User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Have you missed your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • ched999uk: Cheers
    September 24, 2017, 17:18:49
  • Gaza07: I will ask the mobile theme developer
    September 24, 2017, 16:35:08
  • ched999uk: ditto 2  :smiley:
    September 24, 2017, 13:17:34
  • hoverfly: Ditto ~~
    September 24, 2017, 11:57:22
  • Wyntrblue: Any chance the desktop view button can be moved from the bottom to the top of the mobile site?  Drives me mad scrolling to press it
    September 24, 2017, 09:52:33
  • Gav: hello munchkins
    September 23, 2017, 22:19:54
  • Bad Raven: Probably his best yet, though the hoverbike wasn't bad (pprovided you didn't flinch at the danger of it!
    September 22, 2017, 11:03:49
  • DarrellW: NUTCASE!!!   
    September 22, 2017, 08:46:44
  • hoverfly: I'm almost house trained.. :embarrassed
    September 21, 2017, 21:30:39
  • Bajadre: I AM OFFICIALLY TRAINED TO FLY CARRIERBAGS NEAR PLANES
    September 21, 2017, 20:16:07
  • Bad Raven: I can fly ALL modes, jus some a little longer than others............
    September 21, 2017, 13:57:06
  • hoverfly: @ D.B.. weirdo... :rofl:
    September 21, 2017, 09:08:41
  • Nige8021: [link]
    September 20, 2017, 21:14:15
  • Bajadre: cheers buddy having a lookies now :)
    September 20, 2017, 19:50:38
  • Bad Raven: Still can't post a link.... search YouTube on RC Transmitter modes, there's a good video
    September 20, 2017, 19:37:09
  • Bad Raven: Just tried to post a link and it won't!!
    September 20, 2017, 19:34:07
  • Bad Raven: There are 4 Modes.
    September 20, 2017, 19:32:12
  • Bajadre: whats mode 3 DB never heard of that
    September 20, 2017, 19:23:50
  • DarkButterfly: I can fly mode 1, 2 and 3, you just have to think different for each one ~~
    September 20, 2017, 18:59:23
  • hoverfly: :laugh:
    September 20, 2017, 18:28:44

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec  (Read 756 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 342
  • Posts: 3813
  • Liked: 837
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #30 on: September 12, 2017, 08:53:00 »
Simple way to check basic shorts with a multimeter
A multimeter will cost about £10-20 from memory, any diy store stocks them
You attach the probes and switch it to continuity mode (icon looks like a wifi icon but manual will tell you.
Check it works by touching the probe tips together, the meter will emit a continuous beep

Touch one probe to the ground of the xt60 on the quad and the other to the + it should not continuously beep

Repeat with other voltage outs like the 5v line

Offline VooDoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 45
  • Liked: 7
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #31 on: September 12, 2017, 10:04:23 »
Ah, that sounds straight forward enough. 

Thanks


Offline VooDoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 45
  • Liked: 7
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #32 on: September 16, 2017, 22:06:38 »
Hi, so finished the build all bar soldering on the main power cable.  As advised bought a multimeter and went round all the positive contacts looking for shorts.  With one probe on the negavite battery tab, all is good except for when I touch the "Vid" (at the vtx) / "VTX" (on the FC) / "Cam" (on the camera plug) (worth noting I've not got the camera plugged in, or the ribbon cable between the FC and the PDB yet).  The multimeter doesn't beep, but it makes a sort of crackling sound. I've looked for shorts and I can't see anything that even looks close to a short.

Do you think this anything to worry about before plugging in the power?

Cheers

Vc

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 342
  • Posts: 3813
  • Liked: 837
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #33 on: September 16, 2017, 23:26:16 »
No that sounds fine.
If you are at all worried, set the multimeter to measure up to 20 volts, with the cam plugged in, connect the lipo, put the black probe on a ground, put the red probe on that pad, if it tells you the pad is at lipo voltage you have a problem

Offline VooDoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 45
  • Liked: 7
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #34 on: September 19, 2017, 23:55:59 »
So, the good news is i plugged the battery in this evening and my quad didn't go up in flames!  :smiley: .  I can spin the motors using Betaflight so I've at least got some of the build right.  The bad news is I'm having TX / RX issues.  They appear to have bound OK (I get an RX symbol on the TX and the bind LED on the RX is on permanently after following the bind procedure), but when I configure the ports how I think the instructions are telling me, I get no movement of the controller bars in Betaflight when I move the sticks.

RX Link: https://img.banggood.com/file/products/20160923224744FS-X6B%20Receiver%20User%20Manual.pdf

FC link (inc wiring diagram and port config): http://www.mateksys.com/?portfolio=f405-osd

TX is an FS-i6

I've got it wired up for iBUS (taken from the FC link above):  Gnd to Gnd, 5V to 4v5, and PPM/IBUS to RX2.  The way I'm reading the port config is USB VCP should be on and set to 115200, and all the other ports should be off.  Receiver should be set to PPM RX input.  I think this because there are screen shots showing this next to the way I have the RX wired in to my FC, and different screen shots showing different port configurations next to wiring diagrams for DSM2/DSMX and SBUS RX (although confusingly one of the configs actually details IBUS as the Serial Receiver Provider).

I did read in other posts that you may need to enable UART for the IBUS signal, but the wiring diagrams / port config does look like it details this isn't required.

I've not changed any settings on the TX as I've not read anywhere this is necessary.

I'm off to do some Googling on this, but if anyone has any suggestions I'd be grateful as always.

Thanks

Vc


Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 157
  • -Receive: 160
  • Posts: 1887
  • Liked: 462
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #35 on: September 20, 2017, 00:09:25 »
Can't see links but the x6b rx has to be connected to a uart rx port. In bf the ports tab you need to select the one you connected the rx to and select serial rx as the type (can't see bf so just remembering).
Then on Configure page select serial rx and Ibus, as long as you connected the Ibus port of the x6b to the uart on the FC!
Then in rx page you should get movement.
Hope that gives you some clues. If not post and I can get more accurate info tomorrow.

Offline VooDoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 45
  • Liked: 7
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #36 on: September 20, 2017, 00:14:23 »
Thanks Ched.  Just found a Project Blue Falcon video that seems to suggest something similar:



Will sit down tomorrow evening and have a play with the settings.

Vc

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 157
  • -Receive: 160
  • Posts: 1887
  • Liked: 462
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #37 on: September 20, 2017, 00:19:15 »
Blue falcon (rip) made some really great videos. His video should point you in right direction. If not post back, I have x6b running Ibus on f4 omnibus and did look at the FC you are using.

Offline atomiclama

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 58
  • -Receive: 108
  • Posts: 2086
  • Liked: 628
  • Country: gb
  • Uhh! What's that then, Oh! new project.
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #38 on: September 20, 2017, 07:40:55 »
2 settings for iBus

Choose your comport.





Select RX type




anonymous image hosting


Jobs done.
Wasdale X, Ow that hurt

Offline VooDoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 45
  • Liked: 7
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #39 on: September 20, 2017, 15:15:08 »
Fab, I'll give that a shot when I get home.  Thanks.

Offline VooDoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 45
  • Liked: 7
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #40 on: September 20, 2017, 22:06:35 »
Hmmm, not going to get chance to play with this before the weekend now.  Damn work getting in the way of fun again.

Just re-reading the comments and looking at the videos, I'm starting to wonder if I'm going to need to flash the firmware on my FlySky FS-i6 to get it working with iBUS?  The video's in particular show selecting iBUS, but when I go through the menu on my TX, I don't see that type of iBus selection available.  There is something where I can select iBUS channels 1 - 6 but this doesn't look like the same thing as in the video's.

Firmware on my TX is currently 1.1 27-Mar-2015  which seems quite old.

Vc

Offline atomiclama

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 58
  • -Receive: 108
  • Posts: 2086
  • Liked: 628
  • Country: gb
  • Uhh! What's that then, Oh! new project.
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #41 on: September 20, 2017, 22:26:05 »
You don't need to set anything. The iBus port on the RX just outputs iBus serial data.
Wasdale X, Ow that hurt

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 157
  • -Receive: 160
  • Posts: 1887
  • Liked: 462
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #42 on: September 20, 2017, 22:46:57 »
on the x6b just use the ibus port and that is what you will get. The TX uses AFHDS 2A to 'talk' to the rx. The rx then converts that into pwm, ppm and ibus. Just select the ibus port and connect to uart on fc and set correctly in betaflight and you should be good to go.

PS might also be worth connecting up the battery sense port on the back. You can connect it directly to lipo voltage and it will transmit the voltage back to the tx. If you have the i6 tx you can flash the firmware to go to 14 channels and battery voltage alarms, timer and rssi loopback.

Offline VooDoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 45
  • Liked: 7
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #43 on: September 23, 2017, 17:48:19 »
OMG!  It flies!  OMG It's bl00dy fast!  Like, exponentially faster than my "toy" quad.  It's going to take a while to get it under control.  And I'm going to need a bigger field to practise in.

A big thanks to all that have helped along the way, particularly Cheredanine and Ched999uk for their numerous informative posts.  I wouldn't be up and flying without your help.

Cheers

Vc

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 157
  • -Receive: 160
  • Posts: 1887
  • Liked: 462
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #44 on: September 23, 2017, 18:24:45 »
Well done mate. Feels great to build things from components and get it in the air.
I know what you mean about fast. Finished my Martian3 220 two weeks ago and it is so fast in comparison to my F450 with it's gimbal etc.

I have flown about 30 batteries through it and I am finally getting the hang of staying within 6ft of the ground while flying squares, fig 8 etc. After asking here I found that thumbs on top of sticks as I had previously flown was no good for me to get precision. I raised the red grips on the i6 and started pinching them. So much more control. Still had many uncontrolled 'landings', rolls across grass, and 1 ditch into a tree to avoid getting too close to a road as I lost orientation! Only bent 1 prop!!! Amazing....

Next step for me is more fpv to get used to camera angles and then acro mode!!! :o :o :o :o

Good luck, take it easy and have fun.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 157
  • -Receive: 160
  • Posts: 1887
  • Liked: 462
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #45 on: September 23, 2017, 18:47:29 »
Forgot to say my quad hovers at about 35% throttle. To tame the throttle, in Betaflight I set Throttle Mid point to 35 and then set some throttle expo. I believe what this does is tell the FC that your quads 'hover' point is not 50% but 35%, then sets the middle of the expo curve to be at 35% not 50%. The expo flattens the response so the throttle is less sensitive around the hover point. It doesn't limit the max throttle or change the stick position that the quad hovers at just the position of the stick that is less sensitive to stick movement.

Hope that makes sense?

Offline VooDoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 45
  • Liked: 7
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #46 on: September 24, 2017, 23:45:29 »
Flew another two LiPo's today.  Not really practicing control, just wanging it round LOS at full tilt for kicks.  :laugh:  Starting to think that battery sensor upgrade is a good idea.  To try not to run the LiPo's down too far, I've been setting a timer on my phone for 6 mins.  It's worked 3 out of 4 times.  The one time the voltage got down to about 3.2 volts which I understand is a bit low.

The Matek boards I'm running state they have a voltage meter and battery current sensors built in.  I'm wondering if all I need to do is upgrade the firmware on my TX and run the right configuration?  Can data be sent back to the RX over the iBUS (I didn't even realise the RX could transmit too)?  Or do I definitely need to do some soldering to get this working?

Need to get another battery though.  12 minutes flying just isn't enough when you've hiked 15 minutes in to the middle of a moor to get away from folks.  Probably go for another 1500 mAh Acehe as I've not noticed any difference between the 1300 and the 1500 yet.  Might as well go for the higher capacity.

Vc

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 157
  • -Receive: 160
  • Posts: 1887
  • Liked: 462
  • Country: gb
    • View Profile
Re: First Real Quad - Proposed Spec
« Reply #47 on: Today at 00:29:34 »
Am right in thinking you are using x6b rx? Is so there is a 3 pin connector on the opposite side of the rx to the Ibus port. This is a lipo voltage sense port. Connect to battery voltage. Then on the tx look in system, rx and then battery I think. You should be able to set type of batt (lipo) then number of cells. Then I think there is a 2 stage alarm. I think the lipo voltage alarm on tx is available on standard i6 firmware.

Other than that doesn't your FC have voltage sense built in that can be enabled on osd?  Thinking about it you are flying los so osd not option. You could set battery warnings in betaflight if you have a buzzer?
Hope that helps.?