User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bad Raven: Nost of the fish went, "what was that?" followed by "who are you?"  :azn
    Today at 20:38:57
  • Bad Raven: One of the shrimps is shell shocked, it's still hurtling around the tanke even now and its little heart is racing..........
    Today at 20:37:37
  • Gav: oh was it a good excuse for fish n chips for tea?
    Today at 19:55:33
  • Gav: did the fish survive?
    Today at 19:39:29
  • Bad Raven: We just had the mother of all supply glitches, one of my fish tank lights sounded like it was arc welding itself, all the lights flickered, internet bombed for over five mins!
    Today at 18:08:02
  • shawdreamer: used + in a couple of my early builds, I always managaed to bury the front motor, which left the quad stop up in a appropriately visual grave like cross.
    Today at 14:01:07
  • AKK Technology: akk promotion!!! mutiple product with discount
    Today at 05:36:54
  • Gav: my first quads were + 'Plus' config
    November 19, 2017, 18:02:11
  • Hozza: I have than enough 5 inch quads, or do I [link] this is one style of frame I haven't got.
    November 19, 2017, 07:57:59
  • Bajadre: n1 phil just noticed on there the 12amp esc blheli being rated for 3-4s while ive been running them on 3s for over a year what a idiot lol
    November 17, 2017, 13:57:29
  • Wyntrblue: always things i want when i have no money phil!
    November 17, 2017, 11:44:50
  • philtrum: Black Friday has started early at MakeItBuildIt, over 100 products on sale with more being added daily. We have limited stock on some offers so be quick before their gone! [link]
    November 17, 2017, 11:37:36
  • hoverfly: I got a 2s,but if I think mucky it turns into 3s.  :rolleyes:
    November 16, 2017, 21:35:49
  • DarkButterfly: I got a 6s which does everything I need and an android for stuff it doesn't.
    November 16, 2017, 20:28:30
  • shawdreamer: :nananana:
    November 16, 2017, 20:20:42
  • shawdreamer: ....sorry Iphone users but you bring it on yourself
    November 16, 2017, 20:20:34
  • shawdreamer: con muppet sheep into thinking they need to buy your newest phone because its "just so the best and trendy" when actually all youve done is change the power socket....
    November 16, 2017, 20:20:15
  • DarkButterfly: rob a massive bank :laugh:
    November 16, 2017, 19:07:40
  • Bad Raven: Own Formula One or DJI???
    November 16, 2017, 18:56:57
  • hoverfly: 400 million for a painting,OK it is unique  but how the flock do you accumulate that kind of cash.. :o
    November 16, 2017, 18:40:48

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7  (Read 349 times)

Offline BigBug

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Liked: 3
  • Country: gb
  • Bugs...the key for perfection!
Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« on: October 30, 2017, 18:27:52 »
Hi there!

I recently bought a Taranis QX7 (LBT EU) transmitter and also a R-XSR (LBT EU) receiver. I have installed Open TX 2.2.0 (17-02-12), then flashed the internal XJT module with the 'XJT_LBT_build151223.frk' (from FrSKy website) and also flashed the R-XSR with 'R-XSRLBT171009.frk' (from FrSKy website) via S.Port on the Taranis.

Next step is the binding between the Tx and the Rx, so as the manual says, I supply 5V (it accepts from 3.5V to 10V) to the R-XSR while pressing the F/S button. Red and Green LEDs stays solid and then I set the Tx into binding mode. Unfortunately, I do not know if I am doing anything wrong, but it does not work.

Any suggestions/recommendations/advice? I will really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance!!

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3948
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2017, 21:42:06 »
You are doing it the wrong way round.
Put the radio in to bind Mose (it will start beeping you have to live with that for the duration of the process)
Now power up the r-xsr whilst holding down the bind button.
Wait a few seconds, power down the reciever, take the radio out of bind mode and power up the Rx, you should then get a solid green light

Offline BigBug

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Liked: 3
  • Country: gb
  • Bugs...the key for perfection!
Re: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2017, 14:48:20 »
Hi Cheredanine,

Thank you very much for your quick reply. I will try it asap and let you know.

Have a nice day!

Offline Michael Navigator

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Liked: 1
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2017, 14:50:04 »
exactly same issue. Binding does not work for neither r-xsr nor xsr. Although it says in the RX Manual that they are compatible.



Both, RX and TX have the newest EU Firmware on them. Bindings works with the same TX and other receivers without an issue. But,

Offline BigBug

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Liked: 3
  • Country: gb
  • Bugs...the key for perfection!
Re: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2017, 17:06:08 »
Hi all,

I have to say that I even bought a new R-XSR, but still the same issue. It is exactly the same as Michael Navigator. Thanks Michael for sharing a video with us. Which Open TX/ XJT module version have you installed in your Taranis QX7?

Have a nice weekend guys!

Offline Michael Navigator

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Liked: 1
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2017, 17:33:04 »
Open TX 2.2.0

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3948
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2017, 21:34:07 »
It has nothing to do with opentx.
What firmware have you got flashed to both he r-xsr and module on the radio? (Michael)

I have bound a qx7 to both xsr and xm+ with the last week or so

Big bug are you still having the problem?
« Last Edit: November 04, 2017, 21:48:06 by Cheredanine »

Offline Michael Navigator

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Liked: 1
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2017, 09:18:59 »

TX (Q X7)
a freshly (04.11.2017) created "opentx-x7-noheli-lua-en.bin" via Companion 2.2

Bootloader firware
eu1_170213.bin
eu2_170213.bin
both seem to work, i could not figure out a difference

i even tried the non EU versions
noneu1_170213.bin
noneu2_170213.bin

All tests worked fine with other RX (X4R_REVO 3.3.for example).

RX
R-XSR -> "R-XSRLBT171009.frk" and for testing purpose "R-XSRFCC171009.frk"
XSR -> "XSRLBT170619.frk" and "XSRFCC170619.frk"

In the meantime, i am a Flash expert. I hope the chips can cope with 1000 rewrite cycles ;-)


Offline BigBug

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Liked: 3
  • Country: gb
  • Bugs...the key for perfection!
Re: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2017, 09:48:09 »
Hi all,

Cheredanine, I am having exactly the same issue and I just tested my new R-XSR (LTB-EU) straight out from the box, so no updates at all.

I will try to spend some time later on and test other combinations.

As Michael said, I am also a flash expert  :laugh: :laugh:

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3948
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2017, 10:55:39 »
Sounds like a problem with one of the firmware releases then, suggest you back off one or the other (radio or reciever)
I rarely update (I have a lot of quads, it is a pain to upgrade)

I haven’t updated any firmware this year.

I got a qx7s about 3weeks ago, with the firmware it came with I have had no issues binding to xm+ or xsr (the xsr would be using firmware revision from at least January if not older)

Don’t worry about opentx version, that isn’t involved in bind.

Offline Michael Navigator

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Liked: 1
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2017, 18:24:12 »
Update: I finally got the XSR working. The R-XSR still is not binding although going through the exact same procedure

How I did it: I installed ad flashed all devices - again - with the most recent software and firmware obtained -again - from http://www.open-tx.org/2017/05/30/opentx-2.2.0 and https://www.frsky-rc.com/. Important: on the RX there is printed: X4RS_RS_REV1.1. It was sold to me as XSR. It works with the XSR firmware.

* Open TX 2.2. (just to eliminate all possible errors)
* opentx-x7-eu-noheli-lua-en.bin created with the companion
* TX eu1_170213.bin,
* RC XSRLBT170619.frk

As mentioned, the R-XSR still does not work.

I tried the exact same procedure as used for the XSR. Only difference is the firmware of the RX
* R-XSRLBT171009.frk
I also tried an older version and wrong versions (in my despair)
* R-XSR_LBT_170904.frk
* XSRLBT170619.frk
* XM+LBT170313.frk

No sucess.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3948
  • Liked: 883
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« Reply #11 on: November 05, 2017, 21:44:50 »
Ok mate, so cool on the xsr, I was under the impression that was what you had done already.

On the last three bullet points, only one of those firmwares are for the r-xsr.
Flashing with firmware for other hardware (the second is for the xsr and the third is for the xm+) is not only not going to work but a very bad idea as it can brick the board by changing the chip pin layout.

I notice the r-xsr firmware you use, whilst the latest, is nit at a version as high as the firmware on the xsr that worked.
I therefore think the problem is the version of firmware on your internal module will not talk to the (older) r-xsr firmware.

You could try flashing am older version of the internal module firmware, otherwise contact the supplier.

On the radio open tx is the operating system, it is not on the internal module.
Binding takes place between the internal module and the Rx, that is why the version of opentx is irrelevent

Offline BigBug

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Liked: 3
  • Country: gb
  • Bugs...the key for perfection!
Re: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« Reply #12 on: November 06, 2017, 19:21:37 »
Hi all!

I managed to contact FrSKY and they sent me a new firmware version of the R-XSR [LBT-EU] (attached) Rx and IT WORKED  ~~. I just decided to flash my XJT module with 'XJT_EU_V20_build170317.hex.frk'

Offline Michael Navigator

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Liked: 1
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« Reply #13 on: November 07, 2017, 16:28:00 »
Same here, I finally contracted FrSky support. But all i received so far was: "Thanks contact us, maybe the problem is the firmware, i have feedback the problem to our test team, any new information i will tell you." ;-)
Anyway, the new Firmware you posted works. :-)

Many thanks to you guys.

Here is the video in German:


I'll post a link in die video description to the forum so ppl can download the file as long as it's not available directly from FrSky. I hope that's fine with you.

Offline Michael Navigator

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Liked: 1
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« Reply #14 on: November 07, 2017, 18:23:21 »
And for you English speaking guys exclusively also in English. I hope you enjoy. ;-)


Offline Michael Navigator

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Liked: 1
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« Reply #15 on: November 10, 2017, 16:46:35 »
In the meantime, the firmware is officially released. Seems we officially found a bug in the LBT version of the firmware.  :beer2:

https://www.frsky-rc.com/r-xsr/

Offline BigBug

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Liked: 3
  • Country: gb
  • Bugs...the key for perfection!
Re: Cannot bind R-XSR and Taranis QX7
« Reply #16 on: November 13, 2017, 19:46:44 »
Yes!! Thank you guys for your help and also thanks for having this community available for us!  :beer2: