User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • hoverfly: Still have a couple of orange tipple batts still working,   mainly part time... ::)
    July 16, 2018, 16:42:16
  • Bad Raven: The difference being most will not deliver the power but wil not be trashed in trying!
    July 16, 2018, 16:12:57
  • Kellarly: hehe, nothing changes there then!
    July 16, 2018, 09:26:19
  • Bad Raven: Is the issue Turnigy or Turnigy Nano-Tech? I have found that mid-blue Turnigy tend to be low on their stated "C" discharge rating.
    July 16, 2018, 08:37:09
  • ched999uk: RaceDayQuads have some cheap but good batts out now. Josh B tested and stats say very good especially at price. HobbyRC have 1300mAh 4S just under £20. Not had luck with Turnigy lipos either!!
    July 15, 2018, 22:48:51
  • Reman: Just realised that I hadn't gone through my stored Li-Po's for about a month. I try to visually check them every Saturday, And prod the plugs with a multimeter about once a month. Todays seen 12 more bulging packs go out to the incinerator..... All but one was a bloody Turnigy! Part of me wan't to burn the rest now and just get a load more Tattu packs, But I've spent good money on these packs and wan't to at least get a little more use out of them. :(
    July 15, 2018, 19:54:53
  • Bad Raven: Pre MR's I used to buy a lot from J.Perkins. Their website showed all items and stock or due date, go to dealer and buy with confidence. Then they went all "lifestyle" and all the site had were pictures or people. I wasn't after people. I never bought again. Yes, you'd think they'd learn...........
    July 15, 2018, 17:51:40
  • ched999uk: Reman sounds like amazon search. I find it ok unitil you want to search by price then amazon falls apart.... You would think both companies would get it right...
    July 15, 2018, 16:54:55
  • Reman: It's strange. The original setup they had about 5 or 6 years back wasn't too bad (Except for them occasionally getting accounts hacked), But they changed it to the last one that was clunky and slow, Now they've replaced that with a flashier one that's also clunky and slow ?!?!?! Most companies learn from what they do wrong. I don't buy from HK half as much as I used to, Mainly because it takes forever to trawl through 100 pages of totally unrelated stuff while looking for something you were thinking about getting when you saw it there the previous week !!!
    July 15, 2018, 16:27:21
  • hoverfly: I don't think there is a search button on H/King. They updated the site and forgot to  relabel the search button with  Random bo##ocks..
    July 15, 2018, 09:47:35
  • Bad Raven: Agree - The Search is abysmal!!
    July 15, 2018, 08:40:52
  • Reman: I see HobbyKing's revamped their site again...... Shame they haven't made the search function work any better, Or worked out why the whole site goes slower than a pensioner in a Nissan Micra. :)
    July 15, 2018, 08:28:14
  • Reman: How thick is Google? You buy something online, Then for the next week you get targeted adds for the item you've just got?!?! That's the one item you're NOT going to be buying again at that point so it's wasted effort of there part. :)
    July 14, 2018, 08:50:51
  • DarkButterfly: ~~
    July 13, 2018, 23:56:20
  • Kellarly: as does my ability not to realise what i've already typed
    July 13, 2018, 22:25:42
  • Kellarly: Wahooo, my whoop now lives!
    July 13, 2018, 22:25:19
  • Kellarly: yay, the whoop lives!!!
    July 13, 2018, 22:18:43
  • DarkButterfly: Had to replace the battery connector
    July 12, 2018, 10:57:47
  • Kellarly: good work! what was up with it?
    July 12, 2018, 10:39:33
  • DarkButterfly: Fixed my tiny6
    July 12, 2018, 10:23:59

Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 57
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Armattan Rooster Issue  (Read 1202 times)

Offline Hozza

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
  • Liked: 274
  • Country: gb
  • Meh!
Armattan Rooster Issue
« on: January 09, 2018, 08:04:44 »
So I hate doing this but being a big fan of Armattan this being the 6th frame I've purchased I have to say the Rooster doesn't warrant the money being charged for the quality of the frame.

Mine came without hardware (nuts and bolts) no real issue they can be re-sent or I could source my own, however the pain doesn't end there. The machined tolerances of the frame parts are terrible, so much so that I've used cap heads and still can't get the arm clamped down enough to stop them moving.

           

Even the arms that lock into the titanium front have movement :o

Apparently Chris from Armattan is going to put out a video saying this is ok :hmm: and just build it and fly it, well he can bloody fly over and tune it :laugh:

I've emailed Armattan support twice, first time about the lack of hardware and the second time about the frame tolerances, still no reply.


Come on Armattan you can fix this...
Paul

Offline Hozza

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
  • Liked: 274
  • Country: gb
  • Meh!
Re: Armattan Rooster Issue
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2018, 13:45:19 »
Got a bloody awesome response from Armattan:

Quote
Chris Leroux  I wrote a response to you earlier but you removed your post before I submitted my response. If you ship me your frame I'll pay the shipping cost and I'll speed ship you a frame that I will assemble myself. I can ship this to you tomorrow and just let me know when you find time to ship yours back, no rush. Let me know what you think.

And that's why I'm an Armattan fanboy :laugh:

Offline sh0wtime

  • Toy Car Racer
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Liked: 18
  • Country: england
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Armattan Rooster Issue
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2018, 14:10:21 »
Got a bloody awesome response from Armattan:

And that's why I'm an Armattan fanboy :laugh:

I'd say that was about as good a response as you could have hoped for.  ~~

i'm going to screw mine together tonight, i might just tell him it looks a bit off & get a built one sent out too  :whistling: :laugh:
In for a penny, In for a Grand!
Armattan Chameleon.
Armattan Rooster.
DemonRC Fury 5X.
HaloRC Archon.
Astrox Switch Stretched X.
SXQ5.
Armattan SCX200 RedBack.
Kinetic Aerial Air-Ro.
DJI Mavic Pro.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4740
  • Liked: 1239
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Armattan Rooster Issue
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2018, 17:01:49 »


Offline sh0wtime

  • Toy Car Racer
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Liked: 18
  • Country: england
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Armattan Rooster Issue
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2018, 22:49:54 »
I had one spazzy bolt on my build... ~~
In for a penny, In for a Grand!
Armattan Chameleon.
Armattan Rooster.
DemonRC Fury 5X.
HaloRC Archon.
Astrox Switch Stretched X.
SXQ5.
Armattan SCX200 RedBack.
Kinetic Aerial Air-Ro.
DJI Mavic Pro.

Offline Hozza

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
  • Liked: 274
  • Country: gb
  • Meh!
Re: Armattan Rooster Issue
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2018, 08:49:10 »
As I had no bolts I used cap heads and the arms could still move in fact I ended up shearing a bolt before I could get zero movement, but I didn't have any sunk nuts so only tried with regular nuts. I do hope it is just a quality issue on the bolts.

Offline Hertz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Liked: 0
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Armattan Rooster Issue
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2018, 10:27:21 »
Although the included bolts (even the "better ones" in later batches" are awful, with holes off center, no hex notches and shearing on the first attempt, better bolts won't solve. I have my own titanium bolts and they give just the same amount of play.
In my opinion, the movement in the arms is cause by some 50 microns worth of tolerance in the M3 arm holes.

I have wrapper aluminum tinfoil around the arm screws before putting them in and had the movement nearly gone. I consider either dipping the screws in epoxy, leaving a part of the thread to go into pressnuts/titanium, or use loctite or some other glue to make screws a bit thicker permanently.