User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • hoverfly: As I remember it was famous/notorious for its chicken poop welds.. :laugh:
    February 24, 2018, 21:05:05
  • Bad Raven: Honda had this belkief if they stripped all non-essentials off thay could compete against the 2 Strokes..... some chance!!  It was a commuter bike for the 4 miles each way I did four times a day.
    February 24, 2018, 18:10:37
  • Bad Raven: Try again... [link]
    February 24, 2018, 18:07:48
  • Bad Raven: [link]
    February 24, 2018, 18:02:35
  • Gav: got a pic?
    February 24, 2018, 17:47:40
  • Bad Raven: I have a 76 Honda CJ250T, 18k miles, it was a stripped down model without electric start, 2 into 1 exhaust, all weight saving.
    February 22, 2018, 17:29:21
  • hoverfly: My nephew picked up a 250 fleet star in super condition for £800.. He loves riding it around the Fens as the only hills are moles...
    February 22, 2018, 16:27:42
  • hoverfly: Sadly no, but when I go into.  fantasy  mode I trawl the net for a restoration  project..
    February 22, 2018, 16:11:12
  • Gav: you got a bike now hover?
    February 22, 2018, 14:57:59
  • hoverfly: That's a long weeee Slayer,   cystitis,???
    February 21, 2018, 20:34:31
  • Slayer23: feeling better now lol
    February 21, 2018, 19:03:35
  • Slayer23: Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    February 21, 2018, 19:03:28
  • hoverfly: cz 250 twin.
    February 21, 2018, 13:09:44
  • Gav: what bike was it
    February 21, 2018, 11:49:36
  • hoverfly: I had similar a few years back , came home from work went int kitchen and made a cuppa  sat on a stool looking out the kitchen window.  There was a large space ,something was wrong, some scumbag a/hole had stolen my motorbike.. :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:
    February 21, 2018, 09:24:58
  • Reman: I just half woke up, opened my eyes to check the time. and while doing this I subconsciously noticed something wrong with the shape of shadows on the other side of the room. That woke me up with a jolt!!!  It seems I've got so used to seeing my camera hex perched up on the set of draws in the corner of my bedroom that the area now looks strangely empty without it (I took it apart on Sunday to begin the rebuild into its new Y6 frame)...... And now I'm wide awake at bloody half one in the morning....... And feeling like a paranoid pillock. :(
    February 21, 2018, 01:27:14
  • atomiclama: Cheers, already have bog standard rucsacs, looking for something with a bit easier access to the internals
    February 15, 2018, 13:12:41
  • CornishMule: Atomiclama, I also had the CS300 but recently got [link] It's big enough to put the Taranis X9D case inside, fatshark case, Lipo bag, a couple of tool bags, launch pad, monitor, laptop and copious props. 2 quads strapped to the front.
    February 15, 2018, 11:29:36
  • atomiclama: Cheers Hozza
    February 14, 2018, 09:00:06
  • yama: hooked on 90mm brushless drones now:)
    February 11, 2018, 15:45:24

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Resets after installing new motors  (Read 372 times)

Offline CornishMule

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Liked: 76
  • Country: gb
Resets after installing new motors
« on: October 12, 2017, 18:37:20 »
Hi all,

Yesterday I swapped out the stock motors on my Wizard X220 for TBS Mr Steele motors.

I was very careful when installing them, with very clean solder joints and took my time.

I also checked and double checked screw length, and the stock screws that come with the Steele motors protrude 2mm above the 4mm arm on the Wizard, so comfortably sit in the motor hole without touching the bindings.

This morning I did a test hover in the garden, in angle mode (air mode turned off as well), and it was fine, until I tried to land, when it came down with a bump and the ESCs reset on their own (made the beeping noise they do during power on).

I tried again and the same happened.

I then took the props off and did some ';test landings'; - basically tapping it on the ground with the battery connected. The same happens, the ESCs reset.

I';ve also noticed that if I';m in Acro mode with Airmode and push roll / pitch to about 70% then the same happens, ESCs reset.

What do you guys suggest I look at next?

Thanks in advance.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4140
  • Liked: 928
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2017, 20:34:15 »

Offline CornishMule

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Liked: 76
  • Country: gb
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2017, 13:38:07 »

Offline hoverfly

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2142
  • Liked: 918
  • Country: gb
  • Quads, lots of quads
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2017, 16:47:22 »
Small point but the joint may look good but some pads are through plated to other layers on the boards,  very hard to spot...
Reptile folder , alien 500 , F/ Shark Attitudes,
Spektrum DX 8 with mode knob conversion.Tarot 650, Air-rio Kinetic.. DX9  Various wings and planks..

Offline Andy7

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 849
  • Liked: 442
  • Country: gb
    • The Tracker
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2017, 19:20:19 »
If all 4 escs reset then you can probably eliminate a momentary BREAK in any one of the ESC power connections.
So try tracing from the battery into the PDB as it may be a common power problem.

If it';s a temporary SHORT on any one point, how about taking off the battery, putting a meter on continuity setting across the XT60, bang it and see if your meter beeps. 

 :crossfingers:
ZMR200 | EMAX 2206 2300kv | XSRF4PO(BF) | FatShark Dom V3 | Spedix ES25 | 4S 1300mAh | 5045x3 PC HQ Props | FrSky QX7.
Hubsan X4 107 V2
YouTube: www.youtube.com/user/AndySevern7

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4140
  • Liked: 928
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2017, 21:37:45 »
Having looked at it today I suspect the fc is rebooting as well, I think he has blown the cap on the onboard 5v reg.

Offline Andy7

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 849
  • Liked: 442
  • Country: gb
    • The Tracker
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2017, 21:58:02 »
Would that be sensitive to vibration though?
Was there a crash involved? If it';s a lost cause for the FC then I wonder if it';s worth trying a reflow on the board if any components have worked loose?
ZMR200 | EMAX 2206 2300kv | XSRF4PO(BF) | FatShark Dom V3 | Spedix ES25 | 4S 1300mAh | 5045x3 PC HQ Props | FrSky QX7.
Hubsan X4 107 V2
YouTube: www.youtube.com/user/AndySevern7

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4140
  • Liked: 928
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2017, 22:29:21 »
Yeah, there was a crash, buck regs (or and surface mounted component, can have its solder join damaged by electrical short or crashes, the latter is more likely to have an effect on heavy components (often used in regs) or with dodgy cheap boards where the quality of soldering may be less than ideal

Offline CornishMule

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Liked: 76
  • Country: gb
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2017, 17:38:07 »
Just an update on this. So I put an old (but working) motor back on, and then enabled "beeper SYSTEM_INIT" on Betaflight. Powered it up and gave it a bounce, yep, the FC is resetting as well as the ESCs, so I think the suspicion of the PDB not providing a clean 5V is very possible.

 @Cheredanine, I';ve got the Matek F405OSD + PDB, which I was planning using for the other build (Steele motors). What FC and PDB would you suggest to get the ';burner quad Wizard'; back in the air? I';ll replace the SP Racing F3 clone at the same time, I';ve been after a reason to get BF OSD on the Wizard anyway ;)

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4140
  • Liked: 928
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2017, 18:00:16 »
Hi mate,
There are many solid one you could use
The matek one, a lumenier lux v2 (no osd) and pdb, one of the omnibus f4 and a pdb
General pdb a matek with 5 and 12v regs

The shrike you had a go on has an omnibus f4 pro corner, which has built in pdb on the flight controller, provided there is enough room between the fc mount and the standoffs that would work well:
https://www.unmannedtechshop.co.uk/omnibus-f4-pro-corner/