User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • hoverfly: you been watching... :embarrassed
    December 15, 2017, 14:16:18
  • VaNDAL_UK: grab ya TX and pretend to be flying it
    December 15, 2017, 11:22:49
  • hoverfly: Sitting looking out the window watching  a Redkite  being mobbed by a couple of crows.   3d handbrake corners , and a  visible contempt for gravity  .So not a bad morning so far.. :smiley: :smiley:
    December 15, 2017, 10:29:36
  • Icefever: At last the TX is talking to the FC...now I can get on with sorting out the next part
    December 14, 2017, 15:40:20
  • Icefever: Bad R...I have matey here..[link].
    December 12, 2017, 15:30:28
  • Bad Raven: IF/A7, a summary thread would enable more people to look and comment, its too big here!
    December 12, 2017, 07:05:40
  • Icefever: I've set the failsafe in the TX setting that's all..there's no connection between the TX and quad. at all..
    December 12, 2017, 03:40:10
  • Icefever: Andy..I've only messed with the failsafe one...but not in Beta.
    December 12, 2017, 03:38:04
  • Andy7: Ice: Is it just that it's not arming? Have you set the switch settings in betaflight?
    December 11, 2017, 21:24:23
  • Two-Six: Fixed it yet Ice?
    December 11, 2017, 15:04:23
  • hoverfly: ffs.. :rofl: :rofl:
    December 11, 2017, 14:51:15
  • Bad Raven: No, a nun falling down stairs...............
    December 11, 2017, 14:01:01
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    December 11, 2017, 12:27:30
  • hoverfly: you are probably on a zebra crossing. ::)
    December 11, 2017, 09:49:42
  • Bad Raven: Everything went white, black, white, and is now mostly black again.............
    December 10, 2017, 16:55:37
  • hoverfly: everything has gone white. :shrug:
    December 10, 2017, 12:21:29
  • Icefever: Hi Andy I have a prob with the Tx.  it's bound to the rx but when I try the either gimbel nothing happens....I have a green led on the rx..when connected to beta I can run up the motors but nothing else??help
    December 10, 2017, 09:23:12
  • Andy7: Perfect day to have shaved off the beard.... :(
    December 10, 2017, 09:17:17
  • Saleem: Just dont do it facing the wind
    December 09, 2017, 19:36:25
  • hoverfly: AGHHH  yellow snow warning  :laugh:
    December 09, 2017, 18:49:57

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: ESC placement.  (Read 165 times)

Offline Reman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 314
  • Liked: 125
  • Country: gb
  • Rebuild, Fly, Crash, Repeat.
ESC placement.
« on: December 02, 2017, 22:58:21 »
Just a quick question.
As my 450 hex is too big to transport in my car I've been meaning to make a folding Y6 frame to transfer everything into, But I just can't seem to get started on that, So I've just gone and ordered a cheap 900mm folding tricopter frame to modify instead.

Anyway, I'm intending to cut the arms down a little to make it a bit more compact when folded, But the motors are still going to be a fair way from the FC. So, I'm just pondering where would be best to put the ESC's? Is it better to have them at the motor end of the arms in the moving air, but having long power and signal wires? Or would they be better mounted close to the frame body and having long motor wires?

At the minute I'm thinking that I would probabbly be better having them mounted near the motors so I can just run one pair of (Reasonably chunky) power cables to each pair of ESC's, But that would also mean having pretty long signal wires and I don't know if that could allow interference to become a problem.

What's everyone else doing?
A really bad day of flying is still ten times better than a good day at work.

Offline Reman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 314
  • Liked: 125
  • Country: gb
  • Rebuild, Fly, Crash, Repeat.
Re: ESC placement.
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2017, 20:55:35 »
No one?
A really bad day of flying is still ten times better than a good day at work.

Offline hoverfly

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1995
  • Liked: 847
  • Country: gb
  • Quads, lots of quads
Re: ESC placement.
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2017, 09:52:09 »
If  are planning on lots of hard flying i would mount the esc on the arm to help cooling if you are using as a photo platform put them in the frame as space dictates. I have a/c  with both methods and have had no problems, the length of signal cable will not be a problem .
Reptile folder , alien 500 , F/ Shark Attitudes,
Spektrum DX 8 with mode knob conversion.Tarot 650, Air-rio Kinetic.. DX9  Various wings and planks..

Offline atomiclama

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
  • Liked: 661
  • Country: gb
  • Uhh! What's that then, Oh! new project.
Re: ESC placement.
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2017, 10:16:37 »
Just mount them wherever is most convenient, if there is a long power cable run to the ESC consider putting extra caps on the ESC, can help prolong the life of the ESC.
Wasdale X, Ow that hurt

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • Liked: 384
  • Country: gb
Re: ESC placement.
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2017, 19:35:58 »
Lifted from another forum:-

What I learnt from almost 30 years of electric flying is to keep the wires from battery to ESC as short as possible.
The ESC operates better with a stable voltage and less RF is emitted. If long power wires is required, additional low ESR capacitors should be added close to the ESC. If not, the already mounted caps in the ESC might get overloaded. Overloaded caps is one of the most common reason of ESC’s suddenly bursting into flames. When the caps gives up, very high voltage switching spikes will destroy the FETs and people normally think it was an overload of them.
I have used up to 2 m long cables between motor and ESC. You might think that the motor wires would emit more RF but that is not the case. Because of the motor inductance, the high frequency content is low. It is in any case a good idea to twist the motor cables (as well as the power cables) to balance out magnetic fields.

Offline Reman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 314
  • Liked: 125
  • Country: gb
  • Rebuild, Fly, Crash, Repeat.
Re: ESC placement.
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2017, 16:28:11 »
OK, After reading your replies I'm now thinking that inboard ESC's (With the longest cables being between the motors and ESC's) will probabbly be the best way to go.

Thanks for the info guys.
A really bad day of flying is still ten times better than a good day at work.