User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

MultiRotorUK ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Bad Raven: Nost of the fish went, "what was that?" followed by "who are you?"  :azn
    Today at 20:38:57
  • Bad Raven: One of the shrimps is shell shocked, it's still hurtling around the tanke even now and its little heart is racing..........
    Today at 20:37:37
  • Gav: oh was it a good excuse for fish n chips for tea?
    Today at 19:55:33
  • Gav: did the fish survive?
    Today at 19:39:29
  • Bad Raven: We just had the mother of all supply glitches, one of my fish tank lights sounded like it was arc welding itself, all the lights flickered, internet bombed for over five mins!
    Today at 18:08:02
  • shawdreamer: used + in a couple of my early builds, I always managaed to bury the front motor, which left the quad stop up in a appropriately visual grave like cross.
    Today at 14:01:07
  • AKK Technology: akk promotion!!! mutiple product with discount
    Today at 05:36:54
  • Gav: my first quads were + 'Plus' config
    November 19, 2017, 18:02:11
  • Hozza: I have than enough 5 inch quads, or do I [link] this is one style of frame I haven't got.
    November 19, 2017, 07:57:59
  • Bajadre: n1 phil just noticed on there the 12amp esc blheli being rated for 3-4s while ive been running them on 3s for over a year what a idiot lol
    November 17, 2017, 13:57:29
  • Wyntrblue: always things i want when i have no money phil!
    November 17, 2017, 11:44:50
  • philtrum: Black Friday has started early at MakeItBuildIt, over 100 products on sale with more being added daily. We have limited stock on some offers so be quick before their gone! [link]
    November 17, 2017, 11:37:36
  • hoverfly: I got a 2s,but if I think mucky it turns into 3s.  :rolleyes:
    November 16, 2017, 21:35:49
  • DarkButterfly: I got a 6s which does everything I need and an android for stuff it doesn't.
    November 16, 2017, 20:28:30
  • shawdreamer: :nananana:
    November 16, 2017, 20:20:42
  • shawdreamer: ....sorry Iphone users but you bring it on yourself
    November 16, 2017, 20:20:34
  • shawdreamer: con muppet sheep into thinking they need to buy your newest phone because its "just so the best and trendy" when actually all youve done is change the power socket....
    November 16, 2017, 20:20:15
  • DarkButterfly: rob a massive bank :laugh:
    November 16, 2017, 19:07:40
  • Bad Raven: Own Formula One or DJI???
    November 16, 2017, 18:56:57
  • hoverfly: 400 million for a painting,OK it is unique  but how the flock do you accumulate that kind of cash.. :o
    November 16, 2017, 18:40:48

Who's Online

Theme Selection



Forum Default

Permanently

Author Topic: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2  (Read 13094 times)

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« on: January 05, 2013, 16:51:50 »
Hi all,
 :help: Need some help here. (newbee on MegaPirate)
I';m having a new Crius FC AIO Pro loaded with "MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2".
Before that I had a Crius SE having no problems with this SE board.
But here';s my thing now.

I can arm the motors (yaw to the right, solid red led)
Motors are not spinning, but when i push the throttle a little bit (say 1%) they start up in iddle speed. If i want to disarm, I still can.
But, when I push the throttle more (say +/-30%) motors are spinning more rpm, but i want to return to idle rpm, the motors keep on running (in idle speed) and i can';t DISarm (yaw left) any more.

My config is:
Futaba FC 18 v1 (hacked with Assan 2.4G)
RX Assan X8R9
4-ESC Turnigy Plush 30A
FC is Crius aio pro V1.1
Software is "MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2"

Anyone ???
Ps: I';m Dutch, so I hope my English is good anough  ;)

Online Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4556
  • Liked: 698
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2013, 17:01:39 »
Hi Polleke1949 and welcome to the forum they have now released megapirateNG 2.8r3 because the r2 had some problems, you would be far better trying that and see if you still have the problem, if you do then you could try putting your throttle trim down a little to see if that helps, or make the rudder end points a little wider  ~~

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2013, 18:52:07 »
Hi Gaza07,
Thank you for the quick answer. ~~
The "R3" version seems to work fine (as showing in the AMPlanner).........however, now the motors have the well known fast beep, beep, beep sound. (even after recallibrating)
In the "multiwii" software there';s a configuralble setting on the "minthrottle".
I remember i had to set this value at 930 (stock is 1000)
Is there also a configurable minthrottle setting in the R3 as well, because i can';t find it.
Or need I to do something else?
« Last Edit: January 05, 2013, 19:00:39 by Polleke1949 »

Online Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4556
  • Liked: 698
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2013, 21:11:00 »
Hi Polleke1949 I have installed v2.8r3 on mine and got the same as you the esc';s are out of calibration range, I just re-calibrated my esc';s and they worked fine,
When you install a new firmware are you dropping into terminal and doing an erase of the eeprom
this removes and settings that may have been left from the previous version, I always do this when upgrading the firmware  ~~

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2013, 11:17:28 »
Hi Gaza07,
First i erased the eeprom and installed the "R3".
The board does arm and disarm when i apply the transmitters yaw stick (showing also in the AMPlanner gui)  ~~, but......
when i move the throttle, nothing happens. motors will not spin  :confused:
Please  :help:

 [ Invalid Attachment ]
« Last Edit: January 06, 2013, 12:54:14 by Polleke1949 »

Online Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4556
  • Liked: 698
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2013, 14:09:34 »
Did you re-calibrate your esc';s  :confused:

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2013, 14:31:38 »
Hi Gaza07,
First of all let me thank so much for helping me this way.  ~~ ~~ ~~
Yes, I did recallibrated my esc';s.
In fact, I started all over again (clearing eeprom, loading software, call esc';s and tx) and guess what???
It';s working now  :beer2:

btw. As I';m new to AMP, can you perhaps tell me: how can i see in the mission planner that I have stable mode on or off. Because i want to make sure that I will take off in stable mode.

Offline Jesse101

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: wales
  • Hello World
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2013, 14:40:13 »
Hi guys. Can I ask how you erased the eeprom?

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2013, 14:52:51 »
Start up your Arduino software.
goto "file"
"example"
"eeprom"
"eeprom clear"
don';t forget to connect your board  ;)
your red led should be solid when done. [ Invalid Attachment ]

Offline Jesse101

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Liked: 4
  • Country: wales
  • Hello World
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2013, 15:04:53 »
Nice one.
 ~~ I hadn';t seen it sitting there!!!

Online Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4556
  • Liked: 698
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2013, 15:32:51 »
Thats not actually the erase I was talking about but it gets the job done  ~~
When your in the mission planner you click the Terminal button which drops you in to the cli (command line interface) once you see the promt in the cli type setup then return the prompt will now show the word setup, next type erase this then erases all the settings from the eeprom but not the actual firmware once the erase is complete the default settings are rewritten by the firmware back in to the eeprom  ~~

The reason for doing this is to remove any old pid or other settings from the eeprom that may not work well with the new firmware  ~~

Offline willumpie82

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: nl
  • if it ain't broken tweak it :P
    • electronicareparaties, voor alles dat kapot kan
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2013, 14:09:55 »
btw. As I';m new to AMP, can you perhaps tell me: how can i see in the mission planner that I have stable mode on or off. Because i want to make sure that I will take off in stable mode.

At my missionplanner HUD it apeares on the lower right just above GPS status.
at the configuration page there is an option to configure the flightmodes, the active mode will be highlighted in green.

if you just start learning multirotor flying, just set all modes to stable to get to know your plane, once you have the hang of it add a mode, and so on...

tripple check all your flightmodes, i almost lost my plane once because I didn';t check it thorough enough (TX failure)
Talon V2 quad X
crius AIO pro v1 (latest mpng)
cruis GPS v2, chinese elcheapo sonar, custom led works
4x plush 18 with BLheli 0.9
4x sk3 1130kv + 8x45
turnigy er9x with frsky telemitry enabled, backlight and lipo mods

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #12 on: January 07, 2013, 18:47:01 »
GGGGRRRRR   :cry   :banghead:
Just started the copter (lucky me with no props)
Still got my problem. AGAIN

Will i do it all over every time????

Online Gaza07

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4556
  • Liked: 698
  • Country: gb
    • Multi Rotor UK
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #13 on: January 07, 2013, 19:23:20 »
Step away from the copter and count to 10  ;) these things can really be annoying but some times a break from it can help a lot, I hope you get it sorted soon  ~~

Offline willumpie82

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Liked: 2
  • Country: nl
  • if it ain't broken tweak it :P
    • electronicareparaties, voor alles dat kapot kan
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #14 on: January 07, 2013, 20:24:20 »
I think clearing your eeprom so much is not helping, this is only neccesary once when you switch from multiwii to mpng (or if you realy screwd-up the settings)

I think this is the procedure from scratch:

TX calibration link to arducopter intro
1. set all your TX trims and subtrims to zero and disable expo/dr
2. if your TX has calibration, do it.
2b. I had to reverse my pitch on my TX (er9x) for mpng (multiwii was normal)
3. Calibrate TX from missionplanner
4. all sticks should be centered, throttle should be minimal. before you click Ok at the popup

power toggle everyting (copter and TX) and check if the ranges are still OK, eg every step of movement on your TX results in movement at the configuration-txcalibration screen of missionplanner.
as sanity you can check if there is a difference in powering your copter from lipo or USB-only

next ESC calibration link to original document from arducopter
!!! with no props: !!!
0. copter off completely (no lipo nor usb)
1. TX on
2. throttle max
3. fully power your copter (logic and ESC';s)
4. wait for rolling leds
-- the copter has now enabled passtrough to all four esc';s
5. power off the copter and wait a few sec (capacity in the ESC';s need a second or so to deplete)
6. still trhottle max
7. power copter again
8. wait for special beep-tone of esc(motors) (i think the "123" tone) comfirming max throttle
9. set throttle minimal and wait for reversed beeps (321) confirming min. throttle
10. wait for long confirmation beep
11. toggle the power of the copter with throttle down. mpng starts in normal mode

don';t use your TX trims to trim your copter. http://code.google.com/p/arducopter/wiki/AC2_Flying

please, also check out the links and other information from APM, it is actualy almost the same except the pcb and the connections (sanity check ;) )

succes er mee, good luck with it!
Talon V2 quad X
crius AIO pro v1 (latest mpng)
cruis GPS v2, chinese elcheapo sonar, custom led works
4x plush 18 with BLheli 0.9
4x sk3 1130kv + 8x45
turnigy er9x with frsky telemitry enabled, backlight and lipo mods

Offline Polleke1949

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Liked: 0
  • Country: nl
Re: Disarming Crius aio pro on MegaPirateNG V2.8 R2
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2013, 10:50:41 »
Thank you willumpie82
So far so good.............