User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bad Raven: I would'nt know but obviously you have had the experience.....  :evil
    June 17, 2018, 13:08:09
  • shawdreamer: his boyfriend couldnt wait..... :whistling:
    June 17, 2018, 11:58:37
  • hoverfly: Keckon, is usually the result of typing with your mouth full. :whistling:
    June 16, 2018, 16:37:24
  • Bad Raven: Keckon???  Where did THAT come from??
    June 16, 2018, 16:13:17
  • Bad Raven: I keckon you have bootleg Domino's................  And HF , I ALWAYS give a tip, it's "don't upset me"....
    June 16, 2018, 16:08:46
  • DarkButterfly: Not sure why they're different colours :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 13:19:02
  • hoverfly: Blue boxes are used to indicate to the delivery bloke they won't get a tip at that house.. :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 09:07:42
  • Bad Raven: And on another more important matter, wny is your domino's box red, ours are blue!!!   :blink :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 05:47:01
  • Bajadre: :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 23:47:19
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 22:41:37
  • shawdreamer: oh it'll fly...... like a piece of 5hit with a big arse motor attached..... but it'll fly :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 22:25:24
  • hoverfly: Superb,  :rofl:
    June 15, 2018, 22:14:50
  • DarkButterfly: :smiley:
    June 15, 2018, 21:02:23
  • DarkButterfly: Need to get some electronics on this and see if it flies [link]
    June 15, 2018, 21:02:14
  • atomiclama: I used the solder ones [link] as I do't have a crimp tool and should be able to reuse the connector if required
    June 15, 2018, 14:50:33
  • VaNDAL_UK: Nice one. I'm gonna go for it. just looking for the SMA connectors with the crips as Ive had a few break at the root.
    June 15, 2018, 14:44:53
  • atomiclama: these are my first attempts, got better since then [link]
    June 15, 2018, 10:57:11
  • atomiclama: Yeah could've got mine cheaper but wanted it in reasonable time. Go for it, It's rewarding to see something you have made yourself.
    June 15, 2018, 10:54:38
  • VaNDAL_UK: atomiclama: I was pricing up the cable 0.08 copper wire and SMA connectors came out to about £15 and I could have made 5 meters worth of antennas!
    June 15, 2018, 10:31:48
  • hoverfly: Betaflight RC1...Interesting  if you go to the O.S.D  settings and then change the font  by lining up the icons in the correct precise order then hit  enter,...... It opens up the  O.C.D.  screen. :smiley:
    June 15, 2018, 09:01:13

Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 50
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Resets after installing new motors  (Read 589 times)

Offline CornishMule

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Liked: 237
  • Country: gb
Resets after installing new motors
« on: October 12, 2017, 18:37:20 »
Hi all,

Yesterday I swapped out the stock motors on my Wizard X220 for TBS Mr Steele motors.

I was very careful when installing them, with very clean solder joints and took my time.

I also checked and double checked screw length, and the stock screws that come with the Steele motors protrude 2mm above the 4mm arm on the Wizard, so comfortably sit in the motor hole without touching the bindings.

This morning I did a test hover in the garden, in angle mode (air mode turned off as well), and it was fine, until I tried to land, when it came down with a bump and the ESCs reset on their own (made the beeping noise they do during power on).

I tried again and the same happened.

I then took the props off and did some ';test landings'; - basically tapping it on the ground with the battery connected. The same happens, the ESCs reset.

I';ve also noticed that if I';m in Acro mode with Airmode and push roll / pitch to about 70% then the same happens, ESCs reset.

What do you guys suggest I look at next?

Thanks in advance.

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4650
  • Liked: 1173
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2017, 20:34:15 »

Offline CornishMule

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Liked: 237
  • Country: gb
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2017, 13:38:07 »

Offline hoverfly

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2528
  • Liked: 1084
  • Country: gb
  • Quads, lots of quads
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2017, 16:47:22 »
Small point but the joint may look good but some pads are through plated to other layers on the boards,  very hard to spot...
Reptile folder , alien 500 , F/ Shark Attitudes,
 .Tarot 650, Air-rio Kinetic.. DX9  Various wings and planks.. Taranis x9D+..Mavic..Armattan.. Chameleion...
Massive over draught.....

Offline Andy7

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1123
  • Liked: 666
  • Country: gb
    • The Tracker
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2017, 19:20:19 »
If all 4 escs reset then you can probably eliminate a momentary BREAK in any one of the ESC power connections.
So try tracing from the battery into the PDB as it may be a common power problem.

If it';s a temporary SHORT on any one point, how about taking off the battery, putting a meter on continuity setting across the XT60, bang it and see if your meter beeps. 

 :crossfingers:
ZMR200 | EMAX 2206 2300kv | XSRF4PO(BF) | FatShark Dom V3 | Spedix ES25 | 4S 1300mAh | 5045x3 PC HQ Props | FrSky QX7.
Hubsan X4 107 V2
YouTube: www.youtube.com/user/AndySevern7

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4650
  • Liked: 1173
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2017, 21:37:45 »
Having looked at it today I suspect the fc is rebooting as well, I think he has blown the cap on the onboard 5v reg.

Offline Andy7

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1123
  • Liked: 666
  • Country: gb
    • The Tracker
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2017, 21:58:02 »
Would that be sensitive to vibration though?
Was there a crash involved? If it';s a lost cause for the FC then I wonder if it';s worth trying a reflow on the board if any components have worked loose?
ZMR200 | EMAX 2206 2300kv | XSRF4PO(BF) | FatShark Dom V3 | Spedix ES25 | 4S 1300mAh | 5045x3 PC HQ Props | FrSky QX7.
Hubsan X4 107 V2
YouTube: www.youtube.com/user/AndySevern7

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4650
  • Liked: 1173
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2017, 22:29:21 »
Yeah, there was a crash, buck regs (or and surface mounted component, can have its solder join damaged by electrical short or crashes, the latter is more likely to have an effect on heavy components (often used in regs) or with dodgy cheap boards where the quality of soldering may be less than ideal

Offline CornishMule

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Liked: 237
  • Country: gb
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2017, 17:38:07 »
Just an update on this. So I put an old (but working) motor back on, and then enabled "beeper SYSTEM_INIT" on Betaflight. Powered it up and gave it a bounce, yep, the FC is resetting as well as the ESCs, so I think the suspicion of the PDB not providing a clean 5V is very possible.

 @Cheredanine, I';ve got the Matek F405OSD + PDB, which I was planning using for the other build (Steele motors). What FC and PDB would you suggest to get the ';burner quad Wizard'; back in the air? I';ll replace the SP Racing F3 clone at the same time, I';ve been after a reason to get BF OSD on the Wizard anyway ;)

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4650
  • Liked: 1173
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Resets after installing new motors
« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2017, 18:00:16 »
Hi mate,
There are many solid one you could use
The matek one, a lumenier lux v2 (no osd) and pdb, one of the omnibus f4 and a pdb
General pdb a matek with 5 and 12v regs

The shrike you had a go on has an omnibus f4 pro corner, which has built in pdb on the flight controller, provided there is enough room between the fc mount and the standoffs that would work well:
https://www.unmannedtechshop.co.uk/omnibus-f4-pro-corner/