User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bad Raven: I would'nt know but obviously you have had the experience.....  :evil
    June 17, 2018, 13:08:09
  • shawdreamer: his boyfriend couldnt wait..... :whistling:
    June 17, 2018, 11:58:37
  • hoverfly: Keckon, is usually the result of typing with your mouth full. :whistling:
    June 16, 2018, 16:37:24
  • Bad Raven: Keckon???  Where did THAT come from??
    June 16, 2018, 16:13:17
  • Bad Raven: I keckon you have bootleg Domino's................  And HF , I ALWAYS give a tip, it's "don't upset me"....
    June 16, 2018, 16:08:46
  • DarkButterfly: Not sure why they're different colours :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 13:19:02
  • hoverfly: Blue boxes are used to indicate to the delivery bloke they won't get a tip at that house.. :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 09:07:42
  • Bad Raven: And on another more important matter, wny is your domino's box red, ours are blue!!!   :blink :laugh:
    June 16, 2018, 05:47:01
  • Bajadre: :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 23:47:19
  • DarkButterfly: :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 22:41:37
  • shawdreamer: oh it'll fly...... like a piece of 5hit with a big arse motor attached..... but it'll fly :laugh:
    June 15, 2018, 22:25:24
  • hoverfly: Superb,  :rofl:
    June 15, 2018, 22:14:50
  • DarkButterfly: :smiley:
    June 15, 2018, 21:02:23
  • DarkButterfly: Need to get some electronics on this and see if it flies [link]
    June 15, 2018, 21:02:14
  • atomiclama: I used the solder ones [link] as I do't have a crimp tool and should be able to reuse the connector if required
    June 15, 2018, 14:50:33
  • VaNDAL_UK: Nice one. I'm gonna go for it. just looking for the SMA connectors with the crips as Ive had a few break at the root.
    June 15, 2018, 14:44:53
  • atomiclama: these are my first attempts, got better since then [link]
    June 15, 2018, 10:57:11
  • atomiclama: Yeah could've got mine cheaper but wanted it in reasonable time. Go for it, It's rewarding to see something you have made yourself.
    June 15, 2018, 10:54:38
  • VaNDAL_UK: atomiclama: I was pricing up the cable 0.08 copper wire and SMA connectors came out to about £15 and I could have made 5 meters worth of antennas!
    June 15, 2018, 10:31:48
  • hoverfly: Betaflight RC1...Interesting  if you go to the O.S.D  settings and then change the font  by lining up the icons in the correct precise order then hit  enter,...... It opens up the  O.C.D.  screen. :smiley:
    June 15, 2018, 09:01:13

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Poll

So, Which TX are you using? If you own both brands choose which you use the most.

Frsky, and happy with the choice.
Frsky, and unhappy with the choice.
Flysky, and happy with the choice.
Flysky, and unhappy with the choice.

Author Topic: Flysky vs FrSky.  (Read 3087 times)

Offline Reman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
  • Liked: 173
  • Country: gb
  • Fly, Crash, Rebuild, Repeat.
Flysky vs FrSky.
« on: October 10, 2017, 09:55:19 »
I';m curious about who has the market share between these two. I guess that although FrSky probably make more money, there';s going to be more pilots using flysky kit because they tend to scag the people who just want to dip a toe into the hobby due to the lower prices.......... but I could be entirely wrong there. :)
« Last Edit: October 10, 2017, 09:59:23 by Reman »
I need a pay rise........ Though I'd settle for a reduction in the amount of hours I need to work to get the same money.

Offline CornishMule

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • Liked: 238
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2017, 10:04:12 »
I';ve only been flying for 5 months, so started with the Wizard x220 and the FlySky FS-i6 TX. It';s been a great intro to the hobby and is serving me well. However, I am left wanting the following:

- Better quality gimbals (I';ve also tried the X9D, and even the ball bearing gimbals on there are far better than the Flysky ones)
- Support for OpenTx - I';ve heard there';s something coming for FlySky, but feel it will take a while to reach the maturity of OpenTx for FrSky
- Voices ... tell me when my RSSI is low!!!
- More channels for Telemetry etc (Yes I know I can do the firmware mod on the FlySky, but have read it stops the system working with sims so am cautious)
- TBS Crossfire support / Modular multi-protocol adapters: Long range is gaining popularity, and to avoid replacing Rx in every model (and to support Tiny Whoops) the multi-protocol port is nice.


I am probably going to buy a Taranis soon. The question is whether it';s the QX7 with M7 gimbals (and accept the TBS crossfire latency issue / HW mod), or go for the X9D special edition.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
  • Liked: 607
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2017, 10:06:37 »
Bought Flysky when bought my first quad bits as reviews reasonable and it was cheap.
Now with the Firmware ';updates'; it is amazing for the money. The Frsky was just way above my budget and I didn';t really understand the difference. I now understand the difference but I am happy with my Flysky and would rather spend my limited budget on batteries and quad improvements rather than a Frsky upgrade. :smiley:

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
  • Liked: 607
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2017, 10:10:50 »

- More channels for Telemetry etc (Yes I know I can do the firmware mod on the FlySky, but have read it stops the system working with sims so am cautious)
I have modded my i6 (original) and it still works with FPVFreerider sim no problem at all. I seem to remember, although I may be wrong, that you can revert back to factory FW from within the tx menus even after the FW mod. So if it wont work with your sim you can go back although you will probably lose any models in memory!!!!

Offline CornishMule

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • Liked: 238
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2017, 11:29:01 »
I have modded my i6 (original) and it still works with FPVFreerider sim no problem at all. I seem to remember, although I may be wrong, that you can revert back to factory FW from within the tx menus even after the FW mod. So if it wont work with your sim you can go back although you will probably lose any models in memory!!!!

Thanks for the tip. I might take a look into that then :)

Offline Cheredanine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4653
  • Liked: 1178
  • Country: gb
  • Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2017, 14:51:11 »
I think you are gonna get a bias from the type of fliers here, I can tell you every single pilot on the flight line I use uses an Frsky taranis. One guy has a spectrum as a backup and I have a tango with an Frsky module as a backup but otherwise it is x9d plus all round.

Offline DarkButterfly

  • Wings in the sky
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1842
  • Liked: 1126
  • Country: gb
  • Got the Hexfactor
    • My blog
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2017, 15:03:10 »
X9D plus here,

Have got a Spektrum 6i and an aurora 9 as back ups, however they don';t get used much, the A9 has been repurposed for surface use.

Frsky all the way. ~~
Why use 4 motors when you can use 6?

YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/RobR386

Online Bad Raven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1465
  • Liked: 580
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2017, 15:06:56 »
I have both.

At the time I got the FS-i6 there was a distinct design gap between the two makes, FrSky didn';t go that low, FlySky not that high spec. That has blurred with firmware for FlySky and new low spec models from FrSky.

I don';t regret having either and use both pretty much every time I fly.

My main club is fixed wing and more fixed wing, most think Helicopters are "odd", and what they think of MR';s is unprintable and based on no experience at all. They split 60% Spektrum (mostly DX8 and 9), 30% FrSky (Taranis and very recently a couple of Q7s), 10% Futaba ( a lot of older FASST)

I am the only one with Horus and the only one with FlySky (std firmware FS-i6).

Offline Hozza

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 839
  • Liked: 270
  • Country: gb
  • Meh!
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2017, 15:17:49 »
Got back into RC just over 2 years ago and contemplated a Flysky due to the cost of the Frsky at the time, but it was the misses that said go for the Taranis X9D+ so to not disobey I went X9D+ and love it.

Offline apollo7

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1952
  • Liked: 687
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2017, 17:08:45 »
I have 2 flyskys well a flysky and a Turnigy badged, both ai6 i use one with my quads and one with my planes yes i know i can programme different models but i like them and they work for me, i could do with one more channel in the future but dont want to hack the TX (to thick) but getting more into planes so can live with out the extra channel and dont see me changing my radio set up any time soon
DJI P3......home build AQ600....Ranger 1600...2x Wing wing Z84....Wildthing 46 in build
Sweet dreams and flying machines in pieces on the ground

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
  • Liked: 607
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2017, 20:31:14 »

Offline apollo7

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1952
  • Liked: 687
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2017, 20:42:38 »
DJI P3......home build AQ600....Ranger 1600...2x Wing wing Z84....Wildthing 46 in build
Sweet dreams and flying machines in pieces on the ground

Offline Reman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
  • Liked: 173
  • Country: gb
  • Fly, Crash, Rebuild, Repeat.
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #12 on: October 10, 2017, 20:52:53 »
I think you are gonna get a bias from the type of fliers here

I';m not sure. We have quite a wide spread of thread subjects here, ranging from "Building my first real quad" and "Which xxxxx will work with yyyyy", Right up to stuff so technical and product specific that 90% of the forum members can';t even follow what the threads about. :)

I wasn';t very surprised when FlySky jumped into the lead earlier on, But I am wondering why all the FrSky owners waited till the evening to pop up?

With regards to flashing the i6, Rather than getting an FTDI adapter, The less scary option is to get an i6 update cable (www.banggood.com/FlySky-Data-Cable-USB-Download-Line-For-FS-i6-FS-T6-Transmitter-Firmware-Update-p-982289.html). My original i6 actually came with one in the box.
I need a pay rise........ Though I'd settle for a reduction in the amount of hours I need to work to get the same money.

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
  • Liked: 607
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #13 on: October 10, 2017, 20:58:39 »
Kind of you, i would only need another channel if i decide to build the Tarot 650 sport next year as it has retracts and i am using all six channels as my gimbal has tilt on the RX  but as things stand i am a bit jaded with building big quads, i really like my AQ600, so im thinking stick with what i have got and get sorted on my fixed wing
No problem.
The Firmware is here : https://github.com/qba667/FlySkyI6/releases download the NO SW14 (unless you add an extra switch!!!!)
The guide I used for connecting ftdi was https://github.com/benb0jangles/FlySky-i6-Mod-  the bit that says ';flashing the i6 using trainer port';.
I can';t remember what drivers I installed for the ftdi but if you have used one before it should work.
One really useful feature is you can set flight battery alarms if you have the V01 (I think) module plugged into your 6chor 10ch rx (you can wire lipo voltage into the rx to get lipoo voltage display on tx, cant remember where the hack is as didnt do it) or use the X6B rx. I use the 10ch rx on my F450 and have gimbal on 2ch, plus remote video switcher (between gimbal cam and fpv cam) so I am using 8 channels no problem at all.

Offline Saleem

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 958
  • Liked: 180
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #14 on: October 28, 2017, 22:17:04 »
Voted flysky,now its 6 all!

I got mine with my first quad,all second hand but i am used to it and i have flysky x6b rx in all my working quads.
 :smiley:

Offline Nige8021

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 457
  • Liked: 98
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #15 on: October 28, 2017, 22:34:34 »
When I first bought my Tarranis, the programming was initially a bit of a headache, but now I just love the way if you need it to do something the chances are you can program it to do that, on my hex the retactable gear is inhibited from retracting below 35% throttle and will auto deploy down as soon as the throttle is below 50%

Offline mo_miah

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 311
  • Liked: 60
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #16 on: February 08, 2018, 11:21:19 »
i have a flysky th9x and a gt3c, i come from an rc car background so these were great, but the lack of sbus/ibus receivers for the th9x is a disappointment, the th9x is realy well built and nice to use but the pwm receivers are bulky which is not an issue as and extra weight is a bonus as it keeps the tyres on the ground but for my drones it makes a messy built
if i can get a module for the th9x so i can use a frsky xm+ receiver that would be great but cant find much information on it

Online Gavster29

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Liked: 45
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #17 on: February 08, 2018, 11:59:48 »
I have 2x FlySky 1x FS-i6 and the updated FS-i6X the reason I got the first was price as I needed a 10 channel radio for my RC car!

The second FS-i6 came off here second hand due to a Taranis upgrade, I wanted to use it for my Whoops and drone plans but then my daughter wanted a full size radio, the original FlySky is going to be modded so both sticks have a central spring.

So now I am building an AIR-RO 4" quad and need a tiny receiver so I have gone for the Taranis QX7 and XM+ receiver, I only got it yesterday so can't comment until I use it in anger but honestly it is daunting.

FlySky is simple plug and play FrSky is programmable and customizable

Sent from my TA-1033 using Tapatalk


Offline AmiSMB

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Liked: 10
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #18 on: February 08, 2018, 12:04:01 »
I was originally using JR-8310 (Spectrum module), JR388 and a Futaba 6x which all of which were not doing what I wanted/expected when setting up flight modes on the quad. I then looked at Spectrum offerings as Futaba and JR higher models at the time was too expensive and just felt that Spectrum was still too expensive when FrSky Taranis could give me more than 9 channels over SBUS. I went with a Taranis due to the flexibility of the OpenTX firmware. Having seen the FlySky equipment being released it looks very good quality and value to start with but can see how you can outgrow this.
KC250 RS2205 2300kv SPF3 DAL 5 x 4.5 BN
EMAX MT2204 2300kv SPF3 DAL 5 x 4.5 BN
Gravity 250 DYS 1806 2300kv SPF3 DAL 5 x 4.5BN

Controlled by FrSky Taranis

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
  • Liked: 607
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #19 on: February 08, 2018, 12:19:50 »
i have a flysky th9x and a gt3c, i come from an rc car background so these were great, but the lack of sbus/ibus receivers for the th9x is a disappointment,
I have not found a FlySky full range rx at a similar size to the xm+ but here are the smaller ones that I know about.
X6B = Full range X6B £7.37 18ch iBus twice as big as xm+, does some telemetry
A8S = 300m is range A8S £6.63 18ch iBus similar size to xm+, not sure about telemetry , suspect not, early ones did have issues but I believe they have now been fixed.
Flit10 Flit10]https://goo.gl/BGHiHJ]Flit10 £9.58 10ch iBus 25mmx15mmx5mm no idea on this one

Hope the above helps?
« Last Edit: February 08, 2018, 12:30:44 by ched999uk »

Offline shawdreamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1298
  • Liked: 744
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #20 on: February 08, 2018, 12:54:42 »

X6B = Full range (my primary RX with my turnigy evo, great solid RX and very reasonable price....aslong as its the new version with ppm and sbus failsafe fix that is.
A8S = 300m is range (no voltage telemetry) I use two.
Flit10 = 150m(IMO) trailed one a couple of weeks back and Id say best used for short range micros (which tbf looks like what their targeted for)

550 custom H-copter (redesigned)
zmr250
Reaper250 V.1
Podracer v2
zmr250Hybrid
250 Twinboard
Project Sparkie (under repair)
https://www.thingiverse.com/shawdreamer/designs

Offline mo_miah

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 311
  • Liked: 60
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #21 on: February 08, 2018, 13:14:13 »
I have not found a FlySky full range rx at a similar size to the xm+ but here are the smaller ones that I know about.
X6B = Full range X6B £7.37 18ch iBus twice as big as xm+, does some telemetry
A8S = 300m is range A8S £6.63 18ch iBus similar size to xm+, not sure about telemetry , suspect not, early ones did have issues but I believe they have now been fixed.
Flit10 Flit10]https://goo.gl/BGHiHJ]Flit10 £9.58 10ch iBus 25mmx15mmx5mm no idea on this one

Hope the above helps?

trouble i have with the th9x is the module itself does not support the ibus receivers, it does have a jr port so i could change the module but im not sure which ones would work, i could waste loads of money trying things out or sell what i have and switch over to taranis qx7 or x9d+

Offline shawdreamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1298
  • Liked: 744
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
550 custom H-copter (redesigned)
zmr250
Reaper250 V.1
Podracer v2
zmr250Hybrid
250 Twinboard
Project Sparkie (under repair)
https://www.thingiverse.com/shawdreamer/designs

Offline mo_miah

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 311
  • Liked: 60
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #23 on: February 08, 2018, 14:52:49 »
i have the rm002 module, that what came with the th9x
i will try there new rm003 module and see if it connects to there own ibus receivers

thats the trouble with this hobble, start off cheap to give things a try and once you like it you kick yourself thinking should have got the good stuff in the first place

Offline ched999uk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
  • Liked: 607
  • Country: gb
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #24 on: February 08, 2018, 16:40:25 »
trouble i have with the th9x is the module itself does not support the ibus receivers, it does have a jr port so i could change the module but im not sure which ones would work, i could waste loads of money trying things out or sell what i have and switch over to taranis qx7 or x9d+
Sorry I didnt notice the gt3c bit.
The FS-RM003 £20.64 ShawDreamer suggested looks to be the one as it supports AFHDS 2A for the FS-TH9X. So it should work with the smaller rx I mentioned.

Mind you for a little more you could get a new FlySky i6 for £28.02. It can easily be flashed to 14 channels (FTDI adapter) and does telemetry (flight battery voltage very easy). It also does AFHDS  and AFHDS-2A. It also only takes 4 AA batteries and is a little smaller.

The QX7 does get great write ups but needs a battery pack, I think Hobby King were doing some good deals recently.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2018, 19:04:50 by ched999uk »

Offline shawdreamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1298
  • Liked: 744
  • Country: gb
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #25 on: February 08, 2018, 17:15:29 »
alternatively you can still pick up a turnigy evolution for under 40 notes here and there, its more or less a recased i6 with increased channel firmware and flashy colourful gimbals ::)
550 custom H-copter (redesigned)
zmr250
Reaper250 V.1
Podracer v2
zmr250Hybrid
250 Twinboard
Project Sparkie (under repair)
https://www.thingiverse.com/shawdreamer/designs

Online Gavster29

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Liked: 45
  • Tricopter, one prop short of a Quadcopter
Re: Flysky vs FrSky.
« Reply #26 on: February 08, 2018, 18:55:07 »
I picked up a 2100mah LiFe battery and the QX7 from hobbyking, UK warehouse for £88!

Bargain

Sent from my TA-1033 using Tapatalk