User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • hoverfly: Still have a couple of orange tipple batts still working,   mainly part time... ::)
    July 16, 2018, 16:42:16
  • Bad Raven: The difference being most will not deliver the power but wil not be trashed in trying!
    July 16, 2018, 16:12:57
  • Kellarly: hehe, nothing changes there then!
    July 16, 2018, 09:26:19
  • Bad Raven: Is the issue Turnigy or Turnigy Nano-Tech? I have found that mid-blue Turnigy tend to be low on their stated "C" discharge rating.
    July 16, 2018, 08:37:09
  • ched999uk: RaceDayQuads have some cheap but good batts out now. Josh B tested and stats say very good especially at price. HobbyRC have 1300mAh 4S just under £20. Not had luck with Turnigy lipos either!!
    July 15, 2018, 22:48:51
  • Reman: Just realised that I hadn't gone through my stored Li-Po's for about a month. I try to visually check them every Saturday, And prod the plugs with a multimeter about once a month. Todays seen 12 more bulging packs go out to the incinerator..... All but one was a bloody Turnigy! Part of me wan't to burn the rest now and just get a load more Tattu packs, But I've spent good money on these packs and wan't to at least get a little more use out of them. :(
    July 15, 2018, 19:54:53
  • Bad Raven: Pre MR's I used to buy a lot from J.Perkins. Their website showed all items and stock or due date, go to dealer and buy with confidence. Then they went all "lifestyle" and all the site had were pictures or people. I wasn't after people. I never bought again. Yes, you'd think they'd learn...........
    July 15, 2018, 17:51:40
  • ched999uk: Reman sounds like amazon search. I find it ok unitil you want to search by price then amazon falls apart.... You would think both companies would get it right...
    July 15, 2018, 16:54:55
  • Reman: It's strange. The original setup they had about 5 or 6 years back wasn't too bad (Except for them occasionally getting accounts hacked), But they changed it to the last one that was clunky and slow, Now they've replaced that with a flashier one that's also clunky and slow ?!?!?! Most companies learn from what they do wrong. I don't buy from HK half as much as I used to, Mainly because it takes forever to trawl through 100 pages of totally unrelated stuff while looking for something you were thinking about getting when you saw it there the previous week !!!
    July 15, 2018, 16:27:21
  • hoverfly: I don't think there is a search button on H/King. They updated the site and forgot to  relabel the search button with  Random bo##ocks..
    July 15, 2018, 09:47:35
  • Bad Raven: Agree - The Search is abysmal!!
    July 15, 2018, 08:40:52
  • Reman: I see HobbyKing's revamped their site again...... Shame they haven't made the search function work any better, Or worked out why the whole site goes slower than a pensioner in a Nissan Micra. :)
    July 15, 2018, 08:28:14
  • Reman: How thick is Google? You buy something online, Then for the next week you get targeted adds for the item you've just got?!?! That's the one item you're NOT going to be buying again at that point so it's wasted effort of there part. :)
    July 14, 2018, 08:50:51
  • DarkButterfly: ~~
    July 13, 2018, 23:56:20
  • Kellarly: as does my ability not to realise what i've already typed
    July 13, 2018, 22:25:42
  • Kellarly: Wahooo, my whoop now lives!
    July 13, 2018, 22:25:19
  • Kellarly: yay, the whoop lives!!!
    July 13, 2018, 22:18:43
  • DarkButterfly: Had to replace the battery connector
    July 12, 2018, 10:57:47
  • Kellarly: good work! what was up with it?
    July 12, 2018, 10:39:33
  • DarkButterfly: Fixed my tiny6
    July 12, 2018, 10:23:59

Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 46
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Prop/Motor Question  (Read 309 times)

Offline a_px

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: scotland
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Prop/Motor Question
« on: December 28, 2017, 10:22:40 »
Hi, I'm fairly new to this game. I previously built a small FPV from a kit, but now moving on to a bigger camera drone based on the Hobbyking Dead Cat frame. I have Turnigy Multistar 3525-650Kv motors and 10x4.5 props. The motors seem to only come with standard thread (no CCW version) so I'm guessing I'll need lock nuts to avoid losing 2 props mid-air. My problem is the props I have only leave 2 or 3 turns of the spindle thread showing, not enough to catch the nylon part of a lock nut. Do I have the wrong props for these motors & if so what should I be going for? Attached photo.<br /><br />
Thanks Alan.

Offline tryhardfpv

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: gb
  • Try hard or go home.
Re: Prop/Motor Question
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2017, 12:10:38 »
10" sounds a bit small for that motor/ kv, I've used all CW motors a load and never had a problem with them coming off if they are tightened properly, ha ha.

Offline a_px

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: scotland
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Prop/Motor Question
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2017, 12:37:08 »
Thanks. The motor spec recommends 10 or 11 inch props. 11 inch would be pushing it for my frame so I'll stick with 10s. Good to hear you can get away without lock nuts, but I think I'll go with belt & braces. Turnigy props seem to have a 2mm smaller hub height so hopefully that will give me enough thread.

Offline tryhardfpv

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: gb
  • Try hard or go home.
Re: Prop/Motor Question
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2017, 15:47:41 »
Sounds good, should have asked what size frame you have there. What camera are you going to be running?

Offline a_px

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: scotland
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Prop/Motor Question
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2017, 16:41:13 »
Mobius actioncam. The frame comes with a gimbal designed for that camera. I have all that working. Problem now is that the Flip32 Pro FC board I'm using doesn't seem to decode the S-Bus on my Futaba receiver. I'll post a new thread for that.