User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Icefever: Bad R...I have matey here..[link].
    December 12, 2017, 15:30:28
  • Bad Raven: IF/A7, a summary thread would enable more people to look and comment, its too big here!
    December 12, 2017, 07:05:40
  • Icefever: I've set the failsafe in the TX setting that's all..there's no connection between the TX and quad. at all..
    December 12, 2017, 03:40:10
  • Icefever: Andy..I've only messed with the failsafe one...but not in Beta.
    December 12, 2017, 03:38:04
  • Andy7: Ice: Is it just that it's not arming? Have you set the switch settings in betaflight?
    December 11, 2017, 21:24:23
  • Two-Six: Fixed it yet Ice?
    December 11, 2017, 15:04:23
  • hoverfly: ffs.. :rofl: :rofl:
    December 11, 2017, 14:51:15
  • Bad Raven: No, a nun falling down stairs...............
    December 11, 2017, 14:01:01
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    December 11, 2017, 12:27:30
  • hoverfly: you are probably on a zebra crossing. ::)
    December 11, 2017, 09:49:42
  • Bad Raven: Everything went white, black, white, and is now mostly black again.............
    December 10, 2017, 16:55:37
  • hoverfly: everything has gone white. :shrug:
    December 10, 2017, 12:21:29
  • Icefever: Hi Andy I have a prob with the Tx.  it's bound to the rx but when I try the either gimbel nothing happens....I have a green led on the rx..when connected to beta I can run up the motors but nothing else??help
    December 10, 2017, 09:23:12
  • Andy7: Perfect day to have shaved off the beard.... :(
    December 10, 2017, 09:17:17
  • Saleem: Just dont do it facing the wind
    December 09, 2017, 19:36:25
  • hoverfly: AGHHH  yellow snow warning  :laugh:
    December 09, 2017, 18:49:57
  • Bajadre: sounds a fair price mate
    December 08, 2017, 16:47:54
  • VaNDAL_UK: What would a Walkera 250 PRO with FatShark Predator v2's be worth? I was thinking £250 ish?!
    December 08, 2017, 16:13:15
  • atomiclama: found it
    December 08, 2017, 14:32:26
  • atomiclama: Ah nuts how do I get to my book marks on this site???
    December 08, 2017, 14:28:31

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Poll

So, Which TX are you using? If you own both brands choose which you use the most.

Frsky, and happy with the choice.
Frsky, and unhappy with the choice.
Flysky, and happy with the choice.
Flysky, and unhappy with the choice.

Author Topic: Flysky vs FrSky.  (Read 556 times)

Offline Reman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 314
  • Liked: 125
  • Country: gb
  • Rebuild, Fly, Crash, Repeat.
Flysky vs FrSky.
« on: October 10, 2017, 09:55:19 »
I';m curious about who has the market share between these two. I guess that although FrSky probably make more money, there';s going to be more pilots using flysky kit because they tend to scag the people who just want to dip a toe into the hobby due to the lower prices.......... but I could be entirely wrong there. :)
« Last Edit: October 10, 2017, 09:59:23 by Reman »
A really bad day of flying is still ten times better than a good day at work.

Offline CornishMule

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Liked: 54
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2017, 10:04:12 »
I';ve only been flying for 5 months, so started with the Wizard x220 and the FlySky FS-i6 TX. It';s been a great intro to the hobby and is serving me well. However, I am left wanting the following:

- Better quality gimbals (I';ve also tried the X9D, and even the ball bearing gimbals on there are far better than the Flysky ones)
- Support for OpenTx - I';ve heard there';s something coming for FlySky, but feel it will take a while to reach the maturity of OpenTx for FrSky
- Voices ... tell me when my RSSI is low!!!
- More channels for Telemetry etc (Yes I know I can do the firmware mod on the FlySky, but have read it stops the system working with sims so am cautious)
- TBS Crossfire support / Modular multi-protocol adapters: Long range is gaining popularity, and to avoid replacing Rx in every model (and to support Tiny Whoops) the multi-protocol port is nice.


I am probably going to buy a Taranis soon. The question is whether it';s the QX7 with M7 gimbals (and accept the TBS crossfire latency issue / HW mod), or go for the X9D special edition.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2005
  • Liked: 487
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2017, 10:06:37 »
Bought Flysky when bought my first quad bits as reviews reasonable and it was cheap.
Now with the Firmware ';updates'; it is amazing for the money. The Frsky was just way above my budget and I didn';t really understand the difference. I now understand the difference but I am happy with my Flysky and would rather spend my limited budget on batteries and quad improvements rather than a Frsky upgrade. :smiley:

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2005
  • Liked: 487
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2017, 10:10:50 »

- More channels for Telemetry etc (Yes I know I can do the firmware mod on the FlySky, but have read it stops the system working with sims so am cautious)
I have modded my i6 (original) and it still works with FPVFreerider sim no problem at all. I seem to remember, although I may be wrong, that you can revert back to factory FW from within the tx menus even after the FW mod. So if it wont work with your sim you can go back although you will probably lose any models in memory!!!!

Offline CornishMule

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Liked: 54
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2017, 11:29:01 »
I have modded my i6 (original) and it still works with FPVFreerider sim no problem at all. I seem to remember, although I may be wrong, that you can revert back to factory FW from within the tx menus even after the FW mod. So if it wont work with your sim you can go back although you will probably lose any models in memory!!!!

Thanks for the tip. I might take a look into that then :)

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3993
  • Liked: 888
  • Country: gb
  • Everything you have been told is a lie
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2017, 14:51:11 »
I think you are gonna get a bias from the type of fliers here, I can tell you every single pilot on the flight line I use uses an Frsky taranis. One guy has a spectrum as a backup and I have a tango with an Frsky module as a backup but otherwise it is x9d plus all round.

Offline DarkButterfly

  • Wings in the sky
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1817
  • Liked: 1094
  • Country: gb
  • Got the Hexfactor
    • My blog
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2017, 15:03:10 »
X9D plus here,

Have got a Spektrum 6i and an aurora 9 as back ups, however they don';t get used much, the A9 has been repurposed for surface use.

Frsky all the way. ~~
Why use 4 motors when you can use 6?

Offline Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • Liked: 384
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2017, 15:06:56 »
I have both.

At the time I got the FS-i6 there was a distinct design gap between the two makes, FrSky didn';t go that low, FlySky not that high spec. That has blurred with firmware for FlySky and new low spec models from FrSky.

I don';t regret having either and use both pretty much every time I fly.

My main club is fixed wing and more fixed wing, most think Helicopters are "odd", and what they think of MR';s is unprintable and based on no experience at all. They split 60% Spektrum (mostly DX8 and 9), 30% FrSky (Taranis and very recently a couple of Q7s), 10% Futaba ( a lot of older FASST)

I am the only one with Horus and the only one with FlySky (std firmware FS-i6).

Offline Hozza

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 792
  • Liked: 248
  • Country: gb
    • Fun, Run and Gun
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2017, 15:17:49 »
Got back into RC just over 2 years ago and contemplated a Flysky due to the cost of the Frsky at the time, but it was the misses that said go for the Taranis X9D+ so to not disobey I went X9D+ and love it.

Offline apollo7

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1683
  • Liked: 580
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2017, 17:08:45 »
I have 2 flyskys well a flysky and a Turnigy badged, both ai6 i use one with my quads and one with my planes yes i know i can programme different models but i like them and they work for me, i could do with one more channel in the future but dont want to hack the TX (to thick) but getting more into planes so can live with out the extra channel and dont see me changing my radio set up any time soon
S550 with Naza and Phantom 3, Falcon evo 1340 wing, AQ600 Quad
Sweet dreams and flying machines in pieces on the ground

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2005
  • Liked: 487
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2017, 20:31:14 »

Offline apollo7

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1683
  • Liked: 580
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2017, 20:42:38 »
S550 with Naza and Phantom 3, Falcon evo 1340 wing, AQ600 Quad
Sweet dreams and flying machines in pieces on the ground

Offline Reman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 314
  • Liked: 125
  • Country: gb
  • Rebuild, Fly, Crash, Repeat.
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #12 on: October 10, 2017, 20:52:53 »
I think you are gonna get a bias from the type of fliers here

I';m not sure. We have quite a wide spread of thread subjects here, ranging from "Building my first real quad" and "Which xxxxx will work with yyyyy", Right up to stuff so technical and product specific that 90% of the forum members can';t even follow what the threads about. :)

I wasn';t very surprised when FlySky jumped into the lead earlier on, But I am wondering why all the FrSky owners waited till the evening to pop up?

With regards to flashing the i6, Rather than getting an FTDI adapter, The less scary option is to get an i6 update cable (www.banggood.com/FlySky-Data-Cable-USB-Download-Line-For-FS-i6-FS-T6-Transmitter-Firmware-Update-p-982289.html). My original i6 actually came with one in the box.
A really bad day of flying is still ten times better than a good day at work.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2005
  • Liked: 487
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #13 on: October 10, 2017, 20:58:39 »
Kind of you, i would only need another channel if i decide to build the Tarot 650 sport next year as it has retracts and i am using all six channels as my gimbal has tilt on the RX  but as things stand i am a bit jaded with building big quads, i really like my AQ600, so im thinking stick with what i have got and get sorted on my fixed wing
No problem.
The Firmware is here : https://github.com/qba667/FlySkyI6/releases download the NO SW14 (unless you add an extra switch!!!!)
The guide I used for connecting ftdi was https://github.com/benb0jangles/FlySky-i6-Mod-  the bit that says ';flashing the i6 using trainer port';.
I can';t remember what drivers I installed for the ftdi but if you have used one before it should work.
One really useful feature is you can set flight battery alarms if you have the V01 (I think) module plugged into your 6chor 10ch rx (you can wire lipo voltage into the rx to get lipoo voltage display on tx, cant remember where the hack is as didnt do it) or use the X6B rx. I use the 10ch rx on my F450 and have gimbal on 2ch, plus remote video switcher (between gimbal cam and fpv cam) so I am using 8 channels no problem at all.

Offline Saleem

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 928
  • Liked: 173
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #14 on: October 28, 2017, 22:17:04 »
Voted flysky,now its 6 all!

I got mine with my first quad,all second hand but i am used to it and i have flysky x6b rx in all my working quads.
 :smiley:

Offline Nige8021

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
  • Liked: 98
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #15 on: October 28, 2017, 22:34:34 »
When I first bought my Tarranis, the programming was initially a bit of a headache, but now I just love the way if you need it to do something the chances are you can program it to do that, on my hex the retactable gear is inhibited from retracting below 35% throttle and will auto deploy down as soon as the throttle is below 50%