10" likely depresses the sale price of unsold Taranis

I think i will stick with my modifies FS i6 and then as i get better and my demands grow, will do a research and move to another TX.

Many thanks for your advice.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2188
  • Liked: 511
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #12 on: August 12, 2017, 14:41:05 »

Offline Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
  • Liked: 14
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #13 on: August 12, 2017, 18:24:32 »