User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • hoverfly: Still have a couple of orange tipple batts still working,   mainly part time... ::)
    July 16, 2018, 16:42:16
  • Bad Raven: The difference being most will not deliver the power but wil not be trashed in trying!
    July 16, 2018, 16:12:57
  • Kellarly: hehe, nothing changes there then!
    July 16, 2018, 09:26:19
  • Bad Raven: Is the issue Turnigy or Turnigy Nano-Tech? I have found that mid-blue Turnigy tend to be low on their stated "C" discharge rating.
    July 16, 2018, 08:37:09
  • ched999uk: RaceDayQuads have some cheap but good batts out now. Josh B tested and stats say very good especially at price. HobbyRC have 1300mAh 4S just under £20. Not had luck with Turnigy lipos either!!
    July 15, 2018, 22:48:51
  • Reman: Just realised that I hadn't gone through my stored Li-Po's for about a month. I try to visually check them every Saturday, And prod the plugs with a multimeter about once a month. Todays seen 12 more bulging packs go out to the incinerator..... All but one was a bloody Turnigy! Part of me wan't to burn the rest now and just get a load more Tattu packs, But I've spent good money on these packs and wan't to at least get a little more use out of them. :(
    July 15, 2018, 19:54:53
  • Bad Raven: Pre MR's I used to buy a lot from J.Perkins. Their website showed all items and stock or due date, go to dealer and buy with confidence. Then they went all "lifestyle" and all the site had were pictures or people. I wasn't after people. I never bought again. Yes, you'd think they'd learn...........
    July 15, 2018, 17:51:40
  • ched999uk: Reman sounds like amazon search. I find it ok unitil you want to search by price then amazon falls apart.... You would think both companies would get it right...
    July 15, 2018, 16:54:55
  • Reman: It's strange. The original setup they had about 5 or 6 years back wasn't too bad (Except for them occasionally getting accounts hacked), But they changed it to the last one that was clunky and slow, Now they've replaced that with a flashier one that's also clunky and slow ?!?!?! Most companies learn from what they do wrong. I don't buy from HK half as much as I used to, Mainly because it takes forever to trawl through 100 pages of totally unrelated stuff while looking for something you were thinking about getting when you saw it there the previous week !!!
    July 15, 2018, 16:27:21
  • hoverfly: I don't think there is a search button on H/King. They updated the site and forgot to  relabel the search button with  Random bo##ocks..
    July 15, 2018, 09:47:35
  • Bad Raven: Agree - The Search is abysmal!!
    July 15, 2018, 08:40:52
  • Reman: I see HobbyKing's revamped their site again...... Shame they haven't made the search function work any better, Or worked out why the whole site goes slower than a pensioner in a Nissan Micra. :)
    July 15, 2018, 08:28:14
  • Reman: How thick is Google? You buy something online, Then for the next week you get targeted adds for the item you've just got?!?! That's the one item you're NOT going to be buying again at that point so it's wasted effort of there part. :)
    July 14, 2018, 08:50:51
  • DarkButterfly: ~~
    July 13, 2018, 23:56:20
  • Kellarly: as does my ability not to realise what i've already typed
    July 13, 2018, 22:25:42
  • Kellarly: Wahooo, my whoop now lives!
    July 13, 2018, 22:25:19
  • Kellarly: yay, the whoop lives!!!
    July 13, 2018, 22:18:43
  • DarkButterfly: Had to replace the battery connector
    July 12, 2018, 10:57:47
  • Kellarly: good work! what was up with it?
    July 12, 2018, 10:39:33
  • DarkButterfly: Fixed my tiny6
    July 12, 2018, 10:23:59

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Taranis or Radiolink  (Read 1066 times)

Offline Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
  • Liked: 14
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
Taranis or Radiolink
« on: August 03, 2017, 15:08:29 »
Presently using a Flysky FS i6.

Which model and make of RX AND TX would you recommend with 9 to 10 channels? And Why?

It should have max functions as poss and not tooo pricy.

And when buying what should check, do these models usually have everything you need to use them or o you need to buy additional stuff.

Is buying a used one recommended? If yes what precautions to take. Or Better to get a new one.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2669
  • Liked: 615
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2017, 15:35:42 »
What is wrong with the i6? You can flash the Firmware to 10ch and have voltage and rssi alarms on tx?

What features would you like on a new tx/rx?

I think that the taranis is just the tx, you will need the appropriate rx. They you have to set it up!!!
Have a look at some uTube videos on setting up taranis. While they are immensely feature packed they do require quite a bit of setting up. 

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1505
  • Liked: 602
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2017, 15:51:56 »
As you may know I run a Spektrum DX9, a Futaba 10CG, a Taranis, two Horus, and a FlySkyFS-i6. (And more, but hey......................)

The FlySky is a lovely little Tx but it is limited (even if reflashed) by its small number and variety of switches, etc. And ultimately its four individual cell battery has friction connections that may (or may not) become an issue.

Best of the lot for you based on your fast increasing experience is IMO the Taranis. You can get receivers from miniscule to meaty, innumerable sensors for its telemetry, and it';ll do near anything at a reasonable price. Its been around "forever" and is well supported by Video and other help.

There is a new "10" coming which may or may not replace it, so if you hang on the Taranis might have a price drop. However, if its going to have anything like the Horus gestation, don';t hold breath.

Offline Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
  • Liked: 14
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2017, 15:53:28 »
Nothing is wrong, i was reading and found that some of versions of Taranis and Radiolink TX';s have built in OSD and telemetry. I don';t know if i understood it correctly.

Would i still need a separate module with these TX';s or does the RX come with telemetry built in.

Another dumb question, i have updated the firmware to 10 channels, do i need to update the Rx also to 10 channels unit to be able to have voltage and rssi alarms.

(May be i will stay away from these complex TX';s for the movement, as suggested. I seem to have unnecessarily confused myself, i guess).

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4740
  • Liked: 1239
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2017, 15:54:12 »
I would say taranis, hands down. That said why do you want everything? I mean if you are doing something major you are looking at jetis and the like.
For quads a turnigy evo is fine.
And ched has two good points, I have a taranis and a tango, it takes about 5 seconds to setup the tango for a new craft, it takes 15 mins or so to setup the taranis

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4740
  • Liked: 1239
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2017, 15:54:51 »
What are you flying?

Offline Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
  • Liked: 14
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2017, 15:55:28 »


There is a new "10" coming which may or may not replace it, so if you hang on the Taranis might have a price drop. However, if its going to have anything like the Horus gestation, don';t hold breath.

Care to elaborate on this more. Thanks.

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1505
  • Liked: 602
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2017, 15:59:06 »
Care to elaborate on this more. Thanks.

No, Non-Disclosure Agreement!  Do some searching.............  ;)

Personally the way consumer electronics is changing, I';d only move on from the FS-i6 when it really REALLY does not do what you NEED any more, and I doubt that';s now!

Offline Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
  • Liked: 14
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2017, 16:01:19 »
No, Non-Disclosure Agreement!  Do some searching.............  ;)

Personally the way consumer electronics is changing, I';d only move on from the FS-i6 when it really REALLY does not do what you NEED any more, and I doubt that';s now!

Would you recommend a Taranis TX+Rx set to get to read on it for future trade.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2669
  • Liked: 615
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2017, 16:14:45 »
Nothing is wrong, i was reading and found that some of versions of Taranis and Radiolink TX';s have built in OSD and telemetry. I don';t know if i understood it correctly.

Would i still need a separate module with these TX';s or does the RX come with telemetry built in.

Another dumb question, i have updated the firmware to 10 channels, do i need to update the Rx also to 10 channels unit to be able to have voltage and rssi alarms.
I use a ia10 rx https://goo.gl/8bRQdTon my F450 with a Voltage module https://goo.gl/Lg26PR.
On my Martian 3 I use an X6B rx https://goo.gl/snPtyp as it is small and have voltage telemetry built in.

As for RSSI, I have not been following the modifications to the firmware but I believe there is now a way to setup RSSi telemetry on the tx. I think it is something to do with assigning a channel to rssi and sort of looping it back via rx. There are also timers, flight battery and rssi alarms I think.
Have a look here: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?2486545-FlySky-FS-i6-8-channels-firmware-patch%21/page158 It';s a long thread and some of it is very complex. There is also a GitHub page about it.

I haven';t looked at the rssi bit yet as I want to get the new Martian 3 airborne before I make any changes to my tx.

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1505
  • Liked: 602
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2017, 11:12:42 »
Would you recommend a Taranis TX+Rx set to get to read on it for future trade.

Of all the Tx I have come across IMO the Taranis is the best most programmable AND economic one around. The Horus is a great piece of kit but functionally adds little that is essential. Currently I am slowly moving my MR';s across to Horus, even from Taranis, more because I have them than because I gain any significant advantage, for example, its colour screen does make moving around easier, but its no game changer.

With how cheap FlySky Rx are, continuing with that make is not going to price you down a dead end that you would waste money to extract from.

If on a tight budget or with other wants like other quads I';d stick as now and watch for when the new "10" likely depresses the sale price of unsold Taranis


Offline Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
  • Liked: 14
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #11 on: August 12, 2017, 12:48:52 »


With how cheap FlySky Rx are, continuing with that make is not going to price you down a dead end that you would waste money to extract from.

If on a tight budget or with other wants like other quads I';d stick as now and watch for when the new "10" likely depresses the sale price of unsold Taranis

I think i will stick with my modifies FS i6 and then as i get better and my demands grow, will do a research and move to another TX.

Many thanks for your advice.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2669
  • Liked: 615
  • Country: gb
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #12 on: August 12, 2017, 14:41:05 »

Offline Dippi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
  • Liked: 14
  • Country: fi
  • S500 - Naza M Lite - Next build using 3510 360kv
Re: Taranis or Radiolink
« Reply #13 on: August 12, 2017, 18:24:32 »